Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Matreier Tauernhaus 2 stars

Tauer 22, 9971 Matrei in Osttirol, Austria

#6 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Matrei in Osttirol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 10

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    After a multi day hut to hut hike we really appreciated this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a multi day hut to hut hike we really appreciated this historic "inn". Good value and easy to find location with bus stop opposite entrance. Our halbpension dinner was gourmet level. Breakfast was substantial.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    A gem in Tirol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative is that the mattress was a bit old and therefore had a big dent in it which didn't allow me to get very comfortable. The pillow was also probably quite old and had lost support.

    Have not been able to forget about this place in 8 years. Only 2 star guest house but really a great room all in all. The food in the restaurant is lovely and so is the breakfast. The staff were very friendly. It's in a beautiful location. Only missing the alpacas from 8 years ago.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This would have been perfect for us had the toll not been on our route to Wildkogel. Not the guest haus’ fault. Poor planning on my part. Staff were welcoming and breakfast was delicious.

    Breakfast was great and dinner prices were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be good to have more regular transportation from matrei to this hotel. Last bus left at 4.30 pm and you could only take an expensive taxi or walk several hours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Alpes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 9 PM stuff closed fire door and left the premisses leaving us (guests) alone in the building with no way out. We could nit reach reception on the phone nor find anybody. It was a bit spooky. They shiwes up in the morning. Everything else though was superb. Never had better sleep

    Beautiful nature, peace, silence

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfasts

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Good breakfast, nice location, comfortable rooms with a balcony

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.5
    bad net connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bad net connection

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    8.3
    We stayed at the Dependence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi at the Dependence, and no tv.

    We stayed at the Dependence. The room was quite big and the beds confortable.Clean. Great surrondings. Meals were really nice ; )

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Confortable room, welcoming staff, delicious dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Confortable room, welcoming staff, delicious dinners. I enjoyed especially the peace and quietness of this place, it was very relaxing.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 10

Guests also reviewed these properties: