Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Restaurant Kirchenwirt 4 stars

Kremser Straße 17, 3610 Weissenkirchen in der Wachau, Austria

#2 of 12 hotels in Weissenkirchen in der Wachau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I like on vacations in such smaller Austrian hotels is the personal approach to the customer. This hotel was a clear example. From the start, it is rather a meeting with distant relatives than with some accommodation providers. The staff is really friendly and positive. Nice detail is the (friendly) Slovak speaking waiter. For many customers, it is simply more comfortable to order in Czech or Slovak. Especially when you are not familiar with Austrian cuisine. Not even mention excellent location of the hotel and stylish rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The town is exceedingly dead unless you are a biker or hiker. Parking could be an issue although I was very lucky with a spot right out front.

    The girl met me, key in hand, and called me by name on arrival. I had not spoken a word to that point. I loved the room. It was spacious and had everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to location in historical building, there is no elevator and wi-fi is not guranteed.

    The hotel is located in several buildings, therefore, ask the reception before loading off all your luggage :) We had a room in a 500 years old house featuring romantic inner yard. The room was well-kept and equipped. Good bed and bathroom. The restaurant is good as well. We arrived just during the grape picking season, so it was lively and even crowded. Always ask for the day`s specialities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    may be they could extend the working hours of the restaurant in the evenings as it currently closes around 22:30.

    1. The hotel: its charming and caring manager and the friendly staff - they did really extend the beauty of the nature into a really personal and exciting experience for us. Our rooms in the hotel (500 years old) were elegantly decorated with style and very comfortable, clean and cozy. 2. The restaurant: great kitchen, variety of tasty meals and a great wine selection. We especially liked Jäger wines. 3. The location - by the Danube is fantastic. Not only you enjoy the river, the food and the wine (it is a wine region), but there are plenty of opportunities for outdoor entertainment - you can walk on the Panorama Route or take a bike and visit Dürnstein, or even reach the Aggstein Castle. Danube's ferry is a real fun.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was fantastic from service . Staff & owners very professional, Location perfect. Room at top, open wiindow for great view of village and river.Fresh mountain area , nice and quite to sleep at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wifi was shaky and slow There is a Nespresso machine in the room, but we got only 2 capsules as a welcome, the next days there was no replenishment. I have seen other hotels doing better, especially considering the price for the room.

    The area and the hotel are beautiful. Room very modern, recently refurbished, but furbished in the typical country stile - we liked it. The staff is friendly, the breakfast excellent and plenty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable place to stay. Our room had enough space to move around with lots of storage space, spacious shower room with big counter space. Very friendly, courteous staff (run by 2 families).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit pricier than I would have liked.

    The breakfast is so fabulous I would advise guests to get down early so you can maximise your time there. Wonderful beds, enormous bathroom, good wifi in the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of airconditioning made room hot and humid; towels not replaced although did not dry during the day due to humidity. Restaurant has limited menu and both food and wine of lesser quality and much more expensive than superior restaurants nearby (soup was excessively salty).

    Location was excellent; room of generous size; breakfast very good and staff very professional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is located in several houses, so I cannot evaluate all the rooms. But the one we stayed in was new, clean, comfortable, quiet, well equipped and with mountain view. Hotel has golf carts for transfer service between main building/parking and remote buildings. On sunny days breakfast is served on open terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit stuffy in the room as it was really hot outside but no aircon and the room only had a tiny window.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. Huge bathroom with good shower. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon was inadequate (during particular hot spell) and there were no insect screens on the windows.

    Great room and super friendly and helpful staff!!! Breakfast on the terrace was sublime.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gin and Tonic

    Beautifully converted to provide modern comforts in an old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very charming and civilised old fashioned hotel in a beautiful location In a delightful unspoilt village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place and wonderful hosts!!! Christian and his wife were very helpful from beginning to end!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Evth was amazing!!! My favorite thing - is radio in bathroom!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts were friendly and helpful. The restaurant served great food too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... wish could have stayed longer

    Fantastic property .... the location is simply great and the owners are wonderful....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excelent hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard

    Great shower pressure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted an electric pot and a tea set in the room.

    Very friendly and kind staff. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was spring and it rained.

    Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Breakfast was wonderful,as was dinner at their restaurant . The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Really nice and comfortable family managing hotel, with excellent staff and owner. Clean, spacious, styles rooms Really good location, with free parking. Breakfast: plenty of choice, all you needs! If you wld like to relax and eat 'home made' delicious food, further more want to feel like back to the past centauries, do not hesitate to choose Hotel-Restaurant Kirchenwirt in Weißenkirchen.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Be prepared to climb steps to your room! But the staff helped with the luggage.

    Hostess was very friendly and helpful, location is great, restaurant and terrace perfect for looking at vines and river, food excellent, room lovely. Town not overrun with tourists, but charming.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I prefer to have a kettle in room.

    I like the room decoration. I also like the toilet design. The breakfast is really good.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I have visited here five times; reassuring top quality every time.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. Large, clean room, nice staff. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing special.

    Awesome location and situation that side by side with church. Room is clean, staffs are very friendly and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Family run and thoroughly professional. Plenty of car parking, which is at a premium in Weissenkirchen.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Value for money, super nice rooms, high quality hotel restaurant, the town of Weissenkirchen extremely lovely!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Hotel-Restaurant Kirchenwirt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: