Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Rotspitz 3 stars

Eggweg 5, 6212 Maurach, Austria

#10 of 13 hotels in Maurach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 513 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value for money. Hotel is situated very close to the Aachensee. Rooms are clean. Food is great and everybody will choose an ideal dinner (soups, plenty of salads and cheese, main meal, several desserts, etc.). You can also enjoy a free sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    We found this hotel through Booking.com and we now know where our stay overs will be in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was actually nothing we didn’t like

    Unfortunately we arrived late due to adverse weather conditions but the restaurant and staff still organized meals for us and a very welcome beer. Everything from the Reception on arrival ,service, , room ,food and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Good. We sould go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - You cannot pay with a EC/Creditcard!!! - Sauna is really small for this size of a Hotel. 4 People inside is already full. - You definetely need a car to go somewhere. 10 min. driving from the Achenkirch Ski Region. - If you wanna book half board you must do it in the booking. com. On-site is not possible anymore. On-site you can order only from the menu. - This is really subjective but for me personally the pillows were much too soft.

    - Food in the restaurant was really good. - Sauna Area - Really clean - You get water for free in the sauna and on the floors - The owner is very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    It’s a convenient hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed isn’t very comfortable, especially the pillows are too flat.

    There are many choices for breakfast. I like the breakfast! The dinner is just ordinary, some main dishes are too salty. Salad bar is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent stay and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My single room bed was pretty old and creaky but there was work going on to update some rooms.

    The location was excellent, breakfast was also decent and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely traditional style Alpine hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. The hotel has a cash-only policy but there's a bank nearby and I didn't find it a problem.

    Excellent location in quiet surroundings with lovely views. Lake and lift a short walk away in opposite directions. We travelled by train to Jenbach and then local bus - free to guests - which stops at Sonnalp, close to the hotel. Traditional alpine decor and furnishings - you could spend a wet day looking at the antiques in the corridors. Nice room with seating area and balcony. Excellent breakfast buffet and evening meal on the half board arrangement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.9
    Pretty area, cozy facility, internet??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I may have missed it , but they did not take credit cards in restaurant or for rooms. Would have been good to know that beforehand. Internet for us only worked in common areas

    Nice quiet sleep. Restaurant was very good both at breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.4
    Nice days turned into nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived home we noticed that we are covered with bed bug bites. My legs, hands look awful, my wife is also covered with hundreds of red big spots. The room was incredibly infected with bed bugs. I hope we did not bring them home.

    Nice stuff, great breakfast, good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Hidden Gem unless you need a wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared, password free Wifi literally not usable unless you wake up at 3am; I work remotely so this was a big issue until I got onto 3G via mobile network

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    * clean, cozy and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    * cards are NOT accepted on the property. Everything is paid with cash ! * only one liquid soap dispenser embedded in the sink * poor and slow internet connection * menus are in german only * same breakfast buffet every day * AchenseeCard (= guest card) was not free - as advertised, but 2.5 euros

    * clean, cozy and quiet * very good service (room and table) * tons of printed information at the reception

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    I wish we had stood a week longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky to find the last parking lot when we arrived to the hotel.

    - Very very kind staff - if you thank something a 1000 times, they will thank you once even more - Nice big room with extra comfortable bed, lots of wardrobes, would recommend for stays even longer than 10 days - Friendly restaurant with a little Alps - Bavarian impression, a huge variety of foods, which are delicious - We had a table waiting for us with our family name written on it when we went to dinner / breakfast. I find this a very nice gesture. :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    we enjoy wellness after whole day driving in car, breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    we enjoy wellness after whole day driving in car, breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff and excellent rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff and excellent rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice overpriced avrage traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is very very poor No kettle in rooms Check out is 10 AM !! Breakfast is only from 8 - 10 AM

    Traditional hotel and nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wish we could have stayed more than two nights.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Would like to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and a very nice view from the room. Kind and helpfull personel. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All menu was writen in German, we would apriciate small description in English. Not possible to pay credit card for whole accomodation. Some dinner could be more helthy and with vegetable too.

    Breakfast was great!, In some day they offer dinner on Swedish table that is perfect. Good situated hotel to the local ski lift. 500m from hotel. There will enjoy skiing beginners and intermediate skiers. For good skiers 20min by car to hoch Zilletal.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    2.9
    Few rhings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff very unpolite and info only in gernan language, absolutely to avoid, staff not customer care oriented. I was very upset of the way of working of this hotel. Very very bad

    Few rhings

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    6.3
    Location and spa were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had very bad experince with waiting staff.Only spoke german even advertised as english speaking but not even word apart from owner.Half board dinner menu and all info about hotel only in german.When I spoke to owner about english he got very angry and said I speak english if you want something come to me.Different treating for german guests and us.First night they sit some strangers to our table and had great lough in german on us.Felt really bad and nobody should be treated this way.When we asked whats on the menu they told fish or fish or pork snitshel.Not able to join any activities as nothing was in english.Shame on you mr owner as translation would take you few minutes and english guest would be happy.Very hard to order your food as they even did not know what medium rare is so had to go to owner and ask him.Would not comeback.If you speak german go for it if not you better off somewhere else.

    Location and spa were good.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    8.3
    Hotel is looking much better than on the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal try to make you schedule.( breakfast, dinner)

    Hotel is looking much better than on the photos. Everything was clean. They have the best trout for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    7.5
    We had a room with a balcony on the south side, this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant is somewhat strict in opening hours (dinner between 18.00 and 20.00). Personnel starts cleaning, taking away the buffet and preparing tables for e.g. breakfast while we were still at the table.

    We had a room with a balcony on the south side, this was excellent for relaxing in the sun. The breakfast buffet is really good and the personnel very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.5
    Good location and accessible to village, nice views,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Decor in hallway was a bit over the top with antiques occupying the hallways. The lights in the hallway only turn on once you are halfway down the hall, making it an obstacle course to manage. A daily paper is given to ley you know the events, unfortunately only in German. Would be good if they had an English translation. Evening dinner is very pricey, and not much on offer to eat.. Better to eat out.

    Good location and accessible to village, nice views, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.1
    Rooms very nice and well appointed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last orders for dinner in the restaurant 19:45 - much too early! They don't take credit cards! I didn't know this when I booked it, or I would have booked elsewhere. This hotel should move into the 21st Century!

    Rooms very nice and well appointed; staff very friendly, and the food was very good indeed.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    A very nice hotel, calm and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very nice hotel, calm and relaxed. The kitchen is very good, world class! The staff is very kind. The hotel is close to the lake and to the mountains. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.3
    The hotel was very close to the lake and cog railway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was one of the attic rooms however although very nice, the walls very so thin that you could hear the people talking in the next room, and also when they were having a shower. Also the hotel is close to a main road, so if you are a light sleeper I would recommend earplugs.

    The hotel was very close to the lake and cog railway. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. View of the mountains from the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.3
    Nice and comfortable, easily reached by foot, car or public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Payment by card not possible (be prepared for several trips to the ATM when staying longer).

    Nice and comfortable, easily reached by foot, car or public transport as needed.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.9
    Great breakfast, nice wellness area, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, nice wellness area, comfortable room. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Everything about this B & B ticked the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike - but take CASH as no credit card facility

    Everything about this B & B ticked the boxes

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    9.2
    The village was very nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist was not able to communicate in English

    The village was very nice

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel Perfect holiday in a great location Hotel staff is amaazin Everything was great,

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We need to move to another partner hotel ´cause they were full.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    Big, comfortable, clean room, great wellness area, rich...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Big, comfortable, clean room, great wellness area, rich breakfast.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: