Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apartment Rothensteiner 4 stars

Neustiftgasse 66, 07. Neubau, 1070 Vienna, Austria

#163 of 834 Holiday rentals in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 233 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Quirky, unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking to the city center was a little far. We will take public transport next time.

    Large, comfortable rooms, great, very helpful staff. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice and clean old-school apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean old-school apartments. Room was full of old pictures and furniture. Also staircase and corridors are full of artifacts. They have couple of parking places inside courtyard, they are priced just like other parking lots around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Quiet at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated and dreary looking. Shower on forth floor had weak pressure and the bathroom's exhaust fan didn't work. The room feels like an old people's apartment.

    Quiet at night. The room is spacious and has plenty of appliances. The staff is friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi speed was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    An imperial age heritage property in heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the general areas. Bothroom has a ground glass but it is almost see through & has no latch. Few paintings are very aesthetic but are beyond a kids’ exposure & one might feel they are adult stuff.

    We stayed as a family of four in the Apartment Rothensteiner on Nieustriftgasse, Vienna. The entry to the apartment is through code-lock. Once u enter, you immediately get a feeling of the old imperial style building. The lighting in the entry lobby & floor corridors is minimalist giving you a rather un-expected feeling but the moment you enter the apartment, you realise it is huge, modern yet preserves history. There was a small kitchenette albeit a dishwasher & the washroom is as big as a study room. The main bedroom is huge, so is the living room. The old world charm is preserved in the property. I had a one bedroom apartment along with 3 more single beds to accommodate 5 adults. There is air-conditioning that is reqd in summer months. The windows are double layered to keep sound from the main street under check. IT TAKES SOME TIME FOR ONE TO SETTLE DOWN IN THE IMPERIAL STYLE YET MODERN APARTMENT. I believe the property is run by the rothensteiner family & is owned by them for almost a 1000years. Hence the old-world charm. One shud go prepared not to get shocked expecting what one usually gets in a modern apartment!!! The breakfast is well spread with option of live omelette cooking. At a cost of 10€, it’s a steal in the heart of Vienna. The opera house is abt 20mins walk. There is an indian restaurant abt 5 mins walk which stays open till abt 2300hrs. I think the name is Natraj restaurant. The owner cum manager Ms Bahi Rothensteiner was very warm & welcoming. She didn’t charge for my kids’ breakfast & it is indeed a warm gesture as my kids are 13 & 8 yrs. At chkout, she even arranged to keep my luggage till evng as my flight was at night. Thank you Ms Rothensteiner. You went that extra mile to make us feel comfortable!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel theme, it's not something you will find...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Funny thing, I was not able to find the main light switch also the fridge handle was a bit dirty.

    The hotel theme, it's not something you will find everywhere else.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in the showerhead was a bit low but that's a personal preference, you can still take a shower just fine.

    Everything. Loved the staff, the interior decorations, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bit cold in the room, heating was working not really during night.

    Very nice location close to center. Very interesting furniture in old antique style.Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.6
    Unbelievable place; we will stay again if we can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchen was more limited than we expected; no oven.

    The apartment was extremely large, and the fact that they were located in a former large home gave it a rather palatial feeling. My wife said it reminded her of our stay at the Gritti Palace, although perhaps that's a bit over the top.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    The staff was extremely nice and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We fell in love the slightly old-fashioned atmosphere at the hotel. Beds were comfortable and the rooms spacious. Rothensteiner is a family-run hotel at its best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    beautiful viennese atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the floor is a little noisy. i would have appreciated some coffee/tea in the apartment.

    very beautiful and spacious apartment. amazing location, you can walk everywhere. inside the building there is a lift. in general very comfortable stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Interesting property, kind of out of the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking fee of 25 Euro.

    Interesting property, kind of out of the beaten track. Family owned house with appartments turned to hotel with decoration of the past century.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    As an elderly couple we found the property an excellent base for our stay in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be easier to handle.

    Easy short frequent bus ride to city. Charming, graceful interior of house with interesting furniture and pictures. Excellent lift. Small but adequate kitchenette.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bed with basic cooking equipment , close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood is a bit quiet and lack restaurants nearby

    Comfortable bed with basic cooking equipment , close to center of city like 15 mins walk or 10 mins metro , service of staff is really well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    A step back in time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed very uncomfortable

    A very quaint hotel. A bit like stepping back in time. Each floor full of interesting furniture and paintings from a bygone era.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Over all was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the building! and the price for parking!

    Rooms are large, comfy and clean. Regarding the breakfast is the little cafeteria down the street with very nice breakfast. The hotel is old, with the little smell, but except that is clean and ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    I totally satisfied with everything!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In the bathroom, the mirror was so high for me, I can't see my face without small chair. But bathroom was clean and shower room is cute.

    Excellent staffs, I was so happy to have informations for Budapest from them. Room was beautiful with great view of parliament night light up. Very close to Fisherman's tower. Residents are quiet and safe enough to walk around even in the night. I can recommend everyone to use this accommodation!! My precious memory of Budapest. !!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    Nice place for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to smoke indoor, weak heating system

    Good breakfast, Big livingroom, nice & clean bathroom, secured parking place, vintage design, welcoming staff, good wi-fi strenght

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    Clean pleasant room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the walls between rooms were less isolating and every movement could be heard from the next door.

    Clean pleasant room. The hotel is on a noisy street but nothing was heard in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast room is very dark and slightly depressing, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is very dark and slightly depressing, but otherwise this is a wonderful place with a genuine Viennese feeling

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel should have better staff at reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel should have better staff at reception. The man who received me was ironic and not helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    fantastic & friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fantastic & friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The smell in the main lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell in the main lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Family owned establishment since mid 1800s. Lovely people in a gorgeous city. Thank you!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so comfortable. Nice upgrades and furnishings in general. Gorgeous building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and relaxing. We will come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spacious room, welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Very cosy and wonderfully vintage-y styled house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cosy and wonderfully vintage-y styled house!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    It's like living in a museum.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's like living in a museum. Fantastic atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    City center with onsite parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the parking is little bit tight.

    Big space, nice bathroom. Good for the family with teens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. Very cosy and vintage feeling. Definitely will visit it again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Hotel with lots of character, great location, welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel with lots of character, great location, welcoming hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Great experience, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady owner was extremely kind and helpful, the building itself it's full of history, overall a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay guaranteed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely old time Vienna great atmosphere a character hotel old fashion lift excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice, spacious place. A bit of a walk from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attractive, charming old building. The room was quite spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nice and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Top!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2nd visit in this hotel, it's amazing! Very kind staff. Our 3rd time in Vienna will be there again, for sure!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Great place to stay in Wien.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little bit cold.

    Very big, cosy, elegant flat. Close to centre. Very nice and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    10
    A great stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awesome character, beautiful breakfast, awesome location, perfect

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Grownup family, weekend in Vienna, for Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a family of 5 with 3 grownup daughters wanting to do Christmas markets, it was superb. Plenty of space, 10 mins from the centre, loved it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Cosy Hotel downtown Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Cosy
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (4 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment was very cosy, clean and with a lot of space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    The 5 person room for my family was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three Room Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rothensteiner as the hotel was a real step back in time and nearly Max offered great service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Spacious room in central Vienna with good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs to be refreshed.

    Spacious room with kitchen, centrally located with easy access to a number of sites on foot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Room Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    8.3
    Very neat building and the staff were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The faucet dripped a little in the sink and There needed to be a bit more of a guard for the shower in the tub. There was a nightclub across the street that was noisy late at night.

    Very neat building and the staff were very nice. Loved the architecture, antiques, stairway, breakfast room. There are some good restaurants in the area and it is within walking distance of the city centre. Breakfast was very good, with adequate selections.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    Great location with plenty of places around.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only minor annoyance was the squeaky bed in this quiet surrounding. Nevertheless, I had no issues sleeping.

    Great location with plenty of places around. The building is very nice, peaceful and has a quirky and charming traditional Viennese ambience. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly, gracious and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking is not available at the hotel, but in off-site parking garages or Park&Ride. This applies to all hotels in the inner city. Park&Ride is accessible by bus ride and is very inexpensive.

    Very friendly, gracious and helpful staff. Enjoyed the Victorian decor very much. Spacious room with great amenities. Liked the roof terrace access.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Pretty much everything was just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thin that was weird was the bathroom, which only had a tub, so we couldn't take showers. I know that some older European buildings have tubs like this, but wasn't expecting it. It made things a bit more difficult, especially for my elderly mother. Otherwise everything was fine though.

    Pretty much everything was just fine. It's an older building with older furniture, but that has it's charms. The bed was very comfortable, and that's the most important thing in my mind.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    8.8
    loved access to local shops/cafes/trams and within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The water from shower would leak under partition onto bathroom floor - dangerous!

    loved access to local shops/cafes/trams and within walking distance to city. Bathroom was great clean and modern and warm ( -except for the water from shower which we stopped by putting a towel under the partition) enjoyed the older ambiance of premises.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    good situation;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It`s a pity that there was no microwave to go with the hotplates, toaster etc. That made self cooking a tad difficult [but good local eateries anyway]

    good situation; rather Victorian interior but it was still appealing; very comfortable and good facilities;of special appeal to me was a roof garden in midst of urban Vienna with good views over city where you could eat breakfast whilst admiring the rooftop scenery; very friendly and helpful staff; the free to use computer was also much appreciated; quite good restaurants in easy walking distance; good value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Very kind owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furnishings are outdated, but clean. A 20 min walk to city center, public transport wasn't that convenient to hotel. So maybe count on a 10€ taxi ride to center for dinners.

    Very kind owners. We had a very spacious 2 bedrm apt. Newly renovated big bathrm.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    5.8
    Not what I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not what I expected. Public transportation connection is not so good. The neighbourhood is great but the hotel is located badly inside it. Noisy street. Heavy furniture. Heavy smell. The bathtub was rusty. It's very expensive for what is offered. The hotel itself could at least sell public transportation tickets to make getting around easier.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely traditional feel, the entire hotel is charming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely traditional feel, the entire hotel is charming and reflects Vienna’s atmosphere. Warm welcome, excellent service, very kind and helpful owners and staff. Close to the city centre - walking distance from the main attractions. Thank you for a lovely stay! Best wishes!

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    Vienna
    • Family with older children

    They charged me twice and we agreed they cancel double booking made by mistake without charge.Room service was switching off climatisation it was outside 38 degrees when we came in the evening to room it was very hot and it took half night to cool the room so we couldn't sleep comfortably.Why they switch off climatisation in this heat wave?

    Vienna

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    I booked last minute on a Sunday, the key was there waiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked last minute on a Sunday, the key was there waiting for us and the room was lovely a huge. The rooftop terrace is lovely. It was a great first night in Vienna, hotel was decorated in a very nostalgic way.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Every thing, very large rooms, high ceilings, majestic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    every thing was perfect. May be a little more variety should be for breakfast no complains though.

    Every thing, very large rooms, high ceilings, majestic furniture, personal attention given to guest needs. we had a problem with the AC in the night but it was fixed the next day in spite being a Sunday technical guys must have been difficult to find. The bathroom was fantastic and very modern and very large. Supply of hot water non stop. Our taxi was booked for early morning and arrived on time. Location was just brilliant, 15 min walk away from the main attractions. Staff speaks in English. Will come again definitely.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, makes you feel at home.
    • Family with older children

    wooden floor in bedrooms a little noisy when moving in the rooms.

    Very friendly staff, makes you feel at home. Personalized service. Feel like we have been friend of the staff for years!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    The room we stayed was a 2 bedroom apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The room we stayed was a 2 bedroom apartment. It has 2 toilet and bath. Huge living room/ dining area. Bedrooms are spacious as well.The staff is very accommodating.We feel at home in this place and we'll surely stay again in this place when we come back. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.2
    We like: the cleanness, the order, the hotel old style...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was great, but I would suggest to have more salads, vegetables. Wifi in the room didn't worked. In the lobby was perfect.

    We like: the cleanness, the order, the hotel old style furniture and fashion, the breakfast, the hotel place. Especially we like the staff kindness and service. Many thanks to Bahi (the hotel proprietary) that allowed late check-out. We would choose the hotel again!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    The cost of this hotel provided very good value considering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in could do with a bit of an upgrade.

    The cost of this hotel provided very good value considering it's location when compared to other hotels in Vienna.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    7.1
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel claimed they do not see the special requests made at booking, so my request to have rooms near each other was ignored.

    The location was good. The rooms were beautifully clean. The wifi was solid. The in-room facilities made it possible to have breakfast 'feeling at home'.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.2
    Lovely traditional feel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only negative comment would be that no washing up sponge or liquid was supplied. This was obviously an issue for the previous guest, given that there was a blackened piece of onion still stuck to the frying pan...

    Lovely traditional feel. Staff were really friendly. Yes, the bath/shower set up is not 'modern' but there's masses of hot water and it just added to the ambience.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very friendly and the location was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The closest metro was a little far. The walls were so thin you could hear the slightest noise in the rooms next door. Also, you could feel the springs in the bed

    The staff was very friendly and the location was ok. The hotel is pretty and mansion-like.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Interesting places and people, lots to see and the buildings...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    People a bit pushy and didn't understand the principles of queuing

    Interesting places and people, lots to see and the buildings were outstanding. Underground easy and cheap

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Our stay in this elegant Viennese town house was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our stay in this elegant Viennese town house was wonderful. The owners welcomed us to their home and provided us with a charming, well equipped apartment.The furnishings were delightful, the beds were comfortable, the WiFi was excellent and two bathrooms were an unexpected bonus! I was really looking forward to staying at the Rothensteiner and all my expectations were met. I can't wait to visit again!

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.6
    This hotel was recommended to us by our friends, who stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a bit expensive (however, the same situation is in other hotels near/in the center). There could be more kitchen utilities in the room (but this is not very important if you don't want to cook often). I'd suggest adding curtains/screen to bathtube in bathroom.

    This hotel was recommended to us by our friends, who stayed there some time ago. At the end, I'd say this was a good piece of advice. The hotel is really beautiful and elegant. It looks like museum and totally reflects Vienna's style and athmosphere. The personnel is friendly and helpful. Location is good - walking distance to the center of Vienna. Room is cozy, with comfortable bed. I liked the presence of iron and small ironing board. Overall, good value for money! We'd suggest the hotel to our friends!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    The location of this property is fabulous - the perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location of this property is fabulous - the perfect destination for walking around the city. The staff is very kind and accommodating, even lending me a converter when I realized I had forgotten mine. The apartments are very spacious, and while the kitchen is small there is a stovetop and a mini fridge and some cutlery and pots/pans/plates etc. The property is classically styled and quite beautiful. I didn't explore the rooftop terrace as I came in the winter time but from the photos it looked like a great additional space. The breakfast was good as well! Would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.2
    The interior design is so interesting!
    • Family with older children

    The floor is squeaky.

    The interior design is so interesting!! I suggest to stay at least once in such nice hotel. the servise is good. Location is the best especially you are not the first time in Vienna.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    9.6
    Friendly staff/management;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff/management; near center / Hof; Room with kitchenette; room space; old house; interesting breakfast room; airport service.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was like being transported back to the 1920s but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was like being transported back to the 1920s but with all modcoms.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    Perfect rooms :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect rooms :)

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Every thing

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Location & Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location & Staff

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.9
    big room and the furnishion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    big room and the furnishion.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Always ready to please. You really feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    The friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff was amazing - helpful and friendly.
    • Group

    On a busy road so can be noisy

    Staff was amazing - helpful and friendly. Very clean apartment

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: