Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Landhotel Schützenhof 4 stars

Dorfstraße 14, 5330 Fuschl am See, Austria

#3 of 8 hotels in Fuschl am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More selection on the dinner menu.

    The hotel is a family run hotel with personal service to everyone. Best location, wonderful views and excellent staff. A very friendly atmosphere and a wonderful experience in this small town and a great place to have a good rest. We certainly had a great experience and central location to explore the surrounding lakes and mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is truly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at!!! Friendly staff, excellent food, generous breakfest, stunning view... Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to arrive a little after 10pm due to train delays, so I emailed the hotel through booking.com. The woman at the desk stayed a little late and wasn't necessarily rude, but it came across in the emails that she was unhappy about it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!!!

    Amazing hotel, excellent and very friendly staff, full of small details that makes your stay incredible. The customer service at the hotel is just amazingly good, I would say perfect. I fully recommend this hotel, located just next to the lake, with amazing views and very good food at the restaurant. We will definitely come back!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer care blunt and to the point. Very different cultural approach.

    Beautiful lakeside terrace. Fabulous breakfast. Luxurious hotel, well designed with great facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing - we wanted to stay for another couple of weeks.

    This is a great family run hotel with very good Austrian food in a great location. Included in the cost of a hotel was a Saltzkammergut card which gave us c30% off the major attractions in the area such as the Cog Railway in St Wolfgang the Salt mine in Halstat and access to the Dachstein glacier and Ice Caves at Obertraun. We had wonderful views over the lake and Fuschl turned out to be an excellent base from which to explore Saltzburg and the Saltzkammergut region of Austria without it being as busy as St Gilgen or St Wolfgang.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really charming. Great lakefront location with a beautiful wooden terrace. Swimming in the crystal clear water of Lake Fuschl is an unforgettable experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are beautiful and absolutely clean. Top cuisine! This was our second stay in Landhotel Schutzenhof and I would love to go again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could be more choices at the breakfast buffet. You need to ask the reception for a coin every time you want to exit the parking, preferable to substitute this with an access card to enter and exit the parking freely.

    An absolutely wonderful place to stay at Fuschl Am See. Straight at the lake and right in middle of town. Close to shops and restaurants. Spacious parking outside. Nice walks outside the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very hospital and comfy environment. Great views from the rooms and the breakfast area. Nice spacious rooms. Always clean. Great for family. They can provide cots and setup the sofa-bed. We hope to return someday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For summer time the blankets were too thick, but they must be excellent in winter.

    The hotel has a very beautiful location on Fuschl lake! Our room was very spacious with a big balcony. We liked the mix of old style furnitures and modern amenities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More restaurants and bars within walking distance would have been preferable.

    There was a wide selection of food and drink for breakfast and it was all tasty. Also, the view across the lake was superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast spread was wonderful, very European, but many choices. The bed was nice and soft but supportive. The room was very clean, beautiful lake view out of balcony. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. The town itself was quaint, and many wonderful trails everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I was alone :-(

    The staff was great! If you want to relax, this is the place. I was there early in the season as this is a winter or summer venue, but it's a class act, very clean and organized.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A minor thing but worth a mention is the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms

    The hotel is in a superb location alongside Lake Fuschl and in addition to easy access to local walks a bus in the village allows you to reach Saltzburg and many other places up the valley. Staff at the hotel were friendly and made us feel very welcome . The breakfast buffet provided a wide choice to set you up for the day and the 4 course evening meal provided a delightful array of well thought out and delicious dishes to savour after a days hiking and sightseeing. The lake side rooms are well worth requesting as they show off the lake at its best.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was bland and you only had choice of 3 main dishes and take it or leave it for the starter and sweet .also no tea making facilities in the room so from 10.30 pm till 07.30 am you couldn't get a hot drink

    The hotel was in a great location and was very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are very firm. But very comfortable rooms.

    Beautiful location on the lake. Very friendly staff; always supportive of our needs. Don't be afraid to ask about discount packages for the local area provided by the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant could be open all day. WiFi could also be in the restaurant and terrace.

    Very nice view from terrace to lake. There you can lie, sit and drink coffee or drinks also eating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rained 2 days out of 5 which inhibited out days out in the mountains and swimming in the lake!!

    The food was excellent and staff superb. Hotel is in a beautiful location in a picturesque village with great public transport links to get around.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly quite a distant personnel but they soon changed their attitude. The bathroom is indeed quite too small.

    Almost everything, especially the room overviewing the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Would defintely recommend a room with a view of the lake, our room was at the front of the hotel very nice however if you had your windows open at night the early morning deliveries were a bit noisy, if window shut its fine (only minor thing really) but would definately want a room overlooking the lake another time.

    The hotel is in a wonderful position on the lake and you can sit and have dinner outside when the weather is good which is a real bonus what a view. Evening meal very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is so-so. I think it could be Austrian mentality. We feel like we are students in a school sometimes. 4 stars hotel should contain kettle, tea in the room - this is standard. No air conditioner - but probably there is no hot weather at this cool place.

    Amazing place on the lake. Great terrace. Great cleanliness. Nice room size. Very good hotel overall. Fair 4 stars. Lake with quite warm water and fearless fishes. Close to the hotel there was ice cream booth with truly amazing ice cream-must try!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wellness very modest, if you expect wellness services, choose a different hotel, but there's so beautiful that you will not need wellness

    beautiful place by the water, amazing views, close to hiking trails, excellent restaurant - and also half-board, better than at the sea, we are sure to return here yet...thanks

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was wonderful and very comfortable. The view from the resort is spectacular and the location is convenient to other amenities within the small town.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we went into the restaurant and the beach bar, the staffs thought that we were not their guests and told us twice that they service only their hotel guests. It's maybe because there are very a few Asian people coming to this town. We felt like a bit being discriminated anyway.

    The view from our room is very nice. The hotel is clean and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in the winter, there was not connection with lake and the whole village was empty

    delicious breakfast, routes around village

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    Lovely and clean , friendly , helpful staff. Picturesque location right by the lake.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Clean hotel with great location Beautiful breakfast Parking close to the hotel 20-30 minutes to Salzburg using bus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to unlike there.

    Nice place with such a kind people. Recommended for all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is simple perfect. Just at the lake shore (the lake itself is crystal clear). Stunning views, clean and nice rooms. Kind people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very uncomfortable amd there was no minibar in the room

    The location and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythink

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overestimated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was nice but a little loud! :o

    Great location, very good facilities, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tens across the board.

    Looking out onto lake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea Coffee making in room

    The food, the staff and the position on the lake were all fantastic

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful selection of breakfast foods; kind and helpful staff; lovely views across the lake; and lots of public space.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    More powerful bathroom ventilation would be appreciated.

    Great food, nice and helpful staff, are near the lake with amazing views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle with tea/coffee

    View & running round the lake

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing family run company. Extremely hard working people, A+

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was a little uncomfortable. A better stair to the lake would be required.

    Location, nice staff, beautiful view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Incredible food, stunning location in lake Fuschl, great base for hiking and sightseeing, a very relaxing place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful location; excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room bit small.

    Location directly on the sea. Clean rooms, cosy. Nice restaurant, good food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location by the lake (Able to swim). Great food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, great staff, would definitely come again

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities

    Good food, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were a little blunt. There was basically no one in the hotel all day. And when we eventually saw other guests they we're all mature couples. And I wouldn't quite call it spa facilities. There are two 'run your own bath then turn on the whirlpool function' of which the one I filled, the whirlpool function wasn't working so I went to fill up the other one and there was no plug. And there were barely any staff around, so in the evening we wanted to come back for a glass of wine and couldn't find anyone for about 15mins to get us one before we gave up and went to bed.

    Great views of the lake. Lots to choose from for breakfast. Beds were comfy and shower nice and strong.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location is perfect! we booked a standart room, and upon arrival we were upgrated to a mini suite. the room was wonderful but after check-out it turnd out ..we were charged for this upgrade

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff is awesomely kind and nice I and my husbans had really happy days and it is very close to anywhere by car e.g. hallstatt, gosau, sankt gilgen, shafberg, salzburg and so on Further more we left our pretty daughter in korea and we decided we will be back in 5 yrs with her We couldnt enjoy hiking there but we will when we back Also dinner and breakfast! Highly recommonded too! I am gonna miss you a lot

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful scenery and excellent quality food with the half board option. Other scenic areas are close by that are worth a visit. St Gilgen is a must.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent hotel with amazing staff. Best location for travelling Salzkammergut area. We came with our 5 month year old baby and the hotel was very comfortable for us! Great food! We recommend Half board

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really enjoyed our stay in all aspects, excellent food, great breakfast, large comfortable rooms, impressive sauna (finish/dry/IR) and spa facilities, and sunroom. Great view from the private deck, and for rooms facing the lake. Staff were incredibly helpful and exceptionally helpful for non-German speakers. Not your typical tourist experience.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was unwelcoming to the point of unfriendly. Bedroom and balcony area felt narrow and squashed with limited privacy.

    Great location on the lake. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Nice bathroom. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Duvets were very warm for our 30 degree heatwave.

    Our balcony overlooked the lake so we could see the most wonderful sunsets. Our room was cleaned everyday. Very comfortable beds and a strong power shower. Excellent choice at breakfast, including healthy options such as milled flaxseed.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a very "young" destination but it's plenty beautiful

    Great location, traditional & conservative hotel but clean and comfy with excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi strength is very poor - a lot of times it did not work at all

    The staff is super friendly, helpful and really pays attention to the guests. I am gluten and lactose allergic and they brought the gluten free bread to our table every morning even without asking it (based on our room nr. they knew about my allergy)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle in room. Wifi intermittent.

    Fabulous location right on the lake, so peaceful & relaxing. Meals outside overlooking lake, sun beds etc... Large room, excellent breakfast, friendly & helpful staff. English spoken.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room size was very small. The lady at the reception was not pleasant nor helpful. We requested an extra bed but she said there is no extra bed or extra linings. Later she charged us for the extra persons although no bed or linings were provided; She claimed it was for the breakfast. I told her such charges should be discussed upfront in order to avoid and any disagreement.

    The location of the hotel is right at the lake. The breakfast area at the lake is breathtaking and very memorable. The restaurant staff were very friendly and supportive, which made it very pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing going on in the evening either at the hotel or in the village that was the only thing that could have been improved. There was no air con in the bedrooms and they were experiencing a very hot period the rooms very very hot.

    The walking trails were excellent the location on the lake was very good. The meals very very good the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Menu could do with a little more variety. OK for a short stay but limited choice.

    Superb location and very friendly staff. Hotel very homely and wonderfully clean!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi is very capricious. Food is very good for English and Nordic people.... Exclusively german speaking tv. Bathroom 3 square meters including toilets!

    Perfect location in front of the lake. Waitresses very helpful . Clean, charming hotel and.quiet( if the people next door are correct).

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The family atmosphere and the very friendly and attentive staff who were were very patient with my husband's attempt at German. The food was fabulous every night. We were there for 11 nights and each night the four course menu was different. The cleanliness was second to none and the cleaning staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the first morning I had to return some bred back to the kitchen being completely dried out and having some mold on them. PLEASE, PLEASE take care of what you are serving not to destroy an otherwise really superb (food)experience.

    Friendly staff and a welcoming atmosphere. Good kitchen. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The lakeside view from the restaurant (and our rooms) was unbelievably beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything. The location is great, the hotel is beautiful. There is a private car park right across the street. Very good breakfast and delicious dinner menus - definitely recommend half board! The staff are very nice and polite and speak good English.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor things only: no fridge in the room, no mosquito net on the balcony door.

    Nice lake-side location, clean and neat rooms, comfy bed. On-site private parking for cars. Quiet village.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really noticeable to improve.

    Included breakfast was particularly nice!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    small hotel-feeling home. what we asked for -we got, and rememberd the next day-without asking again ( in breakfast). very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More options for the breakfast would be welcomed (e.g.: croissants, cheese and meat products)

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea preparation kit is available at the room.

    Nice location, view, and staff. Easy and free car parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, we should have stayed longer.

    Lovely lakeside location. Very friendly staff. Easy to find with free parking,

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room to beckyard no view of the lake small room nasty owner

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything! The best hotel in Salzburg and surroundings! It couldn't be better!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: