Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Salzburg City 4 stars

Franz-Josef-Straße 26, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#80 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3393 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were really uncomfortable and we struggled to sleep. Rooms are pretty small considering the price.

    Location was very good. Close to Old town and easy to get to tourist sites. The breakfast was also not bad but an expensive additional charge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    2.5
    Don’t eve reserve in this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 3 person No water heater It is not clean room

    This hotel very far from central + we reserve family room for 3 person They put us in 15 sq.m room The without heater like Other 4 star hotel around the world .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is 10 mins walk from Mirabell Garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet doesn't seem to work at all as it takes forever to download few emails. Picture in internet must be taken years ago. The actual furniture is very dated. Time to update the furniture.

    Location is 10 mins walk from Mirabell Garden. While the hotel is old, but it is clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel BUT beware of overcharges/reserved funds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are great BUT I would not stay here again for the following reasons. Firstly, we booked breakfast which was great for 2 out of the 3 days. The Saturday service was non-existent. No one took our room number as they were short staffed. The tables and floors were dirty from where people has previously eaten. The plates were running out and we had to help ourselves to cutlery/serviettes as nothing was laid on the tables. The second reason why I would not stop here again is due to being charged (funds reserved) 3 times for my booking. It has been a week since we stayed here and I have sent numberous emails but this has still not been resolved!! I was asked to make a card payment at reception at checkout which I did and she assured me my Booking.com payment would be rejected. I got back home to find that this hadn't been done. My bank were understanding and wrote to cancel the original reserved funds. My chip and pin payment was authorised and I thought that would be the end of it BUT there was another duplicate amount of reseved funds on my account. I don't believe the staff are fully trained here or competent. Something as important as payment for bookings should be handled properly. Duplicate payments/reserved funds have taken me over my credit limit but luckily my bank is okay as I have explained the situation. This is an added stress customers can do without!

    This property is in a fantastic location and very modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Definitely worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet right behind the door meaning the door didn’t open fully causing one to bump into it, the free internet didn’t work once in the room also being British no tea/ coffee facilities really is a must .

    Bed was very comfortable also the pillows,nice spacious room ,receptionist very helpful. . Also managed to get a car park space for €17

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The amenities in the room could be improved. Slippers could be offered. I would appreciate a kettle for a hot coffee or tea in the room.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The facilities of the hotel are more than satisfactory. The breakfast offers so many options and tastes! Everything was so fresh!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    An average hotel, we had experienced better and cheaper hotels in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed Pillows too soft did not make for a comfortable night.. Breakfast was a bit of a shambles, coffee machine not working, shortage of various food items. Tables not cleaned.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was so overpriced we did not use this facility and it seemed others took this view too. It was quite busy when we stayed and seems popular with tour groups.

    The location of this hotel is quite good, being at one end of the old town. It was easy to walk and visit all the attractions and only around 10/15 minutes to walk to the station. There was an excellent place to buy breakfast close by on the pedestrian street leading into the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.0
    Very poor breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was cafeteria style and taste. You could eat a yogurt and wait 10 minutes for a croissant. Then you had to wait for jam. Then you had to wait for the coffee machine to be filled. They know the groups are huge every day but the kitchen help was poor. Dirty tables for 20-30 minutes. When you are paying $20 you should get something in return. Shame on NH. Take a lesson from the K+K or Eurostar. I will not stay at another NH.

    Location and room was clean and sufficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    clean and cozy room with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a clear instruction for check out when reception is not at working time

    clean and cozy room with a great location. just 8 mins walk away to the central area. on the other side, two concerns: this area is not safe enough which is close to the railway station. suggest to stay in the hotel in the late night. besides, we left hotel in the morning , around 6-7am, no staff at reception , no instruction to advice where to return the room card. some other travelers arrived at that time, also have no idea what to do. no instruction for them as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location but not sure whether it is worth to pay to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very limited. So, you should consider parking your car at the public parking lot which is about 200m away. Reception is pretty slow so you should be pretty much patient on it.

    Location is very nice. Quiet and easy to access popular touristic locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Very satisfied over aspects that matter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of minor importance compared to the pluses: some of the room furniture could do with improvement: wardrobe doors that could be noisy when spring - shut.

    Above all, how helpful and pleasant the staff were. For example when going out of their way to sort out some apparent anomaly in the hotel booking until they ensured our complete satisfaction. A high standard in the food and service at the hotel restaurant over buffet breakfasts and the closeness to the ‘Old town’ in the core of Salzburg. General cleanliness as well as an excellent mattress that ensured a great rest and sound sleep. Generally good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Beds and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway carpets very old and stained. That made us think the hotel wasn't a good quality one.

    Beds and room. Breakfast was good. Staff some nice some just ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A distance to walk from main train station - about 20 or so mins walk. But it is near the old town... and there is a supermarket about 50 meters from the hotel.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Not the best NH but adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant can not handle large crowds, go to a local cafe, the food out is cheaper and better. They ran out of ice in the bar everyday and do jot have a machine to make it.

    The rooms are small for a NH hotel, staff is over worked but very polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Maybe just location which is close to bus stops and walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking direct with the hotel for 1 day got canceled on the day I arrived and being switched to Mirabel Hotel with no proper explanation and initially they just asked us to walk bringing all our 8 luggages to the other hotel which is unbelievable. Though I managed to get them to transfer back our luggages to their hotel since we will stay for 2 more nights after our trip to Bad Ischl but I still felt I had to be the one who insisted and not them offering such service while they were at fault and they still could’t give me good explanation of what went wrong with my direct booking when I was back to stay there with booking.com. Very disappointed

    Maybe just location which is close to bus stops and walking distance to the attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody helps us with our luggage. No water boiler in the room , when I ordered it took me three nights to have one which is already broken. Nobody answer my callings when I call the reception

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Stress free stay, everything within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have welcomed tea making facilities otherwise all as expected

    Comfortable, air conditioned, nice breakfast, sbort walk from river and old town. Staff very friendly and informative. W are an older couple but found it easy to walk to all the major attractions and the station from here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location. Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Tiny bathroom. Bar seems to close at random. Went for a beer. Had one and asked for another and was told no more beer as barman had cleaned taps but the rest of the bar was open for spirits which we didn't want

    Location excellent. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location and good priced 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room with a safe and fridge. Supermarket on the corner and plenty or eateries around. It is a 15 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk to the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One rather abrupt member of staff at breakfast time, rather slow to restock breakfast items

    Extremely helpful friendly staff apart from one, excellent location, large, clean comfortable room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Very central location with easy access
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Extra bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Big comfortable rooms. Newly renovated bathroons. Super comfy beds. Breakfast was amazing and not too expensive. The hotel has an in house car parking which is also affordable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Location great. Room for improvement on that particular room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a plumbing problem as there was water all over the bathroom floor. It disappeared after first day of housekeeping until you used the bathroom again where it reappeared. It wasn’t the cleanest of rooms and the pillows were the worst I’ve ever slept on.

    The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. The location is excellent and the food in the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful airconditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One male employee at check In was agitated and borderline rude, younger man and pleasant woman in the evening and at check out, though. Wish I knew their names

    Wonderful airconditioning Pleasant man who ran the bar/Lounge/Restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Good. Nice place to stay for a night within budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t very helpful with giving information, they seemed to rush you off. The facilities were a bit worn, old fixtures in bathroom, worn bed frame, old tiles with darkened grout.

    Location is great. Parking was available within walking distance of the hotel. Price was pretty decent for being in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.5
    Upon arrival I was made to wait until checkin time for 3pm...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival I was made to wait until checkin time for 3pm to then be told that the room category I had reserved weeks before wasn't available. The staff was neither helpful nor sympathetic and generally seemed like they had little clue of what they were doing. I will most certainly never go to this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could unload our luggage next to the hotel, though the local people were upset even if we parked there for some minutes. The check-in and check-out took too much time.

    Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Situated within walking distance of the train station and within walking distance of the town. Clean room with a comfortable bed. Good serve yourself breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Overall stay was good. The hotel was central & served it's purpose but will not be staying here agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not well after breakfast. Could have been more choice. Didn't have any other meals here. We found the bed hard. Could have done with tea making facilities in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice, clean, & comfortable, good location, but no tea or coffee making facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities. Staff were hit or miss, felt like it was an effort for some staff when asking for something simple.

    Very clean. Beds were comfortable. Location was close to station and shops

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Very nice and helpful staff in every area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the interior looked refurbished, it is obvious that this is an older hotel. The low ceiling in the bathroom was particular unnerving for taller people because you hit it every time you put your arms up (when removing your shirt for example)

    Very nice and helpful staff in every area. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    It was a bad experience all around and could not recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dirty carpet, no internet service for three days in our room, poor check in service, no one spoke English very well, and the room smelled like smoke.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    "Delux hotel aspirations (and costs); second rate service delivery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The usual extras one expects from a tourist hotel (breakfast, parking space) were available but at a high price. The Old Town center was a long walk away. The staff was both incorrect about off-site parking procedures (creating substantial difficulties for us) or, in one case, arrogantly dismissed our lack of understanding of the town's geography and traffic requirements (including parking). We would find someplace else next time in Salzburg.

    Adequate place to stay in a very busy city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exteremely surprised as it did not meet the 4 stars standart at all. Way too expensive for what it is. Property is run down, old furniture, dust. Holes in sealing at the reception. Poor decoration, restaurant not attractive.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only minus about this property is that I found the spa area very small (small sauna and exercise area) and situated in the basement so not that inviting.

    Excellent location and friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was delicious and you could order omelettes, fried eggs etc which were freshly prepared.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    A very quiet location and very close to all the interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not as good as the NH Belveredere in Vienna as there was little fresh fruit and the tables were too close together in the dining room.

    A very quiet location and very close to all the interesting areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Great for staying, but could be little bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was few chaotic situation during check in and check off, eg. deposit on card for 400 EUR instead of actual price of room which was 265 EUR. During check off, receptionist charged different room. They did not cancel deposit and charged another 265 EUR. These situations are not pleasant, if other guests in line are watching it. The room was little bit noisy, we heard every step of guests above our room.

    The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and rich of sorts different meals. Staff during the breakfast was very friendly and patient. The hotel has a great location. Hotel is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but could have been just a little better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit noisy as it was on the first floor, directly above the entrance doors. Coffee pods - only 3 supplied for 2 people for a 2 night stay

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was well located for our purpose and also close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out - had to wait at least 10 minutes even if there was only one person in front of me. Was charged app 15 EUR more than the Booking offer and the guy at the reception desk did not bother with too much explanations when I asked for clarifications. Average breakfast The hotel would do a good refurbishment, carpets on the hall have stains and look dirty.

    The hotel was well located for our purpose and also close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    WLAN way to slow and keeps dropping (working WLAN costs extra - they call it premium). Reception very unprofessional (no 1st come first served, took us 30min to check in).

    Good breakfast. Rooms are nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really wonder they charge so much and they dont have bell boy facility at their hotels, everything that you need, you have to go and grab from the reception whether its plates, cutlery or anything.

    Overall an average hotel with excellent location. very near to the town, bus service, restaurants etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location, just a few small issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle (even on request), and no hair conditioner. Also the staff tried to come in without knocking. Additionally, the wifi is restricted use unless you pay more.

    Comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather lol, could be better. Basic hotel with no luxe, but enough to discover the city for few days.

    Breakfast was great. Location is perfect. Wifi is v.good, rooms size was ok. Will stay again for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Lovely staff, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were very polite, friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was perfectly located and we really enjoyed having a range of food and drink at the Breakfast Buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel very good situated in a calm area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One bed had bad (broken on one side) mattress, so sleeping wasn´t as good as expected.

    Nice hotel very good situated in a calm area. It was close to restaurants and to Old town. Nearby is good parking place for a reasonable price. Good breakfests and pleasant personal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff were rude during the check in process. Breakfast was expensive. Asked for a deposit double the amount of the cost for the room for one night. We were unable to use the hotel's parking as it was full.

    Room was clean and spacious. Was in a convenient location for the airport buses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very clean in overall and located in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not even had a comlimentary coffee or tee in the room.

    The hotel was very clean in overall and located in the center of city. It was easy to get to anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Not worth even the cheap rates
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the beginning, there was just one person trying to check-in a long line of people. Often times there wasn't enough staff at the reception. The staff was mostly cold or reserved instead of hospitable or welcoming. While booking with booking.com I could see the rooms would come with an added breakfast but it was a shock when they told me it's not included and and having it included on the second day would cost two euros more on top of an already per person breakfast price. I instantly checked my booking details, breakfast wasn't mentioned. The room literally had no views or proper windows for that matter, the washroom was in abysmal state of hygiene, the towels had stains on them, didn't touch any of them, we had to get the sink drain fixed. Everything was old and stinky with a failed attempt of patching up the old building interior to look or feel modern. There was literally zero sound isolation, we could hear people from all over the corridor and other rooms clearly. The air-conditioning system was an old split ac unit that made a lot of noise and it's controls weren't functional at all.

    May be the location was the only plus point at this hotel. It was very close to Linzergasse and you could easily reach the altstadt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect if you want close proximity to Salzburg old town and don't mind lack of "gästhaus charm"!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was quite surprised the rooms don't have water kettles/coffee/tea, considering this has been standard in other branches of NH Hotels I've stayed at.

    This hotel has plenty of space, considering how central to the old town it is. The rooms had an unusual amount of floor-space and the breakfast room was also huge. The breakfast itself had a wide variety of high quality options, hot and cold, which really impressed me. Even a selection of health smoothies! The beds are comfortable, the staff are professional and multi-lingual, and the location is ideal. I really recommend this hotel if you are willing to forego the historic charm of a smaller B&B.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Good 3 nights rest in Salzburg! : )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked tea/coffee making facilities which would have added a nice touch.

    The situation is very convenient and allows you to access all the major sites very easily. The hotel is in a quiet location and ample parking in front of the hotel if you have a car. Lots of good restaurants and places for breakfast nearby also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location and clean but a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water kettle in the room. On our last night, the whole floor smelled very strongly of cigarettes although the hotel claims that it’s a non-smoking hotel. Unfortunately I don’t think they have a good way to enforce this.

    Good location, 10 minute walk from old town. Room was dated but clean and spacious. There’s a grocery right next door and a lot of great restaurants just nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.4
    Very enjoyable but not a 4* Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For an evening meal there were only available 6 tables in one corner of the restaurant, which most of the time nobody used and really you couldn't call it a resultant. The Bar area was far too small and uninviting and actually was part of the lobby, so when the doors opened, you had a blast of minus 8 degrees. The bedroom was freezing cold with only air conditioning to heat and the bathroom smelt of DRAINS.

    Position of Hotel was very good. Food in the restaurant was good, breakfast very good but on 2 occasions they ran out some food ( bread, eggs and yogurts).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Cozy but comfortable rooms in the center of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect. It’s in the center of everything and easy to walk to most places. The breakfast is also incredible if you don’t want to find food on your own.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very attentive and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WATER should be complimentary for the price I paid for the room not (4.50euro). I requested 1 double bed. The bed was 2 small twins pushed together and to top it off they were on wheels. Later that evening I fell through the beds lol. The showerhead in my room 523 NO water pressure (they need to be upgraded for pressure) The fitness room had no airflow not even fans to circulate the air. There was no water down there. They need to add a couple of elliptical machines and get rid of the wooden full length lawn chairs. The sauna was great.

    The staff was very attentive and friendly. My room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again due to location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corridor on the 2nd floor smelt of cigarette smoke. Staff at times were unhelpful - such as refusing to sell water in the night time - but please see positive aspects of staff.

    Location was very good. Bar area was modern and clean. Breakfast had a good range and was again very nice - albeit slightly pricey. Staff at reception were mostly very helpful. Gave restaurant referrals and helped printing event tickets and return flight boarding passes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In general it just looked a bit more worn and old than in the photos when I booked (carpets in the hallway, bathroom . Renovation needed.

    The staff were friendly, and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Salzburg has always been one of my favorite cites and NH has helped me love it even more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast at this hotel was one of the best I've ever had! the food was really fresh and delicious. also i liked that the hotel had a closed garage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall a pleasant stay and would willingly revisit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows in room fitted badly and, as a result, a constant draft when curtains were not fully closed. It was an extremely cold period. On days when dining room was very full it took far too long to replenish emptied dishes.

    Location excellent, breakfasts particularly varied and good. Although hotel was exceptionally busy with football fans staff were always efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay at the NH Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but sometimes too busy to cope and ran out of certain foods. Also when busy tables too slow to be cleared. Meat in the scrambled eggs! No coffee or tea making facilities in room.

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi with good reception. Rooms cleaned well every day. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Excellent hotel in everything except for sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room heating system was awful. Impossible to sleep as it started each 10 minutes during all night with a very noisy air heating conditioning.

    Position, restaurant, parking, rooms clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    - very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - there are not enough operators in front desk on check out on busy Sunday where the front desk operator was stressed out and cannot handle all and was bit rude

    - very good location - Free parking in downtown was perfect to have

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Suited purpose as a stop over on our way to the ski resorts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel car park was full so we had to park 5 mins walk away. Having said that we did arrive late & it is in the centre.

    Central location, fairly priced & good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    The hotel was in a fantastic location, the rooms were really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like handing over my debit card and having 150 euros ring fenced "just in case" I don't care how "standard procedure" this is, it made me feel uncomfortable. I would have preferred them to take my passport and kept that as security.

    The hotel was in a fantastic location, the rooms were really spacious for just the 2 of us, bathroom was immaculate.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Comforable. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a taxi from the station.

    Comfortable room.Breakfast good. Location quiet but close walking distance to everything.Loved the pizza/pasta resturant across the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Loud rooms that made sleeping a challenge.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fungus in the shower, Ratteling/broken Air condition which couldn‘t be turned off. Fitness room was only working half of the equipment. The rooms where noisy and loud.

    The location near the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Horrible wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is absolutely horrible, couldn't even load facebook on my phone. It's hardly 'free wifi'. Had to turn mobile data on to find somewhere to eat and book train tickets. If you need or want to use the internet i would not recommend staying here.

    Very clean and comfortable. Nice staff and a pretty good location. The bath was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    This hotel is well worth it, especially if you don't often visit Europe--or first trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing that I didn't like.

    This is a very comfortable hotel in a great location, it is modern enough for comfort yet is surely European. It is a very nice, short walk to wonderful, Salzburg spots. The hotel staff is very accommodating and friendly. Also, they have parking downstairs--it has limited spaces but I had a space every time I returned to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff.Good value for money.o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Plates for hot breakfast were ALWAYS COLD......would be so much better if they were hot for the hot food.

    Really good staff and rooms very clean. Comprehensive breakfast and good selection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing checkin experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a superior room 11 months prior with twin beds only to told upon check-in that the last one was previously given out. The news was not communicated in the best manner. After viewing an alternate room with only one bed, which was not suitable, the offer made was to downgrade our room with a 20 euro per night credit to accommodate our original booking of a twin bed.

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location, enjoyed the city of Salzburg very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in was a little messy and there was a considerable delay in processing, with the staff being unable to tell us what time our room would be available. This was not pleasant, coming in from a very long flight and train journey!

    Good location, about 10 minutes walk away from the centre of the city. The rooms are small but comfortable. The staff recommended some good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Got off to a bad start but things improved and really enjoyed the Salzburg Christmas Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Expensive Breakfast. Small rooms . We booked connecting rooms 9 months in advance but were told on arrival the hotel did not have such rooms. When we pressed the issue one would be available tomorrow. Very hot.

    The convenient location. The staff, bar one, were helpful and very patient with our lack of spoken German.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    Overall, a pleasant stay - amazing breakfast, decent location & staff but not enough value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was not as new and well furnished as I had expected. It looked a little old and not very fresh. I think there wasn't enough value for money. Had I known better, I wouldn't have paid 100 EUR per night. Also, I had informed them that I was travelling with my wife on our honeymoon. But they did't make any special arrangements (which i think is a common courtesy extended to guests celebrating special occasions at their hotels.)

    The breakfast was the best thing about my stay. As my wife and I are vegetarians, we often don't get a lot of options for breakfast (other than the usual fruits, breads, cheeses, yogurt etc.). However, I was really pleasantly surprised by the quality and spread of the breakfast. They also had baked beans, shallow fried potato balls and sauteed mushrooms. We were initially allotted a room with 2 single beds. However, they were prompt to change it once we requested for a room with a double bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    The room was spacious and well worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was confusion at the front desk regarding the use of the mini bar (we had not made use of it however we were asked twice if we had).

    The room was spacious and well worth the money spent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Better options in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff (I think his name was Parveen) on check in was very surly and unfriendly. Had previously been in contact with the hotel through booking.com re: hiring a driver to Hallstatt. Parveen could not have been less interested in helping - his entire behaviour indicated that, you dealt with my colleague before, so I'm not going to help you now. It was extremely difficult to get much, if any, useful information from him. There was also no one else available (no manager on duty) that evening when I requested for more help. The check out staff were better - more efficient, if not equally un-smiley.

    Convenient location. Decent sized rooms - neither large nor small, but very outdated. Cleanliness reasonable. Would not have said this was a 4* hotel though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location with a lot of nice restaurants near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The relax area was not too impressive. Heard some sounds from the elevator at night, but it was not too disturbing.

    Good location with a lot of nice restaurants near by. Cozy and clean room. Good service, especially regarding information about a skiing trip to Flachau.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Salzburg City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: