Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lokomotive 3 stars

Weingartshofstraße 40, 4020 Linz, Austria

#25 of 48 hotels in Linz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel located in a bad area. At the entrance, there is a smell of beer and cigarettes and noise of drunken guests of the hotel restaurant, which serves as a local pub. A nice receptionist divided the time between registration and bartender function. There was smoke from marijuana in the corridor leading to the rooms. Noise reached the room which was renovated but cramped and with a very small bed. I could not sleep. Breakfast tasty but ordinary. No good coffee.

    Room was renovated, wifi worked.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom could have had a more interesting view!! Shame no evening meals but there are other places to eat nearby (e.g. in the railway station).

    Helpful English speaking staff, comfortable quiet bedroom and good buffet breakfast served form 6 o'clock daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price considering its current situation (under renovations), lack of A/C and no mini fridge...could be a bit cheaper...perhaps about 10 euros less. Since there was no A/C had to keep the window opened, so early morning you could hear all the construction workers. Below me where my other family was staying, on the ground floor, they couldn't keep the windows opened at all, for fear of someone maybe able to climb through the window, there were no screens either. But, all in all it worked out really well, the breakfast wa worth the little inconveniences especially since we were only staying one overnight.

    I liked that the hotel was walking distance to train station and at the same time relatively close to main streets leading into center of town. I liked that breakfast was included, all other hotels nearby charge about 18 euros/person for breakfast. The room and bathroom was clean and modern, albeit smaller than average hotels I've been to, but very well laid out and if you don't plan to spend long periods of time in your room it remains cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything ok.

    Property totally renovated; everything is bright, clean and new. A perfect silence in the night make the rest excellent. Perfect position 5 minutes on foot from train station. Excellent free wi fi. The usual good austrian - german breakfast with different kind of salami and cheese. Very good for train traveller.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is advertised as having a restaurant WHICH IT DOES NOT!! The snacks offered with drinks are very low quality, the bar is a smoking bar and the smoke spreads all over, breakfast was not special in any way, the place looks dated. Even though there is a smart TV in the room, the setting do not allow a change of language, for instance, so if you do not speak German there is no possibility to watch any program you might like. Although I was there 14 years ago and loved it, I would not recommend it at anymore.

    The receptionist was really nice and helpful, the bed rather comfortable, and the room clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Temperature in the room was a bit too high at night, couldn't find the thermostat.

    Beautiful newly restored or built wing. Room looked like brand new. Very nice bathroom shower. Very large flat-screen TV.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was much too high for the relatively small room provided. There was no way to regulate the heat in the room. The bathroom had no space heater or radiator and was too cold for showering. The only amenity in the bathroom was a wall mounted soap dispenser. Only one towel rack.

    It was close to the train station. Friendly, helpful staff. Very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities are outdated. Isolation is a bit poor. The room service entered my room when I was in the bathroom.

    The Locomotive Hotel is the just a regular hotel in Linz. The location is the most attractive thing - only 5 minutes walk from the central train station. It is a bit distant from the City center, but there is a tram stop right away near the train station. The rooms are OK, but the facilities are dated. The only modern thing in the rooms - the large TV. The breakfast is not something overwhelming, but is quite OK. WiFi works OK in all the Hotel area. Overall if you search for the 2-3 days stay in Linz - this can be a good value for your money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the banter at reception was too much. Don't get me wrong - they were lovely people. But perhaps a little less banter would be helpful.

    Friendly and near the station. Good shower and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aged facilities. They are just rebuilding part of the hotel so better ask for a room in the reconstructed area.

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. Close to the city centre and to the main railway station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except the location :( Room was very old furnished, bed (was not like a bed, looks like a sofa) was uncomfortable Poor breakfast The next building was under construction and they were starting at 8 in the morning , could not sleep well.

    Location- walking distance from Linz main station and to city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * We arrived around 1:00 p.m., but had early check-in priority arranged through Booking and granted by the hotel. There was push-back from the staff who said it hadn't been approved (the approval had been granted by e-mail). The room was available, so no problem, but it still was a disappointing first impression. (But the lady with whom I had the initial exchange turned out to be the nicest staff member and a positive of our stay.) * Our room was on the ground floor (605). My fault for not requesting a higher floor. But we would have appreciated being told (warned!) that there was construction being done right outside the window every day. One morning, the construction began at 6:50. Avoid ground floor rooms: the passageway leading to the parking lot is right under the windows. * Like many European hotels, there is no air con. That's fine. But providing a fan in the room would be a huge plus. We were lucky enough to be in Linz during a heat wave, and the room was consistently stifling. I love heat and still found it annoying. * There was no kettle. I understand that with an on-site restaurant the hotel may want to encourage [paying] patronage of it, but an in-room kettle would be nice to have. And/or a mini-fridge... * Be aware the bathroom has hand soap and shower gel only. * An in-room safe would be much appreciated.

    * Fast and easy access from rail station (about a 3 or 4-minute walk) * Efficient wifi that could be used with multiple devices simultaneously * Good lighting in both the room and bathroom * Generously sized shower * Long counter/work space * Huge TV * Restaurant and bar on site (we didn't go to either but it's great to have the option) * Supermarket right across the street * Comfortable walk to the main shopping street (about 15 min.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance to the hotel was off putting with a very strong odour of cigarettes it stuck in the throat. The staff on reception were ok but the breakfast was average with a not pleasant atmosphere from the lady serving. Perhaps because of the language barrier ?????

    the access to the rail station and city centre not bad

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is conveniently located near to the railway station (3 min walk). The room was clean and functional, the breakfast very good, the personnel friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only complaint would be the shower head handle had a problem and it kept dropping.

    We stayed one night with the only purpose to take a train early in the morning, for that the location was perfect. The staff was excellent, comfortable beds and good breakfast. Besides that is really close to a supermarket and an excellent italian restaurant. Would stay again if needed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was en route so only one night but I wanted to stay here over the ibis as it's 'family owned.' I wasn't disappointed. The part my room was in has been built on recently and everything is modern to the point where I think they are under-charging! Excellent, clean room, huge TV and I could've stayed under the shower all day. Perfect for rail travellers-station 2 mins away. The 3 members of staff I met were all polite and professional. Especially the guy who works the night shift-said his father is English so we were able to have a chat! If your going too Linz stay here!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. The front desk is perfect and the room is very very big compared to the hotel room in the past in the same price. The best is I can book the smoking room.perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived very late early morning hours, staff was very attentive and welcoming. Location location location, just a few steps from Central Railway Nice breakfast, hotel parking in the yard.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exterior and lobby of the hotel look rather dated, but the rooms have been recently redone with simple, modern finishings, including in the bathroom, and everything was very clean and comfortable. More space in the single room than most 3* and 4* hotels I've stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked my room,the staff who communicated well with me in English,and the fine breakfast included with my room.I also felt I received a good bang for the Euros I spent for my room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In general hotel needs some renovation, extra-paid parkside

    Breakfast OK, good coffee, fast WiFi, location at the almost very center, if someone comes by train, Hauptbanhoff is at stone-trhow.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very friendly staff. Clean, comfortable room with a larger than normal flat screen television. Slept very well in a comfortable bed. A short walk to Linz rail and bus stations. A very good buffet breakfast in a light room, improved since my last visit by new doors between the room and the bar area, where smoking is allowed . Hope to return next tear

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Used to a softer bed so that was our only problem.

    Good variety for breakfast - thanks. Appreciated advanced email with weather information. THANKS! Staff very helpful with needs.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old fashion hotel, not up to date, not very clean, dirty floor (carpet much deteriorated) - I stayed in a family room with 4 beds, maybe the rest are not the same, poor breakfast

    good location, good staff, fantastic TV (60 inch !!!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I came in late evening and left in early morning, so I didn't care about it, but wiev from the room was disgusting (room 104).

    Very good location next to the main railway station, room is small but well equipped and very clean, breakfast is nothing special but enough good for a start of the day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and not very clean. It also smelled of smoke from cigarets.

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction works / renovating the hotel at 7.00 in the morning 1 m next to my head .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel on different levels which meant that rooms could not be fully accessed by the lift

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very kind. The location is very close to main station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilets, shared shower, bad WiFi, no minibar Ratio price/performance is bad

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and new , accommodating staff, near train station, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing breakfast with lots of school parties.

    Breakfast room was fully occupied at 06.00 Sunday morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellant Location from Linz Hbf, Simple but functional room (relaxing), Good view from room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent rooms, 24h food,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work outside our window

    Reception Staff we really helpful and pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good service nice and quite room - everything you need for a night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems excellent

    Very good all round

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good hotel. Staff friendly and reasonably priced parking. Room a decdent size and an enormous flat screen tv! Nice breakfast too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing excellent value for money

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no heating in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures were of other rooms and it make it look like we were getting something better than we got

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    far from center for walking

    Breakfast service, room facilities, big room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heated room and no air-conditioning; room phone out of order

    Location No too noisy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor internet connection poor breakfast

    location near the train station early morning breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front street room so noisy

    Location to the train station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a memory for a mattress - fantastic and so far unique in my experience!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice classy family hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is situated near the centre. The room was clean and pretty. The staff was approachable and dear. Breakfast was amazing, rich table with foods and drinks.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The third bad in a room suitable for 3 people is just a couch - a really short one and quite uncomfortable.

    The breakfast was great! We especially liked the DYI-eggs. Delicious!

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Family with young children

    I just can't agree with the information on the website about breakfast. In my opinion it's far from spoiling guests. There was really nothing surprising in a small buffet table. And small bowl with tomatoes which really didn't look as just chopped. And they were only vegetables available. Ham, cheese, cereal, fruits, dairy were to choose from. The most annoying was the smell of cigarettes in the lobby and in the restaurant. I think the bar was the smoking area but it was divided with the glass wall and door with the restaurant, and the smoke just came in. Really irritating when you eat. The smell of cigarettes in the lobby is more bearable, though it would be nice if you don't smell it just when you enter the hotel. Last thing is parking area. We left the car behind other cars parking on the street. When asked the hotel staff if it was ok to park there, they confirmed. What a surprise when in the morning we saw parking fine behind windscreen wiper.

    The welcome at our late arrival was very kind. Our kids were sleepy and crying so the receptionist brought a glass of milk and some cake. Really nice. Rooms are clean and pleasant. Good enough quality for 3star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv channels - many choices WiFi works well Breakfast selection with self fried eggs 7-minute walk from Linz Haupbahnhof, which has very good public transport connections

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints at all. The only small problem was - to find short way to the hotel from the main railway station upon arrival.

    The hotel is located quite close to the main railway station - 5 minutes walk. The city center is also not far (walking distance). The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is reach enough. Wi-Fi is fast and free.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately some lightbulbs were broken so the light was minimal and you could see that the lamps hadn't been cleaned in quite a while.

    The room was large with a huge flatscreen TV. Breakfast offered everything you could hope for. The staff was very nice. One guy at the reception was a bit of a joker, bless him. Great location near the station and not far to the center. Quiet at night. Perfect if you travel by train.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Hotel Locomotive is a small family-run hotel with lots of charm. I sat out on their patio my first morning there and enjoyed watching local residents stop by for coffee and a chat with the owner. So relaxing and so European.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Limited car park - but on street was fine

    Very helpful and proactive staff English speaking Big triple rooms Good breakfast Location - short walk to central Linz

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Don't count on being able to access the internet using the hotel wifi. It's in and out, and a very weak signal when it's in.

    Nice staff, great location (if you need to take the train), good food

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the room furnishings were tired though nothing was broken and everything worked. The corridors smelt slightly of stale cigarette smoke though the room did not.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, the en-suite looked like it was a recent refurbishment. The location is excellent with the main station and the bus to the airport a minute walk from the hotel and the city centre less than 10 minutes walk away. The breakfast was very good. We were catching an early flight at the airport having arrived in Linz by train. We were happy with our overnight stay for the price we paid and would happily use the hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was great, check out until 12! big TV!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very good breakfast. Helpfull team.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    comfortable room,great breakfast,nice and helpful staff,very nearby the train station.very good hotel!

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big room and big TV.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I would complain about is that it smelled a little stuffy in the room (smoking, old wall-to-wall carpet?).

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no lift for the 5th floor

    close to HBH

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small pokey old room

    Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the location. close to train station. the staff is helpful with information. provide map

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that there was no air conditioning and the poor quality (many dropouts) of the Wifi

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good breakfast. Decent speed wifi. Friendly staff. Very reasonable price for a good sized room. Excellent location near railway and tram links.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was a little too simple, but it was all right.

    Helpful people, good location, 3 min walk from Linz Train Station.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit tired overall

    The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good. Location excellent for Linz Hbf

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Most of the shops in the town closed early, including small food stalls.

    Hotel only walking distance to park, town center and river.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location next to the Hauptbahnhof. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    corridors need a make over

    breakfast , very clean , great tv , handy for station , good staff

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Good breakfast.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Lokomotive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: