Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mariahilf 3 stars

Mariahilferstraße 9, Lend, 8020 Graz, Austria

#45 of 53 hotels in Graz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2287 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice and central location, but sometimes noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The streets on both sides of the hotel can be very noisy at times, especially in the early morning and in the evening.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, central location -- and typically Austrian, I suppose

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Shirt stay but loved every minute of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    The location was very good we came by car so a little difficult to get exactly for the parking so parked in municipal car park which cost us €22 as opposed to the hotel parking but loved the hotel, breakfast very good lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location, nice neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast area doesn't have enough seats for when its crowded'. Hotel is outdated and the staff not really friendly. Rooms are really basic.

    Good location, nice neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good location, city center reachable within a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too soft mattress

    Very good location, city center reachable within a walking distance. quite big room, good breakfast :) No air conditioning but as it was extremely hot that days we received a fan. Very nice and helpful staff (even speaking Polish ;) )

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Although the building is ancient, the hotel seems to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No aircon.

    Although the building is ancient, the hotel seems to have been built yesterday: everything is fresh and clean. Rooms are very large and the breakfast in more than adequate. The hotel stands close the river, in the wonderful historic center of Graz one can easily enjoy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in Graz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Squeak noise of the ground parquet in the room - Sulfur smell in the toilet

    - Kindness and attention of the staff - Breakfast - Good quality wi-fi - Comfortable bed and room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.6
    The breakfast and the location are excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is terrible, they are impolite, they won't greet you at all! The attic room is so hot! The building is very nice but old!

    The breakfast and the location are excellent!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, needs some remodeling of the bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not dirty but outdated. No shower curtain, cannot take a shower, only bath.

    Location is prime, easy walking to major attractions, old property, but clean. Breakfast was very good, all staff is friendly, multilingual

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street outside my room was very noisy the whole night even though it was in the middle of the week. I did not get a very good sleep. Next time I will ask for a quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, and very hot with no air conditioning (just a pedestal fan). No attempt had been made prior to our arrival to ventilate the room by opening the window. The blind had not been drawn to keep the sun out. No bar fridge or tea/coffee making facilities. Some reception staff were more helpful than others. Dining staff were attentive.

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Perfectly located, but the beds are like hammocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were like hammocks and it was a bit noisy from the street. Furnishings and equipment is kept to a minimum and could be renewed. At brakfast the lemonade or whatever it was was horrible. The coffee was not good aswell.

    It is perfectly located and brakfast buffet is good, except the drinks

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, clean rooms and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning and had to change the rooms because it was really noisy. A pub near the hotel was opened until late at night and after this on the street some people gathered and were really loud. The staff was nice and friendly and they exchanged the rooms. It was a known issue. Good breakfast, but not too many choises.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms and great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.4
    Property OK , staff zero customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception lady working in the morning on 23th was completely unprofessional and rude she even refuses to give her name , when I mention that I would like to speak to manager she said that she is manager and then even more she keep laughing and saying that all the comments and complains aperantly are coming to her email so it is not worted to write a comment .. with single words COMPLITLY UNOROFESIONAL AND IF A MANAGER IS BEHAIVING LIKE THAT WHAT TO EXOECT MORE .. not suggestions this property to anyone base on the exoirianxe with the so called manager

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Central location, public parking nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Design of the room, and especially bathroom, is from previous century. I havent seen such old ceramic tiles at bathroom for a long time :(

    Central location, public parking nearby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Pretty basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved as a couple but were given a twin room which had attic style ceiling. There was one roof window but no view. Noise from the hotel across the street meant we had to have the window closed over night. The furnishing was very basic and the 1960's style TV with fuzzy image was impossible to view the world cup on. The breakfast had a limited selection of bland food.

    The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. The staff were friendly, well organised and helpful. Our room and the rest of the facilities were very clean. The shower was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.3
    Good deal in the heart of Graz if you are not sensitive to noise. Best deal if you want to party!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room.

    Hote is quite good deal for what they charge but location is very noisy during night hours as it is located in the city center close to several bars and restaurants. Try to get a room with view into the courtyard or get out for all-night party :-)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a prime location right by the river while also being affordable. Comfortable rooms and very nice facilities. Great breakfast included as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around was very busy with restaurants therefore very loud... so we had to close the windows which got quite hot in the night... they have quiet room directing the courtyard but they are always booked they said on the reception.

    The hotel is very nice and cosy, stuff is very friendly and helpful. Location is great! In the middle of the center of Graz.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    A really nice getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tv was so old that it had a back

    Everything so lovely. The breakfast was really nice and was definitely worth it. The hotel was really close to the centre of town, but it was still calm and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Friendly and Homey Stay in Centre of Graz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was a bit patchy at times, particularly for mobile.

    Mariahilf is a first rate hotel in the very heart of Graz. The room was clean and tidy, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was very delicious! Definitely recommend for any stay in Graz city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Very confortable and quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV reduced number of channels.

    The breakfast very good with a wider diversity of meals. Clean and quiet location, Staff very friendly and helpfully. Good location closed to city center and shopping area, main station etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was rich and varied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses on the beds were soft and one draped.

    Breakfast was rich and varied. Staff were nice and helpful. I liked a spacious room and a bathroom with a window. The room was clean. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Stylish exterior, buggy interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two bugs that greeted us when we entered the room.

    Very nice professional staff, good location, fair wifi, standard breakfast. The hotel looks quite stylish, but the room was underwhelming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel, near great attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One or two additional electrical outlets would have been helpful.

    The hotel has a really good location, that allows one to walk to the main attractions in Graz: the Landeszeughaus, the Landhaus, the Cathedral and Mausoleum, the Clocktower, etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very nice and kind. The room is very big and clean. We have liked the breakfast too. The location of the hotel is great, it is in the downtown, couldn't be better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is fantastic, right behind the are museum. 3 min walking to the famous Mur island, another 2 min to Schlossberg. Surrounded by nice restaurants and bars. The facility is great. The room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    The beds were extremely lumpy and hard springs were sticking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were extremely lumpy and hard springs were sticking in our backs and the pillows were horrible. Very uncomfortable sleep that night and the heater couldn't be turned down so it was too hot in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Good place for short stay in Graz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - WiFi was not stable enough - Bathroom is small, but it was the cheapest room - Pretty expensive (as almost every hotel in Austria)

    + Perfect location, just in 7 min from historical center, 2 min from good Asian restaurant + Cheerful receptionist + Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    I spend a great time in hotel.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe heating can be better.

    Hotel is in walking zone. We had permision to come in front,check in and go to parking garage with card from reception and had cheaper parking.Breakfast was excellent like in 5 stars hotel. Old but very clean rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    it is a nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not working in my room. I had to sit in the corredor to work with the computer. I asked the staff several times but they didn’t do anything about it.

    it is a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but old rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old. We booked a family room and got 2 rooms communicating through the bath. The lady from the reception asked for a 50 euro guarantee for the parking, even if it was possible to park wirh a simple card

    Breakfast was really good. Nice location in city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Good relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet on top floor only available in one spot of the room, had to go to the reception to be able to work

    Everything about this hotel is perfect, very warm during the cold winter nights, comfortable rooms, solid breakfast, staff super polite and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place in a perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of staff seemed a bit off at first but warmed up once I got them talking. This could do with some attention but nothing serious.

    location couldn't be better! Rooms very comfortable and good value for money. 20 mins drive from airport. Pub opposite open late if you want a drink but not noisy at all if you want to sleep. Brot and Spiel down the road serving food till 1am if you are arriving late and hungry!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Lovely, easy and cosy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to say.

    The hotel is based in the city center. I knew this hotel from before, but they changed many things in the last 2 or 3 years. They combine the tradition with modern times and the hotel is very friendly, warm and safe place. Not to mention cleanliness - it's Austria :) I'll be back for sure. 5 stars with a smile.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.9
    Totally recommended for one night. But if you have kids, and planning to stay long, maybe you should
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place has no parking facilities, and finding a spot nearby is a real hassle. The place is quite old. All furniture and facilities are quite old. The floors are very noisy when you walk on them. The bathroom was clean, but with messy facilities. For example the sink was so old that its surface was totally scratched. The TV is like 12 inches and not really of any use.

    The location was great, with great access to sites. The breakfast was great. The staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    The accomodation was good .. with the breakfast. The location in the heart of Graz is very practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower cabin is so narrow for a man. The room 106 parket floor was so "rustical" (means very used and noisy and wavy).

    The breakfast was awesome but the beds were used (not only a little bit).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture is a bit outdated, some 'modern improvement' for the rooms would make the stay more pleasant. But for 1-2 nights stay is quite ok.

    Nice breakfast. The location is great - right in the city center. The facilities are a bit outdated, although the rooms are big. The parking lot is in a paid underground garage, close to the hotel - at the reception the guests are given a parking ticket which is used to get an access to the garage

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice old fashion hotel if you not expect too much; location, staff and value for money excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtain in a bathroom, some problem with central heating but it was solve fast enough...

    Staff, atmosphere, breakfast, location. This is a three star hotel with excelent location and value for money, do not expect too much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    the hotel is at an amazing location, the rooms are nice and...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady working at the breakfast was very unfriendly, not only to us but really to everyone. telling guests they should sit at a certain table doesn't have to be almost yelled.

    the hotel is at an amazing location, the rooms are nice and clean, and the breakfast is very good. we had a really great stay for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    in general, this is a good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle for hot water

    The location is great, and staffs are very nice. The bed is NOT comfortable enough, because the end of the bed is higher than the head of it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    I could not make a call on my telephone to the usa - this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could not make a call on my telephone to the usa - this was really terrible - I had to go downstairs everytime to the front office to call from their main telephone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, comfy room, tasty breakfast, nice staff. WiFi is really really weak!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only problem was WiFi. It was so weak, and since we needed it for work it really gave us troubles. Fix that wireless internet!!

    Great location, comfy room, tasty breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Position of the hotel is great for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Position of the hotel is great for tourists. You get your money worth. Hotel is nice, clean and cosy. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast is classic continental.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Ideal room for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music in the breakfast room. This kind of entertainment is totally unnecessary.

    You are in a traffic-free zone and within a short walk from museums, restaurants and the station. Excellent location. The room is simple but very clean and very quiet. Indeed the locks on the doors are the old-style mechanisms that do not shut with a bang. Very desirable if you like peace and quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Nice location, too soft bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was absolutely terrible (way too old), and it was impossible to sleep because there was a soft "hole" on both sides of the double bed. The hotel was fully booked, so it was not possible to change room, and refund was not possible because we had paid in advance... The reception staff was quite understanding and in fact aware of the problem, but they did not have any means to correct it for us.

    Breakfast and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is nice and located on old town street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice and located on old town street. Easy to get to the all places - sightseeing and restaurants. Personal in hotel is very helpful and careful. We had all the necessary information that we required.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location, very pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was an electric kettle and coffee in room. Decor was bare minimum. Need ear plugs until 10:00 pm.

    Beautiful breakfast room and delicious choices. Coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Graz is wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy by car because you have to first check to the hotel in pedestrian area and then park to the parking house which cost is 13 EUR with hotel card but if you not do it properly it costs 40 EUR. Generally works :)

    Great location and close to main attractions. Good breakfast and generally great atmosphere!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.4
    service? not here!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked one of the superior rooms because the photos looked good. Unfortunatly the photos did not portray the room we got at all. On the photos the room looked big, while what we got was small, also the furniture was quite different and lower quality. The room also had a strong smell of bleach, which not even airing helped to get out of the room. In the booking.com description it says that all rooms have free WIFI. Unfortunatly we did not get any wifi reception at all in our room. We obviously would have booked another hotel if we knew about this beforehand. I went to the reception and asked if we could change the room because of no WIFI but the receptionist was rather uncooperative and told me that all their rooms have wifi (which obivously they dont) and that they are fully booked so it would be impossible to change the room. In the end she offered to restart the WIFI which needless to say did not have any improvements at all.. Apparently this hotel is supposed to be pet friendly so we brought our pupper along. I was OK with paying the 10 euros extra without getting any extra services at all for the dog (dog bowl, etc..). But in the morning when I came to the breakfast room with the dog I was informered rather rudely that dogs are not allowed there. Again we probably would have booked another hotel if we knew about this beforehand. Obviously our dog got kind of stressed by being in a foreign room all by himself. Which in the end also made it for a stressful experience for us. Overall we felt like service could have been so much better / we felt like a nuisance. For example the hotel offers a large shampoo bottle in the shower (which is nice), but I would assume if they offer something like this they would also keep it refilled. Unfortunatly while I was taking a shower I found out that the bottle was indeed empty. I later brought it to reception and then later on (had to) pick it up again myself.

    location is very nice, although getting there with the car can be an issue. lots of bars and restaurants around. Breakfast is quite good. short walk to city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, old style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    We haven't been told that we have breakfast included, we learned it when we paid the bill which included 10 euro for each, also the girl at the reception hesitated to let us enter the room at 13h and asked us to wait till 14 even the room was free and clean. after short arguing she let us in. Generally good nice hotel, maybe staff could be more alive and informative, kind.. not to be like robots obeying to mechanics.

    Good location, old style hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    We had a great time and plan to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Squeaky parquet floors and bed could be quieter. Bathroom needs brighter lighting and a fan since the weather was so hot and the shower has no ventilation. Toiletries only include hand and body liquid soap.

    We have stayed here before and return because of the location (which makes everything walkable) and the very good breakfast. The tram is quite near for visiting sites like Eggenberg Castle and connects directly to the main train station if you need it. We like the quality of food plus the insulated carafe of coffee at each table. Also, we requested and received a large fan/ventilator for cooling our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Would have been better sleeping on the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location, noise, customer service, management. Incompetence.

    A public bar with terrace was located directly under my bedroom window. I had worked 10 days straight and wanted some comfort, a good meal and a great night sleep before I travelled, this wasn't the case. The noise level outside my bedroom window was intolerable. I rang reception and asked could I be moved room. I was told that this wasn't possible. I asked to speak to the manger when next morning so I could air my complaint, I was told that the manager would not be available until the Monday/Tuesday. I understood. I asked could I receive a discount on my room as this wasn't what I had expected... to be listening to people talk about their sex life under my window. The receptionist told me this would not be possible, that I should expect this level of sound in the middle of a city as that I should try to get a good nights sleep nevertheless. I was furious. Next morning the receptionist very nicely once again told I couldn't get a discount without me even asking. I asked her to ensure the manager would contact when he or she was working next. She replied that of course she would organize it. As of yet... I've heard nothing from the manager. I got four hours sleep at the hotel. If I had known this was going to be the case I wouldn't have booked the hotel, if I had know that the manager didn't really care about a customers comfort I wouldn't have stayed there. Very disappointed, very let down. More interested in taking my money than the quality of service they offering. Rip off.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was clean and quiet, comfortable beds, at a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A parking for an additional fee 14 EUR/day. There was a kitchenette in our suite but not even a glass, simply empty shelves.

    The hotel was clean and quiet, comfortable beds, at a great location at the city center, with good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con in the room! Luckily a 22 degree day when we were there. Would have been terrible the day before when 34 degrees. No fan either. No bar frig and no kettle or tea making facilities in the room.

    Hotel is set in a beautiful area of the old town. Short walk to rest of old town across a bridge. Easy process for parking the car out front to drop luggage then moving it to a parking garage very close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size is not the best and facilities not the most modern, but nothing too disturbing.

    The property location is excellent, right in the center on Graz, it's in a pedestrian zone actually, however you can temporary enter with the car to leave your luggage and after that you can easily use the underground parking nearby (8 euro/day - you get a special price for the parking as a hotel guest). Staff is nice and breakfast was very good, I would say very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little sparse, and in the heat we had to open the window into a noisy street at night because there was no air con/fan to cool us down.

    Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Half decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very spartan, there is no fridge and no AC. In the first night we couldn't sleep because our room was right in front of a bar and there was noise and hustle until the early hours of morning (4-5 AM). After we complained to the receptionist we were given a second room witch faced the inner courtyard. The second room was much better.

    The location is nice and the staff was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Old fashioned with good athmospher, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room without ventillation also sometimes water can leak to the floor. No conditioner.

    Old fashioned with good athmospher, excellent location. And view from vindow very originally.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location nice hotel. Wry noisy neighbours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Building was good the location was fine but the street was noisy and the pub opposite was open until 04:30 and there were many drunken people making a lot of noise. After them came the delivery trucks at 05:00 so I do. It sleep at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Fine but a bit warm at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot - no aircon. Church bell every 15 minutes through the night (fair enough this is beyond the hotel's control!).

    Good location, nice room, staff, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.4
    Well-located hotel but seriously problematic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable mattress. No shower curtain. No air conditioning meant keeping the window open, which in mid-July may have been fine if not for the backyard our window looked over. The truck deliveries started at 6am and were very loud.

    Good breakfast and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Tucked into the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed--sure, this is a traditional hotel, but the bed could have been updated. The single bed was shoe-boxy, with a mattress that managed to be both hard and saggy at once.

    The location--tucked in behind the gloriously loopy Art Gallery, and just footsteps from a main tram line, the river, the church square and the Hauptplatz. Could not be better situated. Hotel breakfast was good, with some quite fluffy scrambled eggs, and traditional fare like pumpkin-seed spread to accompany the usual ham and cheese. They even had wheat-free crackers!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    It was a nightmare. Very bad experience
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wonder why the hotel has to charge more 9euros to the price giving by booking.com.The price 125euros was too much for such room giving to us. The hotel was too loud.from 2.20am no more sleep.It was a Sleepless night. Bathroom very dirty. The smallest shower i ever seen in my life. Can't bend down to wash our legs.noise allover the street. Old windows old furniture. Even got a letter from hotel that am owing them 9euros after two days.If only i can help from booking.com to get me out of this cheat from the mariahilf hotel graz

    Breakfast only

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    2.5
    It was a nightmare. Very bad experience
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tge worst hotel i ever slept in. The shower was so small that we couldn't even bend to wash our legs. Very bad. Dirty. I have the pics if you want i can send them. The area was so loud. We had a sleepless night there. Bad.

    Only the breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    6.3
    Good accommodation and location for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slight issue parking as gate was out of order but expect this will be fixed soon. Room was large but fairly basic with no view and noisy at night as we had to open the window to cool the room.

    Breakfast was good and reception staff were helpful. Location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Staff very helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast fee is more expensive than a "normal" breakfast in a café, even though it's included in the price. Fees are very high in general, so be prepared to pay a bit more than expected.

    Staff very helpful and welcoming. The room was very confortable and spacious, not expensive at all for this level of quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Great Choice in Graz!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our wifi was a bit sporadic in our room, but great everywhere else on the property.

    We had a great stay in the family suite. The bathroom was great and the rooms very large and comfortable. The hotel was in a great location making it easy to walk to all of the sites were were interested in!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    5.8
    Good location, but definite room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TVs in the rooms are tiny, ridiculous relics, you can hear absolutely everything in the building and the hallways desperately need a facelift.

    We had a recently renovated bathroom, it was large and quite nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice budget hotel near city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location. Just few hundreds meters from the Main Square but still in a quiet place. Tram stop is just near by, easily reachable from the train station. Good breakfast. WiFi connection was very stable. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.1
    Typical one day room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical one day room. Direct view on a garbage container. Empty shower gel containers. Reading lamp is out of order. The credit card is immediately charged as deposit after booking.

    Location, parking, breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    A lovely stay in the old town of Graz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor was creaky but it was fine as we had s triple room. There was no safe in the room.

    The location is great in the old town however you will need a taxi/ bus to get there (8 euro by cab). Receptionist was very helpful and welcoming. A huge tv in the room and it was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Value for money, decent, superb location! Highly recommend!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Creaky wooden floors - Bad shower heads (something I am very picky about)

    - Very friendly staff (English speaking and 24 hours service) - Nice ambience to the hotel - Superb location. Right next to Kunsthus and 1 min walk to the tram station - Very quiet location. - Simple breakfast - Good wi-fi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.9
    Very good option for a simple stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much for a continental breakfast, no cappuccino or hot milk served, almost no sweets. The room was essential.

    Perfect position, close to the city center, at walking distance from the train station. Wide room, very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Graz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint is that there was no shower curtain in my room, meaning it was difficult to take a shower in comfort.

    Great hotel, friendly staff, great location, good clean rooms, excellent breakfast. A great place to stay to see Graz.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Good base for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower cubical was a bit small so kept knocking the temp controller.

    The breakfast was good with excellent coffee. Close to local amenities and places of interest. comprehensive map provided.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mariahilf traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: