Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhotel Mader 4 stars

Stadtplatz 36, 4400 Steyr, Austria

#5 of 18 hotels in Steyr

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 357 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.9
    Nice place in the best location in Steyr.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could have been friendlier. Reception was not very interested in helping when I asked for something less ordinary.

    Amazing location, great breakfast buffet with quality assortment of cold cuts and cheeses, and a very cosy overall place. I arrived late (midnight) and my key was waiting for me at the reception, with a drawing telling me how to reach the room. Nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Stay closer to Wachau.Valley,Melk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made the mistake,choosing this city,nothing really to draw your interest.Three days was over the top of trying to find something to keep your interest. We did experience one day of going to the infamous Mauthiasan Nazi concentration camp. Grim but eye opening to mans inhumanity to fellow man.Reminder not to forget!

    Clean,large room,overlooking square.Dinner in the traditional res

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location directly at the main square of Steyr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No covered shelter for the bicycles.

    Perfect location directly at the main square of Steyr. Good breakfast with lactosefree yoghurt and special spelt bread.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Good size room and Driver Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good Restaurant with one the better meals we have in Austria. The location is right in Central and the Superior Room is like a suite. Reception is very helpful and loading and unloading of luggage is convenient with temporary parking space right next to the hotel entrance and there is ramp and lift to the room if you request it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    This hotel blends tradition and modernity into a complete...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel blends tradition and modernity into a complete experience. Each room has its own character. Each stay brings new surprises. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else when I am in Steyr; and, I have stayed in almost every hotel in Steyr. :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    altbau charm and tasty restaurant
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they didn't tell me about the parking charges when offering me the parking space hotel is not very handicap accessible, many rooms involve climbing quite some stairs or crossing high doorway thresholds. when we arrived, the entrance way / lobby area of hotel was completely dark due to new year holidays. it would have been nice to be informed of this in advance so that we would not worry when we arrive to the dark hotel.

    very very good breakfast very helpful and friendly front desk cool building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Location is really good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room did have curtains with size of half the windows. Therefore, it was not possible to isolate yourself from the corridor in front of the room. It was like people passing the corridor could see you inside the room. Due to the same reason, it was not possible to make the room completely dark.

    Location is really good. In the middle of the old town. Parking can be troublesome, but for us it was not. We arrived late. There were parking space in front of the hotel. But I assume it was not free. Breakfast was allright. Enough assortment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More (or reserved) parking spaces. Better room description, according to the variety of rooms.

    Location is great. There are many different rooms, with different characteristics, perhaps you could tell your wishes when booking (roof window, view, floor,...). Parking is on the street or in the parking garages, it could happen that there is no place in front of the hotel and then you have to walk quite a while.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Location is in very heart of old town, with numerous dining...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in the rooms feels a bit cheap and outdated.

    Location is in very heart of old town, with numerous dining options and walking possibilities. Plenty of city parking options just 100m away from hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not any house slipper in rooms. Despite of the quality of the hotel, absence of slippers is quite bad.

    Excellent location and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was in the center og the village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rom was very hot. No aircondition.

    The hotel was in the center og the village.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad at all

    Extremely comfortable bed, excellent bar and restuarant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, parking available, we can recommend eating & drinking, the rooms are great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    BMW room was great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Different types of fresh eggs, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Charming and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold, but since the blankets are very warm it didn't matter that much.

    Very nice and understanding staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Steyr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a big room with separate living room. Very spacious hotel. The receptionist Malina is very helpful to our queries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.9
    Third stay and won't be last. Staff very friendly and helpful and as usual breakfast was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot and could not be easily cooled.

    Friendly staff, good secure parking, delightful breakfast and location in Old Town area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Racey room in Steyr
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was delighted with my themed BMW bedroom . ( I drive a BMW at home ) The room was very spacious, quiet and the bed comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to all floors

    Great position

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Number one for stay in centre of Steyr
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fitness and wellness facility Parking limited

    Good location Good WIFI connection Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable and conveniently located.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    again:
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    again: "The only issue, that more times the ground-floor elevator is not available (because it is on the same openings with the restaurants) and has to climb up the stairs and find the elevator again in the labyrinth - with baby and baby-car let say is not the best. The existing electronic-key acces extension to this door would be the solution and the help for the hotel-guests."

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    7.9
    + very friendly staff (reception, restaurants.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    + very friendly staff (reception, restaurants...) + the "Tafelspitz" eat for dinner in the restaurant + the modern styled bar in the ground floor

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    The only minor issue, that more times the ground-floor...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The only minor issue, that more times the ground-floor elevator is not available (because it is on the same openings with the restaurants) and has to climb up the stairs and find the elevator again in the labyrinth - with baby and baby-car let say is not the best. The existing electronic-key acces extension to this door would be the solution and the help for the hotel-guests.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only minor negative thing is that it was a bit cold in the room as it had high ceilings and the room was quite large so it took a long time for the room to warm up.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and the rooms had excellent facilities. Excellent breakfast as well.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Location directly in city centre, very friendly &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not as nice as in previous hotel, 8 € daily for secure car park. Room recently renovated and quite large but no view at all, looking at other hotel rooms opposite.

    Location directly in city centre, very friendly & helpful staff, free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.0
    - the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - room somewhat difficult the reach with heavy bags. It is an old building!

    - the friendly staff. The allowed me to park my motorbike in the yard, for example. The receptionist did everything possible to find my "lost" glasses when I call the after I had left (the glasses were in my bags!) - the good restaurant - the "Wintergarden" where food is served

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Great room on topfloor, very big, nicely and newly renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the very Nice room on topfloor, you have to walk the stairs the last floor up. No problem, it's an old building.

    Great room on topfloor, very big, nicely and newly renovated. With airco, needed on a very hot day! Whole building is old and with many corners and turns. Nice! Breakfast with many choices

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    Spacious room, plenty of hanging space, clean and spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be warned if staying on a Friday or Saturday night they have live entertainment on the street below. If you have a room overlooking the main street it may be hard to sleep. Lift only goes to 2nd floor, need to take luggage up stairs for 3rd floor.

    Spacious room, plenty of hanging space, clean and spacious bathroom. Ample breakfast, plenty to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given terrible directions to the car park by the lady at the front desk of the hotel, who also had an attitude. She said to go "under the bridge". There is parking under the bridge but not for this hotel!! Awkward reversing. Ensure you enter via the boom gate, which is under the bridge and go up the ramp. You will find the hotel's allocated car spaces up in the parking station. We were assisted by a local resident thankfully. Our room was at the very back and took a bit to find. Parts were a little scary. Sadly I would not stay here again.

    Breakfast was superb.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    Good location, in the center of Steyr.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Not convenient to bring a big luggage, I have to carry it and go up stairs, cause the elevator can get the higher floor.

    Good location, in the center of Steyr. The rooms is very nice. Very good breakfast, many choices.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable room and delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is named Mader, not Landhotel Mader. Spent some times to locate it correctly. Parking lot is a bit further away to the hotel.

    Comfortable room and delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    good location, very good breakfast, friendly restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    good location, very good breakfast, friendly restaurant staff, helpful receptionist

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast and the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant and bar were closed on Sunday evening when we were there. But I can understand that.

    The breakfast and the location.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.2
    personal very amabile, good location, good price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    elevator was bad, restaurant close saturday and sunday, without conditioner

    personal very amabile, good location, good price

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Location excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bfst (bread and danish) wasn't filled when it got emptied.

    Location excellent!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.1
    Lack Of air condition In the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack Of air condition In the room

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    The staff was most gracious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was most gracious. She saved me a lot of time by getting my train tickets changed.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: