Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonnenhof 3 stars

Angersbichl 15, 9161 Klagenfurt, Austria

#8 of 26 hotels in Klagenfurt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Indeed sunny house with mountain view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place, for us for stopover on our way to Italy, but also good place as a point for visiting Carinthia. Very helpful host, good food, super clean and comfortable room with beautiful view. We travel with 2 small kids (1 and 3 years old). There is a nice playground, well maintained garden also baby cot is available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Very nice location, very comfortable beds, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Very nice location, very comfortable beds, beautiful surroundings few minutes from Klagenfurt centre and e-car charging stations. :) We will surely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.6
    Family run Hotel - unique but lacked love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the hotel looked big when driving up - was surprised how empty the hotel was. After a day we realised we were the only guests. It is nice to be part of a family run hotel, but weird to see the family living in parts of the hotel. Breakfast was ordinary and we say in the wrong section - the owner was curt and clinical. No love in this hotel and felt a bit unprofesh. Despite this, we slept really well!! Felt uncomfy being only guests during the Xmas period, and felt we were an inposition. Grumpy owner.

    Hotel Sonnenhof was in a lovely location up the hill and the presence of the structure was of a typical Austrian Hotel. The views from our room/balcony were truly lovely - especially with the new snow which had fallen on surrounding hills.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Amazing and want to return. Thank you for a wonderful trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving to come home! Wanted longer there.

    The staff and owners are amazing, very friendly, warm and welcoming. Food great, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. Beds comfy. Facilities great. Quiet location. South facing balcony. Clean air with stunning views. Small safe play area for children. TV in room. Bathroom very good. Home from home with all the extras.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Friendly and clean........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked it all. It is not a place for a romantic break but it is functional. You will need a bike or car to get into town

    Staff were very obliging and the food was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    8.3
    Austrian charm at its best, with stunning panarama's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is stunning, and convenient if you have a car, its a short drive from Klagenfurt and lake worthersee. The hotel is family run and they were all friendly & welcoming. The view from the balcony in our room (room 6) was beautiful it is such a peaceful & relaxing place to be. If you like generic, modern hotels this is NOT the place for you, if you like rustic Austrian charm, rest & relaxation then this IS the place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Views were amazing, room was nice and spacious, and the area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road to the hotel was a little narrow, but I have a larger car so whatevs

    Views were amazing, room was nice and spacious, and the area was exceptional. Fresh mountain air was an added bonus

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    10
    Nice
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The stuff really nice, trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible. I visit the hotel several times and I decided that for me is the best place every time I'm visiting Klagenfurt. A really good breakfast and a daily menu that can satisfy anyone plus a great position in a quiet zone, completes the offer that this establishment can provide.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel, only regret is we couldn't stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be improved.

    We travelled from UK to Croatia and return by road. Hotel Sonnenhof was without doubt the best hotel we stayed at during the entire journey. It's a family run business and we were made very welcome. The food was excellent, We stayed again on our return journey. A lovely quiet location away from the town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.6
    Very nice and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say anything wrong.

    Very nice and quiet location. The view from the restaurant and from the room was amazing. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    10
    Great place for everyone. Beautiful, picturesque, cosy! Strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Me and my family spent a few days in the amazing hotel. We had a great time there. The personnel of this hotel is extremely friendly and polite. Interior design makes you feel like home, even though you feel like being in the high mountains. You get amazing view from your apartments - straight onto the great mountains. Basically everything was really good, perfect value for money if you don't want to spend a fortune on boring 5 star hotels ;) Eventually the most important is the hotel personnel, the way they welcome you and treat you for the time you spend there. One more thing: one can definitely count on very good food, breakfast an dinner. The owners do care about it. Again, strongly recommended for everyone!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    6.3
    Rooms were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady that greeted us was not very welcoming. We had booked a quad room even though our group was 3 as didn't want the angled roof and we're put into a triple anyway, then charged above the advertised price (on booking.com) for the triple.

    Rooms were comfortable. Location was 20 min from town in pretty setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, clean, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, clean, quiet. Wonderful place and view. Highly recomanded!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    nice and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and quiet location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location..peaceful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and view, quite good breakfast, nice and clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Best WiFi ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best WiFi ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Above expectation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and amazing food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Everything perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, breathtaking location, excellent breakfast and dinner, very clean and comfortable.Looking foward to coming back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Will/Would definitly come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good food, big breakfast bife, nice view from therase. Warm welcome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Wish we had longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean,tidy. Helpful staff. FANTASTIC VIEWS GREAT FOOD

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, huge room, fast wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, huge room, fast wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Everything excellent. It wasn't my first stay at this hotel and for sure not last!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of air conditioning

    Very clean, cozy rooms, good food at restaurant, tasty breakfast, professional staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    very, nice, very comfortable, big rooms, very good brekfast, frendly owner....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was exelent, staf,place,...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.5
    Kitchen smell.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen smell...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Best hotel we found on our 3000 mile motorcycle trip to Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have previously reported on this hotel on our outward trip to Croatia. (See previous report)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.3
    One night stay 2 adults and 2 children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. Nice and clean room. Perfect mountains landscape.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.3
    Old fashioned good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and surroundings are great. Rooms and interior are as if time stood still after 1955. But that's the whole charm of it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Hotel Sonnenhof is just 5 miles south of Klaganfurt in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Sonnenhof is just 5 miles south of Klaganfurt in a beautiful rural area. The rooms are comfortable, the owners very friendly and food is great. Best steak I've ever eaten.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.2
    Family hotel with great hosts,food excellent and great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing wrong with this lovely hotel

    Family hotel with great hosts,food excellent and great views o mountains

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con

    The staff were excellent . The food was superb. Brilliant views of the mountains.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: