Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron

Leopoldskron 56-58, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#22 of 117 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 913 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was an amazing spread. Property breathtaking. Front desk very pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Very beautiful building and lake grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The listing only showed the main palace building so we thought we were staying there. Upon arrival they said we’re staying in the pink side building instead. We had to upgrade to a suite and pay $200+ an additional $240 per night to stay in the advertised main building. We felt tricked and cheated. The whole point of staying there was to stay in the shown building.

    Very beautiful building and lake grounds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.7
    Brilliant view of the lake and great to see the terrace used...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is out of the way, every time I needed to get a taxi. The price is very high for what you get.

    Brilliant view of the lake and great to see the terrace used in sound of Nusic

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Staff, ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall excellent, a bit disappointed with lack of basic amenities that are available in almost all equivalent hiteks e.g. electric kettle to make tea coffe when you arrive on a 24 hours flight outside europe. No iron, no porterage etc. Standard rooms are very small for price difference to Superior rooms.

    Staff, ambience

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff are conscientious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle Drinking water was only provided at the first day but no more at the second day of stay. No hot drinking water is provided. Room facilities are simple, not in correspondence of the hotel room price.

    Staff are conscientious. They are patient to handle various enquiries from guests. Hotel is able to provide sufficient information to guests for travelling around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    average room, but the most beautiful terrace view
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room in the building next to the palace was quite small and only average in quality. Also, there is no AC and our top floor room was rather stuffy in September, even with the windows open. I did see that there was a fan in the corner of the room, but we didn't see it until we were about to leave. Also, the coffee is below average and the room rate is quite high for the quality of the room. One other negative thing to note is that sometimes this hotel holds events (as was the case when we stayed there) and it can either mean that the terrace is not available for all guests during the event or overwhelmingly full with people. This really affected the enjoyment of our stay as the terrace was the main reason for us staying there.

    My wife is a big fan of "The Sound of Music" so we were here only one night to experience the beautiful terrace from the movie. It's important to note that all guest rooms are in the building next door and not in the palace. There are a limited number of suites in the palace, but none were available for our stay. Still, we were free to walk around the palace and enjoy breakfast in one of the palace rooms. The palace rooms are very interesting and we especially enjoyed the library. Also notable is the Venetian room (where the breakfast buffet was), the room that served as inspiration for one of the rooms in "The Sound of Music" (the puppet show and also used in the party). The highlight, however, was the terrace, and the view is breathtaking in person. Pictures do not do justice! Breakfast, which was included in our room rate, was also quite good and varied.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    3.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showing all these images of the castle is really misleading potential customers. No doubt.

    The hotel is not the castle itself. It resides in a side building with most of the hotel rooms facing the inner yard. Only very small windows. Even had to change the first room given to us cause it smelled awfully there. They were even aware of this. Nevertheless tried to give us this room. At least, after complaining we got an upgrade to another room. Fair enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Love, love, love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    I absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely go back! We booked a suite in the main house and was rewarded with an amazing view, well-appointed room facilities and superb service. Location wise, it is a short bike ride away (the bikes, by the way, are provided free!) from the Old Town and other attractions of Salzburg. The staff are very accommodating and friendly and show genuine willingness to help out. The breakfast buffet was excellent as well. the assortment of breads, cheeses, fruits, drinks and other items is enough to keep you eating for a good hour or two. My stay in Hotel Schloss Leopoldskrom was one of the highlights of my European trip!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    The best service in Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot in upper floor but we were warned about this and got a fan which helped a lot, Thanks! Nobody can help this weather!

    The best service in Austria. Relaxed atmosphere and just beautiful interiors and garden! Breakfast on the balcony was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.4
    Location facing mountain & lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No recreation facilities are available, no swimming pool, no sauna or Steam bath or even jacuzzi. No Coffee & Tea facilities are available in the room.. Spiders nests are questionable

    Location facing mountain & lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The view of the mountains is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the mountains is amazing. Great location for walking and biking. Within walking distance of the fortress. The breakfast buffet was great. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast had a excellent variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grounds need some attendance , beautiful layout but need groomed. A houseman to help with luggage would be a nice addition at check in .

    Breakfast had a excellent variety. Rooms were quite and very clean. Staff at check in very help Full.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    This was definitely our most memorable family time in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was located a bit further from the rail station than our other accomodation but cabs were readily available and the fare was very reasonable.

    The friendly staff, grand historic building with modern amenities, lake, mountains and fortress views. Fresh clean countryside. Depending on your budget you can choose to stay in the less pricey Annex building yet access the Schloss for breakfast in the exquisite dining room. The Annex building has been refurbished with modern amenities. As for the Schloss we tried that out too and was very glad we did.The complete package for a memorable family time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay! Highly Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing; just a couple of thoughts. The hotel is away from the Old Square (where Mozart House is located) and the main city. The Schloss Hohensalzburg lies in between. While the distance is not that much, maybe 1.5 or 2 Kms, some of this requires climbing steps or walking uphill. As far as I could make out there are not a lot of eating places right by the hotel. This is not a big issue. Taxis are easy to call for and there are public buses. But, something to bear in mind, if you are tired after a long day. There may be limited choices in the immediate vicinity. Also, many places are closed on Mondays. On Monday evening, we ended up spending a delightful time at the mini-golf facility. The place serves burgers and schnitzels and we managed to have quite a sumptuous dinner out of that followed by ice-cream.

    If this hotel is not the best hotel I have ever stayed at, it is pretty close and certainly within the top 3. Located on the shores of a lake, the hotel, really a Schloss (castle) is, in a single word: amazing. If you are a fan of "The Sound of Music" then you may know that a number of scenes from the movie were shot here on location including the scene where Maria and the children arrive in a boat to the castle and topple off from the boat much to amusement of the Baroness and frustration from Captain von Trapp. The castle itself has few guest accommodations and is used mostly for seminars and such including the Salzburg Global Seminar. Most people stay at the Meyerhof Wing, which is a separate building from the castle itself. The rooms are extremely clean and the carpets are plush. It is very quiet. As many would be aware, rooms in Europe tend to be small; these rooms were decent sized and extremely comfortable. We had requested two double rooms next to each other, one of my wife and I and the other for the two kids. This request was accommodated. There is a small library in the lobby of the Meyerhof wing with magazines and books. I read the New Yorker sitting there and borrowed a collection of short stories to take up to my room. Breakfast was served in the castle itself; the buffet was in the Marble Room while you sat down and ate in an ornate dining room with huge chandeliers. The breakfast spread is fantastic but far more impressive is the setting. The Venetian Room of the Castle served as the model for the room where the Ballroom scene in Sound of Music takes place. The castle itself is magnificent. It is owned by the estate of Max Reinhardt and among many other attractions such as the Chinese Room it contains a huge two story library full of books. I am not really doing justice to the grandeur of the place; you need to look up some photos!. The (mostly yonug) staff are friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our staying, Thanks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet is too small in space and too far away from the bedroom. The scale in the bathroom did not work and the bath towels did not smell fresh.

    We enjoyed the views, the gardens and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    I had good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all the staff are friendly. Normal checkin and checkout service like taking the luggage is not available.

    The breathtaking view of the hotel. The breakfast hall and the library are really lovely. It is indeed relaxing to walking around in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Always wanted to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have been provided a jug for a cup of tea.

    Always wanted to stay here! Great room, location and breakfast. Comfortable bed and staff were very nice and helpful calling a taxi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel scenary is beautiful, main building is stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed is not in the main building, it is a little old and the room was hot and not ventilated. The hotel is beautiful but the standard double room need some proper work

    The hotel scenary is beautiful, main building is stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    The view from the hotel and walk around the lake where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants around the lake were closed on Mondays as a result we had to take a taxi to town.

    The view from the hotel and walk around the lake where memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice place but needs update and too far from the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you in Salzburg for the sight seeing and not in a good shape to walk long distance to the old city it is not your place to stay. All grounds are poorly groomed. Hotel needs to be updated. It is putty to see such a nice property determinate.

    Hotel is very nicely located on the lake. The walk around the lake was lovely. Breakfast and breakfast facilities were very enjoyable. Front desk personnel was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location away from the tourist center of Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was extremely slow even in the lobby areas.

    We truly enjoyed our stay at Schloss Leopoldskron! The staff were all exceptional at the desk with restaurant recommendations and assistance with any questions. We took the bikes out for the day around Salzburg which is only a ten minute ride, twenty minute walk. As many reviewers noted, breakfast was great and you cannot beat the view. Room was comfortable and quiet with a beautiful view of the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff as fabulous, always friendly, and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It should be noted that the rooms are not actually in the Schloss Leopoldskron. They are next door in the 2 story villa.

    The staff as fabulous, always friendly, and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Great to be out of the downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of our room was quite uncomfortable. We were aware that there was no air conditioning but didn’t think it would be a problem because the temperature and breeze outside were perfect. In our room, we were hot, even sweating, most of the time. Our room was on the top floor (think of attic style slopes for the ceiling). The windows appeared to be half the size of the other floors and this certainly didn’t allow much ventilation. We did use both fans but, still, the difference in temperature from the ground floor to our room was considerable, at least 10 degrees. For just under $1,000 for three night, we were quite frustrated with the situation. We asked to be move, and I certainly believe they would have, had they had a room available, but they didn’t so we spent our afternoons avoiding our room, which was ridiculous for the price we paid. Had it been winter, the room would have been perfect. If you are planning to stay here during any of the warmer months, be prepared or get confirmation that you will be on a ground floor room. Because of this, we will not be returning to this property.

    Great to be out of the downtown area. Beautiful area to go on evening walks. Wonderful restaurant close by. Excellent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful palace hotel worth visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft. My wife and I both had back pain the next morning.

    This is an amazing palace hotel where you feel like you belong to the royal family. The staff is very friendly and the palace grounds are great! They have their own private lake and numerous other facilities nearby. I would highly recommend visiting the library and the marble room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Everything, will be my place to stay everytime I visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can't think of anything bad

    Everything, will be my place to stay everytime I visit. They lend you free bicycles, which I highly recommend for a ride in salzburg. Walk to Nonnberg Abbey is amazing and we could also easily reach the city center by walking. Room is in perfect state (not expected as the building itself is very old), not to mention the garden as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    It was a beautiful location but not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in room. Cost of tea in cafe. . Some Staff needed more training. No meals other than breakfast. It was not value for money. It was more expensive than most 4 star hotel but did not provide the facilities of one.

    The location of the property. The history of it. The surrounding beauty of the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    A must for a Sound of Music fan, stunning views, beautiful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are a tourist - then this hotel makes sense only if you are a Sound of Music fan. Otherwise it might be a bit out of the way from the main sites that you want to see. But if you don't mind staying a little away from the crowd - this is absolutely perfect. The grounds are beautifully kept and the rooms are bigger than most in that region. The breakfast setting is absolutely stunning. You could spend hours looking at the views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    the palace is beautiful and we borrow the bicycles to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, everything is perfect

    the palace is beautiful and we borrow the bicycles to the center of salzburg. It might takes 15 minutes ride and easy to park. It is very convenient and have more fun.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    lovely living museum. a feast for the eyes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfortunately only the suites are in the schloss, the rest are in the building nearby.

    beautiful library, fantastic vegan friendly breakfast, good room, awesome view! very quiet and tranquil

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Fun place to stay for Sound of Music Fans
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not receive the advertised "Welcome drink" and felt that the check in process was a bit rushed, even though we were the only guests at Reception. We were unable to explore the Schloss and gardens on the night we checked in due to a wedding. (The website states this is a possibility and wasn't a complete surprise.) Our room was very warm, and opening a window and turning on the fan did little to cool it down.

    This is a fun place for Sound of Music fans to stay while in Salzburg. We had a room in the Meierhof building. It was very clean and quiet. We were able to walk to dinner after at the nearby Weiher Wirt and then enjoyed after dinner drinks in the Meierhof Café. Breakfast in the Schloss is very good, with a large selection and a lovely atmosphere. We had fun exploring the rooms in the Schloss and walking the grounds. We did not take advantage of using the bicycles at the hotel, but would have if we had had more time. We do highly recommend the Fräulein Maria's Sound of Music Bicycle Tour for fellow Sound of Music fans!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed into a double and no upgrade to real ,gapless, double on request -even though place seemed a third full. On paying the bill(500 euros for 3 nights) we were advised we had got a "good price ", shorthand for "don't ask for anything ". 😀

    Lakeside location grabs at the very essence of natural serenity ,the majesty of the flanking snow capped peaks blending top of the world atmosphere with a 1965 soundtrack .....doe ray me, as the waterbirds rally at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast buffet was an extravaganza of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was an extravaganza of food. It was also a fantastic touch that the property offers free bike rentals. We used the bikes each day to get into the city and also to explore the other parts of Salzburg. It is also an extremely bike friendly city so the bikes were perfect. The staff was also very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Feel like royalty at Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a warm few days and although there was a portable standing fan, it was still stuffy in the room.

    This quaint hotel is located on a beautiful and tranquil lake with spectacular views of Hohensalzburg castle. It is an easy walk around the lake with a restaurant, cocktail bar, public swimming pool and mini golf all nearby. The hotel breakfast was varied with some gluten free options and is located in the palace building next door. The breakfast and buffet rooms are beautiful and don’t forget to walk around the rest of the other rooms. The library is particularly inviting with its cozy chairs and literary vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel but no food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outside of town they should offer a shuttle service to town. They do not have a running kitchen except for breakfast.

    Amazing views and great history to the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    A magical experience staying in an iconic property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water should be provided in room. Bath in room 111 was difficult to use because of an unusual design.

    The palace was superb. We were given free access to the palace and enjoyed breakfast in the beautiful dining room. Katherina in reception was extremely helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing experience in a Baroque Castle by a lake and view on beautiful Austrian mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything, from the extremely welcoming staff to the beautifully and newly refurbished suite. It isn't only a hotel but a whole experienced in a Baroque castle that stays open for residents of the suites 24/7. We had the most inspiring time going through the rooms of the castle and enjoying the beautiful location by the lake. Breakfast was perfect, welcoming drink too, and bed super comfortable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.4
    Fantastic Location. Agressive Personnel. Don't count on the offered bikes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1/ Some of the personnel are agressive with customers. I even had one person who throwed an object of mine (protection of camera objective) on the ground because it was apparently not at the good place (a table...). One receptionnist was also not pleasant and quite negative. Even when I complained about this agressivity, they did not care... 2/ They mention the free rent of bikes for customers.... but when you only offer 5 bikes for dozens of rooms, it is almost impossible to use the bikes if you are 4 people... they should either offer more bikes or stop offering it on the website => leave it as a good surprise. I planned whole my journey on the fact that we could use bikes... and I had finally to rent bikes outside to do it, with the price it costs and the difficulty to get them delivered to the hotel.

    Fantastic Location and monument of history.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and unique location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room only had a small splash window so a lot of water ended up on the bathroom floor.

    Beautiful location on the lake with excellent views. The staff is extremely friendly. There are free bicycles to ride to the center of Salzburg with. The breakfast room and the suites are in the main castle, the other rooms, reception and other facilities in the building next to the castle but everything has a large wow-effect. The room was well equipped with a large modern bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Scenic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of potential to make the patio more attractive and usable.

    The views were amazing, castle in the front and snow-capped mountains in back. Breakfast included a wide variety of items. Our room was clean, modern, and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    A dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic, it's a dream come true. There rooms were comfortable and clean and the breakfast in the marble room was one of a kind! The schloss is beautiful and as guest of the hotel you have access to all rooms at any time including the old library. Just perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Stunningly, beautiful hotel and grounds with the loveliest staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We absolutely loved every second of our stay in this beautiful hotel. The palace and its grounds were spectacular and had the most amazing views of the mountains and lake. The staff were so lovely and friendly and couldn't have been more welcoming! Looking forward to our next visit already :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite a long walk to the town centre so a taxi was needed in the evening.

    Location of hotel was outstanding, the rooms in the main building such as dining room and the library were superb and the breakfast had plenty of choice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Maria looked after our every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria looked after our every need. There was nothing she couldn’t do. In the is case I would change the lyrics to a well know song associated with property “How to solve a problem like Maria”.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    - nice, modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - nice, modern room - free parking in the courtyard, plenty of spaces - superb complex, especially the palace and the lake. - good location. Quiet area, but only a 10-15 minutes walk to the city center

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Just have to try it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it was fantastic.

    Just loved the experience of staying in a "living museum". It was beautifully appointed and very glad that we stayed in the Palace it was special.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    A must for Sound of Music fans!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Very good location, just on the outskirts of the city, but within easy reach by foot or taxi. By foot involves a steep climb up and down, but great views. The room was well appointed and clean. The Schloss is interesting, and the main reason for staying here, being a location in the filming of The Sound of Music. Very good for fans of the film, and some great photo opportunities on the steps and by the lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location, ideal for a scenic walk around the lake,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, ideal for a scenic walk around the lake, comfortable, quiet and clean room. Friendly staff, breakfast in the castle was lovely, with the chance to walk around the castle itself. All in all, a relaxing weekend and I would both recommend the hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Salzburg, and would also stay here again. The hotel is also quite close to the old city of Salzburg, and we were able to walk from the hotel to the "Festung Hohensalzburg" which can also been seen from the hotel. On a side note, for anyone looking to get married, there was a wedding on the weekend we stayed, and I would say it was the perfect setting to start off married life!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Beatiful location, historic building, mucch to expensive for what it is though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The condition the rooms were didn't meet my expectations. It had next to none living space. The bathroom was spacious. The pillows were much too fluffy for my taste (even though I didn't ask for an extra). The location is far too remote from the center, you have to have a car or always call a cab.

    The location is magnificent. The staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet was great, but I wouldn't dare say excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    If you want to experience pure royalty stay at the Leopoldskron. It is the best value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sir David Gore-Booth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was that there was no restaurant within the palace grounds and one had to walk outside to get food. Also the same night there was a wedding party and the noise was too loud. The wedding celebrations kept me up till atlas 3am and I had an early morning flight the next day...so it was kind of a bummer to have such loud distraction. Having said that, thanks to the wedding I got to see the fireworks which was the highlight of my stay!

    I loved the fact that I was in a real palace and the Gore suite where I stayed was one of the best in the house! everything from the location, to the view and the ambiance of the suite was timeless. The fact that I got to stay in this palace and tour around at my own leisure was a great experience. The view from my room was breathtaking and for me this stay made my whole trip to Salzburg worthwhile. The library was my favorite room and the Venetian room was pure fantasy! the best part was the breakfast and the whole set up of the dining hall took me back in time and I felt I was living in a royal past life. It was the perfect end to a fantastic holiday. I even got to see the snowfall and finally got my white Christmas holiday. such a dream! I have decided the Leopoldskron to be my wedding venue :) and will return with my whole family!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    The Hotel was fantastic, everything was fantastic including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Hotel was fantastic, everything was fantastic including breakfast in the Grand Dining Room so glad we booked I would recommend this property to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    Nice. But disappointing considering the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness,eating facilities, very minimal furnishings in the room . The main hotel block had a utilitarian feel - in complete contrast to the Schloss.

    Location , view , historic Schloss,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Go for it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttles or buses nearby. Only taxis which are not economical.

    It was one of the best heritage properties I’ve stayed. Amazing is the word. I stayed in a normal suite and it was superb!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the first day the housekeeping was a downside for me. The shower gel dispenser was empty from when we checked in and not refilled in our 4 night stay. The conditioner tube was empty and not replaced from the beginning. Either supply toiletries or don’t!

    Great location on the lake. It is a bit deceiving when you book. It should mention that all double rooms are not in the main building but the smaller building to the side. Staff was very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Live like royalty! Picture perfect and very friendly. You'll never want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all wonderful - really the only thing I could fault was the lack of a mini fridge in the room. But that's only because we didn't want to leave - would have been great to have somewhere to keep wine and nibbles!

    Stunning location and scenery

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic, inspiring and fun
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was working all through the days but I did miss a more traditional hotel bar when I came back at the end of the day. I did have a cheeky Apfel snapps with my hot chocolate in the cafe but had I had more time on my hands I would have missed a bar with a fireplace.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was warm and impressively quiet. I had SatNav in the car I hired at the airport so finding the place was easy! The setting and the atmosphere of the whole place is very beautiful and calming, an impression which was backed p by the staff who were warm and friendly without being annoyingly bubbly (you know what I mean!).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Incredible building and surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    The building was amazing both inside and outside. If possible, I recommend spending the extra money to stay in the palace rather than the Meierhof, because it's there that you have the real atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. I recommend walking to the town from here (around 20-30 minutes depending on your speed) and taking a taxi back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was 2 singles pushed together so they divided during the night with a big gap in the middle. Also the pillow had only a few feathers in it - though reception were able to speedily provide additions on request.

    Fantastic property - beautiful location, buildings, staff and the most Devine breakfast. A lovely 25 minute walk into town so unless you have a car or are happy to take a taxi, be prepared to do lots of walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.0
    Just plain
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more .i thougt i will sleep in the palace but the double rooms are in plain rooms outside the palace.the experience of the palace is not special or giving you the feeling like you are in a palace The bathroom is plain a d also the rooms

    The breakfast room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    historical gem on the outskirts of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally happy. At breakfast it would be nice if they had HP sauce or tabasco sauce.

    Great location if travelling by car. Nice views, good area for jogging. Wonderful historical property. Excellent breakfast in palace dining hall. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    It’s a palace, need I say more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With so many wonderful aspects it’s hard to find fault but the breakfast was not quite up to the standards of the rest of our stay.

    The view from the room was fantastic, with plenty of space and fascinating decor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel grounds and the Schloss itself are absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had booked a double room, but we had 2 single beds pushed together and 2 single quilts which I wouldn't class as a double.

    The hotel grounds and the Schloss itself are absolutely stunning and so peaceful as it is only accessible to guests. Worth staying at this hotel for the room that breakfast is served in alone. The staff were all amazing too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    My stay was enjoyable, and met my expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was limited due to construction works, but this minor inconvenience should pass once the construction is complete.

    The reception staff was phenomenal- very professional, knowledgeable, and articulate. Breakfast was outstanding- beautiful ambiance, great variety of foods, service team very attentive. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic staff with the most beautiful grounds and main building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No option for dinner but a few good restaurants a short walk away so not a big problem.

    The gardens and grounds around the hotel are just beautiful and the staff were very helpful. Easy to walk into the main town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Sir David Gore-Booth Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the place really needs a world class restaurant with at least 3 different cuisines so that guests who stay for 3 nights or more can eat well... also the staff seems reluctant to make adjustments - for example, we requested for a late checkout by 1 pm - they were very reluctant and pushed us to move out by 12:15! not really nice for guests who stay in one of your best suites! also the palace does seem a bit rundown!

    the location the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The staff was incredible - Sofia and Maria were amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like how the hall lights would turn off. I like hallway lights being on at all times, and it was discomforting walking around and approaching pitch dark hallways

    The staff was incredible - Sofia and Maria were amazing and so, so helpful. The breakfast was great - I enjoyed being able to walk the grounds and hang out in the library. The room was great too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Heavenly in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved our night at Leopoldskron! Our double room was upgraded to a suite, and we spent a lovely evening watching the sun set over the lake. We had our best dinner in Austria at the Weiherwirt restaurant next door and a spectacular breakfast at the Schloss in the morning. There were plenty of umbrellas available for a pleasant but rainy walk into town, and when the sun came out the next morning, we took the bikes on a heavenly morning ride. Everyone who worked there was incredibly nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice place.... we really enjoy staying there.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is better if hotel still provide single bed (queen/king size) than attach single size (90 cm) bed in two. Because we rent a car, it doesn't matter for transportation, but for people who don't have car, it is difficult to take public transportation

    Great historical atmosphere, building exterior-interior, and breakfast. The staffs very helpful when we are check in and asking for taxi (after we return a rent-car)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Nice service, nice breakfast, nice environment, and lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far away from city center. As we almost lost ourselves when we walked back from city center in the evening. If have more guidepost or signpost near the hotel would be better for the tourists. Then, if have a kettle in the room to make a cup of tea would be nice.

    Nice service, nice breakfast, nice environment, and lovely library near the dining room. Everything is wonderful when I lived in here. I would like to live again next time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, clean and comfortable room, outstanding staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very comfortable room, basic however tea/coffee making facilities never go astray in the rooms.

    A beautiful location, with a very clean and comfortable room. The gardens are stunning, and the building itself is wonderful to look at, regardless of whether you are a sound of music fan or not. The library is very interesting, and we enjoyed having breakfast in the large dining room. Staff were very professional, polite and attentive without being pretentious, and I rate the service as 10/10. My husband and I borrowed push bikes from the hotel, and we loved being able to spend an afternoon riding around Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    A nice local flavor but lacking the standards of a hotel chain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the condition of the room was very good, the common areas and furniture were shabby.

    The historic aspects of the place and its beautiful setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    We were in the Julie Andrews Suite-the hotel is gorgeous at every turn- we were nourished by it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we would change.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful. We were treated like royalty. The suite we had and all the little 'extra' touches- fan and chocolates on pillows- lovely bathroom products- champagne and fresh fruit to greet us- made this a stay in a million- and a keeper memory for a lifetime. Thank you thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.9
    The photos on the wall above the bed were weird and creepy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on the wall above the bed were weird and creepy. Okay to have them along the hallways as pieces of interest but I don't think they're nice to sleep underneath- i took them off the wall while we were there, they didn't really add to the honeymoon mood.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    The library, the lake, the view of the Alps, the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The library, the lake, the view of the Alps, the restaurant right next to the property. Everything at Schloss Leopoldskron was exceptional! The staff was excellent, they were extremely happy and knowledgeable. I would live there if I could. 😄

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    Poor quality hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very basic, quality is somewhat lacking and facilities are poor. We stayed for five nights and were located in a noisy part of the hotel overlooking the driveway into the reception area. Coffee shop is basic with no character, no space and limited menu. The bed was advertised as double beds when in fact there are two singles joined together. Bathroom towels are poor quality.

    Gardens and surroundings are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    If you stay here, dont expect much from the hotel, but the Palace was SO BEAUTIFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, Nothing special. The staffs was rude and unhelpful, such a pity for such a great hotel with amazing palace.

    The Palace was INCREDIBLE! The library, those beautiful rooms, the garden, the lake, everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schloss Leopoldskron traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: