Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant Wallner 3 stars

Westbahnstraße 58, 4300 Sankt Valentin, Austria

#4 of 8 hotels in Sankt Valentin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 458 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not impressive... very very basic, and not all ready when we went to eat at 7:30. Also, we were told to avoid a spot where the dog had urinated on the floor.

    The family room had a separate little room with two single beds - great for older kids!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We declared 2 babies together with us at reservation and send additional e-mail to prevent any possible problem. Rooms were not organized accordingly. In addition receptionist was rude in behaviour although it was their mistake... After 15min discussion, they finally solve the problem and everthing was ok afterwards.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - smoke smell in the bathroom (probably previous renters smoked there) - breakfast not very great - small selection of cold stuff (no eggs) On other occasions (more tourists) the breakfast was great.

    - great room, bed and amenities - nice bath

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast for the amount of money we've payed ‼️😞....it was supposed to start at 7 am, we went there at 7.30.... maybe it was just too early and it wasn't ready....

    Very close to the motorway 24h reception service very helpful if you get there very late

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception did not acknowledge booking.com reservation and asked for different price. Did not speak English, used signs to communicate. Separate toilet to bath - room 201. Window towards railway tracks. Impressive windows but still could hear trains passing. Breakfast a bit dissapointing, not many options. No tea bags provided.

    Clean and comfortable room. Impressive windows. Very friendly staff at bar, although 5 euro for a water bottle a bit steep. Would recommend bringing your own as many shops within small range. Good distance from motorway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night, but we would like to come back and stay more one day. We are very impressed of the hospitality and nice atmosphere in this hotel. Thanks to the wonderful family running this hotel for comfort, for being so nice to us and our dog, for excellent late dinner we had in the restaurant of the hotel. We liked everything very much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow the smoking area was too close to the hallway or so, my first impression of the place was "smoky". However the rooms were clean and no tracks of smoke.

    The room was comfortable, clean, and it was specially pleasant that there was a restaurant in the building so we could eat right after our long travel. The owners were pleasant eventhough there was little language boundaries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable big room, probably renovated in recent time, for a family of 4. Great choice while travelling and need to sleep over. Near the highway.Car parking over the Street. If you are not sure about having breakfast directly in the hotel, there is a small good bistro with breakfast menu at Eurospar supermarket one minute driving from the hotel 😀

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning.

    Nice location, close to the motorway. Free hotel parking! Spacious and clean room! Rich Swedish buffet breakfast with fresh food and free drinks!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location opposite the railway station at first impression seemed as though the hotel was on the industrial outskirts but it was amazing to see the high-speed trains shoot by out of nowhere, and the hotel bedrooms were very quiet.

    We had a two night stop so we could visit Mauthausen and get a feel for the Sankt Valentin area. It was Labour weekend and the restaurant was buzzing with two local tyrollean bands alternating with their folk music; so we almost felt like locals. The meals were huge with amazing Goulash and potatoe dishes, thanks to the hosts who managed to place us at a table in the booked out dining room. The hotel is family run so it added a more personal feel with Swiss decor and hospitality. The rooms were newly refurbished and immaculate and quiet. We loved looking out the hotel window at the wild deer who lived in the crop fields in the middle of town. There was a large market in Sankt Valentin with lots of locals dressed in lederhosen & drindel dresses so it provided a very relaxed festive atmosphere we felt lucky to chance upon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The triple room we booked was spacious, had fluffy pillows and the temperature was great. This is a great place run by a family. We'll book again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid breakfast and want to have it at 7:00, went down stairs, but the reception and breakfast room were dark. Nobody was there. A lady came a half an hour later. The breakfast was very basic, the bread was frozen incite and warm on the surface. Will never go there again.

    Location only.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor, esp. for the price of 9 EUR. Had to wait until served and there was no warm meal (fried eggs, etc.). No buffet.

    Very close to the highway on the way to Vienna. Very big rooms. Parking place in front of the hotel on the public parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not so well prepared and the personal has no motivation to work properly in the restaurant. The bed was without plate on the head side that made it no confortable.

    Clean room with new furniture and planty spaces was o good point!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front office staff must be more friendly and learn to greet better the guests. The street-side room is very noisy, because in front of the hotel it is a train station and also the main road.

    Nice, very clean and big room. Comfortable bed, good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff doesn't speak English No air-conditioning in the room Old furniture No fridge Noisy road

    Located in a short drive from the highway Spacious room with separate toilet and bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small thing - most of the people we dealt with had very little English - fine for me as I'm Austrian, but my husband struggled a bit when on his own.

    Lovely staff, very child friendly, paying extra attention to our daughter. Great location just off the motorway, rooms clean and spacious. Will be back if we are ever back in the same area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite used up hotel, needs repair. Overpriced for that condition, but probably because of the location they can overcharge. Breakfast is in the smallest and darkest room (although there are plenty of catering rooms would be available) and had to encourage staff to clean up after previous guests. Nice though that a small restaurant is inside, as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bed had kind of a soft matrace, but this is about personal preferences - and after whole day you fell a sleep in no time :)

    Great place to stay, nice rooms with a great view, really helpfull and kind front desk lady, really good breakfast (many things to choose from, everything fresh). Great value for money and I would definetly go back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was horrible. We had a feeling that a football team of whatever had already eaten everything before we arrived. There was no juice, there was no butter, we hardly could find anything to eat... The refrigerator in the room didn't work well.

    It's really near to the A1 motorway. You can park in front of the hotel for free.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on the road so easy to find but more commercial than tourist hotel I would say

    Convenient location room was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was weird because it was glass and we were the with both of our children.

    Clean, comfortable beds and sheets, big shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was very little selection for breakfast. No eggs left.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked online for 77 £ and when we arrived over there they ask us 140 euro which is not fair . Unpleased experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food:D

    very close to motorway ,nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A good bedroom very silent,good restaurant for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quaet place, near motorway, stop hire every time we travel ,perfect for someone wich is looking for a place for night rest

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to railway, which you will hear all the stay.

    Ok for 1 night stopover. Stuff was helpful and readyvto assist.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To warm and after opening the window to loud. Is located near the railway station.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price a bit too high, considering the locations.

    Very clean, best conditions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly ,good accommodation delicious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor Staff are not frendly I booking something and I received something cheap

    -

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner not working. Staff in restaurant can't speak English

    Good location. Close to motorway

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clima system

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice personal, possibility to have our bicycles locked inside the building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is OK, but in summer very hot in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice big comfy room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast

    very nice room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was close to the highways, great breakfast and very cosy room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast, only a few prepacked items, and we had to wait quite some time before buns, ... were brought

    parking space

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a joke.

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    The staff were very accommodating, the food goof, and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast, I think that's expensive

    Close to the highway, clean and comfortable, friendly staff, no noise, although close to the railway line

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit low on cleanliness. The breakfast was poor. The person at the reception was quite unfriendly.

    Liked the closeness to the highway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Neutral personnel. Noisy company until 1 AM in the open-air part of the restaurant, below our window.

    Less than 2 km far to the highway.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was absolutely unacceptable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and the bed

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea or coffee making facility within the room & the bar fridge was empty & not working.

    The beds were good and loads of space for family of 4.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    After I had a dinner, I was almost about to call Ambulance, I felt seek after I had a Wiener schnitzel and French fries; It had too much oil and salad was an “oil salad”. In the morning, when we went to have our breakfast at 8 o’clock, there was nothing prepared. It was a huge disappointed from beginning to end, I will never go again to this hotel.

    Rooms were clean and hotel very close to highway.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely not nice staff, horrible! When we arrived, they didnd't say anything, didn't open they mouth to just say "hello" or someting, they just put the key on the counter and turn us! We took room with breakfast (8am to 10 am) and when we wend down for it at 9.30 we found an emplty room with no breakfast!!! We had to search for staff, ask for breakfast and one lady (nice one) bring un just cafee and bread marmelade, NOTHING ALSE! HORRIBLE! Quand nous sommes arrivés, meme pas un bonjour ou autre, balancé la clef sur le contoire et basta! Nous avions pris avec petit dejeuné buffet, et bien a 9h30 il ny avais RIEN et PERSONNE! On a du chercher du personnel qui nous a regardé de travers et servis juste du café-pain-confiture! HORRIBLE! On a payé, meme pas un regard, pas un merci, pas un aurevoir, RIEN, pas ouvert la bouche AFFREUX ET HUMILIAN!!!!!!!!!!

    Nothing! Rien!

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing customer service. The owner came to rescue us when we got lost in the fog, and went to their own home to get a baby bed for our littlest. Wonderful family owned place.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did not like the lady that worked on the reception.. She was pritty rude to us, she did not want to speak on english just german. When we came down on breakfast she practicly rude said no you didnt pay and you cant have breakfast and when we said we paid whole price then she went to check it and came like ok you can have with pritty rude aditude... The location is realy realy far from Linc and we drove like 40min... Also rugs in our room is old and smelly and dusty. Hotel is not that bad but that old lady was rude. Breakfast is not that bad...

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast range could be a bit wider.

    Despite the windows look to the train station, it was really quiet. The staff was really friendly and helpful. And the room looked really nice.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When you first arrive it does not look promising with a large railway depot and industrial units across the road. Forget that - once you get inside it is a lovely place to break a journey.

    The evening meal we had was excellent and the hotel décor was very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    on the reception, they forgot to write me a bill

    very big, comfortable and well equipped room, comfortable bad, fine stuff and great choice for breakfast, location very near to the railway station excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some parts of the room and bathroom were not updated compared to the rest of the room and bathroom. Ex: the bathroom seemed to be updated with new tile and floor, but not the tap or the towel hooks, or the light fixtures. this gave a half happy half sad feeling. In the room, the carpets seems to be old and dirty, bu the rest of the walls and curtains, bed linen seemed to be new. Please have maintenance check all the light bulbs every day. There were one light bulb missing in our room, three light bulbs not working in our bathroom and entry light was not working either. These are small challenges that need to be checked and fixed on a regular basis. Took too long for some one to come and greet us at check-in.

    Staff was attentive and friendly. Beds were comfortable and room was spacious. Location was great-very close to the highway.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bin not emptied in bathroom from previous guests otherwise really like this hotel

    Location for stopover near A1, size of rooms (for 3), restaurant for excellent evening meal, reasonable breakfast, good wifi

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Dust in the room

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Couple

    Good location also for transit (about 2 km from motorway)

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I liked everything about the hotel especially the very low cost, curteous staff, and nice room.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Probably the best hotel in St. Valentin. Breakfast starting at 6.00 a.m.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast to limitid.

    Nice place. Confortable room.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice comfort rooms

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location for overnight stop Restaurant in evening Family run

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean, nice to stop by, maybe a few more things for breakfast...otherwise good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the kitchen smell in all hotel areas

    the location near highway the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very convenient to buses, food great, would happily stay again, though church bells were a bit annoying

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were big and very clean. Wonderfull shower. Friendly atmosphere. very quit room. Normal and good breakfast. parking in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good location for stopover Friendly family run Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Receptionist simply handed our keys and said nothing to us. Didnt feel welcomed

    Easy if driving

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one person speaking English

    Near the motorway, Clean, Big room

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    expensive dinner, breakfast is rather poor

    good place for travellers, parking, pleasant owners

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was too cold

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: