Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kreuzwirt 3 stars

Katsdorferstr 16, 4209 Engerwitzdorf, Austria

#2 of 2 hotels in Engerwitzdorf

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning in the room and it was very warm. We had an attic room and it was a hot summer day. The temperature in the room was well above 25 degrees C (didn't have a thermometer, but it was very uncomfortable). There was a roof window which was very high and the other room had a balcony door. As it was dark outside and no insect nets, we didn't want to open the window and get all kinds of insects inside. The room was very warm the whole night. In the morning I climbed a chair and opened the ceiling window + the other one and within 30 minutes, the temperature got to some OK level. Maybe in the rooms on the lower levels or on days when the temperatures are lower outside this is not a big issue. The big bed was high and comfortable, but only 140cm wide. With the soft sides, I felt that I need to take some care not to fall off. The beds for the children were fine (90x200cm). The walls were dirty in several places, the finishing in general was very "loose". Doors were lacking locks. There were two bathrooms: one had just a toilet (no sink to wash your hands). The wall still had some pipes from what seems to have been a sink/washing machine there. The other bathroom had a shower cabin and a sink.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We arrived about 1h later than the check-in time limit and he prepared for us the Key and Wifi details in an envelope which was easy to find. We had no issues finding the hotel or the room and the location of the property is good, close to the highway. The room was fitted with a small kitchenette and we made use of the refrigerator which was quite handy. The room was very clean (bed sheets, towels, bathroom, etc), although the walls finishing and some details were not quite up to the expectations from a 3 star hotel. The breakfast buffet was quite varied with good quality choices and the coffee was very good (they provide an espresso machine where you can make your own coffee). They did not provide hot food like scrambled eggs or sausages, but the bread-rolls were warm and fresh (a nice surprise). There is ample parking space near the hotel in a well lit area, close to the entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hosts, we'll be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small terrace where you smoke and this is annoying for non-smokers.

    Family hotel, the owners very friendly and ready to help with the tips of the trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel right outside of Linz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was great!

    This was a nice break from our string of poor hotels. Typical Austrian style rooms and breakfast. The host was very kind to meet us despite the later hour of arrival. Helped with luggage and got us settled. The staff was very nice and spoke perfect English. The room was very clean and we would've been very comfortable for a longer stay if we needed it. Beds and pillows were comfortable as well. I would recommend this hotel with confidence!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Clean, adequate big room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, adequate big room. Strong wifi in the whole hotel. In the room also high speed wire connection. Close to the highway, enough parking possibilities. Lots of variety on the breakfast. Excellent ration price vs. added value. Very helpful personal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.5
    Not good at all.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to like

    Not good at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good breakfast.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, good brakefast. We got an upgrade room from 3 to 4 person and it was perfect !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Kind owners, we had good conversation and nice time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind owners, we had good conversation and nice time. Very comfortable and quiet beds. Room with A/C and remote controled roofwindow and rollett.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice, clean, good breakfast, lot of parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find, specially if coming at night. Some direction signs needed.

    Nice, clean, good breakfast, lot of parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything great, 5 minutes by car to Linz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great, 5 minutes by car to Linz

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    One of a kind experience !
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Excellent experience, Kitchen access, well appointed rooms, we loved it, we would like to come back again !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Owners (Henrietta and her husband) are simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You need to be aware that this hotel is located outside of the city. For us it was actually an advantage, since parking is totally free and plentiful, but if you do not have a car, this might more difficult.

    Owners (Henrietta and her husband) are simply amazing! They are great hosts and treat everyone personally. That's what makes all the difference. I rarely (if ever) write any reviews, but I couldn't help but write this one. We travelled across Europe this summer for 3 weeks, stayed in more than a dozen hotels, most of them very good, but this one beats everything by far. If your idea of a good place is a quiet, family-owned bed-and-breakfast, rather than a glitzy 5-star hotel, come there and you will not be disappointed!

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Nice gasthaus with a Nordic kind of service, style &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice gasthaus with a Nordic kind of service, style & quality. Good value for money. Late check-in. Free parking. Restaurant has nice terrace. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    Rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Rooms...spacious and spotless Delicious breakfasts...lots of variety Owner Henrietta and her team...superb Perfect for those wanting a break from bustling cities...yet very convenient for our visit to Linz.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.6
    Benefit -cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Benefit -cost.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    7.9
    Breakfast and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and service. Room was comfortable and clean. Very good price performance.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.3
    Personal, Sauberkeit, Frühstück
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kein Aufzug

    Personal, Sauberkeit, Frühstück

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    9.2
    We were very happy with everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    We were very happy with everything

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: