Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant zur Post 4 stars

Linzer Straße 1, 3390 Melk, Austria

#2 of 7 hotels in Melk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice clean room comfortable bad very good service excellent location at Melk and also for atound.very nice staff good restorant parking nice breakfast. We were happy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bike I was lent didn't work properly, which spoiled my one afternoon in Melk until I was able to go back and got a new one

    Great location right next to the Abbey. Comfortable room and a delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one should order hot dishes at breakfast (only eggs). We should cross the yard to get into the restaurant with breakfast, at colder season it may be not very convenient.

    Hotel stuff was very friendly. Though our room was changed for a smaller one (because of a party in the restaurant, which might disturb our child), the stay was comfortable and quiet. The price for the room was sufficiently reduced. Child's crib was clean and nearly new. Excellent location! Right in the heart of the historical center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived after an 18 mile hike to find the Post was in the middle of the main square , had seething outside in the sun and had an ice cream shop attached! Superb shakes! Everything oozed professionalism in a relaxed way. The food at dinner and breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was in fact two twins: when people ask for a double bed, this is what they want and what they are paying for: two smaller beds with two blankets are NOT one bed even if they are joined together or glued to each other. The lightning was rather dim and there was no fridge in the room. The room was a bit far from the lift, but the hotel parking was quite far from the hotel so we had to pay for street parking instead. We arrived at the hotel at 10 pm (upon having called and confirmed in advance) and although the place was full of people eating and having fun downstairs, we were told the restaurant had closed and we could not get anything to eat, which was really not ok... 👎🏻

    Awesome location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and nice quaint hotel in the middle of town. Delicious restaurant on site. The staff was very helpful in planning our road trip from Melk to Salzburg.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on 3rd floor, elevator part way, then many steps and long hallways (they did provide lighting in dark areas). Seniors or handicapped would have difficult time. Room ceiling slanted-husband hit his head on slanted ceiling. Room very warm, no AC at this time.

    The staff was friendly. Breakfast was excellent. We also had dinner there one night-prices comparable to area, food excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast food could have been better. bread was somewhat stale, coffee not very good ,and eggs not properly cooked. No English instructions on thermostat which shut off air every two hours . No maintenance available to check it out.

    great location and charming little town. front desk very helpful. Used two of their bikes which were new.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although they state they have free parking, unless you get there early the spots are taken in their garage. That leads you to believe you can park in the spaces outside their garage door. Which led to a parking ticket.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel parking lot is a bit far.

    Staff is very friendly. The lady in the front desk took time to answer our questions even though she's already off duty. Restaurant downstair is delicious with reasonable price. Breakfast is excellent. Room is new, spacious and super comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptionally noisy at night. May have just been the weekend we were there, but did not get a proper night's rest.

    Super nice restaurant and staff, with tastefully decorated rooms. The free bikes were a great addition to the trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent breakfast and meals provided by the restaurant. Besides of its good location, it is qualified to be a 4-star hotel due to its cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long corridors and historic pics some of Austria's Nazi past and next to our room. However they removed this particular one soon after we moved in without our intervention.

    Good location very nice and helpful staff. Comfortable and big room. Rich breakfast and good kitchen!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room rate was quite high (high season of tourism in the Stift Melk monastery?). However this hotel was very good and a visit in the Stift Melk is highly recommended.

    Good location in the middle if the town Melk. The staff was very friendly and helpful in the reception and restaurant. The room was nice and air-conditioned. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really couldn't find fault with anything!

    This hotel was well located for our 2-day drive through the Wachau Valley. Melk is an adorable town and the Abbey (within walking distance) is a must-see. The room (though a bit dated) was very clean, comfortable, and quiet, and we really appreciated the air-conditioning! Staff was welcoming and kind and the restaurant was exceptional for both dinner and breakfast. So pleased with our choice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms can get a little stuffy. We opened our window (with nice view of the Abbey) for fresh air, which kept us comfortable; but air conditioning would be nice during the warmer summer months.

    Very convenient location for visiting the Melk Abbey and the Wachau Valley. Wonderful staff, hardworking and friendly. Nice restaurant in the hotel, with perfect balance of class and comfort, and great food! We loved using the hotel bicycles to ride along the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, in the centre of town, very practical when cycling the Donauradweg. Very nice room and friendly staff. I would really recommend the restaurant, delicious food at very reasonable prices.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was a little soft for us and the room a little warm but didn't spoil our stay

    We enjoyed our stay, were very comfortable and would happily return. The staff and restaurant were great and the parking very convenient

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our time at the Hotel Zur Post. The room was very nice with plenty of space and a comfortable bed. We had plenty light from the window and very nice bathroom. Plenty of closet space. The hotel has dedicated parking which was very helpful. Close to all the restaurants and shops in town and the trail up to the monastery overlooking the town. Just off the Danube River and you have great access to explore the Wachau Valley. The restaurant was excellent, very good good and great choices a very nice outside patio to eat or drink wine on. WiFi was excellent. The staff in the hotel and restaurant were all very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming old building with all the confort you need

    Perfect gem in The center of Melk (run by family Ebner, cheerful and friendly people, speaking good English). Old, traditional building with all the comfort you need

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful. We spent a Thursday evening at this hotel. They opened the upstairs restaurant for our group when there was no table available at the tavern on the main level.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything you needed was an extra cost. 3+ € for a half litre of water? Give me a break. Few bathroom amenities, eg makeup removal pads, shoe shine kit, just shampoo and body wash. Breakfast for 24€ ... A bit excessive. 14€ for a burger, limited a la cart menu. Good thing the adjacent airport had cafes and such. The ONLY reason to go here is for location, otherwise it was very basic and expensive accommodation, TV didn't work at first. No list of channels, in a tv screen or on paper, so you had to surf on channel at a time. Asked for extra coffee pods for the provided machine. Room service never showed up with them.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In advance we preferred a room with a view - got a room with a view to wall/roof. It was not possible to get another room and as a respons to our question on if they had read our wishes concerning view - they told us , that they did not read those in the high season.

    Nice hotel , located in the middel of town

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great little hotel right in the town square. The hotel tables out the front looking right onto the Abbey were a perfect spot for an afternoon drink or a bight to eat. Good service. Breakfast here was very nice and a lovely setting for a delicious dinner as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly helpful staff. Free bikes for our ride along the river to Durnstein. Breakfast included though it wasn't on our booking. Apartment was great and had air conditioner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Electronic safe malfunction. Check operation before inserting valuables!

    Wonderful setting right in centre of old town with view of abbey towering above.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the restaurant attached to the hotel was a little overpriced for dinner compared to restaurants / cafés nearby.

    Location - closeness to Abbey and pedestrian centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place with friendly staff and excellent restaurant and wine recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The whole stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna was amazing after a day of cycling!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was outstanding and staff were a joy to be around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very friendly Frontdesk!! We arrived by bike in the cold, the nice lady offered us to use the Sauna, it was heaven at no additional cost!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view from room, newly renovated room, nice breakfast n dinner, great location, walking distance to all the tourists spots

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Location, parking, polite, helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male server in bar very unpleasant all others were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bells and street noise can be a problem if you like to open the windows

    Great location, clean, modern room with AC. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked an English newspaper & English news on TV

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Loved the friendliness of this hotel. The breakfast was great and the rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning

    Excellent breakfast, great location right in the old city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and availability of bikes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff- parking right behind the hotel- can borrow bikes from the hotel and ride around- close to boats and Abby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margaret and her staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. They made our visit a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the free access to bicycles and the included breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night

    great buffet, location very good for site seeing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small hotel in convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking

    Nice staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small corner where the kids could play while the parents did eat..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok, Excelent location Breakfast enough Romm clean and quiet Parking avalabile and free

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm, homely environment with a great cosy restaurant. Friendly staff. Nice modern bathroom and free covered parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel deserves 7.4 rather than 8.7 Thats why; I have given that point.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern room and amenities, great location, convenient parking and good food. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have different size of bicycles for rent and it gave us a wonderful tool for sightseeing the city

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was excellent and very good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Wonderful!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Category A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a particularly light room- small window

    The location. Nice staff .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water pressure is not very well.

    breakfast is good , easy to go to all the veiw point

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfortable feel well hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good central location in Melk

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely property, nice rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good breakfast buffet. great central location. had their own parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room had view of a wall.

    Great breakfast with bucks fizz nice view of the monastery .lovely new bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They maintain an excellent fleet of bikes perfect for exploring the bike path along the Danube. We really had a great time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, great hotel, nice owners, Great Breakfast! It really did score very high in my esimate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The official check-in time starts at 3 P.M. which seems a bit late. However, in our case this was not an issue since we left our luggage at the front desk and went for a quick Melk tour. Moreover, the room was anyway ready earlier (at approx. 1 P.M).

    The location was great, we woke up to a wonderful view of the Melk Abbey peeking through fog which can be seen directly from the bed. Bike parking in a "bike garage" was available. We tried out the restaurant as well and we were impressed - high quality, a decent price and excellent service. Overall, we had an excellent stay and would gladly come back here next time we are in Melk.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Climate control could have been more responsive. The room was too warm, and we needed to open the window. Fortunately it was quiet!

    The people were lovely, the breakfast was stellar, and the location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was excellent, as was the staff, the location, and the accommodations. We were late for breakfast, not realizing the time, and they were more than kind in getting us food.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful location and the food in the restaurant was excellent - we had a lovely local red wine recommended by the waiter and the service was really good. The rooms are very convenient and when you walk out you are in the centre of a beautiful little town!

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Window was very small. I felt like i am in the basement. Breakfast was ok, but bread were not fresh.

    Restaurant offers nice food. Big enough room and bathroom in such price range. Staffs were kind.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Room was great-extremely clean and well designed and comfortable. Great value for the price. Breakfast definitely a plus too.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Few parking places, not having personel do help with the luggage in arrival and departure.

    Location, breakfast. We also had dinner at the hotel and the meal was very good.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Everything!! The owners were totally envolved, personable, and made us feel as part of their family. The location and facility could not have been better, plus their breakfast and dinner were wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No issues

    Excellent location. We arrived by train, and it was an easy downhill walk to the hotel. Excellent dinner! Don't miss the nice indoor restaurant seating in the back of the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nil

    just opposite to the Stift Melk , great to have a meal at the hotel restaurant enjoying a good view especially in the evening . free bikes provided , very convenient to go for a Danube cycling trip at anytime .

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: