Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maximilian 3 stars

Reuttener Straße 1, Ehenbichl, 6600 Reutte, Austria

#5 of 17 hotels in Reutte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and taking a shower is a little awkward with a tiny shower curtain in a bathtub. Breakfast is the typical European breakfast with not many extras. The property is a little pricey compared to our other stays.

    Location is central to all of the typical tourist attractions. The 3 person room had plenty of space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was fine! The lady who is in charge (one of the owners) is very nice, very friendly and was always taking care that everything was fine for us. The breakfast is super! with many options available. This hotel is perfect for kids: there is a playroom inside, a play area outside, nice details in the restaurant ( placemat with nice pictures, something to paint, etc.); and also perfect for parents who can relaxed and take a drink in the beautiful living room while the kids are safely playing in the playroom. Also the location is great. At 5 minutes by car there is a swimming pool compley which is fantastic, for adults and for children, they even have a swimming pool with warm thermal water which is located outside. We enjoy a lot our holidays there and will come back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a nice Tyrolese building, with options around to go. It is very friendly for kids, we had breakfast while our daughter was playing at the outdoor and indoor playground. People willing to help, it feels like a family hotel ran by themselves.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gabi and her family run business was extraordinary. They were very accommodating with a 9yr, 3yr and 5 month old children. The breakfast was something to look forward to every morning. The view out of the balcony was breathtaking and there was an indoor playroom and outdoor playground that they all loved. We will be back in a few years!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very comfortable room with fluffy duvets. Our room looked out over a wonderful field with cows and a mountain view. Although the room was right on the road, there was little road noise. The breakfast was very substantial and delicious. We had a delicious dinner at the restaurant terrace both nights. The staff offered many ideas for visits to make in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything; The welcoming made the difference compared to all the others places we have been. So friendly, so helpful. It felt like home. The chat by one of the owners makes it more unique. She knew exactly who we were, what we were planning to do, very friendly and funny lady. The staff was super friendly. We enjoyed the dinner, breakfast, played some ping pong and def. followed up the advice of what we should do in the area. Because of the friendly welcoming, the nature around the hotel, awesome mountain view, we decided to stay a day longer (which was not a problem at all). It was def. worth it. We will remember this hotel and will recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only good in lounge area.

    Excellent friendly service. Good restaurant and excellent breakfast. Great value with good public areas. Excellent location for exploring area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The translucent door to the bathroom allowed a lot of light into the bedroom, which disturbed sleep a little bit. Also the Wi-Fi in the lobby is great, but there is no Wi-Fi in the bedrooms

    The staff was wonderful. They gave us some great tips, helped us understand the area, and were quite friendly. We wish we had booked to stay three or four nights, because the area is so beautiful and there are so many things to do

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was very close to many historical attractions. The owner was extremely helpful planning our stay making sure we had reservations to the attractions so we didn't waste time in lines The room was large.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I had fault with was no free Wi-Fi in the rooms. It would have been nice to have free access to internet for traveling purposes.

    Staff were extremely friendly. Gabby was very helpful with our plans. Rooms were probably some of the cleanest I've seen. Food was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Just perfect in all respects. Gabby greeted us and looked after us so well. Booked tickets for the castles we wanted to visit. Suggested a lovely car drive along the lake. Nothing was any trouble. So much attention to detail all over the hotel. And ALL staff just as welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay when exploring Tirol. Fantastic mountain walks very nearby and lots of other things to do in the neighbourhood; Gaby knows everything! ☺. Also fantastic breakfast and great dinners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a tiny bit too thin for me. Everything else was lovely!

    The staff were so friendly and happy to help. It made me feel truly cared about.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New Team, very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maxi Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent for it’s price. Fantastic breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & decoration

    Good overall

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of town so either a long walk or short drive to other amenities in Reutte.

    Very family friendly with an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable and pillow was hard

    Rural atmosphere. Good sized room. Fabulous breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Top floor shower limited by sloping roof. Not a shower for tall folks, unable to stand.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Play area for the kids.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous location; Excellent food and service, kind people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super family friendly! Such a lovely place to stay! Loved it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be a little bit modernized.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond for our family. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner. Location close to the touristic places in Tirol and Allgäu (by car).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    I had a very pleasant stay thanks to great and welcoming team at hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,went out of their way to give us dinner even though we arrived late after a long journey.Very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise of road

    Perfect breakfast and friendly staff, tidiness

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner, Gabby, was a tremendous help in planning the days we stayed with them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us a blurred glass toilet door was kind of weird.

    We had a pleasant stay at Hotel Maximilian, the facilities, the staff, the area everything was top on!

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Maximilian is a wonderful quaint hotel, owned and managed by a fun and very helpful family! We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a small room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Close to castles, but also has many other things to do nearby, including the high line an erhenberg ruins.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful family run hotel with a delightful staff - very friendly and hospitable. The restaurant was a great value and the food was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was especially nice. Conveniently close to the area sights if you are traveling by car. WiFi is available in the common areas and there is an elevator.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    These comments are not what I didn't like. They are meant to give additional information for those looking for a hotel. WiFi in lobby and restaurant areas. Worked fine. Have to pay for service in the room. Not a concern for myself. Might be for others. This hotel is 20kms from Fussen, not the 10km that is listed on Booking.com. If the distance isn't a concern nice place to stay. If your main visit is to Fussen, I would suggest finding a hotel there.

    Excellent dinners and breakfast. Attentive staff. Ambience of the hotel. Comfortable long single bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful all the time. Food was excellent, facilities excellent and free use of the local superb pool. Can't fault.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms are a bit worn. No air conditioning.

    Wonderful staff, very clean, and great location. Very family friendly. Our kids loved the ping pong table, foosball table, and trampoline. Great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff were the most helpful we met on our entire European vacation. We were able to plan our entire stay based on their advice and it was all included with the ActiveCard that came free with our reservation.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Staff was wonderful and the food excellent. We really enjoyed our dinner and breakfast. Would love to have stayed longer and look forward to going back. Great location with a lot of great things to do nearby.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Located just outside of the village, but worked well as a stopover for onward journey this time.

    We had traveled from Norway, with a stop in Fulda, and then visited Fussen, and needed a place to stay before we go further. There are good walking areas there, and a good kitchen. We met the owner of the hotel before leaving and had a nice chat with him.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This hotel was way better than I expected in so many ways. The superior rooms were great. Breakfast was very good, while dinner there was superb both nights. The staff was outstanding, especially the wonderful Gabi.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very, very friendly and helpful owners and staff (Gabby is the best), great restaurant and very good food, very beautiful and clean hotel, very beautiful landscapes, everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, we intend to return for future visits.

    Location, restaurant, and exceptionally friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    All round excellent, Owners and staff lovely people. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    carpet in room if you are allergic

    family room, child-friendly (kids menu, play room), nice restaurant

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    showerhead was too low

    very attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom

    Wonderful meals. Laundry service. Great value!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upgraded our room, but it didn't have free WiFi. Free WiFi was only in the lobby.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything!!! Great place for a holiday! Excellent location, food and staff! We'll definitely return one day!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent Staff. Very friendly, clean, excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked everything.

    Clean, comfortable & friendly. Great breakfast & quiet.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    i will always remember the Garlic soup... excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything about this hotel was lovely thank you

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi is free only in lobby and the quality is poor. Wi-fi is paid in the room.

    The room and especially bathroom were superb. I like them.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to report.

    Restaurant menu and food were excellent. A super stay - comfortable, clean and with excellent staff and attentive owner.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The greeting from the staff, the food, the welcome from the owner

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: