Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Salzburg City 4 stars

Bayerhamerstraße 14a, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#68 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1293 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice place but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I back to hotel after go out, the door was opened and all keys did not work. Tried to contact staff, they no reply and just give us another keys

    As suddenly cancelled by other hotel, this hotel can provide two rooms for us, we have no choice to stay. But It is clean and comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was not working and we called the front desk to send someone to fix it. They said someone would be up shortly, but no one came. So we called back and they said well the person has already left for the day! But we had been waiting in the room! So we asked for someone to fix it the next morning when we were out but when we got back in the evening, it was still broken!

    Clean rooms and comfortable bed. Location was great and close to sightseeing and downtown area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and our room was not ready which was fine, but we were guaranteed that it would be ready at 3pm, it was not ready until 4pm. I asked to have the bedside light fixed as the switch was faulty. This did not happen. My hairdryer over heated almost immediately so I asked for a replacement. I was told this wasn't possible but they would let housekeeping know the following day. Nothing happened!😁

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second room we booked for our family was shabby, had stains on the wall and peeling paint. Clearly old and run down especially compared to the other room we were upgraded into. It was much further from the main area of town than we thought. Walking to and from town after dark was deserted and slightly uncomfortable.

    Breakfast had a lot of selections. We had two rooms and one was upgraded to the highest category upon our arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Was a holy day on the Thursday so there was no housekeeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a holy day on the Thursday so there was no housekeeping or maintenance , we had a light that wouldn’t turn off , we reported it to reception they told us we would have to just take the card out of electricity , which meant we couldn’t have the air con on . Not the response I expected really .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Good but for yhe shelf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass shelf over the tea and coffee making facility. It was in our room,309, just at the height to give me a nasty bump on the forehead, which could have resulted in a severe injury. Why is it even there, remove it before it causes a real injury to someone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Great choice for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were hot therefore had to keep the air conditioning on during the night

    Good selection for breakfast and reception helpful with recommendations for local cuisine restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    location - quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    empty room bar poor practical and hygienical equipement - missing shoe cleaning set, shoehorn, shower cup, body lotion, saving kit

    location - quiet street room size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, shame we got a twin room after requesting a double.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we got a twin room after requesting a double. On our booking it said that our preference was a double so I am not sure why they go off preference and can’t confirm what type of beds you will have. Can imagine this is awkward and annoying as well the other way around if you request a twin bed and then get a double. Perhaps better system to guarentee the type of beds.

    This hotel is very modern and clean and luxury. The bathroom was great and came with a bath and toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and pleasant hotel in quiet location within easy walking distance to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-out was fairly slow in the morning with only one member of staff, but not a huge issue and the staff member was efficient, friendly and helpful despite being very busy.

    Very comfortable bed, black-out curtains for a good night's sleep, quiet location but only 10 minute walk to Mirabel Palace Gardens, very clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, dated property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very dated property with old school decor. The staff were not the most customer service friendly but we got what we needed!

    The location is great. Takes about 10 minutes to walk to Mirabel Platz and 15 minutes walk to the city centre. You can take the bus #2 directly to and from the airport, which takes about 30 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Holiday trip to Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor comment, no hair conditioner, no a deal breaker, would stay again without hesitation.

    Very Helpful English speaking staff, close proximity to Hbf (10min) and short walk to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Christina in reception was very helpful and pleasant to deal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated, peeling pink wallpaper in bathroom, mouldy grout in between tiles, plastic curtains! And remember to put do not disturb sign on door if you don't want house keepers walking in.... We had 3 before 0915 on our first morning there! They also tried to charge me for breakfast I hadn't had and city tax for 2 adults when I was travelling with my 13yr old!!

    Christina in reception was very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location, friendly staff & big outdoor parking lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling with 5 y.o kid and there's no English TV program for her :-(

    Location was within city center, staff was friendly & helpful (considering it was Christmas night :-) ). Room was clean with quite comfy space for European standard. Most importantly, since we're traveling with 9 seaters car, the outdoor parking space was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, good location, well trained staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the rooms.

    Good hotel, good location, well trained staff. It is about 20 minutes by foot from the city center or if you take a taxi it will cost you 7-8 euros.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Outdated, needs major upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything other than the lobby is extremely outdated. Do not bother going to the restaurant or paying for breakfast. Food was out of a can or box, drinks are overpriced, and the restaurant like the rest of the hotel is outdated and not a pleasant experience.

    Clean, friendly staff, not a bad location, free parking!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Very sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked a double bedroom with separate beds, but I got master bed. We were too tired and we had waited two hours for our ealier check in so I didn't ask them to change.

    I liked the location, the room space and the cortesy of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired facility with dirty bathroom, broken toilet cistern and hair dryer wasnt working. Asked staff to bring replacement hairdryer and waited half hr with wet hair and it never came. Uncompassionate staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Could have been better for Mercure hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC was noisy, there were always some sounds / noise coming from the AC even when it was off. There were two rolls of toilet paper in the bathroom - one which was on the top row was of used roll, they didn't change it after previous guest, and the second roll (the new and complete one) was covered with dust on the top (i can imagine how long it was there to get so much dust on it). I used the only and last napkin from the box which is under the washing sink. Housekeeping should pay more attention to these details. Water was leaking from the bathroom, through the glass partition.

    Hotel is located in 10-15 minutes walking distance from the main train station. Personnel is friendly. There was a small kettle with tea/coffee packs in the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    If u drive to Salzburg, this place is excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite away from the old town.. need to drive to another parking lot to be closer..

    The surround save is quite open with garden nearby, kids can play.. good parking The staffs were nice, u get a magic coin for the arming charge 😁

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    2.9
    Pathetic front desk. Bad location. Zero value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff do not have information. And they gave us wrong information which resulted in wasting our time. We requested for 2 rooms next to one another, as we were traveling with 2 young kids. This request was made a long time ago when I made the booking. The front desk staff just said sorry we do not have. Unapologetic. Pathetic. The location was poor. The views were blocked by large buildings beside. And too much sounds of delivery trucks way too early in the morning. To summarize, I will NOT stay in a Mercure hotels ever. My one experience was way too BAD.

    Nothing much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely First-Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Firstly, we arrived early at 11am and went to drop our bags off but bcos the room was ready they let us check in; thanks for that one Mercure! Second every member of staff we had dealings with were helpful and polite and spoke English. Room was clean, quiet and comfortable. B/fast amazing. 10 min walk from HBF station and 15 from main town. We have stayed in lots of hotels including 4 in Salzburg and this place is top quality value for money and we will stay again :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    It was pretty central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    It was pretty central. Short walk to cafes, 20-30 minute walk to basically everywhere you want to go in Salzburg. There is underground parking and outdoor parking (although very pricey 16 Euros, it was nice to have that). Wifi worked really well!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Definitely would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is excellent with wide variety. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant and spoke excellent English. The location is excellent for visiting all parts of the city and, only minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff are Nice : definitely a case of : Its Nice to be Beautiful but more Beautiful toi be Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made a specific request but hotel overlooked - Standing shower only due 1 polio pax with weak legs and hands has difficulty crossing over bathtub, we were offered 2 rooms with shower in the bathtub, it took sometime to change to room with standing shower, such thing shouldn't had happened 1--if the request (in this case its not prominent) I have to retrieve from confirmation. 2--staff should be very well verse with their room facility - especially shown in pictures. At the end we appreciate the quick offer to the pax concern a complimentary breakfast the next morning.

    Friendly and polite staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    All in all, for a short stay of a day the hotel was fine but 45€ per night is a bit too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn't the nicest and the bathroom had weird spots on the toilet. The curtain in the room. Parking is very hard to find except if you pay 13€ per night for the garage.

    The staff during the nightshift was very friendly and helped us find our way to the city easily The way was very simple and not to long. Was alright for a short stay. The cut itself was stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.3
    Overall, an average to good hotel, but a little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. Surrounded by busy streets. Food service truck arrived at 6 AM on Friday right below our 1st floor room. Very noisy. Refridgerator in the room did not work, which I mentioned to the desk. It was not repaired. Not as close to the Old Town as we thought.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The design of the hotel is very modern, it's walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink was not draining properly, we were told they were going to fix it while we went out, but they didn't. When we complained again they just took the drain cover out, left the pipe open and told us there were no other rooms available. Also, the waiter at the restaurant/bar could have been when we asked to split the bill to different rooms.

    The design of the hotel is very modern, it's walking distance from the main train station, the rooms have a mini fridge that's off and empty, but you can turn them on and use them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    Did not sleep well with hard beds and paper thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are hard, tried to call front desk for 2 hours and it just went to voicemail in German. Had to walk down to front desk. Walls are paper thin very noisy Went to get drink in the bar/restaurant and bar tender acted like we were an imposition

    Clean and walkable from train and old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall ,a professional operation catering for large numbers.An easy walk 20 to 30 Minute walk to the city center.Location great.Pleased we stayed here. Comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel near everything in Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm American, so I'm probably not the best judge of their breakfast. It was the same that was offered at the other 4 hotels in which we stayed. We just did not like the breakfast food choices. By the way, the eggs were not good.

    Comfortable room and decent location within walking distance of Old Town Salzburg. The staff were great and accommodations are what I expect from a hotel stay, anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't included and a bit pricy (15 EUR pp), car park was expensive (13 EUR per day), we chose it because it was the high season (Music Fest) and the best we could find was this.

    The beds were comfy, the room was spacious, clean and nice. 20 minutes walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    Expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really tired looking and well over due a redecoration. The breakfast selection wasn't great. I didn't think you should have to pay for parking either as it is far enough out of the city to stop non guests using it.

    It wasn't too far from the old town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Charged the most, offered the least.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Price is outrageously high. Out of 5 hotels, this offered the least and charged the most, by far. - When a guest comes to have breakfast accompanied by his huge dog that was sniffing around the food, you know there is something wrong with whoever runs the hotel.

    When I agreed to pay 13 euros for the parking, I was wondering why it was not included in the unbelievably high room rate. To my surprise, the receptionist who checked us out decided not to charge us for the parking. It was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Lovely city, shame about the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in 8 hotels on our travels but this hotel was one of the more disappointing ones for the price. The room was small but comfortable enough. The hotel itself is around a 15 minute walk into the main town but I'm not sure the area is the safest. The location seems to be in an area quite heavily populated by asylum seekers and indeed breakfast in the hotel also appeared to have a few asylum seekers in it. Salzburg is a lovely city but I wouldn't recommend this hotel

    There was nothing particularly outstanding about the hotel but nothing terrible either.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.8
    This hotel is well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is well located. However, staff is well below acceptable international standards. Only reception staff speak reasonable english. At the Restaurant you need to use sign language to communicate your needs. Horrible!. Breakfast is barely acceptable for what you can expect from a Mercure. Teach you cook how to make scrambled eggs, please!!!. However, to be fair I must say dinner, served late was good. Some hard work needs to go into staff training. Service with a smile is surely not a motto of this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.3
    Tired due to lack of noisey hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not as clean as I would have expected, shabby cushions, dirty curtains. An uncomfortable bed. Very busy/noisy hotel during the night.

    Close enough to city centre for sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception a bit disorganised and lacked knowledge of transport etc Key entry system not working at first Free wifi slow

    Easy buses nearby Kettle in room Breakfast room very nice Modern decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.2
    Avoid the hotel if you have an alternative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a Mercure franchise hotel and not a real Mercure hotel. Room very small and of poor standard. Staff very serious and unhelpful. Booked for 3 nights and checked out after one night. Location also far from the centre.

    Only the Breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Complimentary water would have been nice

    We booked three rooms in the hotel for one night as we are a family of five with three children.It was a very basic hotel,with fast WiFi and good breakfast.The rooms were not very spacious but clean and tidy.The mattress and pillow were fine.The bathroom was reasonable in size with a spacious shower area.There was no complimentary water in the rooms.There was no porter service either and we had to bring our bags to the rooms ourselves.There were two parking garages next to the hotel to park the car.There were a lot of choices for the buffet breakfast.The restaurants were about 7 to 8 min walk from the hotel and the lady at the check in counter was kind enough to explain us the way.All in all a very nice place to stay.Will definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Salzburg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't drain and and the way the shower stahl was made, the water would run into the floor. We had 3 rooms and my friends didn't have this problem. I tried to see if it was plugged but it wasn't. I should have reported it but we were in a hurry.

    The room was lovely. The person who checked us in was very friendly and welcoming. The wait staff in the restaurant were very helpful with excellent service and the food was very good. The waiter/bar tender helped us with our selections and we were so happy with his recommendations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    2.9
    We had a horrible stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a horrible stay. Staff are rude. Rooms are dirty with no air conditioning. Shower broken so only hot water pouring. We had to argue a lot to change the room although we were with our toddler.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Good quiet place to stay a few days, but aims for coach parties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most tourist info/brochures are tucked away round the corner at reception, completely out of sight. Nobody pointed them out, and we found them on our last morning! Bedroom was small. Outside seating area is pleasant, but surrounding garden lacks plants, care and attention - could be so much nicer place to have a drink or eat.

    Quiet location, not too far from centre (about 15 minutes walk). Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable bed, good aircon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room 3rd floor was faced to the parking area where the rubbish collection truck collects every morning (excl. Sundays) 5:30am the rubbish. It takes a while until all is done. Not possible to fall asleep afterwards anymore. I informed the Hotel who only offered me a room on the 2nd floor with the same view. So even closer... I was then told to ask in the afternoon again. I was waiting and did so. However, by then all was fully booked and they had forgotten me. I could not cancel my booking as all was paid upfront. My family members had rooms to the street from there you can here the cars as well but less disturbing. Besides, the room misses: - toiletries (typical tooth paste etc) that you get in all hotels - mini bar was empty with a note to call the hotel if you want food/drinks - no free water which is also pretty standard I am not sure if that is Austrian standard, but I found it poor service. I am travelling a lot world wide and always get a bottle of water for free.

    close to city centre, great breakfast, staff was very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Good location in Salzburg, Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking and breakfast not included in room rate

    People at front desk friendly and helpful, Nice dining area for breakfast and dinner, Walking distance to old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Very convenient and pleasant and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As above.

    The staff were very helpful. The street was reasonably quiet. The nearby Thai restaurant was excellent. I found the walk to town quite acceptable for the extra peacefulness of being at a distance. The area is pleasant. The room was a little small but comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was the rubber sheet under the bottom bed sheet, which made the bed very hot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fitness centre there. Water bottles were not provided for any day of our stay. Also we booked big double bed but 2 single beds were joined together. We requested the proper double bed but hotel was fully book that was the disappointing part . Not much options for dinner or lunch menu at the hotel. No iron provided for the guest you have to take your clothes to reception and iron in the room there so wierd .

    Breakfast was good with very nice location. Station and City centre were near. Buffet breakfast was tasty , room was big

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    The room was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location wasn't the nicest, about a 20 minute walk from the beautiful part of Salzburg. The man at reception was friendly but he sent us to the wrong room and communication was a little difficult.

    The room was lovely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a little slow and the heat/ac was not functioning or very difficult to navigate.

    The room was lovely and had a very good ambient for a couple. The coffee, tea and additives bar was also great. Staff was very kind at all turns and the location was a comfortable walk away from the center.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very very tight entrance to the garage. plus the fee 13 euros a day, seems a bit much for me.

    I already knew Mercure is going to meet my needs : clean, in a good location and with friendly people. being one of the reasons i chose it the hotel's location is close to a few very good restaurants and one can definitely walk to the city center. i found the underground garage was a good idea. cars wouldn't get rained on, or frozen during the night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    4.6
    Its two or three star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC not working at all . The room was warm and I couldn't slp all three nights My journey to salzburg was bad because i stayed in this hotel

    Size of room is fair Toilet design

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar and restaurant at hotel were supposed to be closed on Friday night we arrived only 'for cleaning'. The 4 nights we stayed there they were closed. Also, as they were closed we were unable to get room service. We were mainly served by an older staff member who was unhelpful-this may have been as the hotel appeared understaffed; only 1 person at the counter when people checking in/out and answering calls. The younger staff which we saw on last day seemed friendly. To get to old town was 1km walk, which got annoying every time you wanted something to eat. Only 2 restaurants nearby. Wouldn't stay here again.

    Room was nice though small.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Definitely recommended
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good position 10 minutes on foot far from the centre; receptionists were all very kind, my room was clean and large enough for two people. Breakfast was a little expensive (15 euros if you didn't include it at the time of reservation) but there was wide choice and all tasted very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.7
    Adequate accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a view of the parking lot and a hotel/apartment next to us. The hotel was not as close to town as I was expecting, but we were able to walk and see what we wanted. I thought it was a bit expensive based on location.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but a longer walk than expected to the heart of salzburg city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was further out from the heart of Salzburg than we expected. This hotel would better suit tour groups who don't need to walk into the old town as it is a bit of a walk from the nicer parts of Salzburg.

    It wasnt anything fancy but was a nice room to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    Christmas Market Tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little far to walk to the old town where the Christmas Market was, however we stayed in this hotel for it proximity to the main train station. Bus services were really good though.

    Staff were very efficient and friendly. The hotel is a little dated, but everything was clean and in good working order. The pillows definitely need replacing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    6.7
    Don't stay at this hotel, they give you a room with only one bed when you booked a room with two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a twin room (2 beds) two months in advance and the money was taken from my account just a few days later. When I arrived with my friend the receptionist told us: sorry, we only have a room left with one king sized bed. The next day we were able to change rooms but that took a while. The daytime receptionist confirmed that "superior rooms" (which I had booked) were "on an availability basis only". So, why book two months in advance then? Having to share a bed with someone you didn't want to share a bed with is totally unacceptable. I would strongly advise against staying at this hotel on this alone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Clean and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is disappointing for dinner. A bit far from sites many would want to see especially if walking with kids. Blankets are small for bigger person

    Nice staff. Outstanding breakfast. Very clean. On site parking. Good wifi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk sachets with the tea and coffee in the rooms. The one flat pillow we got each was not enough, but the extra one in the cupboard was too musty to use

    Delicious breakfast. Very clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Perfect accommodation near the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet accommodation. Clean, comfortable rooms, kind helpful staff, good breakfast. Comfortable bed. Walking distance to city center, 10-15 min. Hotel parking (9 Euro).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable to reach the city centre with good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a day that the room was not cleaned properly: the towels weren't changed and my used cup from the night before was left there.

    The staff: all of them helpful and friendly! Bathroom very clean!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Great service at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and the bed were comfortable and the breakfast was varied and of a high standard. The reception staff were friendly and obliging and responded immediately to requests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    The receptionists and the staff at the breakfast are very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If some of the items on the breakfast would be prepared a bit nicer, it would add a bonus point. Some of the stuff looks too much like big-pack-quality.

    The receptionists and the staff at the breakfast are very friendly and always carrying a smile. The value for money you get at the Hotel is very good if you don't mind that you are not in the center of the town (though it is just a short walk). The rooms are quite spacious for the price and the breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    comfortable stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was great for catching a train, but it was not in the heart of the restaurant and tourist areas. Although it was only about a 15-20 walk to get to this section of town.

    close to train station. comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Great city - very enjoyable stay at the Mercure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes at breakfast when there was a coach party staying there was a temporary shortage of choice.

    Convenient for Salzburg HBF and for number two bus that connects to Salzburg airport and old Town. Our room was spotlessly clean and quiet.Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Great location and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have any bad experiences here. It was all great

    Great location and lovely hotel. Nice big rooms with everything provided. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    It was very hot during our stay and we enjoyed to have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    It was very hot during our stay and we enjoyed to have a drink and meal outside in a very nice garden.There was a bus stop a few meters away from the hotel which brought us near the old city. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you book your breakfast in the hotel during checkin you pay only 12 Euro instead of 15 Euro. Alltogether we had a very nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    Cosy and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't want to purchase breakfast. At 15 eur, is too pricey.

    Cosy and comfortable room. Soft rug on the floor, air conditioning, Bright room, clean bathroom. Extra pillow in the closet.Just a 10 min walk to old town and local attractions. Only a 10 min walk to the main bus point to get to the airport. Friendly hotel staff and nice decor in the hotel lobby and hallways.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Great place in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit expensive.

    Super comfy bed, excellent breakfast with lots of options, 10m walk from the train station. 20m walk to old town, near restaurants and touristic attractions. It has AC, important feature during the Summer

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    8.8
    Clean comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really to dislike apart from it being a little way out of the city.

    Staff on reception very helpful. Nice comfy bed. Nice restaurants nearby, didn't eat at hotel so can't comment on the food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    7.5
    Good enough for a short stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a musty odour, which hits you in the face as soon as you walk in. It was a clean room, but that's what you get when you keep the floor carpeted (and they probably haven;t been changed in awhile). The rooms were small and narrow, and the front and back views of the hotel did not offer much. But we spent most of our days outdoors so if you're not going to spend much time inside, this is a fairly comfortable place.

    Easy check-in, extra-friendly front desk staff offering plenty advice on places to visit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    6.3
    Hotel work still need progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New remodel room had light fixture pulled from wall-unfixed. Shower door does not close leaks water onto floor. Charge for the use of bicycles that are not maintained at all. Low air in tires and told to go to auto shop but I am paying to rent these bikes by the hour!

    Not far from railway station also quiet street from tourist.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.9
    I stayed 3 nights. Salzburg is very beautiful .Total 6 days including other hotel in Salzburg. This
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with One King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First and second day room was having odors. I request incase someone check out they should keep the window opened to bring fresh air and remove bad air. That was the reason. Because everything was very clean toilets bedsheets even carpet.

    The hotel looks like recently renovated. I like everything in the room bed toilets were very clean. receptionist ladies were very friendly. location of the hotel was in the quiet area . I stayed 3 nights only then I change the hotel because it was full.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only english channel on the TV was BBC news which was a bit disappointing, but we didn't spend too much time in the room/watching TV anyway.

    The rooms were really clean and beds were comfy. The hotel restaurant is amazing! Service was a bit slow but the food was so delicious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff. Excellent location. Easy route to train station. Walking distance to everything we needed. plenty of maps, brochures etc available.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Salzburg City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: