Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palais Porcia 4 stars

Neuer Platz 13, 9020 Klagenfurt, Austria

#2 of 26 hotels in Klagenfurt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 811 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small and dark for a 4* hotel and the furniture, while good, is beginning to show its age. Not many electrical outlets.

    Central, easy to find location with easy Pay-parking. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could be mounted better with more light in the bathroom.

    This hotel is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location, within walking distance to all shops in town. The hotel is very grand and the rooms are a good size with a comfortable bed. The staff are really friendly and speak English well. They gave a great dinner recommendation to us. The breakfast served at the hotel was wonderful with the best spread we have had in Austria out of anywhere we have stayed. The parking situation is easy with a carpark located across the road, it is 13 euro a day when validated by the hotel. All round a good hotel to explore the area!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    more bread at breakfast: at all time were max. 4 pieces in the tray: you hardly dare to take as much as you want. Looks like a Money saving measure

    good Location in the City Center, style of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room seemed to get a bit steamy during the night, despite keeping air conditioning on. It was very compact!

    Nice staff; lovely breakfast; the bar and breakfast area are beautiful. The location is great for exploring Klagenfurt. You can park for 13 Euros in the (otherwise very expensive) car park nearby (but remember that at the weekend parking on the street is free after 12pm Saturday, so only need the car park on weekdays)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like others commented, the bathroom shower needs to be updated.

    It is an hotel "out of the ordinary". We feel like being a princess as the décor is absolutely special. Very good experience. The location could not be more central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very luxurious decor. Room was nicely compact for a single. Bathroom was comfortable. Breakfast was good but cost 14 euros. Staff was very nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was fantastic.

    The staff were amazing! So friendly and attentive, and their English was perfect thank goodness as my German is not so good!! They couldn't do enough for you and made you feel so special! Hotel was beautiful, full of character, clean, and the artwork displayed around the hotel was lovely! One of the receptionists walked us around the pictures in the hotel when we asked and told us who the pictures were of, it was a good Austrian history lesson!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was extremely helpful and cared for the guests, especially the lady of the reception. The location was excellent. The hotel inside was like within a royal palace. Do not miss to visit Minimundus, especially the families with kids.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is perfectly located in the middle of the city, making it a perfect location for site seeing. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good with a variety of options from gluten free cereal to eggs prepared any way you like.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As with many old buildings the water ran cold for a long time, which was very wasteful but impossible to avoid.

    The staff were lovely and the decor outstanding.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tidy, but its like stepping into a time machine. The decor could definitely use an uplift! The staff was absolutely lovely, and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In this low period of the year, being the hotel half empty we would have expected a bigger room. Ours was small and moreover did not have a fridge which anyway was quoted in the Hotel description. Breackfast was good but not at the level of a 4 stars hotel especially in regard of a sweet breackfast ( for istance, there was not any cake and the was only a type of croissant)

    The welcome drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plush surroundings in a hotel situated in the centre of the town. Great breakfast with hot and cold options. Staff excellent and welcoming and showed us to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Ambiance of the complete hotel was great, staff so helpful and friendly. Location is slap bang in the middle of town, we walked from railway station, just over 15 minutes. Great local market just around the corner with plenty of food and drink. Their was a Bio market on the Friday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    I did feel like a queen there. It looks like a real palace inside. Beautiful halls and rooms with authentic paitings and excellent service. All you can dream about during honeymoon. Easy parking and best location right in the center of Klagenfurt with lots of shops, great restaurants and places of interest just a few steps away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfy mattress and the air condition keep cut off every 3-4 hours (staff mentioned that it cut off when temperature is cool enough which is normal for air condition system in Europe so far we are now in another hotel and there is no problem with air condition.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - It would be unfair to criticise the hotel taking into account what we paid and what we received.

    This hotel is stunning. It is 500 years old but the room we had must have been an upgrade as it was like staying in a small palace. The staff were exceptionally good and Larissa, the girl who was on evening duty when we returned, deserves even higher praise for the attention she paid to us and her other guests. The location couldn't be better being right in the centre of town and just a few minutes walk from the old town. Parking is opposite in an underground car park under the main square. It is extremely expensive but hotel guests pay just a fraction of the true cost. When we left the car park after less than 24 hours the price came up us 44 Euros which is a staggering fee, but we only paid 13 Euros and just put the prepaid card in which the hotel gave us and the barrier lifted - very easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location; the staff at the reception and restaurant, all they were very nice, friendly and helpful. Excellent room + excellent breakfast. Beautiful area around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived, the receptionist gave us the key, we got in the room and surprised! It wasn't ready! Was very dirty. We wanted to shower and rest but we couldn't. I went back to her and told her and she changed the room but we had to wait a lil until it was ready so we just walked downtown for a lil. When we came back, they forgot to put our bags in our room. I really didn't like all this situation, because we was super tired and just wanted to chill.

    Me and hubby decided to go to this car show in Austria and found this hotel right downtown Klagenfurt and it looked very nice from the pictures. Well, what can I say is the hotel seems like from 800 and personally I loved it! Made me feel like a queen from those back times. Very luxury, comfortable, pretty big. The room was nice, we had view on the street downtown. The breakfast was amazing, they have variety of food and everything fresh. The personnel super available and kind. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over the top decoration. And the room and breakfast room were rather stuffy; poor ventilation.

    Over the top decoration. The photos on the website accurately reflect the atmosphere. The breakfast buffet is very enjoyable. And you can't be more central in Klagenfurt.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being such an old fashioned place it was a little difficult finding outlets to charge my devices overnight and the shower head was in the typical European position - halfway up the wall. Great water pressure, but impossible to stand under if you're over 4 feet tall!

    An odd but lovely hotel, right in the centre of town. Staff were delightful and breakfast was good :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to really complain about

    My favourite hotel in Austria. Recently some modernisation and upgrade done (e.g. the hall, breakfast room, new better WiFi access.) Great location in the centre, easy parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin and could hear an esrly.morning ohone conversation next door that woke us up. Needs sound proofing as it wasn't nice being woken up so early. Pillows are so thin you could see through them. Had to have extra ones sent up. Even then my head head felt like it was still in the mattress

    Wonderful friendly helpful staff. So very welcoming and obliging. Rooms were very clean and decor was plush just like the pictures. Bathroom was big but we did have a suite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff and great location. Good breakfast and an intriguing design. Parking is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room wasa gorgeous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don`now

    The hotel, the location, the staff...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact I couldn’t stay longer .

    Kinderleicht

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Friendly staff Excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice hotel in the centre of town with parking facilities nearby. Clean room, lovely staff and an absolutely fabulous breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal nor tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fault

    It was just fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of ventilation in bathroom

    excellent location, courteous staff, great breakfast buffet, very nice interior

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. Enjoyed the breakfast as well. Also hotel is in a great place in the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in the deal.

    Amazing interior - very special and charming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average quality of the breakfast items don't match the global ranking of the hotel

    Quiet room, comfy beds, location, paking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just improve the internet connection in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small

    Historical palace located in the city center The staff treats you like royalty Excellent breakfast in the pompous dining room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are really looking after the guests and they are super friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture is antique style, which we like. The hotel is very central. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A palace-like place with cordial staff and excellent breakfast in the very centre of Klagenfurt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hand soap or bathing soap in the bathroom.

    Good location but parking was expensive at 13 euro per day. Parking should be included in room rate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was super friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The environment was grate. The staff were very helpful .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could be better paradise

    Every detail was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centrally situated, directly in front of the market square, beautifully decorated, helpful and friendly staff, a joy to stay in

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were far too thin and soft.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast. Clean and bright room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great value for money, great location! Many thanks to the staff was extremely helpful and caring (especially when I had a food poisoning).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was relaxing, the room comfortable, and the breakfast awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gracious staff. Accommodating. Luxurious. Elegant. Perfectly situated.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor, while interesting, was very dated and needs a refresh.

    Room was very large and location was excellent in the city center.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is "free" for the night (forgot to mention that night is from 7pm to 7am), smell in the rooms, very oldskool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overprized. Small room. No value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wise is best, Staff are friendly and Interior Design is amazing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bedroom and bathroom shower needs updating.

    Location and incredible decor!! The breakfast was outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No issues

    Lovely building in good condition with very clean and comfortable room. Handy for restaurants, bars and the sights. Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated...lady at the front desk was terrible.

    Nothing really.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price.

    Excellent service. Helpful personnel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are not so comfortable and the pillows could have been more comfortable either- there are two pillows, both very thin. The walls are thin, allowing to hear the neighbours. The hotel is located on the 3 and the 4 floor of the building. The reception is on the 3 floor and it appeared that the 4 floor is accessible with the lift only if accompanied by the receptionist. This caused difficulties to one of the elder ladies with us.

    The hotel is located at the very heart of the city, just acros the town hall. It is stylishly furnushed, capturing the spirit of the past centures. Someone could say it is pompous, but we liked the aristocratic way it looks. The breakfast is very delicious. There is a garage just across the street where the car could be left. All hotel pictures published on the site are a true reflection of the reality-the rooms look just the way they are published and there are no unpleasant surprises. We enjoyed our stay there with some small exceptions.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel with lovely furnishings and atmosphere. We stayed here two nights for the Xmas Market; one of these was just outside the hotel and we had a lovely view of it over the square. Despite this it was very quiet. The staff at the 24 hour reception were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really exceptional (honey straight off the comb and lots of options for guests with food allergies), again with friendly staff. We arrived by train and walked from the station, it is a fair walk but there are buses and taxis.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an older hotel with so much potential, but it is very run down and not maintained. On the floor we stayed on the floors in the hallways just had carpet padding duct taped together with no carpet at all and the air conditioning did not work on our room. The whole hotel also smelled very heavily of smoke. Compared to all of my travels, this hotel is not even close to a 4-star hotel. More like a 2 1/2 star hotel. With a little bit of maintenance and updating this hotel has a lot of potential though.

    This is an old hotel with a great location, but the facilities seem run down and not maintained. The staff seemed very nice and eager to help.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our window was covered with plastic, so there was no view. The streets tend to be quite noisy at night.

    The location couldn't be better and the staff is very helpful and cordial.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Late night race noise kept us up until 2330 the first night we were there as our window was next to the town square and finish line. Room was hot.

    Breakfast was great. Location fabulous for events right downtown Klagenfurt.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is right in Neuer platz and we had 2 rooms overlooking the main square, parking is just outside in the underground lot. the hotel is on the 3rd floor of an old charming building, and the rooms are of an era long gone with antique furnishings. We loved our stay. The room rate also included breakfast which of good standard.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice stuff, good location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just nothing. They could improve the comfort of the wc (very near to the wall).

    Breakfast, and the breakfast room were amazng.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cuscini, air conditioning

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heating was not working properly in the room.

    Location was good

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A building with character--furnishings and décor all suggest the palace it is meant to be.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows soft and bed hard. A bit warm in the building.

    Location was right on the plaza - very convenient. Staff was very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The location is perfect; just one block from the central bus station. Getting around is a breeze!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room we had still had a significant smokers smell to it so ask for a non smokers room

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Style!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not very clean

    good position

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: