Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mailberger Hof 4 stars

Annagasse 7, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#157 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1942 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic staff and hotel. Very clean and quiet. Loved the midcentury design and furnishings. The restaurant was very good and breakfast was grrat every morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything except location. The sheets looked very dirty and disgusting. I found a hair on the bed before I slept on it. The safe was broken and the A/C was like a tractor. I had to turn it off during night because it was so noisy. What was even more annoying was that it made great noises from time to time even if I turned it off. I was waken up by it at least twice one night. So at the end, I did not dare to turn the A/C on at all. The staff were so terrible. Please do not get me wrong. Of course, there were a few who were nice, but on average the service was so terrible. One of the receptionist ladies (I did not know her name, but she was the chubbier one with a pony tail.) was so rude. It was not about being professional or not. It was about the basic manners. She treated the customers like enemies, no smile and super impatient. She made me feel that I was a prisoner and she was the guard. A lot of other things to complain about when it comes to service. Please do not expect them to behave in a professional way. Just give you an example, in the morning, the staff just wore slippers to ask the customers whether they needed a tea or coffee at the lounge in a very rude manner too. I do not understand why they allow the staff to wear slippers walking around. Can you imagine the sound when she was working around? Terrible. I guess even a B&B host can work in a more professional way than them. In a word, the hotel was a nightmare!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny bed, very old with springy mattress. I could feel each spring while I slept. Old Decor, single room is abysmal. The Shower and sink are in the room and toilet is in a separate room.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more fruit at the breakfast.

    Excellent location. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is beautiful, specially the main patio!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is super small..by far amongst the smallest I've seen at any hotel. The house keeping facilities were poor.

    Nice n convenient location. Breakfast was good. We were in a Junior Suite so the room size was quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a kettle in the room and since i have a one yr old boy it was something that i really needed. I had a thermos so i was able to fill up hot water from reception so i still managed.

    The hotel had the best location.breakfast was excellent. I forgot my mobile and the staff found it just in time and sent it to me at the airport before we left. I am very grateful for that. I would definately recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a bit hot (air conditioning turned on during the summer), we had to sleep with open windows, in the morning it was a bit noisy from the outside.

    The staff was very polite and helpful (especially the guy at the reception- Yaroslav), breakfast was very good, large rooms. Perfect location. Special thanks to Mark (hotel owners), who has responded to our request. We would definitely return to this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is a bit far from the hotel (€20/day). Room heating cannot be adjusted, making the room hot and dry.

    Really love the breakfast! One Sunday morning there was even sparkling wine served in breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cons is that the hotel needs an extensive makeover to make it shine. The hotel is incoherent from space to space visually and quality wise. The actual double bed was two beds together with separate duvets. That’s a no no for couples, not even a double top thin layer mattress to keep the appearances. As a design bureau dealing mainly with hospitality projects, we wouldn’t keep more than the plaster on the walls and would change everything.

    The location of the property was the main reason of choosing the Mailberger, right in the middle of everything in downtown Vienna and next door to my purpose of visiting. The staff were excellent in every aspect during our stay, 10* rating. The breakfast was well curated and had quite a variety. Our suite A3 was enormous and spotless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    very centrally lacated but in a quite street, comfy beds, we slept well, clean functional bathroom, we appreciate dailly coffee and tea just next to the lobby, where you can sit and relax, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No access by car. At least about 100 m walking distance. Public car park expensive.

    Very nice hotel in this price category and lovely staff. Rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room, no tooth kit, call to get slipper, hotel airport shuttle just calling a taxi without even give me reset, and the driver ask for more money as agreed.

    Very good location, quiet place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maid service was not great. Dirty dishes and glasses not bussed from the room. Drinking glasses turned rim down on the bathroom counter (YUCK). Bathroom door did not close/ toilet ran all night.

    Location was perfect...could not have been better. Staff was really nice/ helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot when we arrived Showe did nit have pressure. After complaining we got a different room which was completely different but superb in any way.

    Location was super

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is located on a very quite side street in the heart of Vienna. Close to a number of must go to sites along with the Metro. The free breakfast was superb. Good selection of breakfast items. Great value for the money Easy access from the airport. 2 trains and a short walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. The pillows were pretty useless but for the price this hotel is good.

    Great location on quiet pedestrian street. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot access the hotel by car. Difficult to find car park close to hotel.

    Location directly in center of city excellent. Staff very friendly, breakfast good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamp was notvwotking in the room. Hotel itself look

    Beeakfast was nice, bed super. Parking service excellent. Room was stylish! Badroom was nice Fresh modern

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room next to lift...I hate this I arrived late and tired and couldn't be bothered to complain. It always seems to be a strategy of hotels if you book through an agency like B.com so noisy into the night

    lots to choose from at breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody replied to my question I sent via email about the parking so I had to pay extra 5 euro to park the car somewhere close and then re-park it in the garage, provided by the hotel. I booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child, but there was only one bed when we got there. For extra bed we should have payed extra. The receptionist lady asked me if I wanted her to bring more linen and pillows up, but then, when we got back late in the evening,it turned out that she had forgot about it. So in the Junior Suite you get two rooms, two TVs, both a bath tub and a shower, but only one bed to sleep in. And the only extra bed they have is a baby cot, which is not suitable for a 4 y.o. like my child. Not looking good, Booking.com.

    Very central, fairly good breakfast. There is tea, coffee and some soft drinks available in the lobby for free 24/7.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated (in style) furniture and floor; price reflects the location

    Location - at the city center, almost next to the State opera and the ilk; shopping malls and restaurants nearby; park is close; public transport (metro, trams, buses, hop on/off); bath tub

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold. The room was cold, the corridor was freezing. No tea pot in the room. Not even a single glass for water. Like in a hostel for teens.

    Location is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is terrible. A gym would also add value.

    Location; Staff is friendly and there is an area with free coffee, tea and soft drinks that is also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I didn't like.

    Everything about this small hotel was just what we wanted - friendly staff, comfortable room, superb breakfast, coffee on tap and excellent location. Have already recommended to friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Repair is required. In the room there was no kettle, no bathrobes, no slippers, no spoons for shoes. Did not work hair dryer. The hotel equipment is in no way suitable for 4 stars

    Very good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has a very convenient location, just 200 m from the pedestrian zone, whíst the street is very calm. Vienna highlights are almost all within a walking distance. Hotel staff is willing, helpful and nice. Hotel premises are neat, clean and cozy. I would reccommend this hotel to all for short and even longer visits of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am travelling to Vienna once a week and this hotel guarantees a very nice stay each time. Very good breakfast with a view of the internal courtyard and a perfect location in the city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shaving mirror cannot be put on the shelter above the washbasin

    Excellent location a couple of minutes from the State Opera House; charming room; great breakfast overlooking a very pleasant small courtyard; a special gift at check-out: I wasn´t charged for the small bottle of red wine from the minibar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that we didn’t like. We wished we had stayed for longer than three days.

    The property is centrally located in the St. Stephenplatz area not far from the opera house and all the tourist areas. It is literally around the corner from the shopping The rooms are clean, comfortable, and quiet. When we arrived, we were very pleased with our room. The property is charming, clean, and the breakfast buffet is quite hearty. I ate smoked salmon with eggs and delicious freshly baked bread everyday of my stay. The selection of breakfast food served is wonderful. The staff was extremely attentive and quite helpful in providing options of tours.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If U are interested to find a real 4**** this is not the place, the atmosphere of the room and the bathroom it is boring and pretty old, from my point of view. For the room located ti the side of the hotel near the street, in the morning time there could be some noise. Of course You should live with that because you are in the mid center of Vien and want that isn't it?.. this is for sure one of the Best Locations near Karntner Strasse, even with this some - - -lacks

    Excellent located just close to the main pedestrian and commercial street on Vien. The parking ticket it is not included but it is close as well at Opera, by 5 minutes away walking and the payment will be made by hotel's desk with some discount code. The staff was very helpful, breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the noise level see above

    we liked the hotel but we stayed on the third floor and we were disturbed late at night and early morning by what sounded like constant footsteps and scraping furniture on the floor above. :-(

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls: noise, TV, people speaking next door could be heard clearly.

    Perfect location (especially to go to the Opera), comfortable bed, bathtub with the quite spacious single room. Breakfast was OK, but I have had better selection elsewhere. But free coffee, tea, refreshments and snacks made available in the lobby is a very nice idea, highly appreciated! Staff was friendly, breakfast staff not always smiling, but serving my coffee quickly, so who cares? 😀

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small room, unconvenient in terms of not existing separate bathroom - the shower arranged in the hallway, the sink in the living room. The rest of the hotel - excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovated cca 25 ys ago, matrace too soft, old fashioned - but not antic- furniture, cigarette smoke comes into the room From somewhere.

    Central Location, historical venue, rich breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress in the restaurant was quite off hand. Maybe simply a one off (I only stayed one night) - not at all friendly or welcoming. The airconditioning in the room did not work and I could not open the bedroom windows. Would have been nice to have had some cool air.

    Really loved the guest lounge with complimentary snacks and drinks 24 hours a day. Oh and the confectionery on the reception desk. The guest toilets below the restaurant we so well equipped with so many extras - hairspray, perfume, deodorant, feminine hygiene products...and more. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Fresh food with such a vast selection - cold and hot. The coffee was great too. Very comfortable surrounds.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Distance of the apartment 1A from the elevator and the stairs.

    Location of the hotel is perfect. Breakfast is decent. Staff is friendly, but I have one lets say small complain with suggestion. I was in the apartment 1A, which is on the third floor, all the way several corridors, and then there are circled tight stairs which are going downstairs to the apartment. At the end of this corridor where the 1A apartment is located, there is one more apartment and it is a bit scare for a solo traveler, specially woman. There is no chance for a woman or older person, to go downstairs to the apartment with a suitcase without help. On the check in receptionist didn't offered me help. I had luck, that i met a women-cleaning lady in the corridor just front of the stairs. She was very polite and offered me help with the suitcase. When i check out, i called reception, and they send a member of the staff to help me with the suitcase trey the upstairs. . I suggest that during reservation process guests should be informed about the location of this apartment, because really it is so long way from the elevator to the apartment, not to mention the tight stairs. Good that there are plates at every corner which are showing direction to the apartment or to the elevator, because without them no chance to find the way to the apartment, or back to the elevator. Apartment itself was clean and nice. Pillow was very thin. I might go back this hotel, but not to this apartment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not functional. Bath towels were rough (old) and not soft.

    Perfect Location - near to prime center Good breakfast & friendly staff Spacious room & kids friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are too thin, we could hear everything the neighbours said

    The charm and style of the hotel. The gigantic room fora city hotel (more than 20 m2!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little dated and would benefit from a refurbishment. On the other hand, it may lose its charm if it looks like any other anonymous 4-star hotel.

    Perfect location, in the middle of the city, very close to the Opera and yet in a quiet street. Friendly staff and a very good breakfast. The room was fine, not very big or luxurious, but more than good enough. Parking garage (under the opera) is very close by, but ask the reception for a discount card (if they did not already offer it to you).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite warm with heat off and windows closed; uncomfortably so. It was advertised as having a/c, but did not. Fortunately, the room windows were openable. The weather was quite cool, mid 60s (about 18 c.) most of our visit - anything warmer would have made the room far too hot. The hotel had WiFi, but it was weak, very hard to connect to and often unavailable; when available it was slow and patchy. The hotel advertised an airport shuttle as an amenity - this "amenity" cost about 40 euros - 50 with tip. The included breakfast was ok - croissants and breads quite good, fresh fruit nearly nonexistent and poor quality, eggs so-so, coffee so-so, lots of meats and cold cuts

    Room was quite large - a suite with a living area and bedroom. The hotel was right in the middle of the Innere Stadt, but on a very quiet pedestrian only street, so our room was extra quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/C wasn’t in use but it was an exceptionally warm October.

    Excellent staff, room size and breakfast. Perfect location for central Vienna. Great advice and help from Reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were in room on fourth floor in eaves, which was rather poky and difficult to see out of windows which were more light skylights. No kettle in room. Only one very small lift.

    Excellent location, very close to town centre, but reasonably quiet. Very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bed was very low, sat on the floor, so you have to bend down to pick up anything from the bed.

    Breakfast buffet excellent, coffee excellent, front desk staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property in which Mailberger Hof is located was converted into use by the hotel in 1976. Not a lot has been done with the property since then and it is a bit tired and in need of a thorough upgrade. Our room was advertised as having a/c, but it wasn't working when we were there. Our room was quite warm, but fortunately, the weather was cool and with the windows open, we could keep the room comfortable. The property also advertises free wifi, but it was very hard to get a connection in our room, though if you kept trying, it would eventually connect. The property also advertised an airport shuttle as an amenity, as though without cost, but it was 42 euros.

    The hotel is on a pedestrian only street a few doors down from the back entrance to the Haus der Musik and only a few blocks from the Staatsoper. It is convenient to everything in central Vienna and was a great base from which to explore the city. Our room, a junior suite, was quite large and comfortable. It was very quiet and restful. The complementary breakfast was good - the pastries and breads, especially the croissants were outstanding. Not much fruit unless you enjoy canned peaches. Lots of eggs and cold cuts, cold cereals, also tomatoes and cheeses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi Internet very low debit, could connect but could not read emails.

    Superb city hotel on a quiet pedestrian road just across from House of Music. Lovely rooms, modernly refurbished, with high ceiling, overlooking inner court. Quality bedding for a good night sleep. Generous, divers and delicious breakfast, combining cooked and cold, with a variety of local meats and pastries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We were offered wonderful accommodation, very spacious, comfortable and quiet. All the staff are very helpful and welcoming and make our stay very enjoyable. This is a hotel we come back to every time we visit our favourite city, Vienna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you'd like to know what American tourists do during the night, or in their bathrooms, go there: you'll hear everything. There is no escape from becoming a nicotine addict: if you sleep with an open window, all the smoke from the little courtyard gets into your bedroom: disgusting. Also, they played the same revolting classic-pops (they have about three...) at breakfast during my entire stay: two days on, I still have them in my ears. Mozart would turn in his grave. All that would be acceptable for some cheap place, but not for a **** hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere is great. The rooms are very well equipped and feel far more premium than the price per night suggests. Breakfast is rich, staff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is trying to represents old times however, it needs painting work and few new furniture. The most annoying thing was the cleaners. They were unprofessional and they didnt clean the room everyday only rearranging the bed sheets. They threw my washed T shirt to hang the towels and left used glasses without washing. I informed the receptionist b4 i left.

    The hotel is in the city center. 2 minutes by walking from the opera. The breakfast was great. The small indoor garden is lovely and the staff were helpful. The room was spacious with a chaise long.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fridge did not work at all and would not be fixed during my stay and the iron and ironing board remained in the room 2 days after I requested its removal.

    A very cosy hotel with a great outdoor space for breakfast, a fantastic location a nd really helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not cleaned the next day and the furniture is a bit old.it would be great if they remove the dark colour carpet and change it to wood flooring. Excellent hotel ill definitely come again.

    The location is very good and quite close to the opera just 2 minutes by walking . The rooms are spacious and theres good wifi and an AC . theres a very pleasant imdoor garden . The breakfast is great with pleasant atmosphere. They provide iron and charging adaptors upon request. The staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Adequate refrigerator but more soft drinks or tea/coffee facilities in the room instead of or as well as the lounge, would be nicer. A quieter air/con would improve sleep.

    Good breakfast selection and coffee. Spotless. Staff helpful and welcoming. Liked the courtyard garden and guests lounge - small but pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not know beforehand that the hotel could nit be reached by car, but pleanty of parking facilities real close.

    In the middle of the city center (pedestrian area) in a small alley us this wunderful hotel with a nice patio to have breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know that most of the buildings in innerstadt are old, but for a 4 star hotel the bathroom and the room design is too old. Also the air conditioner was not strong enough to make the room weather cool.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location and staff. You could get good coffee anytime you want as there is an espresso machine in the waiting room. They also have a lovely green courtyard. The breakfest was really good and the staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were outstanding. They were friendly and obliging and professional. The location was ideal. The property was charming. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place could use some 'spiffing up' -- cosmetic (not structural) maintenance. For example, the court yard could use a major clean-up; hallways could use a paint job; walls of our room had no decor.

    Great bathroom. Excellent breakfast in a pleasant court yard. Helpful front desk staff. Spacious room with functioning air conditioner -- important in hot weather. Attractive parlor with 24/7 coffee, tea and snacks. Excellent Italian restaurant (Sole) a few steps from the hotel. Easy walking distance to many tourist attractions, restaurants, entertainment venues (opera, concerts etc.) Given central location in a capital city, very good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The personell serving the breakfast were almost rude. Not a smile or a goodmorning. Not a good start on the day. Parking near the hotel is almost impossible. We were told to park below the Opera were we would only be charged 20 € per day. After three days we ended paying 120 €! So watch out. There is a small garden yard at the hotel but unfortunately it is not very cosy. It could have been a great little garden yard but it is not. The hotel is also lacking a bar or just a nice place to sit in the lobby after a long day in town. The hotel was not too expensive so I guess you get what you pay for. Big improvements could be made with small funds.

    The hotel is situated 400 meters from the Opera just at the beginning of the long pedestrian street. The breakfast was good. The room was nice and clean. There was free coffee next to the reception which was nice. The personell at the reception were nice and helpful. We ended up walking whereever we wanted to go. Didn't use the subway at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning emits a loud noise every few minutes through the night (condensation pump?) - room 219. Only had a think dooner, no sheet, so hot sleep.

    Large room, good location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    A great location in city centre,excelent breakfast,friendly staff,big room,comfortable bed,Wi-Fi,nice,spacious bathroom and during the hot days aircondition

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the waitresses completely ignored us during breakfast, we were the only table didnt get coffee or tea (maybe because we were the only Asian table?). The rooms were not cleaned properly, there were a lot of ants in our bed which was horrible.

    The reception staffs were very nice. The location is great, just beside the shopping area. Room looked nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs attention to maintenance on little things. But this did not affect our stay

    Location excellent for walking to city centre sights, HOHO buses and metro Next to shops and restaurants. Melt very safe walking at night time also. Great value and great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-cond. Seemed not working during my last night stay. Few times when I switched on the air-cond and it automatically switched off.

    The location and ambience! Very relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    As windows are facing the courtyard, it can be a little bit noisy in the evening or early morning, but it depends how loud the guests are. The only annoying thing was that guests were allowed to smoke in the courtyard and all the smell went to the room, also it's not nice to eat breakfast when someone smokes nearby.

    Location was great and staff was helpful. It has a nice courtyard where you can enjoy the breakfast. Rooms are ok, have everything that you need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have never encountered any bad situation during my stay at the hotel.

    Very close to the city main shopping street and many tourists attraction like the Hafburg palace, Albertina and the Vienna opera . Very helpful,friendly and always smiling staff. Very clean restaurant, the breakfast is also excellent with a variety of dishes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Location was excellent. Staff were friendly and really helpful. Some nice little touches such as tasty croissants, egg sarnies, cooled cans of coke and Fanta, and coffee free to take in really pleasant lounge area. Breakfast was excellent in a delightful dining area and could be taken in an equally pleasant courtyard weather depending. Overall excellent stay in a beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was warm despite heat pump in room. Perfect location especially if you want to do cycle tour or segway tour with pedal power.Loved the free tea/coffee/cold coke available downstairs whenever you returned to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically it's just a three star hotel somehow misrated, very good though and very cosy.

    The hotel is located in the very centre of Vienna and serves marvellous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy with facilities and close proximity to Opera house. No complaints.

    The choice for breakfast was excellent and the new season strawberries delicious. The provision of afternoon tea was thoughtful and appreciated

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People smoking somewhere downstairs filled my room with cigarette smoke from early morning to late at night - this was pretty awful. The staff were fine but a little reluctant to help, and there were no mirrors near the power plugs so I couldn't easily do my hair!

    Very pretty little apartment, nice view, open windows and very quiet, breakfast was luscious and very beautifully put together!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No serving other than breakfast. Courtyard could be really cozy if cleaned up. Basically a good place to sleep and explore the city but not a place to remember

    Good value for money, great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor of corridors is not of highest quality but this is partly due to this being an older property.

    This location couldn't be bettered. Very central - within a 10 minute walk of the main central sites and public trasport - but on a quiet, charcaterful historic street. The hotel itself is an historic building with a lovely, quiet central courtyard and the rooms facing onto it are very secluded.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was extremely small keeping me awake two nights. Horrible approach to the room. No lift goes there and you have to carry your luggage in narrow spiral stairs up and down. Terrible room and really bad value for money despite the location advantage. Will never stay there. They charged so much for a 3 feet wide bed. Literally. Had never seen such a small bed during my entire travelling experience. No dustbin in the bathroom. Single pillow. No adaptor to accomodate three pin UK gadgets.

    Breakfast was really good. Location was good and that why I booked it. being close to the city centre and the public transportation. Staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Old bed, a/c not working at all (didn't really need but you cant have the window open all the time...) and room "cleaning" apparently is just to tidy up the bed (5 days requires more than just doing the bed and replacing used towels).

    Friendly staff, good breakfast with nice variety, the lobby is great (with free drinks and some food all the time), couldn't ask for better location (central and quite).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a family business and guests are perhaps sometimes treated a little too much like family members

    The bed and the room was very good, and the location quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mailberger Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: