Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Obertrauner Hof 2 stars

Obertraun 90, 4831 Obertraun, Austria

#7 of 7 B&Bs and Inns in Obertraun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 798 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Located centrally in a nice and picturesque village which is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in the evening (around 16:00) and we found our kees in an envelope in the reception. There was no one there to ask for information or assistance. Later on we saw a member of the staff who didn’t spreak English. The guy in the reception who showed up next morning, though, was very helpful and we could communicate. Our room was equipped with old furniture and was not cozy at all. They dont accept credit/debit cards.

    Located centrally in a nice and picturesque village which is near to Hallstatt. Very clean rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great location for exploring Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing-all good.

    Nice breakfast, comfy bed. The room had a balcony with a great view. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Close to postbus and train station. Great location, just far enough away from Hallstatt-which can be very overcrowded

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice and picturesque village, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 7 pm there was no one at the reception, keys were left for us though. The village is very beautiful, but mind there is only one option to eat in the village after 8 PM during the week (Kegelban pizza). Rent a car or eat well/bring some food before arrival. There is a supermarket very close by, but closed early in the evening.

    Nice and quite, close to nature. Very comfortable bed and nice breakfast. Electrical heating appliance available, which we appreciated after the fresh evening walk. Beautiful place, absolutely picturesque!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    TRY ANOTHER PLACE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where should I started? (I know it is a 2-stars hotel), my expectations were low but once there it was a huge disappointment. Long story short: Overpriced (601 euros, 3 nights) for what they offered; breakfast was just ok (although I had to ask few times to refill the ham, cheese because the plates were empty) surprisingly lots of reviews, said the breakfast was excellent...guess bad luck for us. at check-out, the hotel DID NOT GIVE US OUR INVOICE!!!! no receipt at all that we paid and they received the money. BUT THEY CHARGED our credit card, we checked online while there but the guy didn't know how to give us the invoice. He called his boss and he said that would be getting by e-mail. (so far, as this day, I didn't receive anything) WTF!!! Very very weird !!! wi-fi was very very slow; be aware, no TV at the family room. Fun enough they have at their main entrance a sticker from booking.com with a score of 9 from 2016. How come in 2 years their score went down to 7.4? They should remove that sticker.

    Location is convenient. Room had a nice mountain view (but easy when property is surround by a valley)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Affordable price, great neighborhood, quiet area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    several time BANG sounds from the next room, felt like we were disrupting people's rest but in fact my wife and I were talking in the normal volume and weren't even making any loud noise, time period is about 8pm to be precise, I admit this could be a mistake and next morning we realize the next room were assigned to a domestic staff which makes me wonder even more.

    Affordable price, great neighborhood, quiet area and somewhat friendly staff except what I'd mention in dislike column.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Best hotel for families with small children's - Dont miss it :), Not for travelers with big luggages
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staffs were OK if they could able to speak little more English and be lot more friendlier with guest it would have been great. if they could able to have elevator - It would have great because climbing stairs with large luggage will be tedious job. Last they can add more variety to the breakfast. Also it would have been nice - if someone address the guest while check-in instead of picking the key all alone.

    Nice view from hotel balcony, Children Play area in the 3rd floor was amazing and our child was engaged all the time - this will be an ideal hotel for Families travelling with small children's. Good clean rooms with nice breakfast..!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    "Disappointing stay"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Photos on Booking.com were mostly from new rooms. We got old one. We arrived at 5.30 PM there where nobody in the reception area. They just put the key on the counter. Property stays open the to public when there no stuff during night time. Everywhere very old furniture and in very bad condition. One of the beds was very squeaky which kept us awake and one of them has broken! Lots of dust, dirt under the beds. Bed sheets have not been changed. Hair and crumbs were on the sheets. Wir discovered mold in the bathroom and shower drain was blocked. Very low quality, poor breakfast/cheapest toastbread and two types of cold meats/. Very limited service /stuff don't speak English and one of the two speaks poor German/. No value for this money!!!

    Located in a quiet and cute village. Not far from Hallstatt

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    OK for max 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is quite old, with many details to be improved. Our room was extremely large, but with old and basic forniture and a very small old-fashioned bathroom. Poor and low quality breakfast.

    Perfect position if you want to visit Hallstatt and Dachstein area. Cheaper if compared to other structures in the area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.3
    Never come to this hotel! Far from expectation and rude owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner were rude, unfriendly and unhelpful. They didn't want to help when we want to ask for taxi number or call us a taxi. Not even want to give us the local phone code. Breakfast was late start at 8, this is not helpful for us who want to leave early! In the end many guests start eating breakfast provided before 8am, but the owners was very unhappy and rude to all guests!

    Nothing! The owner wasn't there when we arrived. We just pick up the key on the table. It wasn't close to the places as suggested in the advertising

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.0
    Good location and price but could be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told we must pay cash for our 3 night stay even though this was not stated on booking.com. The beds were very squeaky which kept some of us awake and the floor under the beds looked like it was not cleaned in weeks. Towels not changed during our 3 nights.

    Good location close to the Dachstein Krippenstein cable car. They recommended an Italian restaurant in Gosau which is 20 minute drive but worth it, great food. I think the same person owns both places.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Only the payment is the worst I have ever met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said on the info on booking.com that this property would accept a credit card but, on the arrival date, only cash had been accepted. It could cost the guests more to cash out from an ATM because no one will carry lots of cash in order to pay the hotel. It really was upset me.

    House is very big and comes with full comfort space for staying/resting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    In 4 days they did not change the towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In 4 days they did not change the towels. Breakfast ... one day orange Juice finished and when asked for it they told us they do not have. The day after the cake finished. The day after the bread finished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    It was pretty close to Hallstatt and you’re basically...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t clean as described. Staff wasn’t that kind and couldn’t communicate properly. There wasn’t enough parking place, which meant that we had to go to a paid parking lot. It was extremely noisy. According to the staff it wasn’t their responsibility.. After all, we were really disappointed, as we read many positive reviews about this hotel..

    It was pretty close to Hallstatt and you’re basically surrounded by beautiful mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice clean rooms, ok breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff that on check-in was quite uninviting, also on multiple occasions not entirely professional. Apart of the room, doors quite slim, so when kids were playing in kids corner next rooms, we could not sleep. Obertraun itself I would switch for Hallstatt next time

    Nice clean rooms, ok breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great! A short drive to Hallstatt. The place was a cozy surrounded by alps. The family was welcoming and helpful. I would recommend it. The rooms are basic but nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced compared to what's given
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not available on 1st floor. I think compared to what is provided it's overpriced. I got much better quality with even cheaper price from 3 starred hotels around the Hallstat region.

    Breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    We felt good. Simple accomodation. I strongly recommend for the big families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a low lightning in the bathroom and the socket was out of order in the our one. The mattresses were very soft for us. I would expect more frequent cleaning although I understand the house is big.

    Very nice place, standard furniture, a large room. Free tea and the kettles on the every storey. Breakfast was rich but maybe a little monotonous, I´m sorry that´s only my sensation. Parking area is good and nice but not only for your car but also for the village cats. Luckily, they have the soft paws just a little dirty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    A good base for exploring the Hallstatt area away from the crowds in Hallstatt itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer!

    The property was well situated, clean and bright. Good facilities for amusing children ( we did not travel with any, however!) The one member of staff who seemed to do everything ( presumably as it was low- season) was helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Simple but cosy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy, we had a room where everyone passed outside on their way up the stairs and the door let all the sounds in. Not the best cleanliness, lots of dust under the bed.

    Big room, nice bed, good location, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    reception couldn't give any information about the area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    reception couldn't give any information about the area and for travel around the area apart from asking us to go the village information center to get details, which closes early

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room cleaning. Breakfast ok, but milk was sour one day and another day the sausage.

    Quiet location. Nature. Nice staff but not much German and English spoken. Wonder how they deal with guests in high season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Worst maintenance & overprice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Need a substansial maintenance. Toilet's light is not working, informed the owner and he said will Fix it tomorrow morning. ???? What? Many of the common facilities are spoilt, fridge, kettle and power point. We found white flakes on the drinking water.

    -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are thin, so just be aware of that if you are a light sleeper.

    The location could not be beat. Easy walking and driving to Obertraun and Hallstatt. The breakfast spread was extensive with many options to choose from. Beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room for 4 adults. WiFi speed was fast enough to stream videos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.3
    Overall quality is pretty average, breakfast was ok, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was really disappointing. During our second stay of the night, the whole building’s hot water was off, heating was not working in the room, we tried to talk to the reception staff twice but he was unwilling to solve the issue. We were told that the problem will be solved in 10 minutes after the complaints, but on the second attempt of the talk this is what we received from his response: “10 minutes, or 20 minutes, 30 minutes, just wait.” It seems like the reception guy doesn’t speak English that well. Glad that the hot water finally came back (but still unstable) about an hour and he made an apology in the next morning, but still worth writing a fair review for your reference. The overall value of the stay wasn’t what we expected, there should be a proper service that is willing to solve any issues for guests, but he shrugged his shoulders instead.

    Overall quality is pretty average, breakfast was ok, and the room was spacious enough for a party of three.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel close to Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our last night was disturbed by guests having a fight right in front of our room. I was hoping the staff would do something about it but maybe they didn't even hear them since we lived in the third floor.

    Perfect location, amazing view, nice staff, nice breakfast, comfy beds... We couldn't have chosen a better place for our Easter holidays.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful location and nice property - but requires better staff.Not value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast.Very limited service.Rooms were not cleaned properly.Staff do not speak english at all.

    Easily accessible from Obertraun station, good view, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Special place to experience the beginning of a sunny day in a gorgeous quiet mountain village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy outside the room when others are coming and going during the night, but building is in a very quiet and beautiful location .

    Good breakfast included!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    pretty average stay. do not expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had an issue on check-out. our stay was paid by booking.com in advance, but on a checkout receptionist asked to pay again. After we said that it was already paid, he asked for a proof. Booking.com email with "PAYED" status was not enough, he asked for a bank transaction, because they didn't receive the money yet. It doesn't sound to me like a normal situation, they should improve communication with booking.com somehow, not to make their guests to prove the payment. What if I didn't have my bank account token with me? Also the shower holder was broken which made pretty much inconvenience.

    overall stay was pretty much ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.6
    The rooms were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was very disappointing. Upon arrival, we were told that our payment was not received and was asked to pay again in *cash. The staff was rude and impatient and told us that he was "busy" and that he was "100% certain" that we hadn't paid. Got our money back at the end of the day, but they're out to scam you. + Breakfast is sad. + The walls are very thin - you can hear people in the common area. + Check-in time changes without prior notice. (no e-mail, no phone calls, no apologies.) The “housekeeper” simply replied “Such is Life" for the late check-in time.

    The rooms were very clean. Very close to the main train station. (about 10 min walk) Hot water and tea are available for all guests in the common area. The staff is willing to keep your luggage at the counter after check-out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Everything basic but with high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent a night here during winter. I guess we were the only guest that night. The feeling was a little creepy. Nobody was there when we arrived within reception hour. They just put the key on the counter. I booked a superior family room but turned out I got a basic double room. I didn't raise this up because the reception guy wasn't there and we were tired and just want to settle down quickly. Room was basic but spacious and the furniture looks dated. Sofa doesn't fit well in the common area, it was too long and overlap with some doors. Heating doesn't work very well. Breakfast was basic. I was expecting more with that price.

    Spacious room, has nice small village view from the balcony.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Good stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound isolation is very poor.

    Very plesant and helpful staff. Good location - it's only 1 minut walking to the supermarket and 5 minutes driving to Hallsttat. The railway station is also very close to the this property. Breakfast is nourishing and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    wonderful view & wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a very convenient location connecting to Hallstatt, you can easily access it by bus or train. Compared to Hallstatt the accomodation in Obertraun is more cost effective. I would highly recommend this property to everyone, with a reasonable price we get a very nice room with good facilities. The property itself is warm and has a taste ( I found books relating to Klimt on the book shelf). The staff there was really really nice and helpful. Sorry I don’t know his name but he is really warm hearted, helped me solved many problems and gave me lots of suggestions. Would book again when I travel back to Austria again! ❤️

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Perfect opportunity for couples and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms are renovated, some have still an old style

    Nice location: Hallstatt city and lake is just a few min away, supermarket is across the street, good hiking and skiing opportunities in the neighborhood, from the balcony the view is amazing (looking at the mountains). Very friendly staff, good breakfast and parking opportunity... As we were there with friends, it was important for us to have a community room with sofa: this hotel is perfect for couples and friends

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.8
    - I have already paid before by booking, put the personal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I have already paid before by booking, put the personal asked me three times if I have really paid, and I have to prove it - The breakfast is not unbelievable, I disrecommend the coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall is great
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall is Perfect especially Annie is so kind & helpful whenever i called.

    Overall is Perfect especially Annie is so kind & helpful whenever i called.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    nice breakfast, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only receive the cash payment, and we were told at last minutes, AC doesn't work in our room with -8 degrees outside, but later after we called housekeeper, we had an alternative smaller mobile AC...

    nice breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall okay stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However the location of this property is a bit far from the train station. The road condition by walking and dragging our luggage is not easy especially during winter and snow.

    The host - Daniel is very helpful. Breakfast served is also good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Near Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photos on booking.com where mostly from new rooms. We get two old rooms. We heard neighbours across the wall. Poor breakfast. We arrived at 7 PM an there were nobody on the reception. No value for this money.

    Near Hallstatt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    Stay at the Hof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival I discovered that the bathroom had not been cleaned or wiped down. I found hairs in the showers and scum all over the sink. There was no attendant at the front desk after 2pm which was a major problem as I had a medical emergency but could not find anybody to help me call a taxi or ambulance to the nearest hospital (I was traveling alone).

    The location of this hotel was perfect. Nestled in the mountains and in the picturesque town of Obertraun. Easily accessible from train and public transportation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, simple...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable room, simple but tasty breakfast with amazing kaiser rolls and herbal tea, ham, yogurts, cornflakes and so on. Hotel is close to the lake and tourist road along the river Traum. It's a 20-minute walk to station of cableway which goes to 5 fingers sight view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.1
    Location is 10 mins walk from train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator since my room at 3rd floor. We cant bring the suitcase to 3rd floor. Had informed the owner to change to lower floor but not allowed. Notice that property is not fully booked.

    Location is 10 mins walk from train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean place, enough breakfast, good staff, big room and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going to Hallstatt is not that easy. You need to take the bus but it’s very rare almost every 2 hours and ends at 7pm. Walking there is around 5km and not easy under the rain.

    Clean place, enough breakfast, good staff, big room and good wifi connection. Close to the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    The hotel provided a place to stay for 2 nights but would be rated the lowest of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please see the notes above under what we liked and disliked!

    The hotel was clean and the rooms large but the reception person did as little as he could to help us at check in. Rooms were on the 2nd and 3rd floors with no elevator. That was ok but it would have been nice if he OFFERED to help us get large bags up. His suggestions for dinner were vague. Anyone arriving after 7pm had no one at the desk--the keys just set out. We had 2 bath towels in the room for our 2 days at the hotel. There were no hand towels, not even a bath mat in the room. In our room, a notice said they would charge us $5 each if we asked for clean towels. In our friends' room, a posted notice told them to put any used towels on the floor to receive fresh towels--contradictory information.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing throughout building so unfortunately it can be a very noisy place to stay when other guests are inconsiderate. Otherwise nice and quiet.

    Clean rooms with good bathrooms but some rooms appeared more modern than others. Breakfast was plentiful, great for a 2star. Nice touch having fresh warm bread rolls. Not too far from train station and the info centre and supermarket is just a few steps away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location, 5 minutes walk to bus station & train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host can't speak English

    Good location, 5 minutes walk to bus station & train station, few minutes to infomation center. However, couple of host can't speak any English & they are not in the hotel most of the time.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    There is a bus stop near the train station, if you want to go Hallsttat, have to check the schedule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a supermarket nearby, which is quite convenient. And one pizza restaurant opened at 6pm. If you want to rent a bike, it's quite expensive per day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Overall it was a peaceful and lovely place to stay for a weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the property is absolutely amazing. Our balcony had views of mountains from every angle and the room itself was clean and comfortable. There was a full breakfast each morning that we also used to help pack for our lunch as we were hiking each day we were there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Apartment was spacious and both bedrooms had balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slats on both twin beds in our apartment fell off when bodyweight was put on the bed - they were able to be replaced on one bed only. Showerhead was not able to be secured.

    Apartment was spacious and both bedrooms had balconies. The kitchen had a kettle, and there were communal tea making facilities. Arrrangements were left for our late arrival.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful area and would prefer to stay in Obertraune than Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no staff available upon arrival. Little information about tourist locations was available, but when asked, the staff was very helpful.

    Room was very comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet place. Good for family. Easy to access, 500 meters from train station. Great choice for travellers who are willing to visit Hallstatt, but its hotels are fully booked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower drain was clogged though we managed to unclog it ourselves. No elevator to our third level room.

    Good breakfast buffet. Nice mountain view from balcony of room. Quiet and convenient base to explore Salzkammergut area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay, next time I will stay only here and will recommend to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is good. The hotel is very cosy and quiet. Breakfasts are great and very tasty. Very spacious bathroom with a bath and a shower. The room is very warm. There is a fridge and a kettle for public use. There is a grocery store and tourist information point just around the corner. Hosts are very communicative and helpful. I enjoyed my stay, next time I will stay only here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Cute and pretty, nice and clean guesthouse located in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries not enough for 3 people in the room. No lift/elevator, but the guy Nicky at the reception was kind enough to carry our suitcases to the first floor. :) The reception should also be manned 24/7 because sometimes guests will have needs in the middle of the night. One thing that disturbed us on our first night was that somebody was knocking on all the doors on our floor at 3am, asking someone to make a phone call to book a taxi for him? That's off.

    Cute and pretty, nice and clean guesthouse located in a quiet and cute village. We booked a triple room and it was worth our money. It's pretty convenient, about a 7 minute walk to and from the Obertraun train station and also about 6 mins to the bus stop going to Hallstatt. Wifi connection is okay. Breakfast is just enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast is good, location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kettle in the public living room is not very clean and heater was not turned on until 7 -8pm although it was raining and temperature in the afternoon is around 10 degree Celsius.

    Breakfast is good, location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Need to let your clients know in advance that you only accept cash as a payment method
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel requires cash payment, which is not clearly communicated to us prior to our arrival. We arrived on a rainy Thursday afternoon and could hardly find a restaurant open within walking distance.

    The staff is friendly and is helpful answering questions. The room and bathroom are quite spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived 3:30PM, and no one on premises to welcome us, or answer questions about area. Just key to room with name on scrap of paper. No TV in room, and one bar fridge on each floor. Stayed for 2 nights, room not cleaned in morning. Went for breakfast, and did not feel welcome by hotel staff at all.

    Wanted to stay away from the tourists in Hallstatt. Easy bus , or boat ride to Hallstatt. Easy to self-park, grocery store across the street. Clean, very big room. Breakfast was alright, but nothing special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.4
    Peacefully Obertraun & Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nor adequate and just one man cannot serve such number of people in property, very old furniture and in very bad condition, corridor carpets and room carpets very old, hotel accepts cash only what is unbelievable in 21st century

    Sorrounding area, lake and mountain, beautifull river Traun, miracle of Hallstatt 3 km away, nice and clean bathroom in property, wi-fi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, maybe better than other properties around
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV is advertised in booking.com description although it is not working Bathroom door do not close (maybe defect specific to our room)

    Good breakfast, maybe better than other properties around Privacy Pet friendliness Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.5
    Great value, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable, the manager was very helpful and kind. He helped carry bags up three flights of stairs for us. Outside rooms on each level was a nice sitting area. Taxi to Hallstatt was 15 euro. Ferry also not far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rented a luxury room for a birthday. Were choosing by pictures provided on a website for this room. To our disappointment, instead of a mountains view, we got a view on buildings in front of our balcony. Stuff offered a complimentary discount of 10€ on 110€ room.

    Close to Hallstadt on a car

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    It's a super place located not far from Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a super place located not far from Hallstatt. We have a wonderfull stay there. For dinner we have go to a restaraunt in Gasthoff Hollwirt, which is located 100m from Obertrauner Hof. Brekfast was nice here. Room clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Close to Hallstatt, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needed a little bit of cleaning , our bathroom smelled like cigaretts and I thought the breakfast was a bit sparce

    The hotel was quiet , beds comfortable, easy parking, a very short drive to Halstatt. The price quality ratio was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Thank you for the Great and Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The 2-rooms apartment was spacious and super clean. Breakfast was basic but very good. Nick who mans the reception was very helpful and offered to help us look for public transport to Ljubljana. We will be back soon! Well done, Obertrauner Hof!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    recommend to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected to lend a bicycle at hotel but it was not available. There are no lift... we stayed at 3rd floor and it was hard...

    Clean, quiet, and comfortable to stay. To lend the bicycle, you can get in 10 min by walk. From Obertraun to Hallstatt in 30 min with the beautiful landscape by bicycle. It was awesome!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    A comfortable stay in well equipped accommodation in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at Obertrauner Hof. We had a room on the top floor with a balcony and great views. There is a large landing area on each floor with sofas, tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. No air conditioning but we were given a fan on request. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. The railway station and a small supermarket are nearby. A couple of restaurants are within walking distance. Plenty of hiking routes are available locally and Hallstatt easily accessible by ferry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    nice baclony and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception desk only from AM 8 TO PM 6

    nice baclony and room. But we walk from Hallstatt train station to hotel (almost 4.5 km), we donot know the train have a stop in this small town( only 800 m). near supermarket. but attentioned every shop closed early.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed the perfect stay by the mountains!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was so clean and neat. The people at the reception were friendly and helpful. Its very close to Hallstatt and a perfect location to enjoy the serene beauty. The breakfast buffet was good too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Obertraner Hof is a clean and relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were originally going to stay in Hallstatt but since there were no rooms available, we opted for Obertraun and were not disappointed. The staff was pleasant but not always there. The views were very nice. The rooms were clean. The breakfast was good with the usual for European fare. The prices were much better than Hallstatt.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Besides the vasps in our room, it's a nice place to stay. Obertraun and the environment is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was infested with vasps. We have spent two ours chasing them away before we went out just to come back to another five vasps greeting us again (windows were closed). According to the staff this issue was never raised by other guest previously, so it might be just a room specific problem (room 16). I suggest the owners to solve this issue, it could ruin one's holiday

    Good location, spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Close to train station, very spacious room with good view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to train station, very spacious room with good view. A quiet and comfortable apartment, with breakfast included. Staffs are nice and friendly. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Really really great! Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I stayed at Obertrauner Hof for two nights and had an amazing time! Everything is super clean and comfortable. Die balcony gives a great view of the mountains and the Hallstätter See is only a few minutes away by foot. A ferry and a small boat are running pretty much every hour and bring you straight to Hallstatt. The view, you get from the ferry, of the mountains surrounding the lake are an absolute bliss!! Breakfast fast perfect as well as the service. Everyone was really nice and helpful! We will definitely come back here and stay a little longer next time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Great little quiet, friendly spot in easy access to tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not anything that we did not like. However, if you need air conditioning, TV, spa etc. go to the Hilton.

    Obertrauner Hof is exactly the sort of place we like to stay - a small European style bed & breakfast inn accessible by train. Beautiful views of the mountains. Semi-rural neighborhood location in walking distance of grocery store, restaurants, tourist information center, and swimming beach on the lake. Innkeeper was very helpful with getting us oriented to the area. Access to refrigerators in the common areas for our picnic supplies. Easy access to tourist areas on foot or by public transportation without actually being in the tourist areas. For example, historic Hallstatt (delightful small but busy tourist area) is a must-do day trip, and just a scenic boat ride across the lake. 1.5 mile walk to cable car to spectacular views of the mountains and lakes. Will stay longer next time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Good stay. Good breakfast. The walking distance from train station to the hotel is approx 8mins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheet rough as used too many times. Knowledge of public transport around Obertraun and Hallstatt on Sat by the manager is limited especially when the tourist info is closed

    The shower was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall it was a good experience staying here for 2 nights. The staff was very helpful for suggesting the hiking route, dining place, bike rental, etc., and offering all the time tables we needed. We had the room at the top floor and enjoyed the nice balcony and roof window. The breakfast was also pretty good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Love the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose this hotel due to its proximity to the much publicised Hallstatt. A walk from the hotel along the footpaths to the Hallstatt railway halt - then across the lake on a boat to visit the village. Its very popular and we actually preferred the surrounding walks in the "hills" or up the cable car to the local Ice Cave. Don't take the car to Hallstatt unless you really have to ....very pricey. The hotel is just fine and so is the village location .....but the scenery is truly magnificent. There are tea and coffee facilities on the spacious landings with comfy seats provided. Continental breakfast with a good selection. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: