Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Richard Löwenherz 4 stars

Dürnstein 8, 3601 Dürnstein, Austria

#5 of 8 hotels in Dürnstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 190 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lovely view of the old convent garden. This heritage hotel is set in amongst the old village of Dürnstein. We were especially impressed by the complimentary breakfast offered each morning with views of the Danube River.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deco is a bit outdated and the restaurant to have dinner was nothing special to rave about.

    The property is beautiful, the gardens are some of the most beautiful I've seen in a hotel. It has also amazing views of the Danube. The breakfast was very nice. The receptionist was super friendly as well as the other lady whom I think was one of the owners. Both of them were super attentive and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t overly friendly but maybe due to language barrier. A bar would have been nice.

    Lovely old style hotel in a historic building with antique furniture and beautiful public areas. Location is in the heart of Dürnstein but away from the crowds of tourists. Garden is beautiful and terrace has great views of the Danube. Room and bathroom were both enormous. WiFi worked exceptionally well. Breakfast had a great selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Margareta
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located in a small town on the Danube, this hotel has been a favorite of ours for over 15 years. The staff is terrific and facilities are a real historic treat. The food at the restaurant is beyond comparison - they have the best trout we've ever had. The rooms are quaint and very clean with most having a view on the Danube. We have curled up at the fireplace in the lobby sitting area with a wonderful glass of Wachau local wine many a cool night. It is a prime location to explore the Danube towns in the Wachau valley and is very bike friendly. The river boats visit daily. Vienna is but an hour away. It is the ideal R&R venue. We will be back again and again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The village is overrun with crowds and big tour groups in the middle of the day. There are also just a few too many tacky tourist shops that reduce the inherent charm of the place. This was not the fault of the hotel, but the hotel was also not amazing value for money. For such a high price point one expects some extra touches. I thought charging extra for bike hire was a little tacky when I already spent so much on the room. I have stayed at many places in Austria where hotels allow you to use their bikes for free. Breakfast was also fine, but nothing creative or amazing.

    I chose this property over others because of the pool. The pool (albeit very cold) and the garden are indeed lovely. It was also nice that I could use a bike directly from the hotel. The Wachau is a stunning area to bike through.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the car park was a little tight, but we had a big van.

    An amazing, luxurious, historic hotel. Delicious breakfast, comfortable and beautiful rooms, cold but lovely pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the ventilation in the bathroom is set to run continually and therefore disturbing during the day sleeping room has many furnitures from the 80ties. The apricot dumplings in the restaurants , which are charged for 12 Euros per portion , so the triple price for Dürnstein, but there was just so average, the dough was soggy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Margareta
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is wonderful at this hotel.

    This hotel is enchantingly delightful. I highly recommend at least a one night stay here for family, couples or solo travels. The hotel owner and staff could not be more hospitable and gracious. We enjoyed exploring the historical building and grounds of which was originally a cloister for nuns. It looks like a very well maintained castle to me with beautiful rooms for lodging and gardens. The large pool is in the gardens surrounded by the high stone walls of the hotel. The views from grounds, restaurant and rooms are of the Danube River. We stayed in the Suite Margareta which was well worth the cost. It is large enough for a family of 4 if needed. There is a bedroom, large living room suite area with a large balcony overlooking the Danube River. The beds are very comfortable with nice bedding, pillows and the towels are supper soft. The soap and shampoo smells wonderful. The hotel restaurant is a must for dinner for enjoying a view of the Danube River. We ate out on the terrace for dinner and in the dining room for breakfast. Breakfast is included and is delicious with scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, meats, fruits, vegetables, yogurt and associated breads and pastries. We rented the hotel bikes which were great quality bikes. We took the ship to Melk upstream with took 2.5 hours (loading our bikes on the ship) then road bikes back to Durnstein exploring the towns as we road back about 15 miles or so. he view of each town from Durnstien to Melk so beautiful. A must one way or the other or both! The bike ride was very pretty and easy riding the slight incline down hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful area to travel through by car; hotel is located atop a hill overlooking the Danube - great views. The hotel grounds are very pleasant; nice place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was very good; again, the view from the restaurant terrace was great. Breakfast was exceptional, all in all, a place to stop, relax, and enjoy on your trip through this area of Europe.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning in the hotel, but they provided a fan which helped cool us down.

    The hotel was ideally located in the heart of the town. The pool was refreshing and a treat to enjoy, especially given how unusually warm it was when we visited.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant managers attitude. Plus substituting a very expensive wine and not what was ordered.

    Views of the Danube. Spacious traditional room and environment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside our windows, the Danube. The hotel is an abbey filled with the most beautiful collection of images of Durnstein spanning hundreds of years. The building itself is exquisite and rich in history. The castle ruins high above the hotel is a wonderful hike.The food and waiters were 'old world' wonderful, and we ate there each evening, something we never do. Note, they have some sort of dining plan, which would be worth it. The family has owned this hotel for many generations, and everything is ship shape, in fact there are chandeliers made from ships. We fell in love with the place and stayed an extra night. Biking,(hotel will provide you with bikes, reserve them), through the Wachau Valley each day and drinking the amazing crisp wines, paired with the cuisine of the hotel is quite an experience. Enjoy it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was a little pricy, the helpings were a little undersized, and the service a little slow. Not quite up to the exceptional standard of the accommodation, but still a superb location.

    Beautiful, old buildings of exceptional charm, comfort and architectural interest, with furnishings and art works also of exceptional quality and appropriate style and age. Exceptionally beautiful gardens, pool, view and balcony. Lovely breakfast with good choice of delicious food. Quite outstanding accommodation!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not feel much welcome in the beginning by the welcoming lady on the reception - dont know why (maybe because we booked via booking.com?). However, the lady at reception at our check-out was very polite. It is all about people of course, but I would expect that every guest is treated friendly in such hotels. The room could be a little bit cosier. No WiFi available at all in the room. In general - I would expect a bit more comfortable room and hotel for that money paid.

    Very nice and good location in the Durnstein village. Schloss hotel is a nice variation instead of classical buildings. Village very nice and great opportunities for cycling and water sports or hiking. Very good food in the hotel either breakfast or dinner in their restaurant. Elder lady - the owner - was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could really use some late night drinks, there is no minibar in the room.

    Marvellous positioned on the Danube, spotless clean, our Donau Suite had views both to the river and to the pool, the bed was very comfortable, the room was really big.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was closed during the day

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful property. Delicious food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wonderful location + parking, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better pillows

    Buffet was amazing. Bikes perfect.. pool and garden were lovely. Beautiful views. Loved it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not as good. Cooking uninspired and waiter condescending.

    Hotel excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A variety of Breakfast, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great for its location, room comfort, staff, breakfast, dinner restaurant, and swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a little more friendly and flexible.

    we loved the location, building, garden, pool and overall atmosphere of the place!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms really need air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is fantastic. Grounds delightful. Breakfast plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. All staff were attentive and very customer focused. This was my third stay here and will most definitely not be my last.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here many times and never disappointed. Views and rooms are top notch and romantic! Food in the restaurant is superb. The town was alive with Herbst Fest during our visit and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The owner and staff are wonderful. We will stay here again soon!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of a fridge and tea and coffee making facilties (I know this is normal in Austria).

    Historic accomodation on the on the Danube river, perfect location in a great village. Lovely rooms, friendly reception, good quality bikes available for hire, car parking, excellent breakfast and lovely pool and gardens. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room (nº4) had a quite bad sound insulation; we could hear the bathroom's pipings, etc from the next room, and the beautiful wooden floor creaked a lot. The breakfast was a little disappointing.

    Wonderful location in an beautiful old convent, in the heart of the Wachau region. Nice Danube view in a small window. The bed was very comfortable, with excelent pillows and sheets.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apart from the wonderful ambience of the hotel and gardens and the excellent room and evening meal, by far the best part of our experience was the exceptional kindness and assistance provided by the receptionist (Sabina) in helping me locate and retrieve my wallet lost earlier in the day in Melk, even to the extent of persuading the police to bring it to a nearby village

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No airconditioning and it was 88'. Way overpriced for room and in restaurant (e.g. $24 for 6 asparagus spears, boiled potatoes and a few slices of ham),

    location. Historic building with fantastic antiques. View of the Danube. Great included breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant is mediocre but breakfast is fun in the convent.

    Spectacular setting for a hotel that holds true to its origins.Period art and furnishings throughout blend with recent restoration using the best materials. A treat is to have a Donau River view room so you can pity the "prisoners" passing by in cruise ships.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi fi was very weak and we could not connect.

    The position was excellent, in the centre of the beautiful town of Durnstein. The bikes were great and we enjoyed riding along the Danube.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was really delicious - especially the local products! Location is just great! We really appreciated our stay!

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything about it

    Beautiful large room overlooking the Danube River. Cheerful staff. Wonderful Wachsu Vallry location.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, great hospitality and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place and the hotel itself! Great and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi insufficient and unreliable.

    Wonderful property in wonderful location.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view of the Danube from our bedroom window was awesome. The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the internet was spotty and the parking spaces were very tight

    the location, convenience, nice outdoor pool and great lunch,dinner restaurant

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location Castle environment

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, grounds, dining room, river terrace for dinner, close access to river ferries and bicycle trails to nearby towns

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was comfortable & spacious with a wonderful outlook over the Danube. Dinner of high quality and reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, ambience.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location View from my room Very comfortable bed A wide choice for breakfast (I especially liked the freshly baked pastries)

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: