Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Stadthalle 2 stars

Hackengasse 33, 15. Rudolfsheim-Fünfhaus, 1150 Vienna, Austria

#25 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 B&B reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that money you can get bigger rooms in better locations, this part of Vienna is by far not the most beautiful or tourist friendly.

    I went to an event in the Stadthalle, for that the location was ideal. The concept for the rooms seems to be that they took a bigger flat and separated it into 5 small, and I mean SMALL rooms. It is well done and cozy, but if you’re claustrophobic or like to make a turn in the room with your armed stretched, than maybe it is not the place for you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was smaller than thought and facilities in the room were non existent only a bed, TV and shower toilet. pretty average.

    the staff we very friendly and extremely helpful 9/10

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pansion is on Hackengasse 33, but you can't enter, as reception and check in is located on Hackengasse 20. There is no such information on Booking.com.

    The room was nice and clean. It was very quite, nearly no guests around. Good and fast WiFi connection. Location is good, not in direct city center, but close to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was bit far from the property. It took me a while to reach counter desk which is at different hotel of Stadthalle.

    The property was very quite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we stayed in the pension and not at the hotel, we had to walk to go to the reception.

    We were very happy surprised by the reaction of the staff when the taxi driver they arranged did not show up in the airport. They offered us a free breakfast. And this breakfast was wonderful. The staff is very kind, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    maybe a tea and coffee facility in the room would have made it complete.

    Breakfast exceptional a lot of Organic foods. Ambiance, very relaxing, liked the vertical gardens and the calmness of the central garden in the courtyard, staff were very friendly and helpful. 10 minutes walk to the Westbahnhof made everything very accessible, across the street from the Vienna Stadthalle and also close to the Mariahilferstrasse(spelling?), plenty of eateries around the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass shelf above the sofa is a bit dangerous for the head if you sit down and lean back.

    Clean room, good breakfast at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, really close to Stadthalle with concerts and events.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pushy house keeping no coffee, tea or fridge

    The check in staff was very friendly. Though on day of check out the house keeping started knocking on my door at 8 am and procceded to 3 more times. Big modern room. I was in a seperate building away from the main. Stand up shower only. No fridge or microwave nearby. No extras at all like coffee and tea. Just a basic hotel room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We live on the first floor and the natural lighting isn’t very good as our windows towards a wall of the building.

    Very clean and tidy and really nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have reception at the pension and we had to do check in and check out at the hotel who was at 2 streets behind.

    For 2* was very good. Clean and silent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pension is situated in a not very high-end neighbourhood. The single room I got was very small and the bathroom was a plastic pod and also very petite. Although I was there during a high-Season holiday, the 92 euro cost for one night is way too expensive.

    Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very (!) small and limited space. My bathroom was not cleaned very well.

    Walking distance from Westbahnhof. Perfect for seeing a concert or show at the Stadthalle. Exceptionally friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The security situation in front of the Pension Stadhalle did not seem safe at night. The last night of my stay, my key card did not work, and there were people drinking and smoking drugs in front of the door. When I asked the front desk for support with this issue, the person did not understand me in German or English and kept saying that I could simply come back to the main hotel location if I needed help or if my key continued not working. If I was a less street savvy person, I would have felt very vulnerable in that situation. When I reported the issue in the morning, the front desk staff's response was that the hotel had no control over the other residents in the Pension building as the hotel was only responsible for the ground floor. I did not feel like the issue was taken seriously or that security was a high priority for the hotel and its guests in the Pension.

    Room amenities and cleanliness were as billed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgradet to the hotel so we didnt stayed in the pension. Hotel was lovely, beautiful room very quiet. Very good location, staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but the quantities at the breakfast buffet suggested: "Take just a little piece!" In the room at the Pension there was no fridge.

    The staff was kind and competent. The place - the Pension was well arranged and offered almost everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was modern and comfortable, the location excellent for my needs -tram and subway access nearby, the staff very friendly and helpful and spoke English

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was quite noisy and away from the city centre. They provided 1-in-3 shampoo, hand and body wash instead of separate products.

    The hotel was pretty with a nice green courtyard. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little oasis in a large jungle. Ideal for any visitor to Vienna. Great value for money. Couldn't have wished for more. The breakfast left nothing to be desired. Super court yard, while sitting there one couldn't imagine that one was so close to a large bustling city. Truly lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The distance to the city center is quite big and it's also some minutes walk to the Westbahnhof...

    The rooms are really comfortable with a modern design ;)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seems that I needed to retype the wifi code everyday to get connected. Breakfast is overpriced, ok it is organic but I find it still expensive for what it is. breakfast staff were having kind of an attitude but maybe it was their bad day (only took the breakfast once there). My matrass bed was a bit tired.

    It is a great hotel and excellent value per money, staff at the reception is super nice and helpfull , I really liked the patio with trees and benches. Cleaning ladies are very effective. Location is not central but you get very easily there by metro

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have had a kettle.

    The cost - 120 euros for two nights. Easily to get into Vienna on the tram. Clean and spacious. Friendly staff who are happy to help!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to check in at Boutique Hotel, and then walk to Pension Stadthalle on the next street, where there's no staff to help you, start looking for number 33, which mean Pension Stadthalle, open the first door with your key, once inside, you don't need to take the elevator, all rooms are at the first floor, just follow your room number, for example, 3307, means Pension Stadthalle Room no. 7, then open all doors with your key, good luck.

    It's easy to find from Wien Westbahnhof and Burggasse-Stadthalle U bahn is only few hundred meters away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished curtains were thicker as woken by daylight but it is only a minor niggle.

    Although my single room was small I llenjoyed it and it was very clean. The shower room is a pod but I've had that before in Japan. Bed and pillow were fine as same as others in Austria. Wifi was good and receptionist in the hotel where you check in was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the check-in to "Pension Stadthalle", you have to go to the "Boutique Hotel" about one block away from the location address. This is managable, but was not clear for me before arrival.

    We got a free upgrade to our booked room, so we had our stay in the "Boutique Hotel" where you have to check in for the "Pension Stadthalle". A great place with a really charming inner courtyard.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more power socket by the bed side, the room also smells strongly like spices/incense which was quite uncomfortable. Moreover, the hotel room should has a fridge and safe to store important belongings.

    The bathroom was compact and nice, close to metro station, comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was amazing! Very clean and cozy, staff was nice and helped us a lot with finding our way around. The position is great, only 5 minutes from metro station and 5 stops from downtown.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is a little glass cube in the room which wouldn't have been a problem if we were able to fully close the door when the bathroom was in use

    Even though we arrived before check in time we were able to access our room straight away which was a huge bonus for us. There are a few tram stops nearby as well as the West Bahnhof station only being a 10 minute walk from the Pension. The room was a good size and all the rooms were on the ground floor which was a plus. There were also a few bars/cafes in the area which was good in the evening as we didn't want to venture too far as we had an early start on our last day

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had no walls, just a curtain. I like a bit more privacy, especially when traveling with a friend.

    We were upgraded free of charge to a room in the main building. Parking was easily solved as well. The hotel is really nice, and trendy, the furniture brand new. Railway station is a few minutes walk. The enviroment friendly and green elements are nice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small fridge in the room would be great, but it's the only negative thing what I can say...

    Perfect location, absolute helpful and kind staff, nice rooms, so the best choice in Vienna if visiting a concert. It's very close to Stadhalle, surrounded with cafés, restaurants and supermarkets. Easy to reach the center and Schloss Schönbrunn too, as the pension is very close to Westbahnhof.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and the pension very close to the bus to town Center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well located. The food was great and the interior gardens are superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge

    Everything else :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking without money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not good for the money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good, Very kind personel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, cosy, practical.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very clean and comfortable. Reception was very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is wonderful just a few steps from the boat! And the view is amazing. Very clean and the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet neighbourhood , clean room , great location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent especially the young lady that checked us in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are sooooo nice:) They provided the fresh apple in our room, also cleaned everthing~

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Correspondant à nos attentes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location near Stadhalle, quiet, non smoking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got lucky and my room was upgraded to the hotel side. However I noticed the Pension rooms were much bigger. In the end a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Green walls outside the window

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the bathroom. It was very unique. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    Clean and comfortable. Good for budget travellers,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, store down the street, walking distance to tram, fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast. The room was small but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception , clean service and quality

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower gel.

    Location for concerts in Vienna. Clean and very friendly staff. For 1 nighter this is perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spotless and modern

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Metal rod in the middle of the bed is unpleasant suprise.

    Great location for Stadthalle and Westbahnhof, fast wifi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was comfy, everything was tidy in the room. The area is quiet. It's close to the centre, the Stadthalle is 5 minutes away, so it's a perfect place to stay when you're coming to Vienna for a concert. The staff were very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the kinda perfume smell in the room was overpowering at first, we had to open the windows

    hotel was very close to Wiener Stadthalle very clean lovely staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences - just maybe cost of breakfast which was expensive per our definition so we never ate in the hotel at all.

    Friendliness - we felt welcome from the first minute! We were upgraded at no extra cost so that was great as well. Easy access from main railway station and on the bus and tram lines.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pension and Boutique Stadhalle we found to have fantastic friendly staff and a great ethos. We loved our stay. It's outside the city ring but has easy tram and metro connections to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really can't say anything bad at all!

    Everything was great! Clean, cosy and neat. Staff speaks english perfectly. They are always ready to help. Rooms were warm. They also have luggage room, if you need it, and it is free. I really liked that everything is eco friendly!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircon or fan. It was very hot even with the windows open.

    Nice quiet location, close to Metro. Clean, comfortable, nice staff at the other hotel who checked ua in.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little bit strange bathroom, never seen similar one. The bathroom was spotless, but it was build from plastic. There was no ventilator and walls were not sound proof, because of thin plastic. It is pension, but maybe they could consider put in the room small fridge and cattle - would be appreciated.

    Pension is close to the city centre and underground station. Room was very clean. It eas exactly what we expected. We booked w/o food, but plenty of shops around. Towels and shower gel provided. We had very nice stay!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Group

    Very polite and professional staff, clean room, cleaning lady was also very nice and she did her job very well. The room was so quiet and it was a real pleasure to sleep at night without ANY noise.Yet, metro station is so close and can bring you to any part of the city easily.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel room and the reception are in different buildings... Takes a while to figure it out and a little inconvenient. The person didn't give me the wifi password I telephoned but only voice message saying they cannot answer me at the moment. So I gave up. And also because the reception is too far away I was too lazy to go and ask. So I recommend to ask all the questions when you check in.

    Big and clean room. Not bad.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    view from the room into concrete wall.

    location next to Stadthalle

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Group

    breakfast a bit expensive

    room is spacious and good facilities

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good located, nice staff, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    wifi was ok the staff was super nice

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old small Roms, unfriendly neighbours

    Friendly personal

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    check in or reception is on different location

    nice, clean

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I have only one recomendation - put information about different check-in address already in confirmation of booking.

    Nice, clean room Great location.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean Very nice staff Rich buffet for breakfast Good connections Parking space

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    staff erano un po scortese al boutique hotel al check in

    il costo

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eco! Super clean, central, nice :)

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is a bit small

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pension Stadthalle traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: