Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension San Francisco

Gudrunstraße 143, 10. Favoriten, 1100 Vienna, Austria

#76 of 82 B&Bs and Inns in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 B&B reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi and the staffs said they did not know why, they did not have any intention to help The shower is not good, too hot or too cold at the same time The receptionist does not know much English, it is difficult to communicate and to ask for help

    The location is convenient for shopping, train and bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pension didn't have internet in the room and they even didn't supply soaps for the shower. they really need to improve the service, I traveled around the world and slept in a lot of places, this place reminds me a bit of 3 world country resort, they need to be much more professionals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Actually, The room they offered to me is no possible to connect wifi although they claimed their wifi works. I try to use more than two smartphones but no way to have access to wifi. totally horrible

    Very near to the Wien Hbf

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no a permanent reception. The building is old. People not very nice and not very well english speakers. Internet wi-fi didn't work very well.

    Just the location: is very close to the metro station. Near center and all of the attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived there was nobody on the reception desk. I had to wait almost 10 minutes before someone came. The room was stinky and dirty. Wifi didn´t work in my room. The location was also very noisy so it was quite hard sleep there. I really regret I chose this place for my stay in Vienna

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff mostly speak German and there could be some problem with communication.

    The hotel is just opposite to the Metro Stop and is well connected to all the tourist attractions in Vienna. The room is very clean and spacious for a family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad was horrible used. The half of the stuff does not speak English. The reception was mostly empty during the day.

    They allowed us to let our package under their protection before we leaved Vien so we did not need to took our bagpacks with us through the city on our lat day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a dark scary enterance that you would cross yourself upon. staff was NOT welcoming at all, a grumpy face that needs to be notified that you paid the room -not staying there for free and it’s minimum hospitality they can give but don’t. room had the worst smelly feet odor, don’t bother opening the windows; it doesn’t go anywhere it stays with you and it’s not like you have nor the greatest or fairly nice view, it’s a scarier backyard. just leave your luggage there and leave, do stuff in the city. bathroom had a sticky floor, i had no idea why, my shoes -literally- stucked it looked clean but the stickiness is irritating. no douche gel or anything that recalls hygiene, except toilet paper, hopefully clean towels and a hair-dryer. wireless sucked, i called the reception to ask for it, she replied that she had nothing to do and the route -or something like that- is full. you literally can’t even log into social media or your emails. tv works; i mean you can turn it on but it has no channels. there’s an air-conditioner in the room but the remote or control panel is nowhere to be seen, it just looks decorative. this was a room i’ll never forget and i really want to forget about it.

    it was slightly cheaper and central, public transport is right outside the building if i need to utter something nice and i also survived.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They give us a room not as the pictures I saw in booking and the Wifi was not working then they changed the room after a big argument

    The location was excellent actually a bit noisy but everything was near to us even the transportation was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better quality linen should have been provided. Room service need to be improved. Old carpets need to be replaced. Better face look should be given to the entrance with clear directions at the entrance.

    Location was convenient for my travel by U1. Price is reasonable compared others. Arrangement of transport to airport (Taxi) by the coffee shop was good and charge for that was reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When I checked out at 10.30 a.m. there was nobody there to handle out my key, so I left the key on the desk and I had to make a phone-call to tell where I left the key. I asked if I could have breakfast, but this was not possible ... because I did not book it in advance.

    the bathroom was big, new and very clean !!! the bed was fairly simple, linnen poor but clean. But all together for what I needed it was perfectly OK - for the price booking.com offered.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi.no receptionist, just waiters chek in and check out. Cold room, no clean. Is a blok and at level 1, is this pension.Normal blok, not separated buildind, or another construction, is 2apratments in a usually block in city

    -

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access through a gloomy passage and dark entrance was scary at night, and not properly explained or signed. I was told the café was "next door" at 7.30. The café next door (and round the corner) was not open until 8 and then turned out to be the wrong café. San Francisco's café was one further along, and actually a bar with beat music - not great early in the morning. Then the breakfast arrived piecemeal. Also the bedside light did not work. I won't go again.

    It was quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one in reception and no way into Pension. No clear instructions on the door as to how to proceed. Had to work out which bell to press as there was no answer from the Pension bell. I tried another one which turned out to be for the cafe around the corner. A young waitress came who spoke very little English and was unable to answer my questions and gave very little information. Room was cold and unwelcoming. Worked out how to switch radiators on myself and the room warmed up. Was cold at night and there were no extra blankets. Room was very basic with tatty photocopied pictures on wall in cheap clip frame. There was nowhere to make or buy a warm drink or any refreshments. I saw no-one the whole time I was there but did hear people in the corridor talking loudly during the night. To get to the Pension you must walk down a dark side alley which had bags of rubbish at the end. The reception area in the corridor had a few small cafe tables and chairs which looked very haphazard and un- inviting. There was no comfortable communal area to sit in. It felt miserable and depressing. For a solo traveller this was very overpriced at €53 per night. In hindsight a shared room in a hostel would have been preferable. I did go to the cafe for coffee on the first morning. Staff were very brusque and unfriendly and the non- smoking area was being re-furbished, so I sat in the smoking part which was not ideal at all. I stayed for 4 nights, money was taken on the first night from my card, otherwise I would have left. No-one cleaned the room or the bins for any of the stay. They did leave fresh towels daily, these were old and over washed so a bit rough The location was really good for my needs, but I would not stay there again. Overpriced for what was provided and a very miserable place.

    Location excellent. Next to U and walking distance to central station. In a shopping precinct so plenty of shops and cafes and local people. Bathroom re-furbished with hot water.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not staying there two nights....must order sooner...

    Big enough for us four...location was outstanding...ostentatious brick facade and curved building on the corner...Metro entrance literally outside the property. Modern smart key system. I could go on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super close to the metro station. Near center and all of the attractions. Was very hot in the room and that's good. Super clean, every day clean towels.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have never complain in booking.com but this was the worst experience I had. You can't find a receptionist. There is no reception just bell.. but a lady has no time for you. However if she does have time for then she doesn't speak English. Breakfast? No idea where to go.. and when you find it finally, it's totally cheap and unhealthy.

    Internet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did not keep to the terms and conditions when I wanted to make changes in my booking. The staff never showed me the proper exit and when I used the cafe exit was very rude about it. The reception was not usually manned.

    Accessibility to the Metro

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked nothing in this place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor wifi signal......

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was public and didn’t work at all. Personnel told us they knew about the situation but haven’t done anything to find the solution.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, not good room even didn't solve you problem if you complian.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little warmer inside the room

    Very close to U-Bahn

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had musty smell, maybe the matress or the pillow, The bed made noise any time i moved . For the price i was expecting something better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe place to keep luggage after check out. Receptionist is not available most of the time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is very bad No one can talk in english

    Just the location is very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty entrance, hall, carpet and walls. Cannot imagine, that someone paid 65 EUR per night for this

    Clean bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was bad. Entrance was confusing as no sign to say where to go until you walked up the first flight of stairs.

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy location. No air conditioning. Very basic furnishing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet was dirty and bad-smelling

    Close to Centralstation with a lot of god restaurants and shops all around

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything

    The location next to metro station. One stop from main train station (cheap train to airport) and 3 stops from city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was unavailable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Mariana is lack of good behaviour and attitude.

    Location and room size

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and nice staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very nice and the service is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the basics such as private bathroom at a good price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room because of traffic. Missing kindess and low service.

    Hauptbanhof is close.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse place I have ever been. Should be not accepted by booking.com.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance and reception

    Staff and corridors for room and safety

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very disappointing to say the least

    The location was good and the staff friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad hotel. I am sorry to book this hotel for my trip to Vienna

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location to trains and shops

    It is just one step up from a back packers. The bathroom fittings are cheap and droken but it was cheap and in a good location for Main Station which made it worth while for us.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was overpriced for very little food ( bread roll + drink) the staff were rude, there was no one at reception so no information was available about Vienna, where to go, wi fi passwords etc. The room was very overpriced for what was there.

    The location was pretty good and the rooms were clean.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is in fact not a hotel. I reached in the morning and nobody was there. One would freeze for there is no place to wait. There is no reception, no office only after 12 somebody came from nowhere to tell that the room is there. For a cup of tea one has to go to the adjacent building cafe. Very frustrating.

    Its location. The place is very near to the Metro.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Everything from darkness of the hallway and stairways to experiencing a cold water shower after 2 minutes.The worst pension that I had ever seen

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wouldn't go back there. The approach was strange, the ambience was non-existent, the loo smelt horrible, and there was a weird smell of cigarettes that just refused to go away.

    Only plus was that the staff was helpful and that it was close to the station.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    So much that I only stayed 10 min. The staff was very rude, didn't answer door bell nor to my questions, wouldn't even let me drop off my bag in the lobby while the room was being cleaned (actually didn't even let me up in the lobby, but left to rot in the rain and cold, all the talk was done by phone since they didn't even bother to answer the intercom). The room probably was decently clean and comfortable but the general smell of cold cigaret butts was unbearable (and I worked as a bartender, i'm not easily bothered by this). I just hoped to use their wifi to book myself urgently some other place. The wifi didn't even work... Drop off the key to an empty reception 10 min later, in an unlit hallway and left. Worst hotel/client relation I have ever experienced.

    Nothing, but it is very close to a subway stop

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The entrance looks quite sketchy. Don't bother to add the breakfast to your booking: one type of bread, 4 different spreads and 1 cup of coffee or tea. The water temperature goes from freezing cold to scolding hot.

    Good location, close to U-bahn and not too far from Wien Hauptbahnhof

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was sometimes out of reach.

    The location was easy to reach the center of the city! The subway was under 5 mins walk ;) The room was quiet, and quite clean! I'm satisfied with the room I stayed and also the price :)

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast for the price paid was awful. For the price paid, could get a better breakfast outside. Seriously will not recommend to pay extra to have breakfast in this hotel. Entrance to the hotel was very dirty, felt like I was walking into a drug addict zone.

    Location close to U-Bahn

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given a current brochure from someone in Italy and it clearly states parking is available over the road in an underground car park When we asked about it, no-one wanted to know about it.one staff member told us to park in the hotel grounds so we did only to be abused the next morning by the cleaner and had to try and sort it out with the owner who didn't care and just wanted the car moved . Also, the safe in the room had no batteries and couldn't be used. the place just smells like smoke. I wouldn't recommend this place to my mother in law!

    The location right next to the station and the bbreakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception is never open, cafe staff quickly gives you the keycard and shows you the room. Since then you are left alone, no maps, or other touristic info available.

    Location right at the subway station, this subway line quickly takes you to the railway station and Stephansplatz.Breakfast (buffet) is fine.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room is extremely small, very bad lighting (nightmare for packing). The reception is empty most of the time - you have to call somebody and wait at least 15 min, till someone comes. Elevator is only for 2 persons and is almost claustrophobic - impossible to carry more than 1 luggage. The price is much too high for such a quality (no breakfast included, it's not even a hotel, and entrance is hidden somewhere in a backyard).

    Very clean room and bathroom, room also has a TV.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I suppose the place can be for smokers as there was an ashtray in our room and I could smell smoke. The room was really cold and heating didn't work, same as wi-fi. The personal didn't take care which quite surprised me - obviously they have an interesting attitude to the hosts. The worst was probably metro station nearby causing our room little shakes now and then.

    Good connection to the center. Regarding the property - things are not new but are very clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The room was too cold. The wifi didn't work that good. The staff couldn't speak german, although it's located in Austria. Even i did it better. I couldn't get breakfast and i couldn't check myself out - and they write you'll be able to check out til 11 am (it was written on the wall). I also asked that i could leave this early and get breafast and the stuff said yes. i asked it twice and it was terrible surprise in the morning. Plus they don't write any e-mails back, when you drop them a question.

    The room was ok kin of look. The bathoom also.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was horrible, no everyday cleaning, I hadn`t got hot water in my room. We had problems with our payment. They had blocked the sum of money from my card and they didn`t let us know about it beforehand. So we had to pay in cash nd till now I didn`t get back my money. Hope to solve this problem.

    The location was good, it is a good area not far from the centre, you can go from the hotel to Stefanplatz by feet just for one hour. If you don`t like walking, there is a metro station Keplerplatz near the hotel, it is just 5 stations to Stefanplatz. So it is not bad opportynity to stay in Vienna. There are a lot of restaurants and nice shops.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the entrance.

    location was super. just above metro station . in heart of city.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    all, yes the price is cheap, but compare to many place i visited with the same price i can get much better in many places

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy road

    situated at pedestrian Zone

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Down dark alley and up dark stairway. Not a pleasant experience

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Temprature of the water of the shower: too cold or too hot. Not enough staff.

    Big room, nice furniture.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is excellent, just across the street is the metro station U1. The room was clean nice and facing towards a quiet alley.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    receptionist spoke only German

    interesting location, close to Hbf

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The smell of cigarette smoke and in the room we had The shower head attachment needs repair

    Easy access to the metro

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Couple

    Miksing redrigderator

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff is not close, they were cold

    Location is good, near underground station

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    totally unprofessional, bad beds to bed cover, smelly rooms, no wifi signal, rude staff, too costly

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    RECEPTIOMN IS NOT OCCUPIED, YOU HAVE TO CALL AND WAIT THEM TO COME.

    LOCATION IS GOOD.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, quite, home environment

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Pension San Francisco traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: