Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension a und a 4 stars

Habsburgergasse 3 floor M, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#24 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 828 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning in my room was set too high and therefore not cooling the room when I arrived in the late afternoon. They set the temperature, and you have to ask for it to be set lower. I had to wait until the next morning to have the temperature lowered but once adjusted, it worked adequately.

    Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. The staff was extremely helpful. The location could not be beat. It was so close to everything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this place because of accessibility and breakfast, but front desk service ended at 5pm which made it difficult and frustrating to check in after a long day of traveling. And breakfast only started at 8, which gave us very little time to eat. Wish the information was more explicit. Overall it was clean but there were small bugs crawling in many spots. We were too tired to make a fuss, but hotel owner should look into getting rid of bugs.

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Vienna at your doorstep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pension is on a street that forbids private autos (taxi's and such are OK); after dropping our luggage off mid-afternoon, we went to return our rental car but got pulled over by a policeman for driving on the restricted street. We did not get a ticket, but it would have been nice to be informed of the restriction in the Booking information, as I didn't notice/could not read the sign. (Perhaps it is there and I overlooked it.)

    The pension is ideally located for those wanting to spend time in downtown Vienna. We rented the apartment, which was very spacious and clean, with room for 4 (two queen-sized beds, one of which is a very comfortable hide-a-bed couch. The kitchen has minimal cookware (which was fine with us--who wants to cook on vacation?) Good AC, very nice/historic lift to the 3rd floor pension. The breakfast is minimal and eaten in the room. Definitely not a problem with the spacious apartment! I would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    I would recommend this charming spot to anyone wanting an honest, clean, convenient room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have KILLED for a cup of coffee one night after coming in from an event, but only have tea in the room. Wonderful hot pot, though. Even instant coffee would have made me happy.....😢

    The shower/tub and bathroom were HUGE. The room was good sized and the windows opened onto the tiny street. The elevator was TRICK; just like something out of an old-time murder mystery! The breakfast is typical for Germany and Austria: sliced meats and cheeses, cream cheese, sliced cucumber, tiny tomatos, wonderful bread selection, yogurt, cereal, milk juice. The location is STEPS from Michaelerplatz and the Spanish Riding School, and an easy walk to city and sightseeing buses and scads of shopping and eating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    It’s very nice, clean and amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person in the reception does not know the parking places in the city. He send us to most expensive parking in the city and it was 20 min walking!!!

    It’s very nice, clean and amazing location. The breakfast is very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved all of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to select one thing: the cost was probably 25% more than it should be. But other than that... they get a 10 from us.

    Loved all of it. The location, the facilities in great condition, no loud noises , the customer service, and the ELEVATOR was a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location, good service. I really can introduce "Pension a und a" to my friends!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be of more choices, but it's not that important. The fact that the reception operates only till afternoon is unusual, though there is no any particular problem. No trouble, the personnel was really helpful!!!

    Breakfast was OK. Not as much as in London, but OK. Just boiled eggs, butter, cheese, ham, juice, machine coffee and various pate, were really enough for anybody. Fresh bread is really fantastic!!! Big room, enough for three (2 adults and our daughter 13), everything was so clean. But, the most depicted advantage, is the location!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking will cost you 40€ a day because there is no onsite parking.

    Fantastic location! You are 200m from the Hofsburg and the Spanish Riding School as well as shopping and plenty of restaurants. The rooms were very large and very comfortable with double paned window and AC. The continental breakfast in the morning was a nice treat. The staff was extremely helpful and prompt in their communication.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    The place is ideally located right in the middle of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching the apartment is little tricky. We just had a room number, but the pension apartment itself was in second floor which is by lift by pressing M, Then apartment is to the left. This part I find missing. The bath tub is a little clogged and so was the was basin. No place to sit and have breakfast. Breakfast in itself was very ordinary

    The place is ideally located right in the middle of city. Was able to get stood sleep there was no noise

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay in Vienna and walked to all sites of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy because of the central location.

    Great location and convenient. We did not have WiFi connection as we arrived and were not sure how to contact them. I reached out to a nearby vender to ask to call their number and contacted them. However I learned that there was a bell with their name on it to ring later on. The staff is there early in the morning and later on if a guest is expected to arrived ( around 2-3 pm) otherwise good luck. This was the only hitch. We asked the staff to reserve a shuttle to airport for early 7 AM morning and that worked like a charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    If location is all what you need, it is worth for money. Otherwise, wouldn’t recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start it is a quest game for guests “how to get the key and how to find your room”. Very old bath, problems with a sink and not clean enough toilet. Very detailed instruction “what do not flush in the toilet” with pictures of female hygienic tools and condoms On the wall. I don’t believe, my kids need to know all of this stuff yet... Very poor breakfast offered next to reception desk. No tables, you have to take it into your room.

    Location is just perfect!!! Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Location is excellent, right on Stephenplatz. Breakfast was lovely, good options Staff was very helpful and friendly The lift up to the hotel was very vintage The room is spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    The location is superb and the apartment itself is spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A board outside the main door saying there's a reception inside would be helpful.

    The location is superb and the apartment itself is spacious, bright, air conditioned and comfortable. Daily cleaning service is a big advantage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, most things are walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk was not occupied in evening or afternoon after I checked in. Some staff were not knowledgeable about locations and routes but others looked up information and helped a great deal.

    Breakfast has minimal selection but includes boiled eggs and serve your self coffee machine. You take breakfast on a try to your room to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Breakfast is good taste!staff is very friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Breakfast is good taste!staff is very friendly!The room is very clean and the location is very good!!when I open the wardrobe,so suprise to find there is room for formal dress.This is so intimate.And I really love the lift and the key.After all,I love Vienna so much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv and the refrigerator weren't working. They informed us that they will fix it but when got back to the room and opened the refrigerator we found 2 ice packs.

    Perfect location. It is close to everything!!!! The personnel friendly and eager to give tips and help us with our journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This “hotel” has nothing to do with 4 stars. The breakfast started at 8 am, which is very for a business traveler. The reception is open only from 8 to 15.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    It’s very convenient place, walking to/f Opera House
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I head plumbing noise all the time. If I could have a bid better breakfast, much better.

    Very convenient place. Walking distance to anywhere. However, it’s quiet & safe in night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    We only slept there and couldn’t wait to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not comfortable. The lightning was harsh. We were hot at night . The furniture was hard and uncomfortable. We should have reserved a larger room but none available after getting there. Staff was excellent

    The location was great. We were in the middle of town within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    worth staying there. i will go next time in the same place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i didn't had view from the window. i imagine that if you stay for more than 2 days you need some natural light

    the comfort of the room with all facilities. it was like you live in a down town apartment. location was wonderful. breakfast divers

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Average room, great location, great employees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was an average room with above average employees. It was a great stay, but the room wasn't anything special.

    Great employees to check you in and out. Room was great. Location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Was value for money especially because of the location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator (being very old) doesn't open up completely, so this place would be unsuitable for someone who's obese. Infant prams would need to be dismantled / collapsed to fit in as well. Also, though the property mentions bathtubs, they don't really work: the plugs are available only on request (and a valid reason) and sometimes debris floats up from the drain. Finally, the floors would definitely be cleaner.

    Was value for money especially because of the location and the helpful staff. The public and private spaces were kept tidy by the staff. Room and bathroom were spacious and well-appointed with amenities. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception ends at 5, the shampoo wasn't very good.

    Very central location, very nice room, nice (and modest) breakfast, good choice if the price is at your budget.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only access for late arrival

    everything from accommodation to breakfast ,personal excellent presentation,I will return to this location and I can recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    All about the location, comfortable room and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly noisy in the morning with trolleys being dragged up and down the stairs, breakfast was OK, no ability to chill it once out in the foyer (self serve to take back to your room) so milk/yoghurts were not very cold and the TV/freeview was too difficult to operate but we didn't come to watch TV.

    The location was superb, only a short walk to everywhere and we would stay again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little challenging to find. It is located on the European 2nd floor and the building does not have a large sign for the hotel on it.

    Amazing location! Between stephenplatz and the Hapsburg palace and 3 min from the subway U1/U3 stop. Clean comfortable accommodations. Breakfast was typical European buffet breakfast. The staff worked with me for a late arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    I will not stay there next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was poorly renovated. It was not clean and the bad was not comfortable with artificial matrass, pillow and the cover. I thought the era of poor quality bedding was over. but was mistaken. This is a 2 star probably place. It also does not have a place where you can have your breakfast - instead you eat at your room which is very inconvenient.

    The location of the property is very good. its in the very centre of Vienna. the public transportation is of very easy reach an everything is on a walking distance. Staff was also very friendly and helpful, even the cleaning lady very responsive. A big thank you to them :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Weekend Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay, right in the middle of Vienna. Walking distance to some many tourist attractions. Rooms are a very good size and breakfast was great. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast area. Had to eat in room, but it wasn't a problem, just unusual.

    Superb location near Ubahn and many sights. Clean and comfortable. Not luxury but very good basic room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Very clean room and bathroom,very comfortable bed and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean room and bathroom,very comfortable bed and good breakfast. The staff was very friendly but the greatest of all was the location. We had a great time!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    It's a perfect location in gorgeous old Vienna.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one cup of coffee can be made at a time, and all of us gathered at 8am hoping for one. They used one of those now popular machines that makes all varieties of coffee, but only one at a time.

    It was very quiet, especially considering its location in the heart of the Inner Stadt. Once I got there, I could walk everywhere I need to go. It was a perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner was wonderfully helpful ! The view of the Alps was magnificent ! Kitchen beautifully equipped. Charming village, pedestrian traffic only. Close to the Junfraujoch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    wonderful location within a few blocks of St. Stephens and Hofburg Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    helpful staff, outstanding location, modern interior in a charming antique building. Our apartment kitchen was only barely equipped but staff provided what we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great location, would recommend
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even with additional glazing there is noise from the outside road traffic all night but they do supply earplugs so I suggest light sleepers use them!

    Couldn't be better placed right in the centre and within walking distance of everything in the centre and a few minutes walk from the underground. Ok we had to be careful not to put toilet paper down the toilet but a small concession for the location and price. Small entrance and easy to miss but if you have google maps it will take you straight there and watch out for the signs. Love the old elevator. Staff were friendly and we were able to leave our bags in the room before check in time. Breakfast was average but fine with fresh cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, bread, cereals, eggs etc that you take back to eat in the comfort of your room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    We only stayed one day and one night but the location and price was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One is not allowed to flush anything down the toilet, even toilet paper. Hard to remember, but we knew this a head of time.

    Room very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location once you managed to find the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not too comfortable, you had to be quick to get breakfast (because it was not replenished), and the entrance was initially confusing.

    The location was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Loved Vienna and whilst we would possibly not stay in same hotel, would go back to Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in bath and bath very slippery to stand in. Old building and plumbing must be a problem - no paper etc to be put down toilet and plastic bags supplied for same to be put into a bin. We were left without plastic bags for the whole of one day. When I asked man on reception for bags he just said 'I'll tell the cleaner'. I said I wanted them now as we had been without for a day and said he should get some now from an empty room which he did without apology.

    Location very convenient Bed comfy Breakfast ok Bedroom style modern and large room with large bathroom. Plenty of storeage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    The location and the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn´t become welcome drink as Genius member. In the bathroom, we missed a hair drier.

    The location and the price. We even got a bigger family room instead usual room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great, clean, urban pension in Baroque Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff isn't onsite all of the time, as it is a pension. However, they did remain onsite for me since they knew I would be arriving late.

    The bed was great, and it was clean quiet and close to all attractions in Old Vienna. I was able to walk to every site. So convenient!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps they could have a 24h reception.

    I loved the location, very central, easy to commute. The staff Igor and Lisa were particularly helpful. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was excellent. I look forward to going back again!x

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellent for large families or groups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower is tricky as water tends to flow outside it since only partial glass.

    Excellent for families with large families or large groups. Apartment was clean and location great. Ours came with breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Requested every day we were there for one extra pillow due to severe neck problem, never arrived. No milk or powdered crema available for tea. Forced to find supermarket & buy our own. as i did not want frothy coffee milk in my tea. Asked if we could leave luggage there for an 1 hour after check out at 11am, was declined so got to airport way early at 11.20 for 3 pm flight. Design from IKEA. Disliked having to eat breakfast in the room. Room very very small, very disappointed at management but location was good.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Ok location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor and starts at 8 o'clock Is a 6 bedroom house No resturant Trying to minimise expenditure I had only hand towels for my shower

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location but that is about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodations. Not able to flush toilet paper in the toilet. Staff did not know we were checked in and told our driver we were not there. Asked to have the room cleaned and they skipped cleaning our room.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a small spread and only worth having if included in the price, also the hotel is in a building complex and made it hard to find straight away.

    Property was right off Stephansplatz, perfect location to get around Vienna. As soon as we arrived we felt extremely welcomed and the room was lovely. The staff were extremely helpful with everything we asked and super friendly. Would definitely recommend and return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    telephone number on Booking.com is different to the one at the front door if you need after hours contact

    comfortable room...even if a little small....on last morning breakfast didn't arrive before we checked out ...they phoned and said that the last night would be refunded....just over breakfast....that's great service

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Totally reccomend it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely perfect!!!!

    Amazinggggg!!!!!absolutely beautiful!! We went in 5 people including 2 children and it was perfeeecttttt. Make sure to get the apartment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Pension a und a - be aware of expensive parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking situation, 40 Euro to pay for the day, the most important thing: the TV- program quality was really bad! That should be fixed immediately. Don't use the car getting to the pension!

    totally in the center of the city!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is the BEST. Our stay was great. The room was very comfortable. Staff were very nice. Breakfast was alright it could have been better but it is understandable for its price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel...perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Walking distance to all of the tourist locations. Room was lovely, clean and tidy. Our room faced the rear of the hotel so there wasn't really a view, but it didn't affect our stay at all. Would def recommend this hotel. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Lovely B&B in the Heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing is old so no toilet paper down the loo. No different to many other parts of Europe (Greek islands for example). Suggest you buy a few nappy sacks (€1 for 100 in local Spar) or take some with you. Not a reason not to stay here - accommodation and location far outweigh one small change to the morning procedure!

    The location was superb, and the accommodation brilliant. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast options and plenty of space to eat the breakfast in your room. They also have umbrellas for guests to use if it rains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    Nice staff great location... Wish they would fix the plumbing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Can't flush toilet paper. - WiFi was too slow for me to be able to work at times, other times it was fine. - Beakfast is free (yay) but extremely basic (boo) - The doors are not soundproofed at all. I was woken up every morning by a screaming child who ran around for 30 minutes. Then even after they went back to their room, I could still hear the child with all doors between us closed. Not the kids fault, but some better sound proofing would be great..

    - Staff were friendly. - Room was clean except for one thing below... - Location is great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Lovely building and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All fine.

    Fantastic location, comfortable room and friendly staff. Reasonable price. Interesting concept for breakfast as we get to bring it to our room. Simple, continental breakfast, but all served well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.9
    If you want to stay downtown at a very reasonable price and don't care about your bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is in dire need of renovation. Bleach can't fix this any longer!

    Location is fantastic and service personal is very friendly and helpful. The coffee machine at breakfast makes phenomenal coffee variations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.7
    Great location, lackluster quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily visible spaces are reasonably clean, but eg. under the bed... horrendous. A lone slipper and huge dust bunnies. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. No kitchen utensils or plates at all. Just a few wine glasses, a few water glasses, and a couple of pots. That's it. All kitchen cabinets empty completely. Decor is somewhat dull and cold. Thermostat cannot be manually set, it was a bit cold for us (around 20 degrees Celsius). Bathtub and shower has lots of unsightly limescale. Sink leaks water into the cupboard under it. Soap dispensers in tub and shower completely empty. But all of the above would've been a relatively minor thing for us. However... YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO THROW TOILET PAPER INTO THE TOILET. Must throw it into a miniscule trashcan next to it. I understand that the pipes in an old building are problematic, but I really should have been informed earlier, I would have never made this booking.

    Spacious apartment, large open kitchen, ample dining area and living room. Bedroom in separate room, large bed. Two base mattresses, but covered with one king size thin mattress, so no slippage. Central, yet quiet. Excellent dark curtains, light in the morning not a problem. Friendly staff. Spacious bathroom with bot a tub and a shower. Plenty of closet space, even for longer stays. Two large TVs (on in bedroom, one in living room). Excellent wifi signal, 20Mb/s download, 10Mb/s upload.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Lovely location but no breakfast table
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Pension in my opinion isn't a four star pension. No seating down for breakfast and no other meal offered. We were not given the type of room we wanted even though I had requested it earlier. In fact, we were given a room that's exactly in front of the reception and breakfast display area. That's what we were trying to avoid hence we requested a room that's away from all guest services area. Being given the room we didi not want and for the fact that we had informed the pension that we did not want such room was trully disappointing.

    Location, clean and welcoming staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Two nights in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room didn't have any view, with a window to the back of the building, but that was expected. Nevertheless, it was very confortable.

    The location was absolutely perfect. Two steps from the major atractions, and literally two minutes from one of the major subway stations (just outside the Cathedral). We only had two nights in Vienna so we were looking for a place that we could easily reach by foot. The staff was really nice and helpfull. We heard no sounds at all inside our room, very quiet indeed. The breakfast was not fantastic but it had all we could expect. The warm croissants were wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank Alice from the reception for the attention to my child, he got a little bit ill, she gave him warm cacao and cakes. The hotel is very cosy and it is situated in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Viena
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly!!! location was unbelievable!!! The building has so much character. My kids loved it. You have to read and prepare, breakfast is in bed, we were expecting it and therefore quite liked it. Rooms are perfectly sized for a downtown hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.5
    LUnbeatable Location, Great Value For Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist disappears after 5pm. Heater stopped working for one day and it got so cold. Lack of TV channels in English. Staff Alice was cheery & helpful. The other male staff was not willing to help but we persisted. Had some neck aches with their pillows. No pharmacy or grocery in sight.

    Located in just about the most posh area in all of Vienna- Graben. Totally enjoyed the ambience, peace & quiet,cobbled treets. Outside our doorstep was St.Peter's church, Stephansdom, U-bahn, Kuntner shopping street and if you walk on you're at Stat Oper. Fabulous! Place was clean & comfortable in spite if its size. I learned that local calls are free if made from the room. 3 Windows. Breakfast is simple but all right. Many outdoor cafes on Graben, just a few restsurants. Easy coded entry to building,pension & room mskes one feel safe.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    I will stay there again when back in Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast (modest but sufficient) is not served until 8.00am even on weekdays. So forget the breakfast of you have a morning business to attend. Sink was draining slowly and not fixed despite I have reported it.

    Excellent location in the heart of the old town. Large room, comfortable bed and good bedlinen. Price is good for the standard of facility. Comfortable 10 min walk from the airport bus.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.7
    More of a hostel than a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is more of a hostel than a hotel. There is no desk service during the day - only mornings and evenings from 4:00 until around 5:00. If you are checking in outside of this time, you will need to make arrangements. The first time we stayed here, they called us to make arrangements to stay late for us, but the second time we had to wait 4 hours for someone to show up - fortunately the cleaning woman let us leave our bags. Breakfast is really mediocre. Plus, you can't throw any paper in the toilet at all - have to put in a small wastebasket next to the toilet, which is gross. Value for the money is probably ok, but felt much more hostel-like. Would not stay here again.

    Location is excellent - right off Graben and one block from the U-Bahn. This is the only real reason to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    After reading several negative reviews we were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pension was a little difficult to locate from the street but once again we had been forewarned through previous reviews and a photo of what the sign outside looked like.

    After reading several negative reviews we were very pleasantly surprised with how modern, updated, clean, and comfortable Pension a and a was. Very clean, with the room serviced daily, comfortable bed, very central location in Vienna, and a lovely breakfast. We had read negative comments about the breakfast, but we felt that it was very adequate, with a nice variety of foods to select from. We didn't mind in the least taking it back to our own room to eat. The owner was very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.9
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, centrally located hotel. Breakfast was continental style and a nice addition. Staff were friendly. Rooms were big. Building has a lift. The room and the hotel is very clean and the bathroom very modern.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast was included and apartment was located very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet with a 200 Euro fine if it blocks. This is unacceptable. The kitchen had almost no cutlery and crockery, pots and pans etc.

    Breakfast was included and apartment was located very central close to pedestrian shopping street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Satisfaction in the centre of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh fruit to accompany the breakfast cereal would be appreciated, otherwise breakfast was very good and plentiful. (The water tap in my room didn't work well.)

    The staff were especially helpful and made a number of phone calls for me. This is so good for visitors who don't speak German . The central situation was wonderful. I could walk to most places in the old city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Pension a and a was fine for one night to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly. Confusing signs about what can not be put in the toilet. Breakfast rather sparse.

    Location and building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Fair well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t have parking not very convinent if with lots of luggage’s

    The apartment is big and location is excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No space in the lobby. However rooms were having enough space

    Amazing location, right in the city center near to restaurants. Nice cozy rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is perfect. It's indeed in the heart of city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location .
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location ..helpful staff ..very nice rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft.

    The bathroom was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The location, the staff, the room, the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the staff, the room, the bathroom...everything, perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, cleanliness and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small breakfast area

    Location, cleanliness and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pension a und a traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: