Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhaus Grünau 3 stars

Grünauerstraße 109, 5071 Wals, Austria

#1 of 18 hotels in Wals

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 B&B reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is basic but good and served with love ( breads, cold cuts, cereal,eggs)

    The location is lovely . Ask for a room at the backside facing the lake . The view is amazing The host Mikael was amazing . She would take care of every little thing that you mention . She is very prompt in her responses even to pre arrival questions . Also this village is small but there is a nice restaurant near this hotel that serves delicious food . We loved our stay here !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A continuous noise coming from somewhere near on the front side where we had the balcony

    Beautiful spacious room, lovely view from the balcony, good breakfast, good Wifi, covered parking spaces, nice and helpful hosts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Keep up the nice work!

    Very relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was great with a good variety. The room was very nice, and the staff was extremely welcoming. It is a nice place to get out of the noise of the city and a nice view from the balcony of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. Our room was nice and spacious, breakfast was tasty and freshly made, also the staff was very friendly. The location is good for exploring both Salzburg and beautiful lakes that surround it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like and we have stayed at other facilities in the Salzburg area numerous times.

    Breakfasts, Room size, comfort, privacy, cleanliness, quiet, traditional style of facilities and traditional professional staff. Just plain relaxing and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was so nice. Michaela was so helpful and thoughtful. Room was very good. Beds were comfortable. View from the room was good. Ambience was great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great spacious room, big extremly clean bathroom, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast with local things, nice and cute service. Everything was great, defenetly recomend! Thank you, landhsus grunau!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely location outside of Salzburg. Staff very friendly. Hotel/restaurant located a short walk from Grunau was very good value for money ( owned by the same family) whilst we were eating there it was also catering for coach parties but service was prompt and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was one of my mother's favorite places that we stayed during our vacation. The room was large and had a balcony with a view of the mountains. There was a sitting room area in our room that we were not expecting, but enjoyed immensely. Arriving was pleasant and we enjoyed being met by someone wearing a dirndl (even if it was for tourists). We also liked that there was an elevator available for our use as well as a very generous breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet the entire time we stayed. The balcony provided a beautiful view of the mountains. the bathroom was slightly quirky, with an inner window into the room, but there was a shade to hide any view for privacy's sake. The natural light that the window provided was nice and had the window make sense after a bit of time. Overall, we will plan to stay here again, and for a longer time if we decide to return to the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, traveling by car, needing a comfortable place to stay in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is WONDERFUL! Everything about it is upscale. There is an elevator to reach the top floors. Immaculate cleanliness. Wonderful breakfast with eggs cooked as you like and served at the table. Michaela is fantastic. We stayed three days on our arrival in Salzburg and found ourselves staying three more days before leaving Austria. Do not miss this four star hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Service is excellent. Driving to the center of Salzburg on car is 20 minutes. It is possible to swim in the lake which is in 50 meters from hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is 20' from Salzburg so it's good only if you travel by car/motorbyke. Situated in a very quiet village, very clean, you'll enjoy wide bedrooms and (in summertime) a park in front of the house. Breakfast is gorgeous!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress might a bit soft for someone with back pain, but this is something really minor and prefences change by each individual. So nothing to complain about!

    The Landhaus is perfectly located if you want to spend your time in a quite and relaxing environment with wonderful view to the mountains right at the German border. Not too many rooms so not much noise either by other guests. The room is big with well seized bathroom with a huge shower providing comfortable space. Cleanness is superb, staff friendly and excellent breakfast offered. The environment is also ideal for a morning run ;). Salzburg in 10 minutes drive. Covered parking spots at the house. The Landhaus provides everything you need for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the owner who stored our bicycles safely away. She even helped us with transport to the bus station, this is not a service that is to be expected, but we were so grateful for this extra effort and time she gave of her own spare time..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a wonderful euro trip this year, together with our beloved eight years old Shih Tzu and we opted for 2 nights stay at Landhaus Grunau. It was the best decision ever because this villa located in the outskirts of Salzburg is a wonderful and cozy place. The staff is very kind, though we were traveling with a small dog they did not charge us for the dog. The rooms are big and extremely clean with nice balconies that allow you to enjoy the crisp morning air and a very nice view of the mountains. It is located in a very peaceful area but only a 10 minute drive from the city of Salzburg. The breakfast was beyond our imagination... It was healthy and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of mountains and lake, beautiful property, clean, comfortable, spacious and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every think was just perfect! Looking forward to stay her again¡

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great room, breakfast, and staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Nice, clean room with balcony. Convenient bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was a bit remote.

    Nice size room, very quiet. The person managing the hotel was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, perfect breackfast choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs tea, coffee and a kettle in the rooms. A/C would be a good idea, but not essential.

    Extra helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm hospitality, nice decoration, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best service ever!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Love it, definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculately clean and roomy. Very accommodating regarding our late arrival. Excellent full breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choose for dinner if you want to have variant choices near this place.

    Good staff. The breakfast is delicious. The room is pretty clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I

    Lovely setting Excellent value

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the lovely staff, the rooma. Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transport restricted to Salzburg from properly

    Friendly owner..good facilities..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    The rooms were spacious, cozy, and clean and we had a balcony with gorgeous views. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and breakfast was delicious- try one of their omelets! We wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast selection was a little underwhelming.

    Very large rooms, with equally large en-suite bathroom. Comfortable bed. Easy to get to (close to Salzburg) and find. No onsite restaurant for dinner, but 4* hotel just 400m down the road with a good value & nice menu. Covered parking available. Really good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, this was a great place. If you don't have a car, it may be more challenging as it is located outside of central Salzburg. Although I heard the owner kindly explaining the bus routes to another couple over breakfast. If you do have a car, the location is an asset - easy to get to the large old town parking garage in about 15-20 minutes.

    Really big hotel room with a nice table/eating area, mini bar, huge bathroom, lovely large balcony looking over the back garden, lake and mountains. Room spotless, new everything (the house is new) and comfortable. Wifi was also strong (and free). Breakfast was wonderful, all fresh, great selection of eggs, breads, fruits, meats, etc. I also liked that the hotel is dog friendly (reasonable EUR3 extra), though my dog wasn't able to make the trip with me.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bus to wals 3km away only runs every 2 hours at the weekend and stops early however the train on the other side of the river is much better we sometimes had to get a taxi from the nearby outlet centre for 10 euros which wasnt bad

    the staff were very friendly and helpful the building and rooms are beautiful the breakfast is really good train station in hammerau for getting to salzburg, munich, berchtesgaden the hotel 200 metres from the same family serves really nice food until 9.30 pm

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of a thing. Everything was great.

    Great breakfast. Mikayla (hope I spelled her name right) was absolutly awesome. Made us feel very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car to stay here. It is about 10 or so minutes drive into Salzburg proper but we knew this coming in and it wasn't an issue for us. There is free covered parking.

    Lovely location on a small lake out of the main urban area. Quiet and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very pleasant. Close to a major resort for meals other than breakfast. Also close to the Panda a Chinese restaurant with excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was too soft for me but I know its difficult to please everyone :-)

    Very quiet location, not so far away from Salzburg. Easy to use DOC P+R. Good parking. Excellent WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a car to get there.

    Very nice property close to Salzburg. Ideal for a stop-over or for doing excursions in the region with your car. Spacious and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is beautiful and very well maintained. Location is nice and quiet, just a 10 min drive from Salzburg. There is a beautiful and unspoiled lake just in front of the house. The owner is very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Extra bed is uncomfortable. The place is little far away from Salzburg

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Nice surroundings and beautifully decorated house. Excellent breakfast in a wonderful ambient. Free parking

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service! Wow, just super nice service. The owner place a fan in the room because of the heat. The location is incredible-Close to Salzburg but away from the hustle with an amazing view! Excellent breakfast. The owner always had some local specialties on the buffet that she made. Wow! Nice omelette, fresh fruit: again much more than we could expect!!!!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was superb, the room immaculate, amenities both tasteful and supremely thoughtful, and breakfast delicious and peaceful. I loved every aspect of my stay there. Easily the best hotel experience I had in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1) There is no elevator (but they were building one while we stayed there) so if you stay in the top floors (like we did) then you have to carry your heavy bags all the way. :( 2) The nearest restaurant / bar is either going to the neighbouring big hotel with restaurant or all the way to Salzburg. You definitely need a car to come here.

    House and views are lovely, very typical Tirol/Bavarian style. Place was very quiet and pleasant, waking up to lovely mountain views! The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a nice new bathroom. Everything was very clean. Breakfasts were nice and had a decent selection. Staff were very polite and helpful. Location is handy if you are using as a base to travel to nearby places for the day (Berchtesgaden, Hallein, Hallstat, Salzkammergut, Salzburg) as it is outside of Salzburg, but you need a car.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only think that's missing on the rooms is the air conditioning. And on that that of the beginning of July were 36 degrees on Salzburg. Other way everything was more than perfect! Congrats to the owners. They're was ironing even my shirt!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice atmosphere, in a typical hotel where you can feel the Austrian cordiality. Excellent breakfast, room very clean with a nice view. Easy to reach Salzburg by car in 10 mins.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quiet location, very friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast with loads of choice.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent accommodation welcoming owner excellent food, will recommend to anyone wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautifully crafted wooden interior. Good breakfast with delicious variety of prepared eggs.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast with great service. The place was exceptionally clean and the view from the balcony was beautiful

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was nice. Room was like new.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Beautiful location on the lake shore.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was perfect! Excellent rooms, super breakfast and Frau Eisl most friendly and helpful.⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big room, great breakfast, very comfortable. Quiet location and breakfast outside was very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant or bar. No elevator.

    Pleasant location. Calm and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Large rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful scout.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything fine!

    large rooms Nice & clean Yummy breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    such a beautiful and special place.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very quiet location, close to Salzburg. A wonderful room and a scenic landscape

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Landhaus Grünau traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: