Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Rothmayr 2 stars

Margarethen 17, 4020 Linz, Austria

#39 of 48 hotels in Linz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 361 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice stop off point and quite in expensive , perhaps to close to the main road along the Danube also
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The checking is was bit tricky as front door closed and side entrance not so noticeable . English speakers would be a problematic , mostly German spoken but if the outdoor resturant was open and bar then would have enjoyed the gardens more and property .

    Quaint small hotel on the outskirts of Linz , close to everything but many of its facilities were closed during the week , resturant being one of them. Otherwise the room was nice and clean , good internet and easy going owners when met for breakfast the next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    Cold.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was unbelievably cold, sheets were very old and the bathroom was like a small wardrobe.

    Breakfast was OK, the house is placed right next to Danube.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.7
    Not having a lift was a literal pain for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived on a Saturday night about 5:30. (They knew we were coming.) The hotel was dark and the door was locked. They finally answered after we rang about 4 times. They speak very little English, and the restaurant was not open. Also, there is no lift. It's an older building and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was good. It's close to the bus stop, and not far to walk to town (if you visit sometime other than December.) But, really, not having a lift is a big deal, and having very little English was also a problem.

    Breakfast was good. The room was clean, if basic. There was also Wi-fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    The staff made us feel like we were family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff made us feel like we were family. The facilities were as warm and welcoming as the staff. The view from our room was marvelous. We enjoyed the great proximity and access to the city and area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Good breakfast buffet and fabulous restaurant for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good breakfast buffet and fabulous restaurant for the evening with a great menu. Although a bit out of town, the bus to the city centre is around the corner. Beautiful walk over the forested hill starts behind the property with views down to the river. Lovely and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    A good stopover location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed repainting. Mats slipped about on wooden floor. The 5 large erotic paintings were not quite what we expecting!!

    Cheerful staff. Good bathroom facilities and comfortable bed with lovely bedding. Modern restaurant where we had a tasty meal served by a lovely waitress.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    2.5
    Not recommended! Cold, smelly, old and neglected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating installation didn't work, was cold all night, its far away from the city. In the room was an unpleasant smell. The bed linen was old and the staff was unfriendly. Also the house was old and neglected.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.3
    Spectacular food
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the room was no smoking, smoke did come up the stairway to the room from the restaurant below. The room was not as quiet as we would have liked.

    Food was absolutely amazing. Everything was delicious. Fresh salad, with great balsamic dressing, herbed chicken with dumplings in a pumpkin sauce and a wonderful pancake with cranberries for dessert. Breakfast was equally fabulous. Definitely a place to stop for any foodie. Cute room. Clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    2.9
    Disgusting experience ever. Don't go there. Find another accommodation in Luz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male staff looked like the owner of the hostel, and he was extremely rude for us. When I first met him, he explained the rules like other staff who we can see commonly. He added that they will close the kitchen at 9 P.m, and showed it to us. After my wife and I purchased something to cook for supper, we entered the kitchen. Within several minutes, he also entered there and said "No! No! You go out! Here is for the restaurant of this hostel." and expelled us out of the kitchen. He should have kindly explained that the kitchen is for the restaurant, and kindly asked us to leave. But he didn'T. I complained to him about the rude manner. After few minutes, he came to our room and told us to leave the hostel in 30 minutes, even though my wife is pregnant. I said to him "How can I find another hostel? It is too late." He said "You need to search, there are many hostel in Linz." I said "Please let us stay here. We would not make any trouble, so please." a man looked like his father also came and tried to calm him down. He eventually let us stay there. In the following morning, after breakfast of which the price was included, we left there as soon as possible.

    The served hams were tasty when I had breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Fantastic , clean , room was big and airy with lots of windows and power points. Right on the danube. Food and service were fantastic. Very reasonably priced. They also allowed us to park.our motorbikes in their private garden . Recommended

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.8
    Cosy little hotel by the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a smell of cigarette smoke everywhere on the premises even though it is supposed to be smoke free. Someone of the staff probably smokes in the house (?). Bathroom was small and not exactly spotlessly clean. The bed was a bit too soft, floor squeaked loudly.

    Nice view of the river, quiet despite the location next to a busy road, within walking distance to city centre, bus connection also.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit far from the town with little nearby

    The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I walked from the town, it is a long way with a case - take the bus

    Very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How they made me pay twice

    The staff and price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Great food prepared freshly on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not very big

    Great food prepared freshly on site

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closed restaurant

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    All was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Overnight business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. The food was rrally and the dessert was amazing - served with homemade Mango Sorbet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress too soft

    Staff very friendly, clean and tidy rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.5
    quiet, economic alternative
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi strength was not good in the room, average breakfast

    Friendly staff, distance to the not so frequent public transport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    Nice little guest house just a short stroll from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a 20 minute stroll to Linz hauptplatz. Clean, comfortable and a good breakfast. Free parking definitely a bonus!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast was not amazing, but acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Upon arriving, I found myself in front of a locked door. Trying to speak German with the hotel manager on the phone, he gave me instructions on how to enter in a rather rude manner. After arrival, I found the room clean, but kind of smelly. The location is also inconvenient: it's next to a large road (the Donau is behind the road!) and too far from the center of Linz.

    Breakfast was not amazing, but acceptable.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    4.2
    The room was comfortable, warm and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host can't speak english and no other language apart from german. The service and the welcoming overall. The breakfast. The Gasthaus is overall oldfashion.

    The room was comfortable, warm and big.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    It was a comfortable, quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a comfortable, quite place. Great food. Perfect for our needs. We were traveling by car so the location worked out well for us. We did sightseeing in the city during the day and had quiet evening.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    The room was large and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lady looking after the breakfast buffet was smoking in around the corner from us as we were trying to eat. The walk into Linz wasn't great along a busy road on an at times narrow footpath.

    The room was large and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    5.8
    The other staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The male staff member (owner maybe?) was extremely rude! We were trying to have dinner and drinks at the outside seating but after the 12th wasp at our table tried to move to the seating inside and were yelled at. Location is not convenient unless you have a car as there is not a sidewalk all the way into town.

    The other staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    8.8
    Staff was really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No easy alternate means of travel into Linz, had to drive.

    Staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was very nice and had a double bed. Even though the room was overlooking the road and the river with the windows closed there was next to zero road noise. Breakfast in the morning was good.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    6.7
    Good wifi, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant only cash payeble. Again they block your creditcard at the moment of booking for the amount to pay. when you check out, again they block the same amount on your credit card. So several days the room is double blocked. If you try to explain that, they do not listen and interupt you. It was my second and last stay here.

    Good wifi, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    7.5
    Very good WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small showen cabin. Pre-autorisation on credit card directly at booking. The money is blocked from booking until paying.

    Very good WiFi. Good bed. Nice staff. Restaurant good.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    8.8
    - Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - You need to drive to the city center - No elevator

    - Great breakfast! - Very friendly staff (even she doesn't speak English at all) - Free parking - Comfort and cozy - Good location IF you have a car

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    7.1
    its a clean, simple hotel, not far from city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    money/value it is good enough

    its a clean, simple hotel, not far from city center

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    The friendly staff and great accommodation including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly staff and great accommodation including restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    4.2
    Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very cramped. Wifi did not work. Restaurant was not open. Did not speak any English.

    Free parking

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Lovely bright room and excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely bright room and excellent breakfast. Friendly owner. View of the Danube from our window.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    5.8
    Proche de Linz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Chambre très petite et salle de bain minuscule

    Proche de Linz

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: