Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Salzburg Central 4 stars

Sterneckstraße 20, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#82 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 976 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi poor unless paid for. Parking rate for motorcycle same as car. Machine coffee.

    Great breakfasts, and good parking for motorcycle. Easy walking distance of town centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At7.30pm the restaurant was closed to all except a coach party . I had a bar snack on an uncleared newspaper table.

    The reception staff were exceedingly helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although convenient for a No.2 bus , this bus does not go to the old centre . There appeared to be no restaurant options near-by. Required a 20 min walk , or taxi direct to the sights.

    Large spacious room with excellent air-con . The breakfast options were superb .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite tired and dated. It had a strange atmosphere, like it wanted to have a busy bar in the foyer but there were never any guests around to use it. The breakfast was also quite bland.

    The staff were excellent and friendly, and the location is perfect, for enough out of the city centre to be quiet but not too far to walk. The rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant in the evening. When I booked I thought I had also booked breakfast in the price paid, as it turns out it wasn't - NOT CLEAR WHEN BOOKING. Behind the bar on the wall it states the bar is open from 16:00hrs to 24:00hrs for guests, this was not so. On our second night we arrived back at the hotel at 23:20 and would have liked a drink but the bar staff told me the bar was closed. One could also stand at the bar for 5 to 10 mins waiting for staff to serve.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect

    The entire 3 day stay could not have been bettered. Breakfast buffet was the best we have ever experienced. We'll definitely be back Ian M

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, near the train station and comfortable bed. Breakfast was good, sauna/gym area was clean, big and quiet, perfect to relax in at the end of the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't tell us the closest bus stop, and figuring out the public transportation was difficult. The tv didn't work the first night, and I told the front desk, but I didn't find out if they fixed it because I didn't want to watch tv the second night. The two single beds were only inches apart.

    The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable. The staff were friendly, and the bar was great. The shower was also pretty awesome. Get a Salburg card from the front desk!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking costs were extra and the there were additional charges on room service. The restaurant is open only for breakfast that means closed for lunch or dinner. Lunch or dinner can be ordered from room but with extra room service charges. Pay the city tax extra at the property. And I would have liked a bathtub too.

    A comfortable room, location, staff and particularly sauna and the fitness center. Really clean room, bathroom, hallways and lobby. The staff was friendly and accessible over phone or at front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet didn’t work at all. We stayed two days with intermittent internet service. I even paid €6,00 for the fast internet package and with that I couldn’t watch a YouTube video I needed to watch for school.

    The room was spacious and the bathtub was huge. The location was ok, but according to the description inn booking.com I was expecting to be closer to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was SO hot, had to sleep with the window and doors open in -3 degrees because we were waking up sweating. Air con didn’t work!

    The beds were comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lack of a bathrobe, the lack of slippers, the room was cold and overnight the same way, the air conditioning does not cope with the temperatures of 4-5 degrees outside.the WI-FI signal was very weak, you can not watch a video on internet.

    comfortable bed, and coffee from breakfast, room brightness due to large windows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have liked to get dinner there.

    Very good breakfast, safe en spacious garage for the car, opportunity to choose not to let clean the room and towels, it was quiet, we could sleep with the room open and that helps our favorite temperature for sleeping, it was a short distance walking to the old city. I would not say a romantic hotel but it is fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in. Upgraded for view but not worth it. No bath despite description. Coffee maker is a kettle and Nescafé with whitener if maid remembers which they didn’t.

    Comfy beds, good shower, large room, on bus routes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very old - furniture, bathroom..it is like other Accor Hotels. Have a better look over it when booking a room...this hotel does not deserve the name.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing is the worst. The door does nothing for it and there is a gap beneath, so every single word and noise can be heard from the hallway. When the neighbors shut the door, the bed trembles. The cars on the street could also be heard well, though the room didn't face it directly. The reception doesn't have earplugs. Cleanliness. There were stains of blood on the rim of the toilet seat. Suspicious pale stain/remnant of approx. 7 by 3 cm right in the middle of the sheet (was replaced). Bright brown stain bigger than hand's palm on the mattress that could be noticed through the sheet. The kettle had a couple teaspoons of liquid inside that smelled of cleaning chemicals. The smell didn't go away after several rinses and a boil. The reception's comment was "They (cleaning stuff) washed it. It doesn't smell of anything ". A brand new kettle was given though. The pillows are of the put your head down and they disappear kind. One per person. There was just one extra pillow in the wardrobe. Overall rundown appearance. Dark streaks on the walls almost up to the eyes level. Hole on the sheer curtain, seemingly from the times when smoking was allowed. One of the power sockets not working and not sitting firmly in the wall. At check-in a room with a wrong bed type was given ("Didn't receive that info from booking.com"). They also block an extra 30€ per night on the credit card in case you use some of their extra services like parking, breakfast or minibar even if you state that you don't intend to do that from the beginning. At check-out they just ask you if you did. The staff at the reception not apologetic at all when told about any of the aforementioned problems. Thankfully, they still do their job solving them. The free internet is extremely slow. Price considering the service level is way too high.

    Comfortable, medium-hard mattress. Helpful household lady. Overall helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar for one receptionist (young Asian lad, I think, who was reasonably helpful) the other receptionists were disinterested, unhelpful and apathetic.

    Restaurant staff and chef were superb! Polite, competent and helpful. Breakfast was good with quite a bit to choose from.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much I didn’t like. The guy who checked us in was rude and unpleasant. The room was loud and the pillows fell apart from the inside. Definitely not even a 3 stars hotel, let alone the 4 it boasts. In usually love Mercure hotels but this one was a big disappointment...

    not too far from the old city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt like there could have been more facilities. For example, the restaurant only seemed to open for breakfast and there were not hot drinks on offer at the bar (we wanted hot chocolate!). There was free tea and coffee in the rooms though.

    The staff were helpful and lent us things small things we had forgotten to bring. They were also great at answering all our questions and calling services on our behalf. The bathrooms have a bath, which was great. The ground floor was really comfortable and smelt like Christmas :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping is not good . We were there 3 days and no-one didn't get us tea and coffee ( they must do every day). Besides this factor everything what happens with us were good.

    We were traveling with my girlfriend. Hotel is situated near railway station (20 min by walk). Good personal on reception. Approximately 150-300 m there are 2 supermarkets (Billa, Spar). It is really good to go to the Spar. He is much more bigger than Billa. 20 min from old town:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude. They asked me to pay a €60 deposit which hadn’t been mentioned at all. Location not great, next to a filling station which was next to a strip club?!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby looks dark and old.

    Staffs are polite and provide useful information for travelling. There is bus station in front of the hotel so it's very convenince.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Street noise - we had a room facing the busy street and there was a lot of street noise throughout the night.

    Very quick walk to the old town (10-15 minutes), so great location. Very clean, lots of space for a hotel room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the check in desk couldn't have been less interested in booking us in. We arrived about 1.30pm and fully understood that our room would not be ready, but we wanted to buy a Salzburg card, and ask a question about the city centre etc. They didn't want to sell us a card, telling us that he was going off shift, told us "go into town and buy one there". We finally insisted after three tries , one person telling us to come back tomorrow morning if really wanted one. We left our luggage in an unlocked room with no tag. It seems to me that there is a complete lack of interest in any customer service. The staff member who checked us out was an exception and couldn't have been more helpful and interested in our forward travels . I would suggest that either lots and lots of staff training is urgently needed, or these staff need replacing . We are now staying in Mercure in Munich, the staff being pleasant, helpful and stowed our luggage securely with claiming tags. I suggest management need to stay in an other Mercure hotel to see how it should be done.

    The room was a good size, clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very busy. A group was checking in when we arrived. another person at the front desk could improve their customer experience greatly.

    it's not that far out of the way. We walked to the train station upon leaving, with all of our luggage (although took a taxi when we arrived, as it was night, a strange city, and drizzling)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little further from the centre than we'd expected - about 20 minutes walk, although there may be some bus routes(we didn't find them!) The walk back at night is through well-lit residential area, feels perfectly safe.

    Clean, comfortable and quite spacious room. We were at the back, which was very quiet. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could have been a little bit more helpful when we enquired about the Salzburg card.

    Room was well appointed and modern with a nice bathroom. Buffet breakfast had a good variety.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested quiet room but allocated one on street on fourth floor not as quiet as we would have liked.

    Breakfast choice excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is walking distance to the center (approx. 15 - 20 min) .. the furniture is little bit old ... the wifi is not that fast ... the room is little small for a family with two kids.. the bathroom shower throw water outside the bathtub .. there is no space to park your car in-front of the hotel for a sort period

    The staff were very friendly ... they upgraded us to bigger room ... the parking is secured ... the breakfast was nice.. there is supermarket nearby ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was old, no internet reception in our room- it was fine in the lobby. Asked restaurant personnel two times for help in finding powered cream for coffee for our room. I was told by the manager ( I believe) that she would contact housekeeping but never got the creamer!

    At reception Juan was very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was a little further out of the "main" centre than we'd realised, and on a busy / main road. The "XXX" club next door and the industrial nature of the neighbourhood didn't lend much to the ambiance. That said, we didn't feel unsafe walking home from the city after dinner / dark, we were just vigilant.

    The breakfast buffet was generous and wide variety of lovely options. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, good clean bathroom and the gym/sauna facilities were quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location - despite the name - is not really central... it's quite a distance from the old town. Despite asking for twin beds we received a room with a double bed... no possibility to change. Staff at the reception in the evening is very unprofessional (it looked like a security guard that didn't know what to do), entrance into the garage took ages (nobody wanted to answer the beeper and it was only 22:00!)

    breakfast was good, lots of options, parking in the hotel rather affordable (although there may be problem with entering later in the evening)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry cost was atrocious. We have been travelling for some time and have done laundry at other Mercure's which we thought were pretty reasonable (approx 40 to 50 euros). However at this Mercure 9x tshirts, 8x pair of socks, and a dozen undies cost 148 euros!!!! One night in the hotel cost less!!! When queried about the outrageous cost, being more than the clothes cost to purchase, the staff member blamed the local company. She said there was nothing she could do, even though the receipt clearly shows it's Mercure's service. When we asked the staff member if she thought this was reasonable, she replied 'I would never do my washing through the hotel'. With two months to go in Europe we are highly unlikely to stay in a Mercure again, despite staying at three other ones in Europe just previously!

    Overall the room was comfy and spacious. Staff member upgraded us free of charge from two single to a queen so we were pretty happy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdatet decor, probably from the seventies. Carpets felt filthy and bathrooms not cleaned. More like a 2-3 star hotel, definitely not four, and not for the price we were charged.

    Very good breakfast, with everything one might expect from a four star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I lost some small thing at the room. One of the day when i return to the room i noticed that i lost my post card which was prepared with stamp and content to my daughter in Canada. This is my first time to lost something at the hotel anywhere around world. Usually house keeper, they don't touch anything at the room even it is looked like garbage if it is not in the garbage can. And hotel staff said just sorry and that's all. They didn't do anything about it. It was quite embarrassed that i got this bad experience at the Salzburg, Austria. I will not return this hotel in the future.

    Quite close from Mirabell and Central Station. Mostly u can walk to main tourist attraction. Some of the staff is really helpful and room is quite big and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We were given a large end of corridor room with a comfortable bed. Room was furnished to a satisfactory level as we nearly always find when staying at Mercure hotels. No excessive noise from either street or other guests. Breakfast was very good, with a thorough choice, including some cooked. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Hotel was close enough to the centre for us to walk in, but if you need to use the local buses/trolley buses, they are very frequent and cheap to use. (Ask the staff about ticketing options). We used "Salzberg cards" which allowed access to all public transport and admission to many attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't clean the room daily, the staff was not supported much, no trash bag, the flat is for 8 but the pelow and blanket is only for 7, no Bill boy for laggage, no room service.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation of the room. Standard room only on first floor ie. no view. No option for early check-in offered despite request.

    Very good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little outside of the old town, but it's a good walk if you have your walking shoes on.

    The hotel is within walking distance to the main train station. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel while it is a little older it is kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Privilege Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We quite fancied dinner but not available at this hotel.

    We got an upgrade which was lovely. Nice hotel. Fairly central we walked to most things. There are two hotels slightly diffrent names

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna was not as expected, didn't like that we had to call the lobby to turn it on and then wait for 30 minutes until it was ready. The security safe in our room didn't work and the wifi was very slow, we didn't get good connection. Also, the phone in our room had some trouble with charging.

    The staff was friendly and they get 5 stars for their good job. The location was good, breakfast was worth the value and the room was big and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was very convenient at the basement of the hotel but I don't see why a tenant has to pay extra for this. Although we were at a non smoking room, the towels were smelling cigarette. Probably the staff has to take better care.

    Salzburg is an expensive and somehow posh city. This hotel is a very decent choice for those who don't want to spend a fortune and at the same time have a pleasant stay not too far from the center. A big plus the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't in range, it didn't work properly. There were no slippers in the rooms and it cost 3€ extra. At the check out I was asked 3€ city tax. This should be charged before when paying. The room was very dark, one of the lamps weren't working. The shower head wasn't useful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good. The distance to the Central station is not so walkable. But taxi is around €6 which is minimal and not a big issue considering the value for money for the stay overall.

    So friendly and helpful staffs. Especially Ms. Luna who suggested us the best places and experiences in Salzburg. So kind and great and simple staffs. So customer friendly. Very clean and spacious room. Breakfast also was good. The staffs at the breakfast area are also so kind and friendly. We never felt away from home. So great hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't know upfront parking had to be paid. From the hotel to the city-center was a little longer walk than we expected.

    We asked and got a nice and quiet room. It was clean. The beds were good. They let us park in the garage, eventhough there werent any official spots anymore. Because we had expensive skiing equipment in the car, we didn't wanted to leave it at the side of the road. And secondly: it was snowy and freezingcold outside. So it was very nice the car could be inside. Friendly staff, nice hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was suitable for our stay.

    Good proximity to the main city. About a 15min walk to old town and the park miribel for the Christmas markets😎. Good selection at breakfast. Enquired about the sound of music tour at front desk and surprisingly it was still operating on Christmas Eve.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, there was a horrible smell in our room! We had to purchase air freshener, which only took the smell away for a short time.

    It was a nice hotel for the price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything in particular.

    Very good breakfast buffet with excellent variety. Large comfortable double bed in the Superior room, and we were given an upgrade to include a large bathroom with bath, separate shower and two handbasins, and a separate toilet. The location was on the Line 2 bus route from the airport and main rail station, only 30 minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst there are tea making facilities in room there are really insufficient supplies of tea and milk.

    Staff attitude is excellent. The location is very god for the city centre, for the rail station and gor the route in from the airport. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was incredibly dirty, the bathroom floor was wet and dirty, the towels were dirty, there were no toiletries in the bathroom, the neighbors were incredibly noisy and the breakfast was late and not the greatest - very disappointing!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - convenient for the airport as bus no.2 stops almost outside the hotel ( 28 mins journey) Friendly staff. Comfortable room. Approximately 15 mins walk from hotel into old town. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed but the sister

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While I was waiting for check-in, a man entered to hotel and ask for a free room. (Step-in) they said yes and the price was 40 euro lower than our room price. And when I asked the reason of this they said this is the differance between standart room and the deluxe room. I didn't believe this since there is nothing extra at my room(regular hotel room). On the other hand I am informed by a staff for the daily parking as 20 euro but while checking out another staff asked me 15 euro. I think this hotel pricing is not fair.

    It has own parking space and it is at walking distance to old city

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast at 15 euro each was way too steep - went to Mcdonalds and fed us all for less than 15 euros. Cleaners banging and hoovering outside in the corridor most mornings at 8am !!

    Location - only a 15min walk to the old town, but to be honest the area within a 5 min walk has a few great places to eat - Try the Taj Mahal for a great curry. Car parking in the basement was 13 euros a night which was not too bad - always loads of spaces and secure. Good location / base if you're heading out of Salzburg for day trips.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is very slow. Better in lobby.

    Loved the large bed and all the staff were extremely helpful. When we arrived we felt a little out of town but actually an easy walk and buses virtually outside door. Nice to have a kettle in the room for tea and coffee.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location does mean a 10 min walk to the old town, but is OK. The so-called fitness room is really a large unattended sauna wit little room for anything else.

    The room was comfortable and everything was up to the standard of this type of hotel. the staff were helpful when required. The only issue was the usual cheap polyester quilts you get in this part of the world, with no lighter alternative. What do they do in summer? We had to run the AC all night. Not so green Germany.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi at the rooms need improvement as I could barely surf any websites. However, the same wifi at the lobby ran perfectly well.

    Rooms were beautiful and we'll equipped.. The carpet is unique! Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rust in the shower, stuffy room, the air conditioning did not work when the outside temperature at around 30 degrees. The hotel needs extensive renovation. His rating should be 2 stars. Parking cost13 euro per day

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pictures on web site is perhaps from couple years ago. its not in historic part of town but we walked to center of old town in ten minutes.

    good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot even with the AC on and the outside temperature was not high. The Wifi reception was poor in the room.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    They can make a triple room for free of charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from city center, though walking distance.

    Good value for money, friendly staffs. Have indoor parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself was good. The city was a little bit boring.

    Clean and quiet hotelroom. Breakfast was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfy beds, amazing room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closed too early

    The room was very nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a bath but the shower was very good

    Very clean and comfortable. Quiet rooms. Reception staff polite and helpful. No complaints

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maintenance of guest room and the hardware is tired.

    Very nice variety of dishes during breakfast and good quality including nice presentation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was central but an easy bus ride from the center of Salzburg.

    Very clean rooms and facility well taken care of.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    you get what you pay for / frendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was pretty much useless and staff didn't seem to care

    The room was great, bed was comfy and was nice to relax for a few days

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints except for the Salzburg weather

    The breakfast was very good (I was given oven-fresh Semmeln), fresh orange Juice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, rooms are big, good breakfast, sauna, little gym. You neet to walk 15-20 min to old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were not very good

    Bathroom was spacious and clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection, checkout took too long

    Bed, room

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Salzburg Central traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: