Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Lerner 3 stars

Wipplinger Straße 23, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#30 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 382 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was outside of our room so it was a little inconvenient, but overall was great

    We had our own shower inside our room, rooms were clean and the location was close to the city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pension Lerner deserves more than three stars. Can not come up with any ideas for improvement. I would not change a thing!

    This visit was a research trip for another book. Property is conveniently located within walking distance of important historical places. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast delicious. Good assortment of items.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system, it was a little cold in the room especially at night. But with the duvet provided, it wasn't so bad. OK

    Centrally located in the City, wonderful breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more international news channels

    very central location but at the same time quite place, all basic facilities were there (but fridge---:-)), good bed linen, breakfast ok, nice personnel, 3 min to go to Graben

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets and the bathroom are separated

    The location is great - close to Stephanplatz and other important sites in central Vienna. The room we stayed in was spacious, and the breakfast is very satisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Low efficiency and high noise of air condition

    Due to overbookig we were proposed another ( smaller room) compared what we have booked - but ...free of charge ( brekfeast included). It shows the high level of proffesionalism and responsibility for the customer satisfaction from the staff side.Besides the place was in the close vincity of the most turistic attracions of Viena.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no mention which floor the pension was located, I was a bit unsure where to go when I got inside the building. The toilet was a bit broken during my stay.

    Staff is friendly and eager to help you. Breakfast is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    The staff were both extremely warm and welcoming and made every effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We travelled far from Australia and they had our room ready for early check in which was fantastic. The breakfast was great. Room was quiet, airy and spacious. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls and poor sound insulation (You can hear all the voices from the corridor).

    Very central location (A few minutes walk to The Stephansplatz). Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not prepare coffee/tea in our own room No fridge in the room

    Extremely nice staff 5-7 min walk from the city central square Very large room and quite comfy Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very thin walls and poor sound insulation - room on first floor facing the road: noisy at night - no safe in the room - a kettle for tea and coffee would have been very nice to have

    - Central location - Spacious room - Good and varied breakfast with lactose-free options - Wifi working very well - Kind and friendly personnel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad sound isolation between the walls. No air condition.

    The rooms in hotel are spacious, furniture is good, bathrooms are quite old but very clean. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing serious. The equipment may be better but we can't expect more for this price.

    Great location, friendly staff, brilliant breakfest and affordable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The use of a strong cleanser in the toilet bowl is strongly recommended, as well as the use of a vacuum cleaner for the carpet.

    Very good location, helpful staff, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was large and comfortable, with a table and chairs and a sofa. Breakfast was wonderful - the best selection of breads, cheese, fruit, juice, cereal and outstanding coffee. The scrambled eggs, which were present every morning, were superb, soft and fluffy, not hard. The staff were so kind and helpful, especially the owner, Veronika. It would be wonderful to return to Vienna. We had been there several times before, and still discovered new things to see and do. It's a wonderful city to walk around in and the art is not to be missed. Were we to return, we would certainly seek to stay at Pension Lerner, which is in a great location, within walking distance of Stefan's Dom, Freud museum, the opera house, countless churches.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location was quiet at night, the street is busy and noisy in the early morning. Earplugs are recommended if you're a light sleeper or like to sleep in. Wifi is available and worked best in the lobby for us, as the signal was much weaker in our room.

    The pension was easy to find and we appreciated the flexibility of late check-in (keys held at nearby hotel). We stayed here for 3 nights. The pension was a short walking distance to many main points of interest. Train/bus also nearby. We enjoyed the convenience of breakfast onsite. We found our room/facilities to be as as described and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, the only negative for me, and unfortunately I feel like it's a big negative, was our check in process. First, the hotel is fairly difficult to find in the building. There is an easy to spot sign outside, but once you enter the building, there is nothing directing you up the stairs to the correct floor. It took us quite a while and multiple sets of stairs to find the correct door which was a major frustration after already having walked some distance on a hot day. There definitely needs to be an additional sign or two. Second, once we did finally locate the door for the hotel, it was locked (we arrived during the posted check in hours). There was a doorbell to ring so we rang it, but no one came to the door. After sharing a confused glance, we rang it again about 45 seconds later. Still no answer. We waited a while, then rang it again for a bit longer (we could hear the bell ringing on the other side of the door and people moving about), but still no answer. This ringing and waiting went on for 5 minutes before someone finally came to the door. Meanwhile we were standing in a very hot and stuffy hallway wearing heavy backpacks. We were finally greeted with no apology, just a welcome. The hotel was just fine, but based on our issues at check in, I won't be rebooking.

    The hotel is quaint and everything worked well. We really enjoyed the breakfast and it was within walking distance to everything touristy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unseasonably warm in Vienna and the fan only stayed on for 2 hours at a time. So you would have to get up to start it again. It would have been fine if it had actually cooled down at night, but this was a heat wave.

    The room was absolutely beautiful and the breakfast was amazing!! Scrambled eggs, yogurt parfaits, many different kinds of rolls and meuslis. Also the fresh brewed coffee on your table was an extra special touch. Also the location was so central to everything. Rinstrasse tram a short walk and the bus in front took you to the Stephenplatz. Or you could easily walk!! The restaurant Benito and Max was great for lunch and there were many restaurants close by for dinner. We loved Brezelwold!!! Pretzels, radler and traditional Austrian food!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was below par.

    Staff service was excellent. The amenities may look dated but they are perfectly okay. High ceiling rooms, and comfortable bed. Location and wifi were also good. :-)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan in the room wasn't terribly effective at keeping the room cool.

    The location was very central, the staff were friendly and the breakfasts were delicious, a good variety of things to eat. Loved the scrambled eggs and ham, the fruit pots and the little dishes of soft cheese with bits

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning in the room.

    Friendly staff, very clean room, good choices of foods for breakfast. I would stay again if in town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    That the staff was really helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, walking distance to town center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, quiet place even though it si located in the centre of Wien, tasty breakfast, good communication with the pension.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, breakfast with good coffe, room with comfortable bed and king personal ready to help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good breakfast - simple yet comfy room - very nice people - perfect location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, very comfortable!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No staff during the night.

    Kind staff and old building with the charm. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located in an old house. Ceilings are high and the outlook is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very friendly and hospitable, great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance

    Location, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner Veronica was delightful and helpful with information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit expensive...

    The breakfast was pretty good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The next day , the other staff member was not so friendly.

    Nice small place, nice Breakfast. Great locations! One staff member was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice breakfast included. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Demolish the building

    I liked leaving the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location! Quiet and cozy hotel. Very friendly staff! Delicious breakfasts I would stop here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellente situation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    View from Window for room no 101.

    Very good staff, knowledgeable, nice behaviour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host, breakfast, clean appartments and we could leave our baggage after checkout to explore the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In very hot weather the lack of air conditioning is a bit of a problem

    Excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet personal but is located outside the room number

    Breakfest tasty, atmospehre domestic and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could be a little bit more refurbished.

    Breakfast very good, and the location very close to city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    yummy breakfast great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffe must be perfect, like in Vienna!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love it! I'm going back!

    My flat in the Inner Stadt

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting brown scales in the toilet

    Location, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location was wonderful...the breakfast was ok...the room was comfortable...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    stairwell not lit at night

    nice clean room big bed good breakfast the scrambled egg with cheese and ham out of this world

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet away from sink!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes could not access Qi-if from our room, pour room is the farthest room.

    Staff are nice, good breakfast, location is convenient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good breakfast with gluten free and vegan options (upon request)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, friendly staff, room was clean. Had a perfect stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No any facilities available except WI-FI . Price is very high 88 €. Poor breakfast. Dirty floor carpet. Very old pension.

    Location only

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, excellent support around aktivities around Vienna, high service, breakfast with lot to choice from

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a little bit old-fashioned interior, but very clean anyways

    the stuff was really helpfull and nice to us, we had great night sleep in cozy beds and it was quiet in the pansion, no noisy people XD also nice neighbourhood

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the room with WC outside of room - previously advertised - it is on the other side of corridor. There are two rooms, which has separate WC and both rooms have it own toilet. Although we knew about it in advance, it is still little bit pain especially when you wake up or just before sleeping as you must either dress up or go to corridor in pyjamas. You just had count with that, especially if you stay longer. For us it was not really a problem.

    The location is perfect. The pension was likely originally just flat rebuilt to 7 room pension. So it is like living in some flat with the services of pension. It is small but cozy.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had a seperate toilet which seems a little unusual however this was not a problem for us.

    Veronica is a lovely host and she made our stay very pleasant. Value for money Pension Lerner was terrific. Breakfast was most enjoyable and set us up for a good day.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entrance of the building was not look a like a hotel entrance, but it wasn't a big issue.

    Room was clean, very spacious and the host were helpful. Close to St Patric cathedral and metro station.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The bed was very uncomfortable (there were two seperate matrasses on double bed) 2. wi-fi was very weak (almost not working in the room) 3. No heating till 15th October

    1. Breakfast was excellent 2. Staff was helpful 3. Location is good (10-15 minutes walk to city center)

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. The only thing that I didn't like (and I'm really nitpicking here) - we had a street facing room. There was a cafe below our room and it's patrons would smoke right under our window. It gave me a wicked headache but closing the windows would be stifling. But hey! first world problems. :)

    1. Loved the hospitality. They were wonderful, answered all of our questions, and provided everything we needed. 2. The breakfasts were yummy. In fact, I looked forward to it each morning. Fruit, fresh cheeses, cold cuts, etc. 3. The location - 10-15 min walk to city center and 10 min walk to the train center. We would get off at St. Stephen's cathedral, walk around the city center, and then walk back home.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room fan had a two hour limit so it would turn off in the night and leave us quite hot. The was one accessible outlet to run the fan and charge devices.

    Veronika was very engaging and helpful. A delightful host. The location was very good. The room was quiet. Breakfast offered a good selection of tasty foods.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't let the outside looks, entrance to rooms and neighborhood fool you. We arrived late in the evening and entered through the basement and was not impressed with the entrance. However the next day we left on the first floor and it was much better. Plus we met the Staff which is great and helpful and breakfast relaxed and good

    Location was really good... A quick walk to St. Stephanplantz and the rest of the downtown area (If you like walking). A bit further from metro and bus lines... great restaurants in the area. Staff very helpful trying to find some detailed locations and arranging transport to airport.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Don't plan to spend much time in the room - it's very small. WiFi in my room was very weak, so I had to use it on a bench at reception. Small elevator and some stairs on the way inside made us not very comfortable with a baby stroller. This is all because of the building - it is rather old, like other beautiful buildings around.

    Great location. Easy walking access to the city center. Simple but sufficient breakfast. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location on a quiet street with easy walking distance to town. Excellent breakfast every morning. Helpful staff. Will recommend to others coming to vienna.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We really liked the location of the hotel. we didn't have to worry about going back because we were always walking back from the center. we always had internet. the staff was really helpful and the rooms were very clean. the breakfast had everthing you would want to start a beautiful day. thank you very much for your kind service.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, they renovated the building and thought it might be the best idea to start at 730 am just in the room above mine. To be fair, it was noted that there was an ongoing renovation. However, it was indicated that there would be no disturbance during the weekend. Apparently, saturday 730 am is not the weekend :-)... besides that the pension is very cute and the staff always friendly. Great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel felt a ways from the center of things. The room was not totally clean when we got there. There was dust under the bed along with a sock and a new baby diaper someone had left behind I think the toilet paper dispenser was broken, and we were charged if we needed new towel. There was not a desk person after 8:00 at night.

    The breakfast was excellent and the person who prepared it was most pleasant and helpful with any questions or needs we had.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, in quite place, but close to everything. Possibility to enter from 2 streets located at different levels is convenient. Breakfast is good

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pension Lerner traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: