Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balance - Das 4 Elemente Spa & Golf Hotel 4 stars

Winklernerstraße 68, 9210 Pörtschach am Wörthersee, Austria

#11 of 21 hotels in Pörtschach am Wörthersee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The one concern I would have is for guests staying on the mountain side of the hotel. The hotel is close to the motorway and the noise from it is pretty constant. As I mentioned, we were lake side so it was not too bad but it was audible and made us close the bedroom window in the evening. I didn't think the breakfast was as good as a lot of people commented. There just wasn't the choice I've experienced at other 4-star hotels if I'm honest. I would be concerned if I was staying at the hotel purely for the spa experience. The hotel pool isn't very large and the indoor space only had 22 loungers in there. There wouldn't be room for many more if there was bad weather and lots of people wanted to be in there at the same time. Plenty of room and loungers in the south facing garden area for sunbathers though. There are 4 small saunas and a couple of quiet rooms off that area, but again I'm not sure about capacity if a lot of people descended on this area at the same time. We visited in the evening shortly before dinner so it was very quiet then and a pleasant place to be. Again, very clean. We didn't try the spa treatments as we were out exploring each day and didn't have time for this.

    We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to one of the three rooftop suites so that was a pleasant start to our stay. The hotel is rather new so is super clean and the suite was a very nice place to stay with a large balcony overlooking the hotel gardens and lake. Fantastic view! The hotel personnel were always very cheerful and always more than willing to answer questions or offer help. The evening meal was always very well prepared and presented and it was clear why so many people had positive comments about the food. Taste was fantastic! I minor problem I had on Saturday evening was the discovery of an object in my buffet salad - unfortunately discovered when I was nearly finished! The object was black and ball like in shape. I pointed this out to the waiter who said it was a button from a kitchen staff's tunic! No real apology and disappointingly no free aperitifs - but we did get the free upgrade I mentioned earlier so [fare] enough! The soup followed and was delicious until I found a long hair in it. Again after I was nearly finished! I put it on the side of the plate, but didn't mention it to the waiter as I thought the button trumped this so I was unlikely to get much sympathy. I must say that this was our third evening and this was probably an anomaly (or two) and I was simply unlucky. Soup up until that point was excellent by the way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    More literature and information available in English. Everything is designed for German/Austrian guests. These are the majority of the guests but still, as the hotel is offered to English guests, more information in English would be appreciated.

    Excellent facilities, very clean, lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The motorway is just behind the hotel, our room was quite noisy.

    Excellent breakfast (however we've missed the fresh juices) and really nice spa area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t come with my family

    The friendly environment an the exceptional staffers in total The food was exceptional

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner eas ok I expected bigger portion

    The staff was really friendly and the spa area was perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location and high qualtiy for a stop on your way to holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect spa - multiple saunas, inside and outside pool delicious breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was right along the lake.

    The breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Slightly outside downtown - Tight shower booth

    - Swimming pool, Whirlpool - Breakfast - Very silent, perfect for sleeping

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A fridge in the room, it was very hot at night and we shouldn't need to run to the bar for additional cool water.

    All the people, most helpful. The pool area, view and spa facilities were fabulous. The food was also very very good...

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The slight negative about this hotel is that it is not lakeside it is a ten minute walk up a steady incline from the lake. However the hotel provides complimentary bikes and there is ample parking lake side if you go by car. Having said that the views from the hotel are fantastic.

    This hotel was pure quality from the moment you walk through the door. Everything is beautiful, stylish, chic, great atmosphere, fantastic staff, great facilities much more than we were expecting. The food was first class fine dining everyday in a superb dining room with large glass windows overlooking the terrace with lake views.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad impressions.

    We will come back next year. For sure.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel staff are super friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotelové wellness se v této lokalitě dost využije z důvodu nestabilního proměnlivého počasí.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: