Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fürst Metternich 3 stars

Esterhazygasse 33, 06. Mariahilf, 1060 Vienna, Austria

#137 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1935 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i asked for a room not facing a backyard and i got a terrible backview. there is no complimentary coffee. the soap is not good, and liquid all purposes soap is all you get, so whatever you need, bring you own. furniture is a little old, but correct.

    excellent location, comfortable bed, room size was good. the building is breautiful. the metro station is close. i felt safe even at late hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Take the superior room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take the superior room; it is little more expensive but worth it, because basic rooms are small dark and with very small bathroom; Parking in the garage near the hotel costs 19€ per night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, reasonable price, worth a visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in the room

    Very satisfied with my stay in this hotel. Every staff member was very nice and helpful. Location is great, as it is very close to the metro line, shops, stores and restaurants but also in the quiet street. Hotel is stylish, rooms are clean with enough space to store clothes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and modern with a perfect location in the heart of Vienna. The staff was very friendly and helpful, allowing us to store our bags before the 14.00 check in time. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a big bathtub, perfect for relaxing after a day of exploring the city. The room was very quiet, we didn't even hear a sound the entire time we were there. One of the best hotels my wife and I have ever visited. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Kind and welcoming staff, always available to help out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room really needs a renovation, as it is old and definitely doesn’t look perfect. There is no air conditioning, and when it’s hot, it gets really hot. There are some rooms that do not have direct access to the elevator without steps, and I recommend customers with disabilities or moving difficulties to make sure the hotel knows before they get a room allocated.

    Kind and welcoming staff, always available to help out. The location is great! Steps from public transport and from a shopping street,any amenities in the area, and walking distance to the major monuments.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good and bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. There was no ability to exhaust the smell from the bathroom after taking a poop.

    Breakfast was good and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall, very pleasant. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Should have air-conditioning. Light switch to bathroom on the outside! Why? Means that when you get up in the night you disturb your partner. Odour in the bathroom (which was promptly sorted by staff).

    Plenty of character - slightly old fashioned, traditional feel (which we liked). Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    room was large and well decorated, bed was comfortable, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was large and well decorated, bed was comfortable, room too hot for me but large fan provided. good to have a safe that worked with clear instructions. location very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Incredibly hot in the room. The room is very modest and small. No electrical plug by the bed. In general only one in the room used for air ventilator. Water is sewring very badly. Could have found something better for the price.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    A renovated boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C. Rooms generally small, but you may get an upgrade. some rooms have a few steps to climb from the elevator which is rather small.

    A renovated boutique hotel. Great location at the heart of Vienna's Mariahilfe shopping center, close to museums and walking distance from the old city & attractions. Excellent breakfast and club.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice small hotel at an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No major complaints. I felt like the indoor air quality wasn't the best, most likely because the building is very old. You won't find many luxuries here, but that is also reflected in the price.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, comfortable room and fairly simple but tasty breakfast. Last year I stayed at the same hotel and was somewhat dissatisfied with the quality of my room, but this time I had no such problems. The room I got was nice and clean and by the looks of it had been renovated fairly recently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect stay in wonderful Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Breakfast was okay, but some freshly-baked bread would add to the experience. - No air condition system in the room.

    - It is a very beautiful hotel in a classical style. Impressive entrance! - Comfortable and spacious room. - Very friendly staff. - Great neighbourhood, lively and really pleasant for residents and travellers alike. - Subway station around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    OK, but not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities. The Barfly cocktail bar was smoky, and so dark that I couldn't read the menu.

    Very comfortable bed. Good but slightly overpriced breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    Good quality/price ratio and really close to undergrond
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fares are really cheaper if compared with other hotels, but Furst-Metternich is not equipped with a restaurant, so there's no chance to have main meals.

    The breakfast room is particularly pleasant, gives the chance to have a relaxing breakfast while listening to jazz music. Just lovely. The closest underground station (Neubaugasse) is approximatively at 200 meters from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, the hotel is a historical building with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit coolly inside the room, but this is beneficial to healthy sleeping :)

    Good location, the hotel is a historical building with beautiful design (architect — Carl Stephann, a student of Eduard van der Nüll, who was responsible for designing the Vienna State Opera). In addition hotel staff gave us an upgraded room, for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Not recomended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel need total renovation, when we arrived meadle of the night the hotel smells pee and need more outlet to charge ou electronic device....

    the Location perfectly right.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of teas and coffees, and that these were not replaced between nights

    Good beds. Nice bath with shower facilities. Well located for new and old parts of the city. Friendly staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Though the restaurant and bar at this hotel are fabulous and the bartenders are great, it was much more expensive than I anticipated. I paid 13 euro for one drink (plus tip). Breakfast is 13 euro per day. On the plus side, there's an Aldi's and a McDonald's right around the corner, so my recommendation is to either skip the breakfast or treat yourself to just a snack/drink, then go eat a bigger meal from a cheaper place.

    The best parts about this hotel are the friendly staff, the reasonable price of the rooms for Vienna and the location. The decor is nice as well. It's super close to the metro, not far from the city center and right in the heart of the shopping district. I had a maintenance issue with the radiator in my room, and the staff took care of it right away. They were more than happy to accommodate anything I needed during my stay. Totally recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    The bed, the vintige look, the room, the location was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very, very cold at night and we didn’t have any additional covers. Also, the walls and door were very thin and you could hear everything from outside, so it was quite noisy.

    The bed, the vintige look, the room, the location was very good, the room and bathroom clean,.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Was too short, but I was surprised by the interior of the hotel - beautiful and impressive:)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the afternoon, receptionist was alone and took too long time to put down the phone to check on reception. I needed to come back as he was not ending the call..not really nice.

    on the toilet desk was black hair and also in the shower, otherwise very clean and nice room on the top floor, which I mentioned in my booking and was met by the reception at defining the room for me - very much appreciated :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Sadly not for non- smokers
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a bar in the basement, open from 18 to 3, where smoking is allowed. Despite our non-smoking room being 5 floors above it, every night the room was flooded by a disgusting smell of cigarette smoke. I don't know whether it came from the bathroom vent or the stairs through the door.. We complained with the staff, but they were unable to solve the issue

    The hotel is located right beside Mariahilfstraße, the position is excellent for exploring the city centre without spending too much money. The room was old looking, but the bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall style is quite good, actually - the artworks give it...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feels somewhat worn down, instead of having heritage. My room was a bit bland, even though the bathroom was spacious and well equipped.

    Overall style is quite good, actually - the artworks give it a nice touch. It's near Mariahilferstrasse, so the location is pretty perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    The building, the entrance , the nightbar .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we’re lacking character and are a bit runned down ( at least some of them).

    The building, the entrance , the nightbar ...all amenities are good but not exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    Given a room with a broken bed but did not realise it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given a room with a broken bed but did not realise it was broken until we got back late. Explained to reception next morning and was very rude, no apologies about the broken bed. Asked if she’s knew anywhere in the area for breakfast and she was very unhelpful ignoring us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent pivotal point for visiting vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    extra small elevator :)

    Excellent location, in middle of Vienna, comfortable bed mattress, and sparkling cleaning. Tea/coffee facilities and daily changes of towels. Very quiet and plenty of light and enough space in the upper 23 square meters room. Getting hot water instantly, hot tub, and plenty of fresh air when needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect... and I'd imagine so for most people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Erm... The bed was TOO comfortable so we slept in late. :-D

    Staff were excellent. Super-comfy bed in a spacious, clean room. Regal-ish building, but a relaxed, unpretentious vibe. Great location for walking to the museum quarter and Weiden. Metro close by for further jaunts. 9/10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Ferfect!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard. There is no air-conditioning in rooms and there is a heater.

    Excellent breakfast. Excellent location. On our first day we got a room not to our satisfaction and the clerk at the reception desk was a magician and quickly changed our room. The hotel was an amazing vacation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel with nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    One niggle: WHY is the showerhead fixed at THAT position on the wall? Unless you're 80 cm tall, you're going to break your back trying to have a handsfree shower.

    Great hotel with nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Expensive for what you get. Location is good though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get. Had a superior room but didnt even have tea/coffee making facilities. Staff not friendly and not helpfull at all. Not good value for money.

    Location. Close to a main shopping street with lots of shops etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    The location is one of the best because of the proximity to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture inside the room is a bit cheap, but it didn't really matter for us.

    The location is one of the best because of the proximity to Mariahilfer Strasse and Zieglergasse U-Bahn Station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    A cheap hotel in central Vienna in need of refreshment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have used this hotel few times when travelling to Vienna for its location and price, although this time I had an unpleasant stay for the most basic reason - the mattress and pillow I was given this time were hell - I still have pain in my neck and back two days later and it made it impossible to sleep well throughout my stay. Also a plastic cover over the matress increased temperature so much that felt really uncomfortable.

    Location is great. Near a supermarket, McDonalds, and main globalised shops and restaurants. The Metro is very near and it connects you to the rest of the city. Reception staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel was well heated and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    4.2
    Definitely I’m NOT recommend this hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room #4 was very dark and dirty and smells like old cemetery. I asked for new room, but it was the same. Reception staff was very unfriendly and lied me that was no more free room available to change. After I checked this information on booking.com they hade 5 available rooms. Lady receptionist was ill-bread. After unpleasant conversation with her I’ve got a bit nicer room #9. Definitely I don’t recommend this hotel! They hate their customers.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a meeting and tried to order a tea in the lobby. Turns out it is not possible to have anything at all in the hotel. Although there is a bar at the back, it is a separate business and they quite rudely let me know too that they don't have tea or coffee and they have nothing to do with the hotel. Shame.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    The best hotel bar I have been to ever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel bar I have been to ever. As a lover of Whisky they offered a very large choice together with bery good inowledge of the subject matter. I will certainly return - if only for the bar

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    4.6
    The shower had hot water!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very simple and ordinary. The cost/benefit is not worth it, too expensive for what they offer. Breakfast is also very poor. Although I paid for Breakfast, I had to eat somewhere else.

    The shower had hot water!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable stay in a beautiful historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the interior decoration of our room, a little too bling bling for my taste , but had everything we needed.

    Very central location but on a quiet street which allowed us to discover other areas which are not so crowded.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodations in a great location at a great price; I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The initial welcome could have been a little warmer and more helpful, especially when suffering jet lag; rooms could have had some better lighting.

    Great location; comfortable accommodations; staff mostly friendly and helpful; very good deal for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    Hotel is a good value in a good location. Needs some updating of decor & furniture.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was dated. Their was no place to sit comfortably except on the bed.

    The location was great, could get the tram, underground, to shopping and restaurants easily walking. The room was dated and small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, esp coffee machine, had cappuccino every morning of our stay. Cost 13E extra per day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location for the underground and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar was noisy, dark and lacked ambiance; a comfortable communal area where we could have enjoyed a coffee, cocktail or other beverage would have been nice. When we visited in October it was hot and sunny and the room was hotter than we are used to. We were able to open the lovely stained-glass windows but the trade-off was being woken early in the morning by deliveries to the neighbouring store, refuse/recycling collections and street cleaning.

    The Hotel describes itself as a boutique hotel and is situated in Esterhazygasse some 50m off the main shopping street and a stone's throw from the underground to Vienna city centre. Our room was big, well lit and very clean. The mini bar was well stocked and well-priced. Staff in reception were friendly and helpful. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel (13 euros per person), preferring to visit the McCafe just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    I like Vienna very much indeed and hope to visit this beautiful city at least once a year
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not get a welcome drink as a Genious guest

    A quiet place, clean rooms, hospitable reception staff, in the vicinity there are metro station, a lot of shops, food stores, nice cafeteria, a down town, museums

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Convenient location, historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since we booked a "superior" room, I was surprised by how basic and small our room was. Plain white and not particularly clean walls, dated furniture. This is still a great hotel, perhaps my expectations were too high.

    This is a historic building, beautiful from the outside and inside. Location is super convenient, right on the most popular shopping street in Vienna. The staff is very friendly, they even let you store luggage for a few hours after check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant and stylish hotel, we loved our stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Brilliant and stylish hotel, we loved our stay there. It needs some modernization, this is true, but one is ready to overlook that because of the overall wonderful assets of the place. Check the bar downstairs, it is amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    - perfect location next to the shopping street in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - got a bit hot in the room, as we were there in August and they do not have AC (only a fan)

    - perfect location next to the shopping street in Vienna - clean room - friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    I stayed at the Hotel Fürst Metternich for two weeks and enjoyed my stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning which made visiting during the summer a little uncomfortable.

    The location of this hotel is perfect. There is plenty to do and see within walking distance and the Zieglergasse subway station is just steps away if you want to visit the more remote areas of Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel in an excellent location. Did I mention that the breakfast was also excellent?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift seems to be "taken over" by the cleaners in the morning.

    Everything: The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was EXCELLENT. The range of TV channels was also great. The location: Stones throw away from the metro U-Bahn. You are 5 minutes away from the centre of Vienna. The breakfast: Whilst not included in the price of the room, the quality of the breakfast was amazing. At 13 euros per person, for Vienna, it is a bargain.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    Quite close to museum quarter and main shopping street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and way too hot when outside was 30c - no air con anywhere in the building. Opposite a bizarre sex toy shop and cannabis shop so may not be so good for kids!

    Quite close to museum quarter and main shopping street

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Nostalgic hotel in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt tell me that there is a computer for the use of gust. But there is :)

    Helpfull Staff, clean and nice room, quite, romantic hotel, good breakfast, location. Close to naschmarket.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a good location but not advisable in the middle of summer with no air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning made it very hard to sleep, it was really hot when we were there, fan wasn't enough. The double bed in our room was up against the wall and not so comfortable, quite awkward getting in and out. Staff at reception were quick to sell us the most expensive Big Bus tickets (4 adults), we weren't given any advice and it turned out to be an expensive and slow way to see Vienna during our short stay - would have been much better just to take the metro. They must get a good commission. We wasted a whole afternoon on the blue line which is quite a non-event and painfully slow.

    Hotel was very close to shops and metro, lovely building with some nice features. Bathroom was great, very clean and functional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    In hot summer time is terrible to stay in this hotel. No ventilation in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very ! hot in the room. The windows from the room go into the shaft and room has no ventilation at all. Autonomous fan works very is noisy like a stone crusher!!!.

    Location is very god.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Good Value for location, no frills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms need refurbishment. No A/C (normally not an issue in central Europe, but with climate change, nights can get hot)-

    Location Staff very friendly and really helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Great room at a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning was missing, especially during hot summer days.

    Nice hotel with stylish entrance. Good room with comfortable bed and good sized bathroom with badtub.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Great location on the outskirts of CBD! Great shopping strip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suited our needs

    Great location near underground but also a good walk into central Vienna. Very quiet, old type hotel. Didn't have breakfast. No tea making facilities but reception staff readily obliged. Nothing too much trouble. Basic size room very comfortable for a regular travellor wanting a couple of nights. Proximity to underground great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel at the center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were old, elevator is not reachable from certain floors, rooms were scarcely equiped.

    Staff was helpful. Renovated ancient building with XIX turn-of-the century decoration.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel I'm convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little boutique hotel near the metro, shopping district, and main city center attractions. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice basic hotel at an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was very gloomy. There was only one small window and it was facing a wall. There were some small annoyances. For example one lamp was broken and the showerhead wouldn't stay at the correct position. If you're looking for luxuries this isn't the place.

    This is a nice small hotel in an old building at an excellent location near the center of the city. There are a lot of shops nearby and the subway station is just around the corner. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast didn't have the widest variety of options but everything included was high quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I will definitely come back.

    Room was very neat and clean. Nicely decorated lobby with very helpful staff. They have storage room for luggage. Convenient location for attractions and for shopping.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    It was nice in general & good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows, the heat make noisy sound during your sleep, they don't change the sheets every day or 2, some ladies hair stucked on the towels

    The window space was great, so you can look clearly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Charming stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Very comfortable room with very adequate space to unwind and relax. Requested and got a quiet room, which it remained throughout our stay. Nice snacks and drinks in the mini bar in room. Good TV and excellent wifi--I had to do a fair amount of work on my laptop during my stay and had no connectivity problems whatsoever. Staff was generally friendly and responsive. There is a nice bar in house and a robust breakfast is served at an additional cost. The hotel is a pleasant walk--even in winter--to St. Stephan's and museums, etc. But the U-Bahn is just at the corner of the street the hotel is located on and it will get you where you need to go in minutes--early mornings or late nights. The system is fabulous and affordable. Go to the Wienerlinien to get information about daily and weekly tickets for public transportation which are a steal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful building, too bad for the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a room on the last floor, and the windows were located quite high, but we would expect them more normal on the lower levels... The furniture is outdated & the room door is quite oldie. We would have tried the breakfast if it weren't for the steep price of 13 euro per person... I would rate the room to 3 stars max only because of the furniture. Not sure if we would go there again.

    We ended up here because it had the best value for money on our dates, according to what we've read online. It did not fail our expectations. Small on the outside, but once you're in, you can't help wondering how large and spacious the hotel is. The bed is perfect & the bathroom is clean and cosy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    7.5
    Well located, functional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room felt basic in comparison to impression created by hotel website and the "boutique" label. No tea/coffee facilities, and shower water was lukewarm when I got there late (although fine in the morning). Still adequate though.

    Great, central location. Historic building. Clean and functional room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Hotel on perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are small and could be a little cleaner.

    The hotel is on fantastic location. The staff is very helpful. Breakfast is excellent. The hotel also has a large room for storing luggage before check in the room, and after check it out, so you can use whole day before and after.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bath that was perfect to relax in after loads of sightseeing and the shower was great too. We stayed four nights and found everything well laid out and cleaned regularly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.3
    Quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The room is a little to small for two people. - There is no tea kettle in the room. - For elderly people or families with small children it would be hard to walk to the city centre (Innere Stadt) - around 2.5 km (20-30 minutes). But anyway they can use the underground.

    We stayed here for one night. + The hotel is located in a historical building next to the Mariahilfer Str. - a long shopping street. The U-Bahn (underground) station is nearby. + The stuff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.1
    In good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived by taxi from the train station and we had it on Sat nav the driver went a completely different way and could not understand our questioning when we got to the hotel we asked one of the receptionist and she said well they have to earn a living of tourists totally out of order.

    The hotel was close to shopping and a 20 min walk to the touristic bus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Very interesting building, close to shops restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very interesting building, close to shops restaurants and public transport. Really liked the bar downstairs - huge cocktail selection, something for everyone

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    COMFORT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mariahilfer a little bit disturbing street for neighbourhood, and my room didnt see sunshine

    Most comfortable bed i have ever slept, extremely helpful stuff, good american bar.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel on Mariahilfe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No objection!

    Everything was excellent, as usual. The Lady gave me an alternative for the garage. It is 11,90€ per day and it is appropiate for the height of my car. It is called Apollo garage.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    8.3
    Definitely good choice for last minute, but could do with some changes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed isn't the most comfortable, and the room looks kind of used and passé. Also the rooms are too hot making the feeling slightly uncomfortable.

    The location provided is great with surrounding coffees and shops. The price is fairly decent and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved that they left a bottle of really good sparkling wine in my room with a card congratulating me on my birthday. It was not necessary at all but showed that extra bit of care and attention. The room was spacious, with a nice bathroom; very quiet and clean. The location, right off Mariahilferstr. is great. I did not try the breakfast but am already thinking of booking the hotel again for next week. It really was that good!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very very nice and we got everything we asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cigarette smell from the bar goes up to the last floor (and into the rooms). So if it's a real no no, you might want to try something else.

    The staff was very very nice and we got everything we asked for (quiet room, upper floor, parking, etc). The Barfly's, one of the city's best cocktail bar is located in the hotel. The bar is also famous for its whisky cabinet (more than 1250 whistles says the catalogue). The hotel is old fashioned and so are the rooms but the rate was incredibly low for that kind of standing. It is next to the main shopping street and 10 minutes walk to the Museum Quartier.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic, friendly and clean & Location, Location, Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The king bed was extraordinary, the room was clean. Housekeeping cleans, vacuums and replaces towels every day. Wi-Fi is excellent in the room, also for those who have work to do online (digital nomads). The location is fantastic, a 2 minute walk from the closest undergound station (U3) and a 7 minute walk to the Gerngross mall. Grocery store right next to the hotel, and the shopping street, Mariahilferstrasse 100 meters away. I will definitely stay there again and recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.2
    The location, comfort and interior design of the hotel were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room could have a little more space between tables. Too much noise from the corridor.

    The location, comfort and interior design of the hotel were very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Cozy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room didn't get cleaned for three days, maybe because we left the room after 11 AM. I'm not sure if it's the hotel policy of cleaning hours. Apart from that staff was warm and welcoming.

    Comfortable and silent rooms. Perfect location for Vienna.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.9
    Great location, but room needs an update
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room I stayed in was a bit shabby and had an old, stained carpet and 1980's furniture that took up most of the limited space in the room. It was dark and gloomy, and really needs an update to match the beautiful old building.

    The location was great, very close to the u-bahn. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was equipped with a quite old furniture but this was not a problem at all.

    Excellent location near the subway station, close to Mariahilferstrasse. Helpful staff, rich buffet breakfast, comfy beds, absolute cleanliness everywhere.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Fürst Metternich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: