Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3 stars

Columbusgasse 16, 10. Favoriten, 1100 Vienna, Austria

#283 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2240 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise at night and early in the morning from the street.

    Friendly and smiling staff. Excellent location near metro, rich breakfast, spacious room with bathroom and toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Photos look much better than the hotel itself. Entrance and baggage room are not clean. Bathroom had a yellowish stinky curtain instead of a cabin, shown on the photos; Lower tiles in shower area were also yellow and looked dirty. Towels were too small. No AC means you have to open windows at night and its quite noisy outside.

    Close to the central station and very close to the metro station. Good breakfast available just a few metres away. Sheets were clean, pillows and blankets were ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fairly prepared, it will be great to see more varieties to be served, example eggs.

    The location is good, only 2 mins walk to the Kepplerplatz U Bahn train station and 10 mins walk to Vienna Central train station. The room is clean and nicely kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance feels very down market

    Small groups of rooms shut off from stairwell and other rooms. So much quieter than you would expect given the groups of teenagers in residence

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I went to Vienna with my family and stayed 2 nights in this hotel. After 1 night, everything was fine. We went to shopping in the city in the second day. After backed to the hotel, we found that my mom 's earrings was lost. We tried to contact manager in that day because we wanted him to help us check with housekeeper who cleaned our room. Reception asked us to wait until tomorrow morning. We did, and manager not worked in the morning when we went to the reception. Reception also asked us to wait manager again until the 3 p.m. or send e-mail to inform our problems. Sure !! we send e-mail to him, but not waited because we needed to flight to back our country. After 2 days, we can contact manager. And the hotel said they cannot find our earrings in our room. And no one took any responsibility for our belongings. We paid for rooms and breakfast, and our belongings was lost in room. We needed to spend 2 days to contact manager. Whereas the reception who can contact manager all times, not agreed us to talk with him.Sure we used our mobile to call him, and no anyone answer phone. If we want to borrow the hotel phone, the reception said they will call police to catch us. I dont know..... how to say with this service????

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!!

    The room was beautiful, staff really friendly, everything perfect clean and it's one ride with u-bahn away from main train station. Breakfast is super good😊...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a peep show right before the hotel with a photo of a topless woman. If you're traveling with kids, that may come as a surprise.

    The hotel was only a few minutes walk to Wien Hbf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some noise during the night from doors which closed loudly as folks come and go.

    The staff at the front desk were wonderful, the rooms were clean, simple and comfortable. One block from the metro (Keplerplatz), 5-10 minutes to the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been better if the hotel offered basic coffee/tea facilities in the room. (They do have a common small kitchen near the reception, but this was not as convenient). Parking can be a little difficult and expensive (although we were lucky to find one for free during the weekend). Breakfast was relatively cheap 6.90 EUR, but selection was not very wide (mainly bread & jam). The smoking area was right outside the main entrance, this was not ideal as everyone walks past it.

    Nice hotel/hostel near metro station, staff was friendly and their reception is open 24 hrs. Room was generally good (with own bathroom), although one out of four beds was not super comfortable and they creak pretty loudly when you turn in your sleep. Basic amenities like multi-purpose soap is provided in the shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located centrally, very close to the UBahn. The staff were fantastic - so friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have already been in other meininger hostels and this one did not match the standards of the others.

    Close to the underground and easy parking place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price a little too high, value for money is not the best because of the distance from the center and major attractions. Standards and appearance differed a little from the photos. Lack of kitchen and the possibility of preparing your own food.

    Close to the main station, near the metro station, quiet neighborhood. The staff was very nice and answered all our questions. The free luggage room was great and free. The rooms had everything we needed. A neat and clean bathroom, basic cosmetics and towels were provided.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the smoking area is right at the front door, so everytime I carried my luggage to get in and out I had to struggle among the people blocking the front door together with the disgusting smell impregnated at the entrance. I find that the breakfast could have been more rich for kind of eggs, fruits, vegetables, juices. The coffee was nice and in general is a good thing to have the breakfast there.

    The double room 101 is very spacious and it is pretty well asolated from the street. The personnel is super friendly and helpful. The location is comfortable when travelling for work reasons, but it is not the most lovely part of the city, still super close to all kind of public transportation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy due to poor isolation (slamming doors and talking neighbours). Pillows not very comfortable.

    One metro station (or 10 minutes walk) from Main Station. Simple but functional room. Cleanliness OK. Very good breakfast considering the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is quite small.

    Excellent location, just 200m from the Keplerplatz U1 station and within walking distance to the Hauptbahnhof. Also located just by Favoritenstrasse, where many shops and restaurants offer you a lot of choices. I had a basic room - clean, comfortable and value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Providing more complementary such as drinking water.

    Very convenence to main train station, just one stop and great location, a lot of shop around including 2 big supermarkets. Staffs are very kind and provide a lot of help. Space for store luggage is convenence. .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was expecting more red (curtains, walls).

    While the room was small, the three bed room was comfortable. It's one street away from a shopping street and only a walk away from the station which was a plus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1/ I booked Double Room but the "double bed" is actually two single bed pulled together, there is a big gap between 2 mattresses!! I complained with the staff and he even said all the double beds in the hotel are actually two single beds!! They have to rename all double rooms to twin rooms, this is misleading and can be deemed as scam. 2/ we had no key card for our room!! The staff on the night we arrived told us that we can only get our key card next day. 3/ Staff was not helpful and most of his responses was basically: "Complain to manager by email, do not complain with me, I can't do anything!". How great! 4/ Lightning in the room was dark. Plastic doors inside the bathroom are broken, whole floor get wet and sloppy because of these broken doors after taking the shower. We didn't even try to complain about this because I know the staff would keep telling us to complain with manager instead of him! 5/ TV was actually a small LCD screen of only 19 inches or so. You'd see nothing if you was laying on bed.

    Nothing! Tada!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not very good. Food choice is quite varied, but not of the best. Also, in the bathroom there seemed to be a bit of bad smell coming from the toilet all the time.

    The hotel does not look fancy but it has all the basic comforts at a very affordable price. My room was really nice and spacey and I felt really comfortable in it. The hotel is conveniently placed for public transport and for travellers using buses and/or coming/leaving from other airports other than the main one in Vienna. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing was the shower in the bathroom which leaked water all over the floor but this was cleaned up for us.

    Basic but clean, beds were good. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,it was great for a short stay

    Clean and comfortable, value for money,easy walking distance to the main train station. Good security. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with a 24hr desk which is great for late arrival. Breakfast was delicious and so many options. Room was great with comfortable beds and great bathroom facilities. Very close to the train station and local shops. Overall a really great place to stay at.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect for us, there really isn't anything else we needed! :)

    Location was superb, just 2-3 minutes from the nearest U-Bahn station and 5-10 minutes from Wien Hauptbahnhopf! The staff was really friendly and helpful, and there was a room to store our luggage. The nearest laundry shop is 5 minutes walk away as well. The room was clean and spacious for 5 and we really had a good sleep during our night here!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning schedule starts too early (in two different days the cleaning lady was at 9 at our door). We wanted to reuse the towels due to environmental concerns and we put them on the rack as per the hotel suggestion but they were changed every day :).

    The bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet enough for children to sleep. Close to Belvedere and a Park and Ride.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is not really close to centrum, but there is luckily a metro-stop 100 m away, so you can easily get anywhere within city.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 out of the 5 matresses was not good. Fortunately we were only 4 people. The area did seem a little dodgy, but we did not feel unsafe. Lots of lighting on all the roads.

    The room was large and the shower and toilet were two seperate rooms in our private room. Not too far to walk to old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimum security. We had left our belongings in the luggage room after checking out from the hotel to travel around the city. Someone got into the luggage room while we were gone, tore our (I'm traveling with the family of 4) bags open, broke into our stuff (we put locks on the zippers) and stole some of our stuff. I spoke with the front desk person about this matter but all that person told me was that there is no camera and that he can give me a free drink... His reactions to this event was was very disappointing and upsetting. They need to install a security camera in the room. It is not a good feeling to find your bag tore open and broken into after a nice trip...

    The location was really great. U1 was less than 2 min away from the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange luggage room, with people who are searching in your baggage. An extra stress for those who are here for the first time. Otherwise, good breakfast, nice staff, clean room (but some strong smell from the bathroom).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There Were some bad smell in the corridor of the floor where was our Room ( second floor)

    Room was clean and warm. Food was perfect. Stuff was friendly, kind and helpfull . We Enjoy our staying in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Locations is not good at all, a specially for family with kids, next door is strip club and photos of naked girls all over the window. It was a big problem to find place to eat near by in the evening, found McDonalds and Chinese take away. Rooms are dirty, walls and curtains. no resemblence with photos at all. On bed was broken. No light in the hall one evening. Smell of smoke in the hall. I would imagine, it will only suits for very young students, as its hostel really not 3 start hotel as it's stated in booking.com

    The only good about this property was that it's just beside metro station that's it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small problem was that we did not feel the bathroom was cleaned enough before arriving at the hotel, but as towels and cleaning was ok in the rest of the days, we can say it was acceptable in general.

    The hotel was near a metro station and there were parking possibilities near it. We did not reserve the breakfast, but took it in 1 of the days and it was great for the paid price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Neary U Bahn, Stephan Platz, Euro Spar Supermarket and Wien Huapbahnhof. Feel comfortable to go anywhere around Vienna from this point. Room clean and good bahtroom. Staff so nice to help you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one word sums up this place - AWESOME. Starting from a great location near metro stop and the train station, then with the amazing guy at the reception who spoke 4 languages at least and was extremely nice and welcoming, and finally with the hotel itself with beautiful spacious rooms, clean and equipped with everyone one might need. Definitely recommending it to everyone I know!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The immediate neighborhood was a little bit sketchy. The hotel and its surroundings also were noisy, and the facilities were less comfortable than I was hoping for.

    Being a block away from a U-Bahn station was nice. On the U-Bahn you can get anywhere you want to go in Vienna. Also, we arrived by car, and the parking fee of 12 Euro/day seemed reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes the other guests get a bit noisy in the passage, which is not appreciated especially at night.

    good price, good facilities, friendly employees, excellent location (100 mts from the nearest underground), 750 m from the central vienna station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6 Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    so far, none

    we are a family of 6. The room is so spaceous for us. The staff are very friendly, accommodating and helpful. We asked if we could print our bus tickets from Prague to Paris and from Paris to London, we were surprised it did not cost any amount. It was facilitated free for us. Breakfas is cheap and good. I recommend this hotel to every traveler. Location is excellent. We just walk about 10 minutes to train station. .. Oanes family, Philippines

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was stinky and the staffs at the front desk were not friendly or helpful. Pantry facilities were bad and requires an upgrade.

    Near to the metro stop

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were actually too big as in chunky. we needed flatter pillows.the mattress felt as if it was worn in the middle thereby allowing you to sink into the bed and not giving any support. the tv was only in german . being english i would have like a kettle with tea and coffee available.

    the staff were as helpful and as friendly as you needed them to be .the room was spacious , we had 4 in the room . David was always smiling and willing to help any time he was on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area it is located and the entrance felt that we didn't arrive at the right place, the bunk beds, the room and place felt very cheap although it wasn't.

    The distance from the rail road station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When i arrived to my room, i realized there is no hair dryer. When i went down to the reception to complain, they wanted me to pay a deposit of 10 euros (for the thing that HAS TO be in my room). After a short discussion they agreed to give it without a deposit though.

    Good wifi connection, nice breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The thing I didn't like the most was that it wasn't an actual "double room" but rather 2 single beds put together and without having a carpet during the night there was always a 10cm space between me and my partner. It was also quite dusty and the shower cabin doors were broken. The first morning a random man came in our room, saw us and went into the bathroom and then left without saying anything. After him the cleaning lady knocked 3 times even though we had the "do not disturb sign" on the door and even though we said no 3 times she came in.

    The staff was very helpful and nice. Great location as it is 1 minute away from the subway station. Nice bar/lounge area downstairs with nice music.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much - tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have made it better. There is very little in terms of decor. Breakfast (at extra cost) did not include any 'freshly' cooked items but it was reasonable and the items available were all good.

    Very convenient location, close to a metro station on the U1 route and within walking distance of the Hauptbahnhof main railway station. It is a no-frills hotel, but room was spacious, had comfortable beds and was kept very clean. And it was great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unless it's an accommodation for younger people all ages are welcome. We stayed there with a group of 10 people (aged app. 45 years) and had a very pleasant stay. The location is close to the main station and the subway, ideal for a city trip. The breakfast was good and fairly priced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6 Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the reception staff is very helpful, provided us with information on how to go around the city. Amenities in the room is enough for what is needed during our stay. It is located close to the train station which is very convenient. Parking was a little bit hard to maneuver but we made it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff who does his best to help you and feell at home. Only smile and Yes when you ask something about the room or informations you need to organise your trip. Very well located, and perfect with kids. A strong adress for Vienna, don't hesitate !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6 Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    According we booking parking, we don't have a place in hotel parking. But it was quait eazy to find place in the street.

    Very good place to stay at weekend. Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is old and dirty. The walls lack paint all over the place. Very noisy area in the morning. Stayed for 2 nights and they didn't clean the room. Too expensive for the standard of quality of an hostel.

    Very well located near the metro station and easy access to the center. Quite variety of restaurants nearby. Staff is very polite and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks better on the pictures than in reality. There was a really bad smell in the corridor. We got the info that we 2 parking spots were booked for us and got to know that there was no place for us to park at the hotel upon arrival we had to look for parking places on the street.

    THe price was ok and the bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in a family room. The room is fair enough for the price. The staffs are friendly. The kitchen is rather small but well, you don't have to clean by yourself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in time is too late. 3pm. And we can't even check in early. And the check out time is too early. The good thing though is that they have luggage service for free

    The reception staff is very helpful. WE didn't even ask for a map but we were planning to look for it outside, but then they offered us a guide and map right a way. Kudos. They are approachable and they have knowledge around the city. And you can tell they know what they are talking about. Great job!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The immediate area around the hotel has a couple of sketchy places.

    Easy to get to and from the airport (cheap local train directly to the Hauptbahnhof and then just a short walk), very close to the metro which takes you directly to the center. The hotel is well equipped, the staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff who does his best to help you and gave us a spécial discount because our kids are young. Always smiling, perfect. Room is OK and the hôtel is close to the City central by public transportation. We recommandé this adress.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no AC or a fan. It was a hot summer night after a long day walk. The room was very very warm. So we agreed to open the windows. Alas! It was so noisy outside. I couldnot sleep. :-(

    The room was in a good size with a cupboard and tv. The bathroom was clean and ok. there's also a side bed next to each bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy furniture - when you sleep and turn it makes noise, so you wake up

    Great location - metro-station just in few steps A lot of cafes and market near Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    PEEP show bar is along the way to the property.

    The location is perfect, very close to the train station and many fast food nearby. Our room is good and clean with a fast free wi-fi. The reception staff is very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They only downside is the Internet connection (web proxy). It's hard to upload photos to the cloud.

    Very nice service. Great location. 50 metres to the metro station (U1 - Keplerplatz). There are many shops and restaurants nearby, including fast food restaurants where one can eat a quick breakfast and drink coffee for 4 euros. All the best!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants. Poorer area of Vienna. Far from the city centre though Vienna is not far from one point to the other, subway or walking (a few miles) is required. Lots of school trips as it's a hostel not a hotel- so lots of noisy teenagers in the lobby first thing and last thing. Door slam at the end of each corridor due to the fire door. No aircon.

    Near the subway. Multicultural area. Cheap food shops. Friendly and informative staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room: - during summer it is very, very hot in the room, an AC would be necessary. - we booked a room for 3 persons, but the facilities for the 3rd person were missing (pillow, towel, blanket...). The 3rd bed is not recommended for tall people. :( Breakfast: at 9:30 AM there were no clean cups, plates, cutlery, napkins available. The tables were not clean, we had to clean it ourselves before eating.

    Near the tube station, many markets in the area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Halls were dimly lit, repairs were left undone after two days, no paper or plastic cups in the bathroom, felt sparse. We didn't expect AC but we couldn't keep the window open because of the cigarette smoke from the courtyard behind. We were on the 2nd floor. There was a "Peep Show" on the street we had to pass to get to the subway. We have kids so that wasn't ok. Kids liked the bunk beds.

    Front desk worker was friendly and helpful and offered great maps. Great place for young travelers in Europe with great access to train station and subway. But not so great for our family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool at the deck ;)

    The location of hotel is great. The room was enough big for our family with 2 children (1 and 4 years old) The stuff were always freindly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 of the single matresses in our room needs to be replaced as just starting to feel spring coming up but worked with comforter placed over.

    Close to underground station to get everywhere and nice square with park, shopping, restaurants, yet off quiet side street. Awesome friendly staff! Simple clean room and bath, great value for small spend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room. No hair dryer. No fridge.

    The room has nice furniture, great location if you come by Viena HBF, walking distance. All people in the room got a personal key card.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location : Environment is not very friendly and conducive for family outings. Booking : By mistake had booked in the non-cancellation option. But when came to know about its location, had requested for a cancellation., This was more than two months from date of booking. But still they were NOT helpful. Would NOT recommend for family, but fit for budget tourists & backpackers. More like a youth hostel. Would think again before booking another Meininger hotel, or at least do a detailed online research before committing.

    Friendly and helpful receptionists. Great cleaning staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Credit card could not be processed at their end and had to update it a couple of times. Thought that a small amount would be charged from my credit card before arrival as a security for pre-authorisation but was very surprised that the entire amount had been charged before my arrival. This is usually not the case with the other establishments that I have booked through booking.com. 2) Not a good locality.

    1) Was near the Station and Metro Station. 2) Was clean, toiletries provided. 3) Facilities as mentioned in the website.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi on the third floor was slow. A few rooters could boost the experience a lot.

    It's a great value for money, the u bahn is 60 meters from the hotel. The reception is great, quick and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6 Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was excellent. Loved that our family of five could stay together in a single room. Close to subway stop, which comes very frequently and goes straight to the train station and the tourist areas.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally, I don't like wood floor but it wan't big deal if it wasn't dirty. The room was a bit old but still clean. The thing that make us annoying is housemate came in around 9 and she unlocked the door by herself but we still there!! When she saw us, se asked that when you gonna check out, we told her around 10 and she left. I was a bit angry because we could stay here until 11 which is hotel checkout time on rule. She could not ask us for check out !!!! This was very rude for me and can't accept!!

    It was cheap price for 4 people. The room was big and also shower room. Wifi was fast and useful. There are luggage room for drop a bag and went out to travel, it was very safety. The hotel located nearly by Vienna central station (walk around 7-10 minute). There are a lot of restaurant around hotel include shopping street, shopping mall, super market and walking street.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If u travel with huge luggage from vienna airport, u need to change 2-3 times from S-bahn+metro in order to get to the nearest metro (a little too far to drag luggage from Hbf)

    Plenty breakfast(6.9euros) 24h front desk Got most of tourist info Not new but clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the location is near U bahn/metro station, free parking in near streets. Nice place for all age travelers, nice rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In a nutshell, i can say that the hotel is not safe to stay , because my family and i were there for three nights but at the end my laptop with my backpack was stolen in luggage deposit of hotel and clients there were not responsible and said to us just sorry . That was a terrible memory for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been a bit more cleaner and maintained.

    The hotel was very close to Keplerplatz metro station (2 minutes on foot) and the main train station (7 mins). Besides the good location, the wifi was great, the staff was helping and the overall organisation was good. The room was fine with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No comfort, small bathroom. I didn't like waiting in front of garage with my car for 5 min one time, because no one was at a reception to hear me calling and open it. I requested parking during booking, but it was not processed in few months. Luckily few days prior, I double checked and find out, so there was time to fix it.

    Location is great, close to metro and pedestrian zone with plenty shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view of the room, it was overlooking the yard and other buildings and some pipes, not much interesting. We kept the curtains closed most of the time

    The room was on 3rd floor and very spacious, bigger that I expected. Bathroom smaller but modern and good enough. Very very close to metro station. Overall good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have more than one towel per person. We got one bath towel each, would have been nice to wrap up after shower and use a hand towel for hair or face or feet.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Good wifi. Comfortable bed. Good water pressure in shower. Cleaned daily.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located near the main train station about 15 minutes of slow walking and near the subway station. The room was clean, the beds comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: