Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Der Seewirt 4 stars

Holzöster am See 21, 5131 Franking, Austria

#1 of 4 hotels in Franking

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 82 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 11

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean comfortable hotel with fantastic food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not attached to the lake nor does it have views of the lake. There is a hotel bathing area a few minutes down the road. The bathing area did not have enough sun loungers to go round the 10 guests there and there is no toilet at the bathing area. There is no slippers or dressing gown in the room although they are advertised as included. The tioletries are very basic. The gentleman who owns the hotel and is the first person to greet you can be a little abrupt and was not overly helpful. Overall I'd say the hotel feels a little overpriced at 140 euros for a double room for a night, but was still a nice experience.

    The Room is spacious and comfortable with a big sunny balcony. The bed and bedding is comfortable and the room is spotlessly clean. We liked the hotel bathing area near the lake and the pedallo was a bonus! The dinner and breakfast were fantastic!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Fine food, lovely quiet lake, pleasant rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of small drawbacks to our room: 1) few and inconveniently located electrical outlets for recharging phones etc. 2) the bathroom fan didn't work and the shower door did not seal well.

    This clean, generally well-maintained older property has a lovely garden and a private lake access within 300 m. Our room was large, recently refurbished, with a balcony and a comfortable bed. The food was really exceptional, especially in view of the price and unpretentious nature of the hotel and its surroundings. Holzöster is tiny and quiet, the lake charming and quite unspoiled, fine for bathing and fishing. There are many nice bike paths nearby. Ideal for a few days of r&r.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Gem in the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hotel in Salzburg was over booked even though we had reservation. We found this gem of a hotel late at night and they couldn't have been more hospitable. It was a wonderful setting and a great find when we needed a room quickly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Very nice hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No English menu in the restaurant. Everyday the same and very simple ( not any hot dishes- sausagges, etc) menu for breakfast.

    Very nice hotel staff. Very good food in the restaurant. Silent and beautiful place: lake, woods, etc. Free bikes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed on Sunday

    Beautiful area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    6.3
    Beautiful room.
    • Couple

    Customer service not very good. No one around most of the time. Asked for coffee to take medication and was told to use water from the bathroom or wait until breakfast at 7am. This was at 6 pm on arrival. By the description this was supposed to be on the lake which it was not and this was the reason I booked. There was no where to get any food either as the restaurant was closed that night and no other alternative offered.

    Beautiful room. Comfortable beds. Very peaceful location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    fresh food from the neighbouring villages makes both the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    fresh food from the neighbouring villages makes both the breakfast and the dinner excellent, amazing kitchen they have, good location, nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    The couple that manage the hotel are superb, both in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all.

    The couple that manage the hotel are superb, both in friendliness and service. We were very happy with the facilities: the room was great and included a balcony, the weather allowed for breakfast and dinner on the gorgeous terrace and the gardens were beautiful. Having a private beach only 300m away was quite a perk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Family run hotel with welcoming English speaking owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is a place for relax, seems not much activity around.

    Family run hotel with welcoming English speaking owner. Spacious rooms,good balcony ,very clean, good internet connection. Great restaurant - seems popular among local people,very reasonable priced. I am vegan and a tasty vegan dish was prepared specially for me :) The hotel is 100 m from the lake ( although no view to the lake), 300 m from hotel's cute private beach and 500 m from city free beach with a nice cafe on the water. The water temperature is good for swimming (July). There is an inside pool and sauna, I haven't tried it.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    Just very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just very good

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    They have no air conditioners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They have no air conditioners. It was hot at the room at night.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 11

Guests also reviewed these properties: