Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension Baronesse This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Lange Gasse 61, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

#52 of 82 B&Bs and inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1348 B&B reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very poor wouldn’t reccomend, no English channels on tv, shower was dodgy, almost got burned every time I showered and the bed was broken.

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is far from 4 stars status - I can not understand,...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is far from 4 stars status - I can not understand, how it can be considered to have 4 stars status... Even 3 stars for this hotel would be rather discussable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.1
    It’s an older building with charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were very stiff and you could easily hear through the walls.

    It’s an older building with charm. Clean with large rooms and high ceilings. The staff is very kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    Good old Viennese-style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tea/coffee/hot water is at the front desk on the first floor only - inconvenient when your room is upstairs.

    Good location, friendly stuff, vintage Viennese interior, good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.4
    Mediocre apartment in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was stuffy with absolutely no ventilation other than small fan. The only window communicated with 'patio' with the kitchen 2 floors below which caused unpleasant smell in the room at all times. As we tried to get some air we turned on noisy fan what revealed huge amount of dust falling off the top of the wardrobe. On top of that all room was covered in fabrics (as a part of baronese design I guess) which were dirty and dusty (f.e. gray of dust curtains). The other window in apartment located in the bathroom was covered with cardboard (?). Also hair dryer was out of order and I presume not just for two days of our stay.

    Great location with easy access to the city centre (10 minutes to City Hall by walk, 7 minutes to the nearest Ubanh station). Staff at the reception was really helpful and polite. Despite the fact that hotel doesn't provide parking lot there are parking spots along the street few blocks away (during weekend parking there is for free).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.1
    It was overall a nice pleasant experience. The property does have a certain charm to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think it was expensive for what you get. Although I liked the location a lot it was not that central (as advertised)

    I like the property and atmosphere as well as staff who were extremely friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Good place to stay and enjoy Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know if it has to do only with this hotel, but the check in time of 2 PM is too late. Those who come by early trains might have to wait a long time before they could freshen up. But for this little inconvenience, everything else in hotel was perfect.

    The staffs, the location of the hotel, the surrounding environment. I went way before the actual check in time, but I was allowed to keep my luggages in luggage room. That was a huge relief for me. The receptionist who was present during my check in and checkout was very helpful and supportive. There were enough restaurants near by, that made the stay even more pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    The room was very large and quite romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some walls are very thin and we often heard people in adjacent rooms. Luckily the next room was not in use all days. The windows are not tight enough to keep the noise of the tram out.

    The room was very large and quite romantic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very nice and chic with beautiful rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the other rooms (i think the walls are very thin) and from outside (tram/cars)

    The hotel is very nice and chic with beautiful rooms and comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    2.9
    Simply horrible, I reccommend to stay as far away as possible. This is not a 4 star hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Bed sheets were yellow. - the extra bed was not made and the bed sheets were thrown in my face. - horrible odor everywhere - walldrobe was falling apart - carpet was stained The list goes on.....

    - There was hot water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    6.3
    Enough for a weekend where you only go to the room to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t like in the photos. Space between wall and bed was minimal, my feet barely fit in the space.

    Staff was helpful and location although not central. In 10 minutes walk you were at the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    6.7
    Convenient and good value but can be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As a couple it’s not ideal to have 2 single beds pushed together and two separate single duvets. Occasionally there were really loud pipe noises which we assumed came from the bedroom above/ next door when they used their bathroom. We were not told about breakfast on check in so weren’t aware of it.

    The room was very spacious and in a location which made it easy to travel to a variety of places. It was clean. It was good value for money and good if you just want a place to rest your head at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.3
    Great little pension in a great location with easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great little pension in a great location with easy access to the city. The room we had was large and the bed was very comfortable. The price we paid for a weekend stay was great value for the quality of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.6
    Very good accommodation for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My boyfriend woke up a couple of times because of traffic noises but I did not hear them. Maybe bring oropax just in case ;)

    Even though we arrived too early it was already possible to check in. Clean room and bath. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    7.9
    Completely met my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi connection was quite slow and sometimes interrupted. The fridge did not cool, probably it was unplugged (I did not check).

    The place is quite good and it is quite a high value for money rate. The neighbourhood is quiet. It is not located inside the ring and it takes some time and efforts to get to the center on foot but if you like walking it should not be an issue. There are a good number of cafes, bars and restaurants in this area. The staff was helpful and always there is someone at the reception. My room was large enough and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    2.5
    STAY AWAY FROM THIS FILTHY, DIRTY LITTLE RATHOLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAY AWAY! I knew this wasn't going to be the Ritz, but I didn't expect it to just be a money-grabbing scheme either - we were obviously dealt one of the worse rooms (there was a "security" light on by the window all night - impossible to sleep because it was so bright even with curtains -, the room was very poorly fitted e.g. the toilet door was barely fixed to the wall and it couldn't be closed, and I wouldn't say the place was clean either - all sorts of stains on the fabrics and walls... DISGUSTING). Obviously we weren't the only ones who were cheated out of their money because when we were leaving there was also someone else complaining about the poor standards of the hotel and its rooms - they were offered empty promises about other rooms being better, but seen as we were having the same issue I really doubt it - very embarrassing. The attitude of the receptionist was also a disgrace, we weren't even going to complain or ask for our money back, we just wanted to leave - instead of attending to us and the issue at hand the girl simply ignored us saying that "she was trying to train her replacement because her time at work would soon be over for the day" - SORRY THAT'S YOUR PROBLEM... WHAT AN ABSOLUTE JOKE. Very unprofessional. We were to stay two nights but left after the first.. the attitude of the staff was the last straw - they're obviously only just trying to cheat their customers out of their money. Stay here only at your own risk!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Clean and spatious room, kind staff, well heated rooms,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Berakfast should be included in price. There is no parkig at the hotel. There is no loby and also there is no room bar.

    Clean and spatious room, kind staff, well heated rooms,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    5.4
    No guaranty to have a good stay in that place.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was awfull. The price must be 50€, but not 150. I was really upset. In booking i did in 2 months advance and mentioned normal bed, but it was so small in smallest old room I ever saw. Terrible! Next night after I told them I received a good room. But New Year was totally spoiled. Can't recommend it to anyone!!!

    Reception was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    6.7
    Decent, aesthetically interesting hotel -- awful parking policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The municipality makes it a nightmare to park in Vienna and the hotel benefits from it by asking €24 for their private parking. So if you travel by car, you can potentially add that to the price, which is already not cheap (though not too expensive either). The bed was not very comfortable (I could feel the springs in the matresses). Also, the street is quite busy and you may get woken up during the night or early morning.

    Decent hotel with a charming ancient style (we loved the elevator)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - easily reachable by public transport as well as within walking distance from city centre and its main tourist attractions. Good Wi-Fi. Clean and comfortable. Kind, efficient staff. Room 006 extremely quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    7.1
    Very cold in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the room was very cold, only in the night the temperature was quite acceptable. During the day, in the room were max 20 degrees. We stayed only in bed, with 2 blankets, so we can warm ourselves. The wi-fi was really bad, we used our data mobile in order to make the check in for the flight. In the bathroom we found hair, they did not change our towels daily. I would not recomand this hotel for a winter trip

    The room was very nice and the hotel is very close to the main touristic objectives.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    5.4
    Ok, but certainly wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was overpriced. Only a general purpose body and hairwash fluid was provided in the bathroom, not shampoo. The net curtains in the bedroom were dirty.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.9
    Very clean room, big enough, very comfortable bed, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be good to have tea pot and kettle to make tea in the room

    Very clean room, big enough, very comfortable bed, good shower. 2 stops from the metro Shotentor by tram 43, 44. 25 minutes walk to the City Hall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    9.6
    Really pleasant stay. Hotel is lovely, clean and location is very good. The Hotel staffs are friendl
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly and helpful staffs at the reception. Esp the woman we talked on our last day on Nov 23rd 2017 at 5pm who booked our taxi. She was very helpful, friendly and professional.The Hotel is a walking distance to all the Museums. Loads of shops and restaurants and the Christmas Market is 2mins waking distance. The Hotel is cleaned everyday with clean towels. I love the decoration of the double room. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with artistic rooms and a cool elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to pay by separate credit cards with my friends but were told that it's only possible to pay with one card or cash. If I hadn't insisted and called the manager, we would have had to pay cash, which was not our preference.

    The decoration of the room and the high ceilings were lovely. Also liked the fact that the hotel is easy to reach via public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    6.7
    Old world elegance left to neglect. Great location/neighborhood, but not too comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were thin enough to determine the nationality of our neighbors and the furniture was uncomfortable. The mattress wasn't of good quality and the bathroom was rather tight (small). Of course, this is what you should expect when booking a bargain deal in a great location within an expensive city.

    The location is excellent. Not necessarily in the central ring, but the neighborhood around the hotel is fantastic. Restaurants around there are much more authentic and interesting than those in the touristy parts and the prices are normal. The hotel itself hasn't been properly updated since around the fall of communism but it still retains some of the old world charm in its bones. Staff was kind and the room was a decent size. I liked that the windows are original and haven't been replaced with the standard white plastic units.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.5
    Room was big and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room dodn't have proper curtains which means that you can't keep the light on in the evenings (because everyone can see you!!!). Also I scared badly when I rest in my bed and I saw person in our window.. I mentioned that our neighbour room had a window straight to our room and we didn't had property curtains sooo..

    Room was big and beautiful. Decoration was nice and it looked like old style. We had a lot of space, huge tv and nice bed. Also room was quiet during the nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.1
    Great price and location BUT FOR GOD´S SAKE change those chandeliers at the headboard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had a couple of lil chandeliers just at the head level (headboard) in the bed. You just couldn´t sit there to watch some tv. It was pretty uncomfortable.

    Price and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.8
    It said in the Notes for Guests that there was a PC...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Last Minute Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It said in the Notes for Guests that there was a PC available in the lobby. This is no longer the case and we were not allowed to use the receptionist's PC to check in online for our flights, nor was she able to check in for us. No coffee or tea making facilities in the room. Tiniest bathroom ever. Very helpful but overworked lady in charge of the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    2.5
    Exactly terrible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The curtains dont cover All windows therefore room insight was full of light. The walls are thin so you can hear people next door. There were small flies in bathroom. Also very intensive chlorine odour in bathroom as well.

    Just breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    7.5
    Hotel close to centre of town and near the tube.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have breakfast - got some cheaper in a cafe in town. Would have been nice to have tea / coffee facilities in the room.

    Hotel close to centre of town and near the tube. Bed was comfy and shower good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    5.8
    Low price, spacious room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff speaking English or German would have been useful. The kitchen didn't work because some staff member (or the owner? - I can't really communicate in Serbian) was on leave. The large clean room came with a small bathroom with poor layout, where the tiny washbasin was right under a large glass shelf, turning things like brushing your teeth into a real challenge.

    Low price, spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    7.1
    Nice room, clean bathroom, very good bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lobby to sit down with a computer, no other facilities (e.g. fitness). I couldn't make tee in the room, only at the reception (for 1 euro).

    Nice room, clean bathroom, very good bed. Good tram connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    4.2
    Way too expensive for what you got. Should have spent another 10 Euro and stayed a a Hilton.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was also on a personal call for 10+ minutes while I and another guest waited to check out. There was hair on the supposedly clean beds that wasn't mine when I got in the room, loud hallways and ill fitting doors, Internet DID NOT WORK, chipped paint and run down furniture.

    Receptionist was nice and helpful about finding food first night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    9.2
    The room was clean, the beds were comfy, the shower was hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I enjoyed the stay, but the breakfast was expensive for what it was.

    The room was clean, the beds were comfy, the shower was hot. The reception staff were very friendly and super helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.9
    Quick and easy check in, phenomenal location (close to city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom were a little bit dated and not hugely bright.

    Quick and easy check in, phenomenal location (close to city centre but tucked slightly away from the loud hustle and bustle). Lots of nearby restaurants and cafes etc. The room itself was small but comfortable for one and impeccably clean!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    5.8
    - staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - no air conditioning - extremely noisy at night, i woke up at 5 am when the garbage truck came and could hear everyone on the other side of the door - pillows are 1 inch think

    - staff was very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    6.7
    Go back in time..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furniture was old. Bathroom small and old. It is like entering into a building with lots of apartments. Not very hotel like more like a pension house. Getting coffee in the morning is little troublesome with the very old coffee machine and water boiler.

    The elevator had a nice sofa. It's a very old style residential building converted to hotel rooms. The rooms look pretty with chandeliers. Very nicely lit by natural sunlight. Good for group of friends. Not for family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    5.8
    Close to the centre.
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, just fan. Too much light in the room from sunrise hour. Person (I don't know if friend or partner of one receptionist) that close to the reception, when we were leaving the hotel, was impolite with us.

    Close to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    6.7
    Need to update the hotel's facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no air conditioning in the room when the temperature was 35 degrees. The air was suffocating. You need to use a fan throughout the whole night. There is no kettle in the room.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    7.1
    Just right
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To hot, no air conditioner, had to sleep with the windows open. Black out curtains didn't cover the whole window, meaning I woke up with the sun.

    Staff was helpful, room was big, had a fridge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    3.8
    Definitely not a 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot room, no aircon, old and tired decor, old towels, confusing to find room, small bathroom. We paid for a 4* hotel that could easily have been a hostel, had it not been for the staff and reception area.

    Very nice reception and the lift was fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    5.0
    Close to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived (on Sunday) I asked where I could park my car. The receptionist told me I could park in the street; she didn't say that that's only in the weekend so on Monday we got a fine. When we checked out at the reception they told us there was an amount of 47 euro to pay. It was for breakfast for two persons (but we didn't have breakfast at the hotel and we were with three persons, and a parkingcard of the garage (we got a card but they didn't tell we had to pay afterwards for it). We told our grieves again and he said: oke, go. At home we saw that our credit card was charged for that amount. I'm waiting for there response on the email I send.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    Friendly stuff, clean light room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit hot in the room, but for me that's ok.

    Friendly stuff, clean light room. I like it! Highly recommend this hotel. Nice sofa in the elevator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    7.5
    Good value for yor money. Good location and large apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C. Only sheer blinds on the windows. This was a grand building in its day, but it's getting quite dated. In need of a renovation. Busy street.

    Great location. Large rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, good quality for reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioner (it was not detected anywhere in Vienna, though), no bathing suits, no free water.

    Clean hotel, room service makes room every day, the personnel is great - friendly and ready to help in different situations, day and night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge is too small and not very efficient. No air conditioner, and the room is a bit stuffy.

    Quite close to Hofburg Palace and everything else. Staff very helpful - reception is 24 hrs so you can leave your keys before going out and collect them anytime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    6.7
    Location, room design, cleaning.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air condition and the outside temperature was over 35 degrees. Also the noise from traffic. The parking .... the hotel does not have its on parking space. It has to be use a public parking and has to be paid.

    Location, room design, cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room needs furniture (tables, dressers) or at least 2 luggage valets - no place to open your suitcase except the floor. Had a problem with the vending machine which the staff did not want to hear about - did not offer refund or any alternative solution.

    High ceilings, good size room, balcony, location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    5.4
    OK stay as it is clean and near the city center... nothing great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was somewhat lumpy, breakfast was expensive, shower was tiny, room was noisy at night with traffic. I hate it when they put a bottle of water in your room and wrap a price tag around it. But then this is not uncommon.

    Was clean and the rooms were a nice size. Location is good if you want to reach the National Library, parks, Museums.... near the first district.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very poor noise isolation. I couldn't sleep the all night because I could hear every and each noise. Breakfast buffet didn't have enough variety and was too expensive for what you get. Lighting in the room is great but not in the early morning, thicker curtains would be needed.

    Location. Room nicely decorated. One very nice and friendly lady at the reception, however the gentlemen was quite rude.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    7.5
    Older city hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows of my room (single) opened to a tiny backyard and people were smoking quite a bit - bothered me early in the morning. Perfect location for me, because my friends lived around the corner. But the quarter (Josefsstadt) is very quiet at night.

    Cool old elevator with bench! Like in a French movie. Breakfast room is downstairs and breakfast buffet seemed average and a little overpriced at 12 Euro - but there is a coole Cafe (Josefine) around the corner. I also recommend the pizzeria Sessenta.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.6
    I wish I could go again
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The brekfast was not well-supplied The sweetmeat were of quite poor quality

    The size and the furnishing of the room The friendly reception and attendance of the staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    7.9
    Not bad.. could be better for a 4star :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 4star kinda hotel it wasn't that great. They should improve and have a kitchen for room service. And also, the television in the room was an ancient old box with no English Channels. We did go there for vacation so when it came to relaxing at the hotel there was nothing to do but sleep in the room.

    The breakfast was really good and the staff receptionist were super friendly and great at giving us advise on ways to take the public transport for sight seeing. Rooms are spacious and nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    10
    The location was good, staff were very friendly and helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine but its an old building, you may be shocked when u step into it but the rooms are perfect and its not an issue! There is no one to help u for the first 4 steps at the reception, just in case u are carrying heavy luggages.

    The location was good, staff were very friendly and helpful, bed was really comfortable and clean, theres a cool elevator and just 30 sec from hotel u see tram stations. The room was big and shower was great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    7.5
    it's 4 stars hotel and it wasn't wow effect when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's 4 stars hotel and it wasn't wow effect when we saw a room. It was good, but too small and the doors of shower not working or struggling somewhere. Breakfast was good and staff too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    7.5
    Good value but staff needs more training
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Last Minute Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like that the baby crib was not in the room as we had requested and verified with the front desk over the phone prior you our arrival. When we asked when they would have one ready, the front desk suggested that it would be ready for us in the morning. We had nowhere for our 1 year old to sleep.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect pit stop for traveling by car with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's bad that they don't have they're own parking spots, but parking is available 5 minutes of walking.

    Lovely , friendly staff ! The room , was spacious and very clean !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    6.7
    The hotel staff was very nice, very helpful with directions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Last Minute Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was really weird. The door to the bathroom was right next to bed, plus it was kind of transparent. It was not a real door, just sliding door, which is not too sound proof. So if you want a romantic weekend, this kills it :D

    The hotel staff was very nice, very helpful with directions of the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one male receptionist was extremely rude (on duty the 15/01/17 afternoon). Unable to answer positively to a facility inquiry he dares to say "And I don't have to say 'sorry' as this is a 4 stars hotel". Unbelievable. Otherwise the staff was lovely.

    Excellent breakfast honest prices great location good facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very, very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There should have been a tea pot in the individual rooms.

    The staff was very, very friendly. My special thanks go to Tatiana, who was in chanrge of the Breakfast Buffet: highly qualified and very helpful!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    9.6
    A very beautiful home like accomodation,very clean,with exceptional stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Last Minute Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A few additional small things to equip the room,bathroom.Nothing exclusive something that represents Vienna nice smelling bath soaps,photos of Vienna in the room.Otherwise,one of the few really clean hotels at the level.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    6.3
    Overall good but for the price I paid I was a little more in terms of the reception area look & feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bath could have been a little larger and the reception could be a bit larger I felt

    Beds were comfy, overall the hotel was ok. Lighting in the room was great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2016

    4.2
    Insects in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found a bug (coachroach) on my girlfriend's pillow while she was asleep: went with it and the pillow at the reception and left the hotel immediately - we have received a refund in 3 working days; broken towels; peeling paint under the window.

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    3.8
    4 s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Last Minute Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The photos provided are misleading. - Our room was the worst of the pictures, but the reality even fell short of this. - The room was very out dated and even had a small antique CRT TV sitting on top of a bar fringe. - The room seemed like it had not been used in a while with a fine layer of dust in the bathroom and even on the bed sheets and pillows. - They used what looked like a table runner to cover stained seats. -The walls are paper thin, you can clearly hear every word said in the next room. - the lady who was on reception was nice enough, however the gentlemen where rather rude. -we checked the prices the day we checked in and this hotel was level pegging with the better hostels - which would have probably have been a better option. We paid nearly 3 x that and based on the 4 star claim we figured it should have been ok - don't be fooled - it's a trap! - Staying here left us feeling ripped off and deceived - worst place we have stayed in on our trip around Europe.

    Not much to like here... the lift was kind of cool... While the location isn't bad, it is a bit of a walk to the nearest u-barn which is the best way to get around.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2016

    7.1
    Group of 6 friends travelling for business in Vienna - Brno
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is a bit far off the Innerestadt common tourist attractions on foot, but there are 2 metro stations nearby within the 15 minute walk range each and a very convenient tram stop right outside the hotel. Breakfast was overpriced and dreadful, with very small selection and quantity of food available at the price of 12 euros per person. We decided to eat out and found another hotel within a 5 min walk around the corner from the tram stop on the right (after a church, I think the name was Stadt Hotel or a name beginning with an S anyway), which provided a variety of breakfasts and very decent coffee for the same price more or less. Small bathrooms in both rooms, equipped with all necessities minus a hairdryer. Thin curtains. Slightly posh receptionists.

    Staff helpful, provided maps and information of getting around and printed our boarding passes for our inbound flight. We got to use the baggage storage room after our check-out which was a saviour our last day in Vienna. Especially friendly nightwatch who made us tea at 3 am. Nice big quadruple room and equally the twin room, in the old Vienese style. We loved the double window panes and doors!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2016

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No private parking.

    Hotel Pension Baronesse is nice hotel in central part of Vienna. Hotel isn't new but it is clean and maintained. It is good value for money. I would come back again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2016

    6.7
    Pension with some good traditional rooms (but not all of them are as on the photos)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some rooms that cannot be rated even as 2* (not as on the photos) Poor facilities Definitely not a 4* hotel pension

    Friendly receptionists willing to help Old traditional elevator

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    7.5
    Location of the hotel is great, 10 minutes walk to main...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor noise isolation Hotel definitely needs redecoration repair.

    Location of the hotel is great, 10 minutes walk to main tourist attractions. We parked our car in front of the hotel for only 10 € per day. Actually you get what you are paying for but it's definitely not 4* hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    5.4
    Rude concierge..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is not that good. They had this garbage service early in the morning, it took so long them to finish their job and they were so loud, we first thought someone is rolling down their suitcases from the stairs but then the noice didnt stop for so long and repeated it for like 10 times. They didnt bother to use the elevator instead they roller up and down the garbage containers from stairs. Finally i got out from the bed and went downstairs to see whats happening and asked the consierge lady when this will be done. She replied very rude and say "when they finish their job it will be done". She could at least say sorry for this.

    It was a clean room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    5.8
    They go by the book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Minimalist comfort without any style. Bedsheets and pillowcases, not protected during the day, did not remain clean, but the management claimed they were a "Pension," and not a "Hotel," to keep to the strict rule of changing beddings only twice a week.

    The friendly staff. The quiet location near the university. Abundant and varied breakfast buffet with all types of excellent coffee.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    5.4
    Not coming back!!
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was not comfortabile at all. We didnt have minibar in the room. And you could hear the noises from outside.

    The location is full of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    8.8
    Good :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - my mattrace - shabby halls

    The hotel is in a great location - we were practicaly in the centre and all the main sights were in a walking distance. I was a bit worried about parking because the hotel doesn´t have its own parking spaces. It was allright, though - the parking house was pretty huge and empty. We just used it for one day cause you can park on the streets in Vienna in the weekends. The first impression of the hotel wasn´t great - the building is quite run-down outside and there is a super narrrow entrance :) Anyhow, the receptionist was sweet and really friendly - helped us with everything, gave us a map and settled us in. Our room was newly reconstructed and quite comfy (even though my matress made my back hurt :D - however, it was probably just bad luck). The bathroom didn´t have a bathtub - just a shower - but it was clean and large.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    7.5
    Authentic simple rooms, kind staff and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It need some professional maintenance in some area but overall... Not bad

    There had been some move shoot in our room.. Unfortunately google could not tell which movie had been filmed in that hotel room let alone what scene would part take in a hotel bed room.. Interesting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    9.6
    Art nouveau stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We had a great stay here. The hotel is situated in a lovely district with a lot of cafés and restaurants nearby. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. We had really enjoyed our breakfest and the staff was always helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pension Baronesse Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: