Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Madara 2 stars

Alser Straße 39, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

#59 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1169 B&B reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but slow internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet was super slow; it took really long to load any webpage. Even though the room was big, the windows were on the street side and there was a lot of street noise all night, the windows do not isolate the noise so well.

    The location is good and the room was clean and nice. I liked that you could make tea in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    What you pay is what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was OK only in the lobby. We had to leave the room to get some wifi. The bed was super soft, each morning I woke up with aching back.

    Close to tram station, private toilet & shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    The room was specious, the location is great, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very weirdly built and it feels not very clean, especially the bathroom that is old and unclean. But i guess it is worth the price we paid :) The photos are not very indicative of the room we stayed in.

    The room was specious, the location is great, the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    The room is bigger than I think, and the location is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi is so weak....There is no any signal in my room...So I have to move to the lobby to use internet, this is terrible for the tourists...

    The room is bigger than I think, and the location is very near to the bus and metro. There is a supermarket across to the street and DM store very close.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice place in the immediate vicinity of the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit too expansive, but acceptable.

    Very nice and proffesional staff. They tried as much as they can to make our stay comfortable. The room was spacious and had nice view. Threre was also a private bathroom inside. It was really nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and convenient pension to stay for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't expect much from it, it's not a Hilton, but it provides a nice experience for short stays. My window was facing the street with quite a traffic, so even at night it was impossible to have the window open (unless you wear the earplugs).

    Cheap and convenient pension to stay for a couple of nights. The bathroom was very clean. The district around and the house itself are pretty authentic, I liked it. I had some tea and a kettle in my room — big thanks for that!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Not a bad place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could've been cleaner, we saw hair on the wall and dirty handprints. When you flush the toilet, water bubbles up in the sink and shower. You can hear people walking around in the hallway easily. The windows are tricky to figure out and in the summer you don't have AC. Pillows are too soft, bring your own if you can.

    Comfortable bed, huge room. Good price for Vienna and not a bad location. Free street parking nearby but only on the weekends. Pet friendly is a huge plus, we weren't charged extra for this.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Location is very good, close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the room, you have to go to the guest room where wifi at least works (but quality is so-so). If you want to leave clothes before check-in (if you arrive in the morning,for instance) than it's not possible because check-in works only in specific time.

    Location is very good, close to the center. Room was clean, enough space for two people. For three might be small.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    Overall value for money , poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once we had checked out, we were leaving the property and it happened to start pouring with rain with thunderstorms. We were asked to leave the reception in the poor weather. When asked if a staff member on duty could call us a taxi , he was unhelpful and claimed he did not have the number, so we had to find our way to the train station with no assistance and in the pouring rain.

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    1) Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) No mirror in room 2) Trash not cleared daily. 3) No soap 4) no dish in shower to keep own soap or shampoo. 5) Very poor WiFi.

    1) Central location 2) Clean towels .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Vienna is something else, but not this
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird rules on using toilet with some extra penalties if not. Hot water was not always there. Rooms were really dark - the current lamps were obviously not enough. It looks a bit better in pictures to be honest. Hosts are not very well with english.

    High ceilings, rooms had some space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At night, the property does not have any automatic lighting, so at night it was dark and scary. Luckily i am with my friend and we are able to turn on our phone lighting. The toilet room inside the bathroom was not clean enough, there is small animal (like water worm) on the floor and you can see its moving.

    Comfy of the bed, and the room was spacious! Host also very nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although public transportation is nearby, it takes half an hour to go to the city center either by foot or by public transportations. Wifi is only available in the lobby.

    Price was quite cheap comparing to other hotels in Vienna when I was there. The room was clean and spacious. I booked a double room but was given a family room i guess. The man at the reception was really nice. The pension was near bus/metro/tram stations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Our hosts was very kind people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no air conditioner and sometimes it is very noisy by passing people and vehicles.

    Our hosts was very kind people. The room was very big and the bed, too. Pension Madara is with very good location, close to supermarkets, public transport and some of city ​​sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Very clean property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little refurbished to make it a bit more modern

    Very clean property. Close to the city center ( you can walk everywhere). Great value for the money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Good Hotel for Budget Travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Toilet had a Problem. When You Flush , you can notice that the Water pop out of the sink and Shower tab . This was Weird.

    The Room Was Big and The Location is Near the Metro and Bus Station .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    spacious room, value for money and convenience to move around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the heater too old and kinda cold for us during our winter stay. overall is still value for money.

    is spacious room for 2 with nice city view and just less than 200m to train station/bus station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    I had reserved the quadruple room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had reserved the quadruple room. The room was very big and the main bed very comfortable. The sofa next to the window offered a perfect relaxation spot. The location is very good, lots of supermarkets and other stores near the guesthouse. Parking is available in front of the guesthouse upon availability but there are other parking places quite near, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Everything was clean, especially bathroom, big and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor internet, almost no connection in the room

    Everything was clean, especially bathroom, big and comfortable double bed and excellent location, really good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean, big room, convenient location, trams and bus just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street, small bathroom ... but if you just look for a bed to stay overnight it's completely ok and good value for money

    Clean, big room, convenient location, trams and bus just outside the door, friendly staff, simple but fair price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You could hear the noise from the street and the TV from the other rooms

    Great location, close to the city center. The street had a lot of shops and there was a tram station just 90 m from the pension. The room and the bathroom were really spacious and clean. The staff was nice and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wifi in the room. Smelly toilet the smell is in the bedroom

    Location- everything just right in front of the door ( tram,bus,super markets.) Big room I had a good sleep there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Well located and close to the tram station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came at night and the reception closes at 18.00 everyday, so we found the pension and room a bit hard because there was no one in the pension to guide. At the night the heater system in the room was stop working and we got cold in the middle of night.

    Well located and close to the tram station. Room is clean and spacious with bathroom, TV and hot water.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    A good place to stay when you are not used to luxury acomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room it was a smell like in a hospital and the bathroom wasn't in very good condition. Strange noice was heard when we flushed the toilet.

    It is not so far from the center of the city. It was enough hot in the room and the water also was hot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay for good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was noisey as it was facing the street and we could hear everything anyone said or did in the hotel foyer.

    I stayed in the double room with an ensuite and it was really spacious and comfortable. Also buses and trains available right outside the building. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    The room was quite spacious and clean, with a nice sofa and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not possible to walk everywhere from this location, will definitely need to relay on public transportation. Also, very early check out and late check in.

    The room was quite spacious and clean, with a nice sofa and sitting table set up. They also provided us with an electric kettle, tea and cups. It was a very comfortable and quite place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    We had quite a big room with high ceilings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was rather cold in the room with just one (although big) radiator. In the shower cabin the drain hole needs cleaning. Pillows were not very comfortable. The design leaves much to be desired, but that's hardly a problem.

    We had quite a big room with high ceilings. A kettle, two cups and teabags in the room (this adds +100 points). Enough sockets. Wi-fi was ok. Big window to the inner yard (pretty quiet). No disturbance from the personnel. Host Jaroslav was friendly and knows some Russian :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was quite dark the windows were old and wouldn't close properly. Because of this it was a bit cold in the room and every time the tram passed by all the windows would shake

    great location the room was larger than expected and it was really clean. good value for the money the staff was really nice. Even if the check in was after 2pm they weren't bothered to do it earlier, when we arrived. They also let us store our luggage there even after we checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    After terrible messy airbnb, everything was comfortable for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was difficult to find the place . because I didn't have wifi. so I was looking for that by address while dragging my suitcase.

    After terrible messy airbnb, everything was comfortable for me despite of small room. I lilke color of wall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Great location, big room, soft bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi wasn't really there. The TV wasn't working. The canal in the bathroom was overflowing every time people in other rooms were taking a shower. The room was facing the noisy Alser Strasse, so forget about being able to fall asleep before the last tram. The reception desk is only open till 18:00, so if you forget to tell them you'll check in later, they will charge you extra.

    Great location, big room, soft bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Good for the price and nice main city feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit old, I'm allergic to feather-filled pillows sadly. Little noisy but who cares if you're in the main city?! :)

    Cool view, nice room and facilities. Totally in the main city. Easy to find and everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is an old building with a bad smell in the entrance and the bathroom operates in a strange system,noisy and not giving the sense of hygiene.

    The location is excellent,easy access.The beds are new and comfortable,the only woman working there is extra helpful.The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    I'd recommend this place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold and double bed had 2 matresses so a bit confusing at night

    The room was big and well equipped with a small but correct and clean bathroom. Good value for money !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    Covers the bare minimum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hard to spot the pension from the street, as there’s no prominent signage outside. Staff wasn’t the friendliest. Pillows could use some upgrading. Otherwise clean, spacious and well located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Clean and low priced Accomodation in the City Centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wifi was not really stable all the time (sometimes very high bit-rates, follewed by unexpected break-offs.) but vpn was working.

    Great location. The tariff through booking.com was even lower than the low price indexed in the room. My room was a mixture between new parts (bathroom, wardrobe) and renovated parts. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and cleaned daily (This should be a matter of course, but I mention this fact because one might not expect this because of the extreamly low tariffs.)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice place if you need just to take shower and sleep but need more privacy than in a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small electric kettle - 0.5 litres, we like to drink tea in big cups, so needed to boil water several times in a row. Noisy toilet. Dust in hardly riched but easily seen places. Street transport is easily heard because of old windows (if your room is from the street side).

    15 min walk to city center. Late check in possible if told in advance - they have key safe at the entrance, so no need to wait someone from personnel, just take your keys anytime and pay next morning:) Clean towels and bedcothes. Quiet place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Guests should remember that the check in time is strict...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guests should remember that the check in time is strict before 18:00, otherwise you should negotiate with hotel staff in advance, who is not good at smiling but definitely very helpful and kind. The room is clean. If you are just looking for some place to have a rest, it is price worth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Great price/quality ratio, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited check in hours - this is clear when booking but could be an issue if someone is delayed. Not a very comfortable bed for my taste.

    Very good price/quality ratio - incredible to have a room with a private bathroom for such a low price in a city like Vienna. While some earlier reviewers have commented on traffic noise, my room faced the backyard and was perfectly quiet. Clean and compact room. Friendly receptionist. Walking distance from the centre, and if going to the main railway station, there is a direct bus around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Would go there again if my situation is the same as it was now.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet working with an electric pump and the difficulty working (needed to get an extension cable, very small table that was not easy to enlarge . . .

    Location was easy to reach and near my goals. Price was low, so I more or less got what I expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Budget place, Good value for your money, basic facilities, Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi couldn’t be reached in the room.

    Budget place, Good value for your money, basic facilities, Location is perfect, close to the center 15 minutes by foot to Rathaus. The room was nice and clean. Nice staff, Tea facilities and free tea in the room. Warm, spacies and cozy room, Old building flat, but It seems to be renovated soon. Comfortable bed and everything was clean. Breakfast didn’t try. Wifi couldn’t be reached in the room. Free city maps,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Outstanding location! Go only with no expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's an apartment in an old tenement - so you should get the picture of the situation. There was a lift but there is no use of it - you need to carry your bags to the 1st floor. We weren't lucky and we got a room with windows from the street side - so it was loud all the time. Room was ugly, painted orange and red, furniture old - you can't call it "cosy".

    Perfect location! Just 5 minutes to subway, two tram lines outside the hotel. 15-20 minutes walk to the city center. Bila and Spar close to the hotel - so we could easily buy food or water. A few coffee shops and bars not far from the hotel - breakfast or dinner was not a problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    A good stay for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy on reception seemed preoccupied, and under pressure. Not particually welcoming as a result. Also frustrating having to write down all your details onto paper when arrived.

    Room was big, tidy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    not close to anything and NO option to cook. End up spending a lot on food. Pay extra and stay elsew
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was poor, tv signal was weak and the bathroom was so small I hate to sit on the toilet sidewards.... and I'm only a small person ( I purchased the singal room) 30 minutes walk from main attractions and while the room is cheap there is NO option to cook so you end up spending a lot on eating out. I would recommend spending the extra money and stay somewhere else closer to attractions, has more space and allows you to cook, or at least provide a microwave

    The staff are lovely. Was allowed to check in early which was s big help

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    The Pansion is on walking distance to the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was horrible: old and dirty furniture (and even walls), it was not possible to close the window, so it was noisy. Wi-fi signal was poor. The Pansion has not 24-hours reception.

    The Pansion is on walking distance to the city center. Stuff was very kind. Linen and towels were clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    We had an great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom area was crude, but it seemed clean.

    The location of the hotel is absolutely sublime. It is a great value for price. The host was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Good localisation, clean room, perfect in relation to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in timetable can be problematic, especially if one is not flexible. The room was very, very small, fortunately I traveled alone, but can't imagine two people there. I don't mind trams outside, but for someone with lighter sleep the noise can be a problem as well. Generally fine, nothing special and worth its prize

    Good localisation, clean room, perfect in relation to the prize

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Noisy but comfortable room at a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you get a room on the street side, it is noisy at night (trams). The garden side is great. The toilets are strange, giving out rattling noises. I got answers to my question in mail/via the Booking site with some delay.

    Great location: very central, tram stop nearly at the entrance + all kinds of shops and 2 supermarkets within 200 m distance. Friendly welcome by the receptionist lady. Comfortable and clean beds, large cupboards. Small electric kettle in the room (to make tea/coffee in the morning).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Excellent Pension close to Vienna Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ....................that I could not stay in Vienna longer :)

    I had a short layover in Vienna and wanted somewhere inexpensive to get a few hours sleep. I took the train from the airport and then walked to the guest house. It is centrally located near the university. The room was very clean and inexpensive for a room with private bath. I enjoyed having the facility to make tea and also appreciated having a fan in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    We had a very great time in Mandara Pension.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very great time in Mandara Pension. Everything were perfect. The room was clean, there were coffee and tea. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The pension is near Rathaus (city center). There is a supermarket close as well, 2 minutes by walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Good price but not very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There where spider webs all over the ceiling. The reception is only open from 9am to 10.30am

    Good price for a room 30 min away by foot from Vienna center. Wide room and private bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom - toilet was horrible (something from 20 years ago) Wifi didn't work properly Shower head fell off Noisy due to being on main road

    Big room, spacious area Extra bed although not needed Easy check in/check out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Big room, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite old, could definitely do with being done up. Curtains etc also old. Reception didn't answer phone in the hours before arrival (or number was wrong?), We just wanted to know if could check in earlier but we went directly there and it was ok.

    Room was much bigger than expected. Really close to main sights (Rathaus...)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Big room in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor is not clean as dust on floor. Need more cleaning or slipper.

    The location of this hotel is very good. Near tram and underground, the opposite is supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single rooms are very, very small, same for the bathroom in the room. Even for that price. Staff was nice for the 10 minutes we met at check-in. Have not seen any staff for the next 3 days, but that was okay, since we didn't need them. They left a phone number just in case.

    Location is good. Walking distance to the city centre. Public transport about 50 mtr from the pension.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location, quite and cosy, friendly and helpful stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Went there by car and had some parking problems. Hotel doesn't provide any parking places.

    Great location, quite and cosy, friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean room, if you ok with the short check in time and no need for car parking, then 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in date was between 14-18h,so we had to be in rush to reach the receptionist at the pension. There is no place for parking in this area for free.

    Nice big and clean room with own bathroom, able the rest here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Housing is well located, there is a tram stop and several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is available, but the signal is rather weak.

    Housing is well located, there is a tram stop and several metro stations nearby. Near the apartment there are grocery stores. The room is clean and quite cozy, equipped with shower and toilet. The room has a kettle and tea for several persons. The staff is helpful and attentive to the guests.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting was not enough for me as the ceiling is high and the room is a bit darker.

    I was travelling with my mom and she adored the cleanness there, also the room was very big for 2 people :) We loved it. Location was very good so you could easily get to the main square!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.8
    The location of this pension is excellent: close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, it is hard to get into the pension even during the extremely short check in period (14:00-18:00) if you don't have a cell phone working in Austria. The staff does not respond to email inquiries what one is supposed to do it he arrives after this time. I arrived at 16:00 but nobody responded to the door bell at the locked gates in the street. Second, during the flashing of the toilet, water (perhaps from the toilet?) floods the bath sink, which greatly reduces the inclination to take shower, unless you have rubber boots.

    The location of this pension is excellent: close to the U-bahn and to the centre. This is its greatest advantage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Pension Madara review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that went wrong, was that on the second day of our stay the toilet somehow broke down and we had to use the public toilet of the pension, meanig we had to get out of our room and walk 20 steps of hallway to the toilet. Nevertheless, this could be a problem if we hadn't found anyone to inform them, which was probable, since the working times of the reception were very few. Also, in point of the reception hours, when we got there we had to ring a bell to get in, but the reception worked from 2 in the afternoon and we arrived at 1 o'clock. There was no one there to open us and we had to phone them. I don't know if we were lucky or the lady that works there lives in the pension and was not on the reception office at our arrival, but she picked up the phone and opened the door for us.

    I liked the freedom that the pension gave me. The staff was very discreet and kind. The room was very big (it had 4 beds and I only used one). Very clean and cosy. With heat and quilts to keep you warm. The tap water was drinkable, so we could fill our bottles and take them with us (which was a good thing, since the 0,5l bottle of water costs about 2 euros in Vienna). And lastly, it was very close to the mettro station (about 5 min walk) and almost right outside the building, there was a tram station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Good place for good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door was thundering while trams were moving in the street. It was scaring sometimes)

    I recommend guests to look through the details of the booking carefully. I was inattentive and didn't notice that the check-in is before 18:00. So when I was there, the property was put. And that's a wonder, the owner made everything for me to enter the room just after a call! It was amazing, so nice! Though the room was small, the facilities were good and I enjoyed the staying.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    5.8
    The room was big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was really bad, it was not really a room, rather a caravan style toilet. The heating was not good (they switch it off in the night) and we also had a cracked window making the room very cold. The check out is very early and the location is not very central.

    The room was big. The lady in the hotel was very kind and helpful. Although the facilities were not very good, it was good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.9
    Vienna - a city of opera, candies, coffee, stunning palaces :-) and non-stop shopping :-(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, some kitchen facilities aren't available but would be able to make this staying more pleasant...

    It's a standard Vienna penzion located in a 2 minutes walking from the downtown. The personal is ready to help you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    location is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were too dark (orange paint on wall made it look little shabby) Tram noise kept coming all night

    location is nice room was big value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.7
    Nice location, Nice Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the light was weak, in bathroom the water didn't flush because stuff stucked. I wanted to have slippers. A little bit noisy. They offer free Wi-fi, BUT IT WAS REALLY SLOW!

    The room was large, near from station, Nice bed. The water did not flush in bathroom, so i sent message to the staff, and they managed it quickly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.1
    Good price, location amazing like 20 minutes by walking from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    broken heating that would be not so big problem if windows were not the old ones with no good weatherstrip

    Good price, location amazing like 20 minutes by walking from city center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.1
    comfortable beds, quiet inside the object, good choice of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy street that's why not possible to sleep long, noise starts from the morning, old windows, they claim they are open from 8.30am but in fact I had to wait almost half hour because the owner was somewhere outside having a smoking break

    comfortable beds, quiet inside the object, good choice of channels in tv, good location - not very far from downtown and old town, good wifi and good working heater

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice place for a comfortable and affordable trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you flush the toilet, water comes from sink and shower. I don't think it is toilet water, but still discomforting to know. In the end, no water should come. Occasional tram sound and vibrations, but not really preventing you from sleeping.

    Quite warm inside when it was freezing outside No noisy rooms Instant hot water Friendly staff that can speak English well Take the tram outside to reach closest metro station in 5 minutes. Good location. Room was cleaned daily and towel was also replaced daily.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    7.1
    Spacious room, spacious en-suite bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of chlorine in the common rooms. The wifi range was poor. In general the place is a bit oldschool, but for a short stay it's enough

    Spacious room, spacious en-suite bathroom. The place was really warm (we stayed there in November). Great location in the city center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    6.3
    Choose something else if you want to check in later than 18:00
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi is only in the "lobby". Latest check-in is 18:00. Although I left a comment during reservation that I would like to check-in later, they didn't answer for that query. They didn't answer the phone either, could be that the phone number in booking.com's system is out-of-date. The recepcionist I met doesn't speak English at all. No shower gel.

    Cheap.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location.Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean and really close to the center!The man who was there to greed us,though he didn't speak English,was very willing to help us!For its price was perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Great for the location, kind of expensive, but confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was 6 euro/person/night, that is expensive comparing with the eat-out in the city prices. The window of the room was just above the main boulevard and it was very noisy, but you could sleep. A little bit of smell, but you could open the window for a few minutes and was ok. The wc was making a lot of noise after flushing the water.

    The location of the pension was really great, two metro stations near, bus station just near the corner, you could go by foot the the closest Hop on Hop Off touristic bus station. The room was big, clean, the bed big and confortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    4.6
    Convinient location, close to tram stop and five minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing the street so it was very noisy from the city traffic, especially every time the tram passed by. The toilet was too smelly because it was chemical and we also found mould on the floor in the corners. The floor was not locking from the inside with a key but with a switch so it was possible for someone to open from the outside with a key. Also the internet conection was strong only in the dinning area.

    Convinient location, close to tram stop and five minute walk from metro station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    it is just fine, clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is just fine, clean has good position to city centre easy-going

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No WIFI in rooms, bathroom smell very dirty

    Near bus

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: