Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwarzer Adler Innsbruck 4 stars

Kaiserjägerstraße 2, Innenstadt, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria

#22 of 66 hotels in Innsbruck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1477 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we didn't like.

    The staff was friendly, the city center is only a short 5min walk away, and the room was great. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the waitresses during breakfast was very rude. Owner shall take care during recruitment.

    Breakfast was good & elaborate & everything else was at walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could use a shower curtain, it's near impossible to shower without flooding the floor.

    The staff was very kind. There's even a sauna in the hotel that I didn't expect in what looks like an old house in downtown Innsbruck. Parking is next door in a public garage but you can pay for it at the hotel with lower rates. The room was XIX-century-Austrian-pretty with some interesting sculptures like a naked man next to the bathtub.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a bit upset how hotel changed since 2004 when it was really a Romantic place. The service it offers is less then it was expected from it. Even the décor in the rooms and especially of the bathrooms weakened since then. The interiors of the rooms don’t look Romantic and stylish from Tyrolean point of view. It’s just a typical hotel of 3+ range hotels.

    Location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen did not hold the water and would overspeal in the floor. No tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Staff was ultra helpful Room was gorgeous Bed and pillows were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is nice, but there are really no other quality restaurants close by than the one in the hotel. Rooms could be updated a bit in terms of the bathtub and some of the furniture, which was a bit wobbly. Finally, I know it is a historic building, but this hotel really should offer a water kettle and some instant coffee guests can enjoy on the balcony in the morning.

    This hotel is very nice and family-owned. Location is quite good, although the neighborhood that has grown up around the hotel is not quite as nice. Short walk to the old center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is just too hot. I actually favor things on the warmer side but it was crazy hot, even with the window wide open and AC. For the price point, it doesn’t seem reasonable to not have a better ventilated room

    Timo, check in reception,was incredibly friendly and helpful. Location was very central. Room was lovely. WiFi worked well. Shower had good pressure and hot water. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast partially seemed to be leftovers from the day before (dry croissants for example)

    The location was great. Close to everything amd quiet as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A kettle in the room would be really nice.

    We loved ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING! This will be our only choice when we come back to Innsbruck. Thank you, guys!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was extremely impressed with the attention they gave to every detail. From the receptionist to the hotel and room decor to the excellent breakfast buffet, everything was fantastic! I highly recommend this hotel if you enjoy staying at a place that infuses history and culture with a very comfortable stay. The outside large public area on the 2nd and top floor were both another wonderful surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heating was too hot, could not control it except for opening balcony door. Perhaps it’s because it’s spring and the heating hadn’t been reduced yet

    Little balcony with nice view to the mountains. The restaurant for dinner was very very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Temperature control - spent a very uncomfortable and sleepless night as it was too hot in the room and the thermostats not seeming to work.

    1) Location is fantastic 2) Booked a deluxe room - very spacious, clean and with a view of the mountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was fabulous but Elizabeth , the waitress was rude and not very accommodating even though we ordered wine -app -dinner. Not what we expected considering the rest of the people we nice.

    Sabrina at front desk was amazing! Classic room was larger than the upgrade room so we stuck with the classic. Parking garage just around corner and easily accessible to hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Whilst the room had very lovely chairs to sit on they were extremely uncomfortable but I used my duvet and pillow to make it more comfy as I don't like laying on my bed all the time. We had paid for a room with a completely different description so was surprised to be allocated this room. When I raised it with the staff they were more than happy to change rooms for us but my husband didn't want to by then. (I did as it had a stand alone shower and lovely bay window with seating). Not the end of the world but I struggled getting in and out of the shower/bath due to an injury. In addition they have a squeeze bottle for the shampoo/hand soap which I found difficult to squeeze so more frail people may struggle too. Once refilled there was no problem. I like a good old bar of soap personally but this is simply a minor issue and shouldn't change your mind re staying here. We would have loved to use the fireplace which I was told we could but when we asked staff for a bit of a safety brief and how to use the flue etc, they didn't know how to operate it which was a shame as it would have just added to the ambience of what was already a lovely room and great stay.

    Lovely quaint hotel. Spacious room and bathroom with separate toilet on 5th floor. Small windows but two aspects to look out to with magnificent views of the snow covered mountains. A beautiful fireplace that could be used if desired. Warm cozy room and extremely comfy bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is not very good and the pillows are uncomfortable

    Very cute hotel, well located close to the old town and the central station. Very good breakfast,and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious with big bathrooms too, all very tidy and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's little bit dark and old fashioned. The bar on picture doesn't show it's a very little old bar.

    Location is all right. Staff friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot to sleep. No tea or coffee making facilities in room- I know this is usual in Austria. Bottled water in room but added cost. At the price of the room and the lack of tea making facilities this is penny pinching! Breakfast €16 - Ok if you want a leisurely big breakfast but too much for a quick bite and coffee before going to airport

    Comfy clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable and could not fault the hotel at all . Very friendly staff and excellent location for the town . We would stay there again in the future

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was maybe a little to warm for me.

    Lovely hotel with wonderful staff. Centrally located in the beautiful city of Innsbruck. Easy to get there from the airport ( about 15 euro ). We did lots of trips to the Christmas markets and met the Krampus, drank lots of gluhwein and ate too much currywurst. The main railway station is a short walk away so took the opportunity to get in some day trips to Italy and Germany via the fine European rail system.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are the stars in this hotel, really welcoming and knowledgable, it's a lovely old building and really is only 5 mins walk to the christmas markets in the old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact the staff decided at 12 midnight until nearly 3 am to move furniture directly under our room after a function that night was bad we stayed awake until 4am and we were supposed to be on holiday . I even went downstairs to complain but the scrapping of chairs and staff talking continued. Also our bed creaked with every slight movement we have stayed here before but not sure about the future. To be fair the reception did offer us free breakfast for our trouble but we declined being too exhausted to eat

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Slight smell of smoke, but that soon went after a day (my room happened to be above a bar so perhaps that was why I could smell smoke).

    Nice airy room - with fridge. Bathroom included a bath. Good to have dressing gown and slippers included. Large cupboard space - and area for hanging coats. Although rooms did not include a kettle, they gave me one on request. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception and hotel is closed after 11pm. Upon arrival I had to call a number to get the code to a safe from which i could collect my room key. TV was strangely placed (far from any comfortable place from where to watch it), but I did not use it so it was not a problem.

    Good breakfast. Relatively quiet room even though it was on main road. Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpark was quite near - but also quite expensive!

    The welcome was exceptional, both for me and my dog. The room was superb - quiet, comfortable and with an enormous terrace (with mountain view). The breakfast was delicious, and I was able to take my dog into the breakfast room with me :) The whole staff were friendly and approachable/smiling. The experience was altogether very good indeed and I shall definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was exceptionally dark as the floor lamp that provided most of the light was broken. After numerous contacts with the staff, a maintenance man finally took the lamp to repair and an hour later brought it back still broken. Spent the two nights in very dim light from small table lamps. Upon checking out, the front desk refused to adjust the bill.

    Boutique Hotel conveniently located in Innsbruck. Beautiful view of the Bergisel Ski Jump in the distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t have breakfast as at €16 per person it looked a little pricey.

    Good location: very close to main station and old town (although Innsbruck is rather small anyway). We made the most of the Spa (sauna, steam room, relaxing beds), complimentary robes in the room were very luxurious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service in the restaurant was (very) slow and not really professional, but the served food was of excellent quality.

    The hotel is located in a nice and historic old building, all necessary facilities are given, the staff is friendly and there is a good restaurant on the ground floor. The bed has a very good size and fine linen. The size of the room and of the bathroom was just right. Breakfast was very good with a big choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shabbiness of the overall hotel. Not decorated very nicely and felt dated and shabby.

    The location was very good, although on a fairly busy street, it was very close to the old village (alstadt) and so the convenience was good. They have a bar and a breakfast, the breakfast was good. The Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The hotel itself is a little bit dated and a little bit 'shabby' feeling, but the room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was not very interesting compared to many other hotels we stayed in the last few months.

    An excellent position close to the old town. An interesting hotel and would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar closed both on our day of arrival and on a holiday a few days later; needs renovating; impossible to cool down the way too hot room even though they supposedly have air conditioning (they said they had just switched it off); mini bar very poorly stocked - nothing to eat; the breakfast we ordered in rhe room came 20 mins too early, while one of us was still asleep

    Nothing much - but fir those who like kitsch, the empress’ suite (where we stayed) might be fun. There were crystals everywhere. Quite wild.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar staff were not very friendly, could be related to customary behaviour, that is in my country it is customary to tip wait staff. I did not realize this may be an insult in Austria. I think it would be helpful if the hotel was clear up front about their tipping policy. One other facility-related thing, the plug for my bath tub did not work the entire time I was there even though the staff tried to fix it the first night.

    The balcony and view, nicely decorated room, overall pleasant helpful staff, cute bar, good food, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    15 min walk from the station, a bit far from the city center, but not a deal breaker.

    Traditional countryside atmosphere, nice decor, big room, strong wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning during our stay (October), and college kids and road noises made it impossible to open windows.

    History! Neat place, nice old rooms...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room somewhat on the small side, shower a little old fashioned- yet all very functional and clean!

    Friendly, clean, excellent central location in a historic building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a very nice and stylish hotel in an excellent location. The old city and the Imperial Palace are just around the corner. The room (Versace Suit) had two floors with a living room and a bathroom downstairs and a bedroom upstairs. Small fridge, minibar and two tv sets. Bathroom was well equipped and impeccably clean. The bed was very comfortable. Staff is very polite and nice, good breakfast and a nice on site restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday and the restaurant and bar were closed, along with many of the other places in the city.

    It was a very nice room and the hotel seemed to have many amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was nice to stay at a hotel with historical charm. Swarowski Crystal decorations in the bathroom and antiques in the hallways were charming touches. Convenient location to Old Town and transportation. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator a bit small, room could be more spacious. Sad that restaurant on site was closed.

    Nicely styled room with a clear brand, great TV, friendly staff, good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money. I like that they keep the traditional look of the hotel, including the uniforms. As I was just staying there to sleep, I cannot really leave a more in depth review of this property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bedside lamp. The hotel seems to be showing its age a bit.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's no kettle for tea/coffee? No complimentary water? The TV is huge, but it's mounted to the wall, and the inputs are all on the back and unreachable - so couldn't plug in my laptop to watch a movie. (who watches cable now???) The main light didn't work.

    The bigger rooms are really nice, with a small balcony with a view over the mountains. Really liked the room, was very well appointed, nice and bright. Sauna is nice. Bed comfy, very clean. Big, thick bathrobes provided for the sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location perfect, nice staff and great room (business suite 406). If you want a good place to stay in Innsbruck search no longer - this is a no brainer. Parking in public garage just next to the hotel. On check out you get a reduced price for the parking. The hotelbar is a must-see; the seventies all over again! Nothing to complain!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shabbiness of the entrance. I asked and paid for a room with a city view; I got a room on the back of the building. Quite overpriced. A part from the facade, the hotel is completely renovated, in a very generic way. The furnitures are fake copies of real antiques. No charme at all.

    The location. The kindness of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my matress was a bid "dented" i guess. didn't bother me but if 2 people would have slept in the bed it might have been anoying

    The rooms were pretty and the breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor - broken bowls Food was displayed so poorly we couldn't think about eating it. Apples and oranges were rotten. Breakfast service girl was very stressed. Bit far to walk to old town.

    Great royal theming in our suite. Even if a bit kitch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was not cleaned. We are non smokers and when we arrived, our balcony had an ashtray which was full of cigarette butt ends. It was not emptied during out five day stay. The balcony doors needed cleaning too, not the glass, the external frames. The breakfast buffet was not topped up, we went down to breakfast at about 9.15 to 9.30 and found lots of the buffet very depleted, no choice of fruit, no pastries left, cheese completely gone, no choice of yoghurt left. Earlier guests had started with a good choice and left a poor choice for later guests. We also had to ask for top ups of lotion and cottonwool in the room. There was no problem to get them, but they were not automatically replaced when used, which made a problem for me as I forgot to take my own cottonwool this time. These small could be addressed to make this lovely hotel perfect, and I would still stay again.

    We liked that the hotel was within easy walking distance of the old town, but was outside the old town in a quiet location. Our room was lovely, a superior room on the top floor with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The breakfast buffet had a good selection providing you are down early to access it. Nadia, the breakfast waitress is excellent, she brought us freshly cooked eggs every day, and remembered the things we liked. We chose the hotel because it is a traditional, family run hotel and because it looked, and felt traditionally Austrian. Our room was cleaned daily, and was kept very clean by the maids. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have privacy if i opened the window. (2nd floor) it was some balcony for many rooms.the toilet made some noises.

    Loved the location. The room was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no coffee or tea facilities in the room even though their was a kitchenette not even a kettle to boil some water. Because i book our room, a double room, apparently, "single use" which means 1 person, never have i seen this in my life so not only did we have to pay for a 2nd person but also a 2nd person for breakfast. Breakfast was rather ordinary and certainly not worth the 16euros extra.

    We arrived early so our room was not ready, Reception were very kind and gave us an upgrade to a junior suite which was beautiful . The property was extremely clean and staff friendly. A beautiful 500 year old property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only cons were the parking and our room on the top floor was hot so we kept the door opened for air circulation.

    This was a nice hotel for our one day stay - walking distance to the Bodensee and good value for the money. Hotel staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived on a friday evening and they have a weekly event at their bar. As a result it was difficult to access the entrance of the hotel, not to mention the loud music. Maybe a success with young people, but not a way to welcome guests. I thought I was entering a disco! They should arrange for the entrance to the hotel to be free.

    the location as it is only a few blocks from the old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I have to squint to find a negative point, my room was on the road in front of the hotel and it got slightly noisey during the late evenings. I sleep through everything so it didn't bother me at all, but if you are sensible to noise I'd suggest to request a quiet room :)

    I'd love to state first thing that I travel A LOT for work and I always stay at some top class enstablishments around the world. The Schwarzer Adler surpassed all of them in all details. Great customer care (they spoke fluent English and some of the staff fluent italian), the structure is clean and elegant and the location is extremely central, not even 5 minutes walking from the Imperial Palace! The restaurant was delicious, I stopped for dinner and it was so good! And the price is absolutely fair. I also used the spa and massage options - the spa was incredibly clean and the masseur extremely professional. I'll be sure to be back again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast was too expensive. We had breakfast in this fantastic little bakery opposite the hotel for less than half price what the hotel charged. There were no coffee making facilities in the room.

    Location. The hotel stuff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they are indeed one of the best in their industry..we stayed in their Versace suite and it totally gave us a feel of being in the swaroski city...its very conveniently located and the staff is very kind and helpful it should be the place to stay when in innsbruck

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Schwarzer Adler is a beautiful example of the culture of the Tyrol. Everything is just so to exemplify crafts and designs of the area. There are exhibits of dolls or Tyrolean clothing in the cases in the halls. Would recommend for those who have just one day to experience this region. The rooms were on a quiet courtyard, even though the hotel is on a city corner. The restaurant menu emphasized local specialties. They subsidize the public garage parking a bit as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted by the most wonderful and welcoming receptionist, Barbara. Being the first person we spoke with, she was extremely helpful and informative. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Innsbruck is a beautiful city, we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful receptionist who got it right for me on restaurants, friendly and fun. Loved the location and with a view of the mountain it was a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Parking for our vehicle

    This hotel is central located, which is super. Cleanliness and comfort are great (A1). We only stayed for the 1 night, but i will definitely go back there when i am in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive ....bar prices eye watering

    We had Avery comfortable room with a waterbed.....we had asked to be moved because the intense noise from next door of a dog barking which had been left on its own. The staff responded quickly to our complaint and moved us to a quiet room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature could only be lowered by opening the window. This helped us sleep except when the University students were celebrating out on the street.

    The staff was friencly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient parking next door but you have to pay extra (albeit a little subsidised by the hotel). I think about 12 Euros for 24 hrs.

    Good location for Old Town. Excellent restaurant. Charming place and staff, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working and had to climb four floors we wdfeu not told when workimg again.

    Really beautiful hotel great location we were on the 4th floor so had great mountain views. Staff very helpful and dressed in tradional costume. The restaurant was lovely and the food was dellicious however quite pricey a bit disappointed we were charged a service charge when we were already staying at the hotel so we had to find some cheaper to eat the other two nights as only had a limited budget. Other than that loved the hotel and would go back. Breakfast really good and all locally sourced food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot, we had to keep the windows open most of the time. Expensive breakfast option (16€ per person) which we did not take, since we normally prefer to explore other local businesses.

    It is very traditional hotel. In fact, each member of the staff was dressed in traditional customs.The staff were helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was about 5 minutes walk to the old town and 10 minutes to the train station, It is very convenient. There were a lot of restaurants and bars nearby. The decoration of the room is very traditional with good sized bathroom and the bath tub was amazing, there are slippers available. Very comfortable bed. The place had a definite "luxury feel". There is a small and cozy spa area, very recommendable. The Wi-Fi in the hotel has a strong signal.The hotel was full of Swarovski Crystals, too much for our pleasantness. In general, we loved our stay here, the city is marvelous.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decorative dolls around the stairs, the room was too hot and the A/C didn't work. Smoking in the bar, as it is a small bar smoking soon makes the place uncomfortable.

    The staff were friendly and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was very little we did not like about the hotel, the only thing for us was that we were unable to use the very small bar as there is still smoking permitted inside in Austria and this made the tiny bar extremely smoky for non-smokers and very unpleasant for us, we had to leave on the first night with both staff and visitors smoking and we did not return. The rooms and the restaurant were extremely hot, very unpleasant in our opinion, and we did speak to others about this, it did stop us eating at the hotel again until our last night despite the food being excellent, we ate the last night on the proviso that we had a table by the door! The room temperature was decreased by the staff, but it was still so hot we had to keep the windows open at all times, but sadly, not the hotels fault, the street below was incredibly noisy all night with people shouting, cars and road sweepers at 6am! With the windows closed the rooms was quiet, but for us the room was too hot to have the window closed. Sadly this did mean we had most nights disturbed.

    The hotel is extremely traditional, right down to the décor and the food, all of which was amazing. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the hotel was full of Swarovski Crystals, including the tiles in the bathrooms which were lovely. The food both at breakfast and in the restaurant was fabulous with mainly traditional dishes which were exquisite. The location of the hotel was about 5 minutes walk to the old town and 10 minutes to the train station, there were buses outside the hotel and trans ran nearby (we didn't use them so not exactly sure how close). The bus to Swarovski Kristallwelten Wattens left from Congress station as did the train to Huntingburg and this was about 10 minutes walk away. There were a lot of restaurants and bars nearby and a grocery shop just outside. The hotel was very comfortable, the rooms very traditional with good sized bathrooms, fridges, wardrobe, safe and robes and slippers available. There is a spa area, but we did not use this. We had a crisis with some electrical items and the hotel were extremely helpful with giving us Rice to dry the items out, we are hugely grateful for this help late a night. The Wi-Fi in the hotel was fantastic, it was strong enough for Skype and all search engines we used. The hotel reception were extremely knowledgeable about the distances, ways to travel and the best way to travel around the region and where to get best value with the Innsbruck Card. It was lovely on 1st March to see the display outside of the hotel turned into a tulip garden, very nice touch! We did also like the staff in the traditional costumes, which were in many places in Innsbruck, it was really nice to see. We would absolutely stay here again if we came back to Innsbruck.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and empty room that is paired with very small bathroom? Non-working thermostat. For recently renovated place this is a huge omission. Room was extremely hot with no option to turn heat down (bathroom and room). Opening a window invites loud noise and cigarette smoke. Hotel is centrally located and noise cannot be avoided. Stuff were unwilling or unable to help.

    Beautiful old fashioned hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds, excellent location and professional staff. Hotel is recently renovated with everything looking new.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was not working in the room, and the décor was very outdated. The pictures make everything look far spacier than it actually is.

    Good beds and friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Great location, friendly staff and super clean room!! near both from train station and city center..!(u can walk) Hotel is surrounded yummy restaurants !(i recommend Thai restaurant in front of Hotel) Spa price was reasonable..! (definitely will try when I come back again!)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Our staunch at the hotel was excellent. We were warmly welcomed, the rooms where spacious, comfortable and very elegantly declarated. The hotel staff were most helpful and even offered a complementary upgrade of our room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. The masseuse was quite pushy about upgrading my massage and I felt obliged to put something in the 'tip' section of the paperwork (as it was in German so needed to be translated for me by the masseuse who told me what to write in each section). It is a non-smoking hotel yet the tiny bar allowed smokers.

    Reception staff were the most helpful and friendly I have come across yet. Our room had a gorgeous view. The toiletries were very good. The bar was a great place to sit for a drink (unless a smoker came in). There is a supermarket directly opposite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking available only for 13 euros ( it seemed excessive). Room slightly dated for a 4 star.

    Staff very helpful and rooms spotless. Very spacious bathroom with a bath for two persons. Excellent for one night stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Breakfast was very expensive at €16 per person.

    Good location and attractive room, although we paid for a superior room. Staff were very helpful and changed my friend's room straightaway when we pointed out it wasn't what had been booked.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was wrong!

    The Versace Suite was beyond our expectations! Dinner in the hotel w a s superb. We booked an extra night because we were enjoying the proximity to the shops and restaurants in the ancient part of Innsbruck.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is rather tired and in need of refurbishment. The staff appeared bored and disinterested. The room was not cleaned well, with smears on mirrors and surfaces and previous occupants hairs adorning the room.

    It is in an OK location close to the centre of the old town. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV did not work (no signal) Shower was rubbish, really weak and kept changing between hot and cold

    Location The staff were helpful when our luggage broke and brought us some duct tape.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was average. Insufficient staff with poor service. I recommend eating elsewhere.

    Location. Historic nature of hotel shines through.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: