Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pension Excellence 4 stars

Alser Straße 21, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

Review score

Based on 1086 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little bit noise. Room was near a circulated street.

    Good location Hotel garage for parking Good value for the money Large studio with everything you need.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filling out a piece of paper when checking in. Having trouble finding the entrance.

    Bagage storage after check out. Facilities were normal. Nothing worth complimenting or complaining about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't prepared even if we booked in advance. The receptionist brought blankets, pillow s and towels later that night. The room hadn't been cleaned properly: underneath the bedside-table there were dust bunnies and some trash previous guest left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is not comfortable at all and the money are too much according to the facilities. there is no good view from the window and also it was hot weather and we ordered to open the AC but they did not help us on that.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot for some reason, a little stuffy.

    Staff were very helpful and accommodating, bike parking is secure. Breakfast was tasty if choice was not that comprehensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning manager was rude at check inn. We booked an economy room and he got really weird about a gay couple in a room like that. He started yelling at his staff everymorning around 7.00 so sleeping in is impossible. They charge you 10 Euro per night if you want to use airconditioning.

    Nice comfy clean rooms. Beds and shower ok. Afternoon and evening where nice when they are present.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too dusty and had to be cleaned at least two times Floor is very noisy and made lots of sound when we walked on it Tables are very risky. The top glasses are not fixed with the table structure and any move could drop the glass and may injure us The iron machine is leaking lot of water and not working properly and we took long time to press a T-shirt Shower drainage is very poor and water takes long times to drain. Had to wait in shower to get out AC is on the door and faraway from the bed and almost not doing any cooling Breakfast needs to be improved

    Location and onsite underground parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected much more from a 4* property, room was small with low quality furnishing. Bathroom was acceptable but older date.

    Location was very convenient in walking distance to the city centre. Room was cleaned nicely, but that should be standard, I am mentioning it only so this is not empty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi some times was slow. Old bath toals sometimes were given

    Ery nice price quality hotel. We go to the Rathaus 10 min walking which was very nice. Its a quiet neighbourhood with a lot of supermarkets near by. I always walked to the city opera and took 25 minutes, in the way i passed trought the main gardens

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be better but this is an overall problem in Austria i think.

    Location, staff, facilities, cleaning, ease of reach to city attractions, good energy and positive vibe!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was full of dust and not clean, the towels was old (2 towels for 2 persons), bathroom was not clean, was cold (i was there in march), the water is a little coldy, the breakfast is poor, no fresh air.

    Location is good, park paid is underground.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we could like....

    Photos are missleading. Comfort is poor (not a 4* at all). Breakfease hardly to say.... Advertised with Privat parking, but cost 15€ per day - no info in advance available. and it is very small garrage, hard to turn your car and park. Majority of rooms are directly above TRAM STATION, and windows can not help to lower noise level. Every time Tram passes whole building shakes. And it is locatted in only ONE FLOOR of 4 floor building.... simply .... this was a huge dissapointment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Every default thing, but nothing more. The room was cold. It was -15outside and there was no heating during the day and only nominal heating during night. I supose that it was only in single room wing, as other guests that lived on the other side of the hotel did not to seem to be frozen. (They did offer extra blankets, but it helps little if your face is frozen).

    Location is decent. If you do not mind going bu tram or bus, you can get to main sites in 15-20minutes. There are some good lunch places as well as cafes just rigt nect to hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was miles from anything Very basic Internet poor No facilities in room Nothing close by Read previous reviews and was guided by them but they did not match my expectations at all

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The drain in the shower was clogged, a nightmare taken shower there. only less than 5 secs and it was flooding... they tried to clean twice but it still the same..and in the end they said cuz that toilet has problem always..

    location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was a bit cold while taking a shower Noise isolation of rooms would have been better

    Personal was so helpful and kind Location is great Room was comfortable Parking area nearby hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water...it was freezing at times or took 5-6 minutes to get lukewarm.

    Location was great. Easy access to public transport. Easy to walk get around too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had there been tea or coffee facilities in the room I would have rated higher. Radiators went off rather early which didn’t help with the cold temperatures.

    Easily accessible from the city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very good (nice area and super close to the university), staff is fine and helpful (late checkout was no problem, no extra cost), and everything is very clean. However, do not expect a four star place. It is a bit run down, but okay for budget city travelling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No noise from outside the property, but can hear people talking & phone conversations through the walls. Had to knock on a neighbours door all 3 nights to ask them to be quiet. No kettle in the room and they charge €2 for a cup of tea! Breakfast is average selection. Small towels in the bathroom. WiFi a bit temperamental.

    Easy to get to centre of town- 8 minute walk to Schottenburg underground and 4 stops. Good size rooms. Loads of power outlets in the room!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was okay for the price, you might be better off going to a cafe along the street. Also, wifi connection was subpar.

    Location was great! The building has a tiny elevator that you go up to the hotel level. Immediate neighborhood is quiet but walking to the main touristy parts of Vienna isn't far. There's several nearby cafes to walk to in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A.C. available only during summer - even if it's a hot October day, reception won't give you the remote to use it (even though property states to offer the convenience when booking). They advised us to open the window which helped but being on such a great location, there is so much noise that I got woken up 6-7 times throughout the night. Only one pillow on bed for two. No room service, very, very poor mini bar options (only two sodas). Toilet paper used.

    Having parking is always a great plus, comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad employee,every thing is old and messy and not usable, i booked hotel, Before i get there i sent email and check my booked room with them but when i get there they said have no room and i must go another hotel and another day come back again!!!!because they charge my credit card and they didnt want to refund money.

    Nothing,everything is so bad, my money go to trash directly by choosing this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was an additional charge (9 euro per) and it was advertised as included.

    Simple single room with single bed but it had everything needed for stay. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It looked much better on the pictures, this hotel was rather a two or a three-star than a 4 star. The overall athmosphere of this hotel is bad. The breakfast selection could be bigger, they provide the cheapest ham and sausage.

    The rooms were clean, great location, fair price for the parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got value for my money. I would not have anticipated more than was offered at the price I paid.

    Although the building was old, the rooms were contemporary and extremely clean and comfortable. The fact that the hotel included breakfast was commendable. The breakfast was much more than one expects.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was good but the front desk man try to pass a small room instead of the apt I booked. No soap or shampoo. The cleaning of the room was not to the mark. No Gabbage was taking daily. Their waited to clean the place after my arrived.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my only complain is my room was a bit dusty i have asthma and i kept sneezing all night. but other than that really highly recommended for a short stay, i will come again.

    i spent one night in this small lovely hotel, it has everything you need from location, a nice warm shower, to a comfy bed, with air-condition which is really needed in a 36 degrees, the size of the room was good for one person, restaurants next to the hotel also company coffeeshop is next to it, if u want to rest somewhere close to the hotel. The reception were so helpful showing me directions and offering me a metro ticket, they have breakfast for 9Euro i haven't tried it, when i asked to keep my luggage for around 10 hours, i was too scared to lose it or someone from the guests when taking their luggage they take mine,he kindly offered to put it in a private room where they rest, i can't forget this favor, thank you sir. really highly recommended for a short stay, i will come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a gym (not connected with the hotel) in the same building, the listing offers hotel guests a reduced rate, however, they wanted 15 euros per session which was far too expensive. The hotel manager said they are trying to negotiate a cheaper rate.

    Friendly staff, good location, only a 10-minute walk to the central district. The hotel was good value for money. Also, the tram from the airport dropped us right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking, this was only made clear after thr room was booked.

    Good location with easy access to public transportation, but also within walking distance of down town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle in our room, which would have not bothered me in the past, but travelling with a baby and needing hot water for milk/ to heat up food was more tricky. However the staff were very accommodating in allowing me to use the kettle in the breakfast room. The bathroom was a little small and the toiletries were of low quality, but were perfectly acceptable.

    The breakfast was brilliant. The staff were helpful with allowing me to use facilities for feeding my baby. The air con was fab, the room spacious, even with a travel cot, and it was very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, easy to reach city center, by walking or taking a tram. Friendly personnel. A lot of shops and restaurants around. Clean rooms. Breakfast not too big but completely enough. I would consider this hotel again if comming back to Wien (beautful cozy city, polite people)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although this property is listed as having four stars, it feels more like a three star pension. The name of the property is a bit misleading as it is not excellent. It's ok though. The breakfast was on the poor side.

    The tram stop outside the hotel was practical as the underground stop is about a 7 minute walk away. It's very frequent and links up well with the underground going downtown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything if only I knew in advance i will not pick this kind of pricey hotel in Vienna

    wifi is a nightmare slower than the turtles, pricey for the overall category of this kind of hotel,room are like saunas as they did not open the A/C and I was not told May is not yet summer so they will not open even we are sweating inside the room, reception advise to open window for air to come in when sleeping so how about the street noise?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in a great place, the center of town is within walking distance. Rooms are very clean, staff is very attentive. Good breakfasts. If I go back to Vienna I will stay again at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked a bar of soap instead of just liquid soap in the bathroom. The room had a view -- of the TV tower! But one doesn't visit Prague to stay in one's hotel room.

    The wifi connections were excellent, and the staff speaks English and were very helpful with routes to parts of Prague and tram tickets. The hotel is a short block from five frequent trams and only two stops from the train station. There are many little food shops and an ATM nearby but the restaurants and sights are mostly in other parts of town. The breakfast was enormous but they charge extra for it. The room was very quiet and included TV and microwave (I didn't use them) and a small fridge (which I did). A particularly good touch: They have made up a list of major destinations (the Castle, the Old Town Square, etc.) and how to reach them by tram, readily given out to visitors. So useful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was really bad. Also I recommend to take shower gel with you, as one they offer is awful.

    Location is very good, close to the Wien University and Rathaus. Receptionist kindly offered free city map. Also I could leave my baggage after check-out cuz my plane was near afternoon, so I had extra time to walk around the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty in the minibar,location was far a way City center and wifi was not working well.I think that is not valuable.

    Dirty in the minibar location was far a way to the City center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is rated 4stars, but it didnt feel like 4 stars. Cheap furniture, small room, a little messy at the reception.

    good wifi, tram right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a 4 stars hotel! The room was spacious but that was not an advantage considering the cold temperature that was in the room when I checked in (around 19:00 local time). The radiator was too small for the volume of the room, the windows were old and permitted cold air to enter inside. Beside that, no extra blanket was available in the room (my mistake was that I didn’t file a complaint regarding the cold air in the room until next day, when the hotel stuff provide a mobile radiator). In Vienna at the time (28 January 2017) were -6 Celsius degrees (real feel -10) and in the room was cold, unfortunately I didn’t had a thermometer at hand but I appreciate that 20 degrees Celsius. The “luck” that I had was that after the cold air during the night next day in the morning the hot water was barely warm ( actually the “hot” water could be drinkable by a person with sore throat). We did not had a flat TV as described in the booking page ( I stayed in room 23). The room 23 room had the windows towards the tram lines, so you will not have a quiet stay at this hotel (bear in mind the old windows that did not provided audio and heat protection).

    The location is in the city center and near the the tram station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is sparse, gaudy paint stained walls, single grudging pillow- ideal for aessthic living. The tiny television is dwarfed in the cavernous space - 12 ft high ceiling emphasizes the lack of wall embellishment - a single wall mirror is the only concession to minimalism. Bathroom towels may have been donated from homeless shelter, frayed would be a generous term, they were falling apart and dirty. Front facade bears little resemble to the glossy advertising pictures on Booking.com - without the word pension overhanging the doorway there was no obvious sign that this was a hotel. This is really a below average hostel masquerading as a hotel. The tiny reception desk on the third floor confirms ones initial impression that this accommodation is a case of mutton dressed up as lamb. At $190 / night this is grossly overpriced even by Viennese standards. Very disappointed by experience and feel duped by misleading advertising.

    Reasonably central location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeezing floor, very loud )))

    Nice location, 10 min walk to Rathaus. Billa practically next door. In the apartment you have everything you need. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff hardly speaking English. Very limited parking (for only 5 cars). Freezing cold room, even with radiator set to maximum room didn't warm up to 18°c. Very basic breakfast: 2 types of cheese, 2 types of salami, ... TRAMS! A little bit hard to find, it's a part of commercial building.

    Close to the city centre (10min walk). Guaranteed parking space.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom amenities were meagre - just a small sachet of soap and and even smaller sachet of shampoo/shower gel. Shower was luke warm. TV had no English speaking or music channels. Mini Bar was simply a can of beer and a couple of soft drinks left on the desktop - no refrigeration. Only one restaurant open within easy walking distance when I arrived at 6PM on a Sunday evening - everything else was shut. Reception was unmanned at 4.50AM on the day I left despite them assuring me someone would be there to see me into my taxi safely. Taxi ordered by reception for a 5AM airport ride didn't turn up and no-one at reception to ask for assistance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit chilly even after the receptionist turned up the heating when we mentioned it was cold.

    The staff was very friendly and approachable. The breakfast bar offered a good selection of sweet and savoury.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Didn't cater for people who didnt like meats. A continental breakfast should be on offer with individual yogurts( one bowl of natural yogurt for everyone was there). More cereal. Fresh croissants. Water for tea was cold in container. No hot water during the day heating only comes on at 6pm.

    Wifi, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel really needs a renovation, Everything old, broken and dirty. Bathroom dirty, broken toiletseat and showerdoors, mold on the tiles, divery dirty carpets, Lamps and tv not working, Heating in the room was on 25 degrees and it was not possible to switch off.( also broken) The reception refused to help with this problem, neither wanted to give us the remote of the airconditioning. A really bad and dissapointing experience.The only reason that my score is not a 1 is the distance to the center and the minimum you can give is a 2,5..

    the distance to the center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent in pension 3 nights (4days)but the cleaning lady never checked our apt, so towels were never chancged neither blankets.

    Location is just perfect

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely far from 4 starts. Maybe even not 3. There was a smell in the toilet and it went to the room as well. Very small room, impossible to separate beds due to fixed nightstands. Old furniture and interior in general. Weak wifi (didn't work in part a room which was very small by the way)

    Good location and nice staff. Breakfast is quite fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and we only ate two out of 5. Hotel room 18 was very noisy due to passing tranms and traffic. Not overly clean and in need of a spruce.

    Good location and comfy bed. Nothing other than that was positive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfriendly staff, not helpful at all (they forgot to book a taxi for us, despite being asked). Service overpriced.

    Close to city centre, large room with all necessary equipment (kitchenette), comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi signal very poor!! This is no 4 stars at all ! Furniture is old flat tv is very small there are no international channels available . I had been in three stars hotels far better than this.

    Breakfast is good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed in a room facing the street where the trams passed and it was very noisy. Old towels in need of replacement for newer ones. No re-filling of toiletries during my stay.

    Room of good size, and nicely clean. Included the basic amenities needed for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor quibbles here. TV could have used 1 or 2 English language channels, building is over a dance studio, which can cause some noise (not too bad though) at times coming into the room. Hotel is a 20 minute walk from most attractions (but public transport is available and is pretty easy and quick to use - the staff will help)

    Hotel is good value for money. Hotel has good A/C, is reasonably quiet, is spacious, comfortable, and has a good breakfast. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor and sloppy furniture. Not adequate to the price per night.

    Great position, close to tram stops and to the underground station. Btw, getting to the city center on foot takes 15-20 minutes only.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night attendant couldn't work out my room safe. No one did in the end. Found a used q-tip on my bathroom floor!! It appeared after I pulled my towel off the rack. Owner was a bit sarcastic and condescending, though generally helpful.

    Breakfast was fine. Sun shone in my window.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas need a bit of work. Could have gone with new fridge and showerhead bit everything quite comfortable and working

    Nice room. Very nice staff. Quite comfortable. Stayed before and will stay again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 7 am breakfast was not available. We had to request for it. When dealing with the payment the staff seemed to be not knowledgeable. In the room there is a step, which is difficult to be seen while in the dark. I nearly fell.

    Very clean and great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms facing the street are pretty noisy.

    The Vietnamese receptionist was really nice and helpfull when we arrived. Breakfast was good and they constantly filled all what was missing. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First: This hotel has a 4 stars category which I think it is NOT! I would place it into the 3 stars cathegory hotels. Second: It is not so near the center main places (restaurants and shops) you have to walk at about 20 minutes. The place is ok but I think the should change their description and category please!

    The room was clean. They have very good breakfast with variety. They have 2 computers in which you can access for free. In my case I used them once because the wifi in the room was a little bit weak.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is by far not four-star standard: - no beer in minibar - no light on the floor if not jumping right in front of movement sensor - walls and windows made of paper, you hear everything - korridor used as food storage area - coffee machine not working - WiFi hotspot as obstacle on korridor floor - many more details. If it was one ore two star, I would have given a good rating, but comparing with other four-star hotels, this cant compare

    good value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    building is beside of busy road in the morning (night was silent) so make sure your window is closed. It is not a big problem, just make sure that you got aircondition remote control from the front desk.

    got great price and for single room was great value. breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room facilities certainly do not deserve 4 star value

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning off for services

    All ok, good position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast - bad food replenishment, small offer

    good location, good price/quality, nice clean room, tram stop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small.....

    The location very Close to tram station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 stars....maybe 2

    Nice area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge was empty. Bed is very very small.

    Very good location. very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, bed sheets with pubic hair for warm welcome

    Breakfast is bearable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The staff are very nice, warm and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, safe location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that There are an electric catle and cotton swap

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so kind, it has a lovely atmosphere, close to public transportation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brakfast was simple but good

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pension Excellence traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: