Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pertschy Palais Hotel 4 stars

Habsburgergasse 5, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#217 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1213 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    2.9
    The front desk lady was very bad attitude!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk lady was very bad attitude! It was very bad experience staying there, I am during road trip with a whole family, no doubt this is the worst “hotel” I ever had! Not only No service at all, but also watching on her cellphone on YouTube by the time we were standing at front desk checking in! It sucks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    The position near center of old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioning. In a hot day (and night) this can be a problem. The hotel is quite old with noisy floor and old windows.

    The position near center of old city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.5
    Wonderful and full of memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more humid than expected and the provided floor fan was just not quite enough. With that said, I wouldn’t have wanted the integrity of the building to have changed to provide for AC.

    Perfect location for sights and restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere! Staff was terrific. Breakfast was a perfect way to start our day. Hotel was comfy and clean. Loved the character and architecture.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and would recommend it apart from the two negative points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning not an option in an old building - we understand - sleeping was difficult even with the fan running all night. While we do not go on holiday to watch television, every other hotel we have been to in Europe has at least three English-speaking channels (eg. CNN news). The Pertschy does not have more than one.

    Beds were really comfortable and the coffee in the reception area was a bonus. Friendly and helpful staff (especially Anda).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Superb location but way way to expensive for basically a 2-3* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small. Strange layout. Had to go outside corridors to get to our rooms One of the men at the desk was condescending Way way too expensive for the overall quality of the hotel.

    Location was superb. Close to Stephansplatz train and metro station One man at the front desk was nice Helpful to have a computer in the lobby for guests to use

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    A reasonable stay but have experienced better in Vienna for a 4 star price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not very helpful except for a lady who helped my elderly mum. When we were leaving we had two big suitcases and the men at reception did not even help us to open the hotel door even though they saw we were struggling. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room, only a machine at reception. Cleaning staff did not take away the rubbish from the room, empty bottles and an empty pizza box. For a 4 star hotel I did not think this was acceptable.

    The room was a very generous size, bathroom was good. Breakfast was really good. Centrally located just a few steps from Graben and Stephanplatz.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice palace in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was all right, we got better value than the money we spent

    Everything was perfect from check in to check out. Staff was very kind and helpfull, we felt really welcome The location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t be my first choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with heating.There was none.It is supposed to be a central heating so if the temperature rises outside, the heating in the building doesn’t work. The unfortunate is that the room doesn’t have an air-condition. I understand that you would not want to mess up the exterior of the building with an air-condition unit but they’re also portable air-conditions.And when I say temperature rises I mean 7°C which means that the building and the room inside is still freezing. I asked for an additional heater and they said that they were none, although I saw some in the room where they keep the luggage. I presume they were not functional. I don’t know how high the temperature rises during summer so I wouldn’t know how it is to stay there without air-condition. The wifi looked on but it was not connecting. I travelled for work so it made my life difficult. The door is somehow shorter and not well adjusted to the frame so be ready to have the corridor light in your room from all sides of the door. Plus it serves only breakfast.I have never stayed to a 4 star hotel without a kitchen for room service.

    Excellent location.Walking distance to everything.Just perfect.Staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, totally quiet in a Viennese atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weak and there was only one type of cushion - too flat.

    Breakfast was excellent - always served punctually in the room and we greatly appreciated the wonderful expresso machine in the bedroom as coffee is a personal taste.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    All things considered a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room although clean and roomy was somewhat dated and in need of refurbishment

    The breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options. The hotel is located very centrally and allowed us to walk everywhere without the need to use transport. However should you need to there is an abundance of Trams and subway options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but could use an upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central hallway doesn't have a roof. So in the winter it is very cold to go from your room to breakfast or reception. Rooms could use some redecorating/paint.

    Good central location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    a lovely hotel with old Vienna elegance in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were a little too soft, however we asked for additional ones and they were supplied immediately

    The hotel has a classic elegance with faded grandeur, our room probably could have benefitted from some fresh paint but the slightly chipped shutters only added to the ambience - the location was perfect right beside the Grabben and the Hofburg Palace, the location felt very safe and we were content to walk around at night. Vienna itself is beautiful and the hotel typifies the aspects of Vienna which are appealing, chandeliers, corniced ceilings, and a beautiful stone staircase-its very easy to close your eyes and imagine yourself 150 years ago especially with the sound of horses and carriages passing by the hotel room. I will definitely stay in the hotel again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting an invoice was too difficult. One person did not show up, however, we still had to pay that (which was okay), but reception was not able to give us an invoice re this one room. I felt a certain unwilligness to settle this. I did not know the room number of my colleagues from my head when I paid. Also this caused a kind of concern... All very poor. I am a German native, so I can judge "attitude" in the German language.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Location, location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No airconditioning on the rooms, could be quite hot during summer.

    This hotel has a Location! About 300 meters from Hofburg, this place can't be more central. Old house but working rooms and modern bathrooms. Breakfast is quite comprehensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    The location, personal and food were great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they don't have parking at the hotel but the fact that they offer you a reduced price on a near by parking was great (a 24h parking in city center wien is 40 euros and they offered me parking at 19 euros)

    The location, personal and food were great; room was not what I expected but it was really clean and big; bathroom also clean which is very important for me

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast OK but not great. Staff didn't seem to have quite enough knowledge of the area around the hotel. Difficulty finding room as has to unlock another door into a corridor which we had not been told about.

    Great location. Very convenient for museums, galleries and concerts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Good Hospitality & Superb Location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi not stable.

    Nice newly renovated Lobby and Reception area. Free tea/coffee available for guests. Great service from the Reception staff. Very friendly and helpful. Location is top-notch. You can walk to many places of interest, amenities and surrounded by lots of good restaurants. The lift to the rooms is outside the hotel back entrance. Spacious room but a little dated. We will stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Good for city center tourism but don't expect five star service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms should be renovated to match the price and it seems some furniture is too dirty especially the sofa. The bathroom door in my room wouldn't close properly without extra effort. Check-in experience was not as professional as expected, may be to do with language barrier?

    Good breakfast selection, close to Vienna City Centre and free coffee / espresso machine in the lobby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.8
    Quiet accommodation in a historical building in the heart of Vienna at very affordable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, including bathroom and furniture, feel a bit dated and need some refurbishing.

    Ideal location in the heart of the city. Nice touches such as design of public spaces reminding of the history of the building, free coffee and tea in the lobby, and internal courtyard with galleries (where one can smoke). Spacious rooms. Rich and tasty breakfast. Free wifi. Friendly staff. Perfect price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    Charming property with old world touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of date. A lot if noise from squeaky floors and unsealed windows. Neither the bath nor the sink drained properly and the wifi was patchy. It worked fine in the foyer but not in my room.

    Charming property with old world touches. Chaise lounges in the hallways, cabinets full of books, puzzles and games and very close to the centre of town. Breakfast was fantastic with a wide variety of options and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    You can't beat the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not so important after You see how much effort they make, we were little surprized by concept- You acess rooms from the hall that is in fact terrace.To go to breakfast or reception You need coat.But they really compensate with everything else.

    They are trying really hard.You have everything that You need.We loved our free hot chocholate and tea, great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.5
    Quite a quirky layout with open corridors but a brilliant location for the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a tea and coffee facility in the room. Would also have liked a bath robe and slippers.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfy and the room made up to a high standard each day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable and would certainly stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar area, though coffee in the foyer area

    Hotel well situated, near the shops and underground and general sight seeing. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Style is older in furnishings but is comfortable and bright. Enjoyed the stay with my daughter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location,huge rooms,warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have their own garage.It’s a public garage around 1km from the hotel.They give you the cards for the garage and they put it on your bill later on.It’s 19€ per day.But you have to be carefull.If they don’t count your stay well,you’ll have to pay the rest at the garage and it’s quite expensive.And they won’t refund the money,eventhough it wasn’t your mistake.

    Good location,huge rooms,warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little updating would not go amiss but the helpful staff, location, very good breakfast and price all compensate for this.

    Fabulous breakfast with special vegan options if requested

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To reach the rooms from reception, you must cross an open area, which is not very pleasant during cold nights. We would not recommend this hotel to travellers during the winter, with very low temperatures and snow.

    The hotel is a historical building very well located within old town, and the main commercial area of the city. Staff are very friendly. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is very nice with a great variety of food. Wi-Fi is decent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.3
    Great location, large room - awful internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the internet is awful and made working remotely very frustrating. They tried to help by providing portable WiFi router but that only had good network for two hours a day. Secondly the bathroom is badly designed - uncomfortable w/toilet seat cramped between the wall and old shower box that needs replacing. Hairdryer barely works - took me 30+ minutes to dry medium length hair. No coffee/tea in rooms but they do have a free machine in reception. Didn’t really enjoy leaving room in 4C morning weather & passing through open cold areas for a cup of coffee. Room minibar bar didn’t work. If cleanliness is important to you, don’t look at the carpets across the hotel or room, they’re black & molding. Don’t expect any help in terms of things delivered to your room (i.e. internet router, iron board, extra towels) - but rather fetch and return them from reception. I expected more from a 4 star, but I guess you’re just paying for location in an expensive city.

    Amazing location - can’t get any better - right in the centre of the city. Large room, comfortable beds. Water pressure in shower was great. Generally the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    The location was brilliant - close to the Hofburg and all its attractions and to the cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything!

    The staff were the stand out aspect of the hotel. They were so friendly and helpful. We had arrived via CAT and taxi and they suggested it would be cheaper and easier to get a taxi direct to the airport, which we would have assumed would be more expensive. Just one of a number fo examples.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been more comfortable... but it was ok.

    Thank you thank you a thousand thank you’s. This hotel was the perfect location. The staff was knowledgeable, and helped me daily with directions, as I was constantly lost. I would recommend the hotel to everyone... The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    excellent location. lovely friendly and helpful staff. best sleep I've had in a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were far from modern with creaky floors, outdated wallpaper and cracks in the walls. However, the location far outweighed the dated décor and the stay was very enjoyable.

    best sleep I have had away from home in a long long time. excellent location. right in the middle of the old town in between all of the sights. if I were going back to Vienna I would definitely see if there a vacancy here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    It was quite OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that one had to take an outside balcony from the elevator to the room on the 2nd floor

    I went out for breakfast to a café nearby. The price I paid for the room did not include breakfast apparently. I had booked it quickly in Ibiza at an internet café.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    The lights in my room didn't work and there was info...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights in my room didn't work and there was info beside the phone saying what no.to call for reception. I had to go down two floors to resolve the issue. The access to the room is along a creaky balcony with a tired carpet. I like staying in the hotel because it's well located for my business but I'm surprised it's a four star hotel - it should be three star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved Vienna and so pleased we chose that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift broke down on our first day and 90 steps up to 3rd floor is a lot for pensioners! In fairness, it was mended for the following morning so full marks to the staff, thanks.

    The location was brilliant. Good breakfast and genuinely fresh-squeezed orange juice (you squeezed your own) Able to fill a coffee pot at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Pretty nice place in the heart of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room was a bit dark and people's ability to walk past my window and look in made me feel compelled to keep the blinds closed more than I would have liked.

    Wow breakfast buffet. All breakfast buffets in Austria are terrific, as far as I can tell, but this one definitely put me at risk of getting fat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Excellent location near major attractions and public transportation. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Computer available for guests to use.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.3
    The property is centrally located.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It sems to me that the price is driven more by the location than by the appearance of the room. All very clean, staff very courteous, but overall a bit overpriced: 3 stars rather than 4 would be more appropriate for this hotel, in my opinion.

    The property is centrally located. The staff is very polite, courteous and helpful. The breakfast has several options, all appetizing and abundant. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    a somewhat shabby chic in the very heart of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful wifi! I was on the 3d floor and it was practically not possible to Skype, the connection to wife was lost all the time. No air conditioning, just a fan, in a small room it is quite annoying. The locks do not seem so secure, though i had no incidents. Once there was nobody at the desk, so I just had to drop a key on the desk, where anyone could take it. The place looks a bit shabby, maybe it is an old imperial style, but carpets are old and window panes require re-painting. Reaching your room from a courtyard may be a bit tricky, since you have to enter from an outer gallery. Arriving late at night, I could not figure straight away that a key to your room is also a master key to the lobby door. I wonder if it opens other rooms too, but I did not try:)

    excellent location, right in the center, 3 min to main metro hub, walking distance to everything. coffee available in the lobby, breakfast was quite nice and rich. Small fridge, bath tub, not a shower. staff helped me to get a taxi early in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Once settled in our room, after all the uncertainty beforehand, we had a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I rang the hotel a few days before our visit and the staff would not assure me that I would be in a twin bedded room, even though I had booked it. I was very concerned about this and emailed them twice but got no reply. This spoilt the build up to the holiday. A double bed for my daughter and myself would have been disastrous. So it was not until we checked in that we knew we had a twin room. What a shame the hotel caused us unnecessary grief.

    feather duvets and pillows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice for short vacations.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terlik, kati sabun, dus bonesi, Ufak poset gibi gormeye alisik oldugum seyler yoktu.No slippers, no soap, no shower bones in the rooms.The breakfast is superb, location is superb.

    Yeri mukemmel. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Would not stay there again nor recommend it to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms poor, carpets and curtains had not been cleaned in years, matresses old and uncomfortable, old fan for cooling. The hotel was run down and appeared that the bedrooms had not been updated in decades.

    location very central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Very good location, in the heart of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, difficult access to rooms, poor lobbies, small and inconvenient format of the rooms. It should't have ****(four stare).

    Very good location, in the heart of city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Quiet hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The floorboards in the room creaked very badly and my partner and I woke each other up each time we went to the bathroom. Staff were wheeling rubbish bins around the courtyard early each morning which woke us up. We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel because it was very expensive. Also there was no bar or restaurant facilities in the hotel.

    The location of the property was good and, being in a side street, was quiet. Management was helpful and the room was adequate. Wifi was good in the room and there was a free coffee machine in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel right in the centre of things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    unlike hotels in England they didnt have tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. but thats my experience in the other hotels in Vienna too.

    Great central location, great historical building, quirky design, staff v helpful and accommodating, very well versed in foreign languages, rooms good, bed too. bathrooms exceptional. breakfast more than enough to set you up for the day. able to book for events at hotel counter. decent sized telly, wall mounted to swing out for viewing at ease in the room. free coffees and teas available from self serve counter in reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    very recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there was not aircon in the room, only fan. The days when we stayed was more than 30 degrees outside, so was very hot in the room too. But I guess its not an issue if you travel when its not hot

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great location. Nice breakfast and free coffee in the lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could probably find a better room at the same price.

    The room was clean but it wasn't anything spectacular. The staff were super nice and helpful. Location was perfect for our visit to the Spanish Riding School

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Front row location to Spanish Riding Academy. Spanische Hofreitschule
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I might have liked a better access to cold drinks in the hotel, when the weather got very hot outside. But it was easy to walk to a cafe or to get Gelato.

    I booked this place because we wanted to be able to walk to the Spanish Riding Academy and museums. There is no place closer to the famous Lipizzan stallions, than this one. I was pleasantly surprised that we were one small block away from the stables, so we could easily see the Lipizzaners walking across the street, and go on a stable tour. ( If you want to see a performance, plan several months to a year in advance) We enjoyed seeing the horse drawn carriages driving by the property very often. Everything is clean. Shops are easy to get to, from Gucci, and Swarovski crystal, to little family shops and tourist shops. Museums are an easy walk. Its a good idea to start your visit to the city, by going on a horse carriage ride, the drivers give an excellent overview, and it's at a walking pace, so you can see. The hotel staff was very nice, and helpful with getting a car to the airport. The breakfast was fantastic, and the dining room was lovely. The only downside, was that we went during a heat wave, and the only cooling in the ancient, historic building rooms, is from a fan. so you have to just accept that, if you want to be in the heart of old Vienna.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Very satisfying breakfast, super nice coffee (good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is super warm at night during my stay (summer, early July). We cannot open the window because it open up to a balcony where people can pass by.

    Very satisfying breakfast, super nice coffee (good value for money). Spacious room, excellent location. Becareful not to stop your car directly in front of the hotel, we unknowingly did and got fined.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice a bit dated
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our bathroom was very small and no tea/ coffee making facilities in room. Room very hot as no air con only a fan. Only one bin could have done with two !!

    Staff very helpful, good location. Beds clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good hotel in the heart of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness should be improved. The room was spotless, but the common areas were not so clean!

    Excellent location right in the heart of the city! You could easily move around on foot. It will take you only few minutes to reach the most popular landmarks. Excellent breakfast, good and vary selection of cereals, bread, fruit, cheese, beverages etc. Elegant hotel decoration, very nice staff. Courtesy coffee available in the lobby. Would recommend for short business trips.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    only good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no air condition in the room and the weather was so hot in the room; thee was just a fan. bathroom was so small.

    Excellent location and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    The location is perferct!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It didn't have a kettle; you need to go to the reception room to get some hot water or hot drinks, it's kinda inconvinient.

    The location is perferct! Hofburg and Kohlmarkt on the left and Graben on the right, 5 mins walk to Stephen platz and underground station. Also one reception guy noticed my birthday when I was checking-in (I checked in three days before my bday) and wished me good luck on my birthday. The hotel staff also left me a bottle of sparking wine in my room as the birthday present. That was very sweet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great. I fell sick whilst there and Mario who was on Reception at the time was extremely kind and helpful, assisting us with a doctor, our changed travel arrangements, and retaining the same room for an extra night. All the previous staff had been also pleasant and efficient and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna and it is very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not provide the sleepers, bath robe and some other staff.

    The hotel is located in the heart of Vienna and it is very old building but it brings some special atmosphere to staying there. The receptionists were very cute, always ready to help. I can advice to stay there, it is really good choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Superb hotel in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing negative to say. I've stayed here several times when it was the Pension Pertschy. With a smart new foyer and lift it is now an excellent hotel.

    A superbly located hotel in the centre of Vienna. Lovely big rooms with every amenity, excellent breakfast, reliable wifi. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.6
    An aged hotel in need of some necessary upgrades
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a horrific problem. The staff were very unhelpful when it came to finding parking in the city. When we first pulled up, the staff told us that we could not park in front of the hotel as it was only for taxis. We rushed like crazy to move and avoid getting a ticket, but the staff did not give us clear instructions to the parking garage across town so it took us twenty minutes to find it. Then, we had to walk back over half a mile to the hotel. We later found out we would not have gotten a ticket immediately as it is possible to use the street for loading and unloading if it's late at night or early in the morning. It was a case of many hotel staff telling us different things and none of them having enough fluency in English to explain anything to us properly. It was a very complicated process finding the room also. The building has a courtyard in the center that opens up to the street (it was not kept up well either), so it was not very secure. Our room was in a cluster where you needed a key to get into the cluster of four rooms and then you had to use the same key to unlock the room itself. There was only one key for each room, and the hotel required you to return the key to the front desk every time you left the hotel. This was a very inefficient system that did not seem the most secure either. The elevator could not keep up with the amount of people staying there, and once you get to your floor there are of course more steps to go up to the actual room, so this hotel was far from being disability-friendly or even suitcase-friendly. In terms of the room, the bathroom was filthy and could use a full remodeling. The fixtures were ancient and rusty, and there was dirt/mold along the shower. The beds were also uncomfortable, which should not be the case for such an expensive room. Even the coffee machine was broken in the room. The only benefit was that the bedding and towels were pretty clean.

    The breakfast was pretty good with some quaint additions like honey combs and homemade jams. The staff at breakfast were also nice. The high ceilings in the room were delightful, but the rest of the room could have used some work.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The classic bedroom was small and the shower room, tiny. The bedroom looked a little tired and required a makeover.

    The location was ideal, right in the heart of the city, beside most of the sights/visitor attractions we wanted to see. The continental breakfast suited us, with the bonus of making our own waffles and maple syrup! The staff were pleasant and helpful. All our requests prior to arrival were met, including a room away from the lift. Free wifi and access to PC and printer were much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice room, sorry there were no instructions to the coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was far too expensive, coffee was dreadful and when we arrived (9.30) several things had not been re-supplied. We went out for breakfast thereafter!

    Nice room, sorry there were no instructions to the coffee machine in our room. Very central.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Charming quirky hotel right in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower only ran hot! When it is +30C outside would be nice to have a cool shower!

    Having a safe parking area for our bicycles was very useful and convenient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    A bit expensive for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Needs updating. A bit of paint here and there would do wonders. The price of the breakfast at 19 euros. Excellent breakfasts are available close by in many coffee shops for 8-9 euros. Mcdonalds has something which will abort malnutrition for 4 euros if you really want to save the pennies.

    Excellent location - close to almost everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    Great location. Dull hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very brown and dull. The small balcony, which overlooked an overgrown courtyard, was dirty and the smell of cigarette smoke from others wafted in. We had requested a double bed but had two singles pushed together with separate duvets. Breakfast was mediocre and average quality.

    The location was very central with easy walking to shops, restaurants and the Spanish Riding School.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    a comfortable stay for a break .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bath was a bit high to enter especially to senior citizens.

    The front desk reception staff was exceptional helpfully. The room was clean and quite. Location is excellent in the centre of Venice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Unbeatable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to use three pillows together as they were all flat, the toilet was made for contorsionists as you had to play between the door and the sink to get in. I guess bigger rooms are different, but mine was small. Staff could be more friendly, not just to the point.

    The location is unbeatable. Easy to access and in the old city center. The building is beautiful and the breakfast room very cosy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.2
    Still the best value in Vienna!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Single bed room a little small, but adequate.

    Location; familiarity with property (I have stayed there before), but improved also by renovation. Best lighting in any hotel room I have had recently - could read easily on any chair in room and on bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.1
    Location couldn't be more central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is inattentive & dismissive. Directions given were invariably to general to be helpful. E.g., turn left out the door, then turn right (street not named) & walk about 100 meters.

    Location couldn't be more central

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    First timers at Perschy Palais Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most mornings around 06.30 to 7.00h it was noisy with loud voices, but did not know the source.

    Food delicious and the young man on duty friday through tuesday is the perfect member of staff, so polite and attentive, makes a lovely start to the day 😌 We will certainly stay there on our next visit

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    poor bedside lighting so could only read and relax with the main light on.

    perfect location off the Graben but quiet side street. attractive building and good sized rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. hotel is a real taste of 'old vienna' ! good value .happy to return

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    5.0
    They stored the luggage in a secure closet so you could see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property lists public parking available which in a very loose interpretation is true. It is actually a 15 to 20 minute walk from the hotel in orchestra hall. It is difficult to find and the instructions given by the front desk will bring you to the incorrect location. Plan for a good hour to get checked in when parking. This property should remove parking from their listed hotel facilities.

    They stored the luggage in a secure closet so you could see some sights after checkout. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, not clean, it looked more like student residence than a hotel really. To get the lift you have to go outdoor near a car garage. It is very basic and bad value for money. I will never go there again.

    If you want ONLY location then this has good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry but the rooms need to be remodeled. The room assigned initially was terrible. we spoke with the person in charge and gave us a better but nevertheless ugly bathroom the tub with a dangerous design to be in and out and the toilet 🚽 so close to the sink, my husband almost can not fit to sit there.

    The location of the hotel excellent. the lobby is remodeled very well. They have excellent 24-hour coffee machine service with all the utensils. Very good breakfast with a great variety

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Perfect city centre location for business or pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a perfect location for business or pleasure in the heart of Vienna within walking distance of all the main sights or places you could wish to visit - public transport is within easy walking distance The staff are very friendly, my room was extremely spacious, elegant and clean The breakfast room is very pretty with an excellent choice WIFI is available for free and reliable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.2
    Great Location, lovely staff but parking and pillows a bit naff!! ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a nightmare & we didn't find the one they suggested. Not on site and a good 10 minute walk through the busy city centre with all our luggage. The pillows were pathetic - we had to put coats and blankets underneath ours.

    The staff were very friendly and the tea/coffee in reception was appreciated. Local was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room, free coffee machine in lobby, location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good but pricey (19 Euros, not 12 as misrepresented on hotel info posted in room), no night staff to fix electrical light fixture, facade in inner courtyard needs paiting.

    Spacious room, free coffee machine in lobby, location, friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.9
    The room was very comfortable although rather small and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit confusing old building with rooms accessible from a corridor/ balcony which can be reached through stairs directly from the street. The only window was to this balcony which meant that people were passing by and the heavy curtains had to be on all the time. Not really relaxing atmosphere ...

    The room was very comfortable although rather small and the bathroom was recently renovated. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    5.0
    could be better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    for unexpected reason i had to leave the hotel before my original checked out day, i spoke to the guy at the reception and asked him to check out and refund the money and he said that he can not, i just did not understand that why i could not refund my money back

    i was happy with services of the two ladies at the reception

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Historic, comfortable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was clean but a bit in need of a renovation.

    The hotel is in an excellent position in a quiet street just off the main pedestrian area of the city. The room was an older style room, but very spacious and comfortable. The staff were excellent and accommodated our requests for storage of our luggage. The breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Pertschy Palais Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: