Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arena City Hotel Salzburg by Centro 4 stars

Am Messezentrum 2, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#105 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 823 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have had air conditioning - we understand that the hotel is due to be updated soon.

    Using our GPS, we arrived right outside of the hotel. We had a really nice evening meal. Secure underground parking for our touring motorcycle. The very open stairway and reception area were retro, but a good feature.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad or very soft mattress, I estimate 5% orange juice for breakfast instead of 100%.

    The city centre is accessible by walking, same English tv channels, good Wi-Fi, rich breakfast, clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too low light in the room after dark. Hotel is not fulfilling its 4* rating.

    Free private parking direct at hotel. Good wi-fi connection and fast internet. 0-24 check-in. Comfortable bed and comfortable spacious room with nice working table and good TV. Nice bathroom - good equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like , the location, the food , the rooms, the quality of the facilities which was too old and not clean. We paid a huge amount of money for 4 star hotel which apparently not deserve a 2 star

    Nothing to say

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the doors were not as quiet as in some hotels - loud noises from the corridor could be heard, however it was not a problem at all, since the parts of the hotel are well separated.

    a bit old-fashioned, but still OK. very spacy room awesome choice at breakfast. everything was so good.. if the parking is not avaliable, Messe parking can be used.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the structure is not as new as it appear in the pictures. the reception didn't give any information about the wellness area. the room is average and in the bathroom there are no furnitures except liquid soap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in room for hot drinks.

    The Hotel was only 5 minute walk from the Salzburg Arena and the breakfast was good ( would like to see more fresh vegetables)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first they the breakfast was disaster. Wasn't cutlery,glass,prosecco, coffee,bacon was dry like a tire. That's not 4 stars just around 0 stars...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks a bit dated but it was hard to find any real flaws.

    Good location, close to the motorway, with good access to city centre. Comfy rooms, great beds. Friendly service at the desk and the bar. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet throughout the hotel is really dated and spotted. The rooms are a little dated but still comfortable. There was NO WATER PRESSURE in the shower....so be prepared when washing your hair!! :) No FREE coffee or coffee pots in the rooms, unless you book a "business" room. So please keep that in mine that you have to pay for breakfast in order to get coffee. Or that is what we were told. But there are a lot of cafe's that are less than a mile you can drive to and pick some pastries up and coffee and still be cheaper than the buffet. If you are one that stays in the hotel a lot and have kids, there is no playground, games, or anything so bring some with you. But if you are just sleeping there and site-seeing a lot, then this is fine.

    The staff was great. Larenzo that works the front desk was very helpful. He sold us the Salzburg Card, which I strongly recommend getting, and he spoke English so that was very helpful for me. The hotel was in a good location to catch the buses, but you need to be careful if you are out later than 8 pm, that you might not get the bus back!! Depending on the day. Parking was on site and that was nice. They take dogs, has a nice restaurant, beds were comfortable, elevator for those that need it, nice bar, and even had some English channels on the TV. The hotel was good for people on a budget, this time of year (summer), and really plan to just sleep at the hotel. We were fine with it over all and I like how the bus station is right beside the hotel. made it nice for my father who had trouble walking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a 30 min walk or 15 min bus ride to the city at weekends the bus finish early, so not suitable transport wise, it was ok wouldn't rush back to stay again. i booked breakfast on line and my name wasn't on the list

    if you want the property for the arena then your in luck as its right there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very poor internet connection policy - With almost every connection, I had to always sign on with my Facebook account. This was very annoying for me. - The receptionist I met in the morning was very unfriendly and arrogant. Well, I still gave good points on the staffs because I was very well received the previous night. The one point deduction is for my unpleasant experience with this lady. I spent one night and is very sad that all I wanted at last, was to get out of the hostel.

    - High speed internet - The bed was very comfortable. - The night receptionist was very friendly and supportive. He is the reason for my rating the staffs high - Friendly and supportive staffs at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old dilapidated hotel .. should actually be called a motel. Beware .. no a/c in the entire hotel. Very old and dirty carpets. Staff never smiled at all.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is only fair. It take about 15-20min with public transportation to centre. After 23:00 taxi is only option to get back to the hotel.

    Free parking and really easy location if you have a car. Staff was nice and helped with all problems. Room was big and bed really comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are dated. The beds are hard.

    The staff was friendly. When you enter the building, it is a neat circular environment that made the kids smile. Very close (walking distance) to the Messa of you are there for an event.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a problem

    The bikes we hired from the hotel were perfect for getting into the city centre as the hotel is a little way out. The ride into the city centre along the river was fantastic. The hotel is also very accessible by bus if you are not into bikes!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This Hotel is in Need of modernization. The furniture was worn and stained. The bathroom smelled terrible. the smell came from the shower curtain.

    The view from my room was spectacular! The Location to the Messe. Free Wifi and Parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The key system to open a room is obsolete. And the room was definitely not a four star room.

    The room was good. The fact that there is a bus stop right is front of the hotel (from where one can go to the city centre) adds up value to the hotel. One can go to the city center whenever they want. Also, the staff was helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No airconditioning (it wasn't that it didn't work... the facility doesn't have airconditioning installed).. it was like sleeping in a sauna

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for driving through the Messegelände

    Nice hotel, just avoid driving through the messegelände as they charge 1,50€ for passing through. Otherwise nice place and friendly staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant of the hotel (outside breakfast time) was not that good. We had to wait for a long time and the food was not so tasty.

    The location is good. It is not in the city center, but there is a bus in front of the hotel that takes you there. We were travelling with a car, but as it is complicated and expensive to park inside the city, we decided to take the bus. The hotel has free parking. The rooms are comfortable, and we even had a separate bedroom for our 2 year old daughter at no extra cost. The breakfast was quite good. In general good value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no aircondition, no minibar, poor cleanliness, dirty floor, vermin in mattresses, left prematurely even though I had to make a 300km road trip after a 10h working day. all in all a depressing experience...

    breakfast ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We think was too expensive

    We paid 175€ for sleeping and dinner. Dinner was 18€ pp. quantity was good but the taste could be better. The staff was very friendly. Driving from hotel to the center of Salzburg with navigation is 13 min ride. Rooms were good but no air conditioning. Koffie ther and water was avalable 24/7

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room pretty basic, not even any water. If you're not going to the Arena, this is in the middle of nowhere.

    Good value for money, friendly staff, decent food service. Great location for Arena.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks little bit shabby and needs renovation of decoration, sauna did not work.

    Good for transit night stay. Free parking, free coffee from coffee machine in lounge zone, clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult for travellers without a car as the buses stop around midnight - I got caught out as Salzburg signage is not great and I found it difficult to locate the bus stop. In the end, I took the only available bus which only went halfway. I had to walk by myself without any directions for the next 15 minutes. This at night for a single senior lady was not ideal. The staff were fine when approached but could be more helpful and offer suggestions and advice.

    Good sized comfortable and clean room. Breakfast was varied and generous.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One out of two elevators did not work, neither did the two sweat bathes nor the coffee machine on the third floor. The refrigerator (in which I had to keep a medicine) was not cold. The gps sends you automatically through the Messe so you are obliged to pay 1.5 Euro for nothing. There is no sign visible on the hotel. There is no 24 hrs Salzbourg card at the desk.

    The staff is very nice, they switched on the sauna especially for me late in the evening and early in the moning. It is very easy to get to the city center by bus so you can leave the car at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost empty pillows filled less then 20% with porolon crumbs. Weird really.

    Price. Location. Just at the entrance of Vienna Mette train station and underground U-bun and very close to old city. Big bathroom with window and Bede

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for the traffic even a little far from train station Nice bar Nice staff Nice room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air confition in room , smelly rooms and not really clean hallway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non respect du tarif booking. Com majore de plus de 20 %.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much to see within walking distance. But an 8 Euro taxi took us to the city center.

    Restaurant food was good. We enjoyed the goulash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is slightly laborious to reach from the Central railway station.

    Very friendly staff who were extremely accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ya

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable beds feel springs and a terrible pillow, dirty towels, terrible bathroom, I do not recommend. commune wrrr

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold air coming through the cold windows.

    Nice and quiet and late check out at 11!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at their restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty expensice

    Free Parking,reception woman is friendly. Room is cleaning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath didn't empty properly.. the plug didn't work to let water out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated rooms. A bit far from the center although there's a good bus connection

    Friendly personnel and clean and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So dissapointed..there were bed bugs and I got so many bites that I had to visit a doctor!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, poor facilities, no lobby, bad location, noise at night, noise in early morning, not comfortable.

    Breakfast, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of Chinese group guests. They are talking a lot with loud voice.

    Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was missing was the AC but luckily it was colder outside so we just opened our window.

    Great breakfast, very clean and cozy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very uncomfortable

    Hotel was fine. A little pricey

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location Awkward building nit suitable fir a hotel. Stupid descriptions. Not in Salzburg!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room dated but fine

    Very convenient for airport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is too old.

    The location is not bad. The obus1 is right directly to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bar fridge.

    Location and proximity to good public transport and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the hotel is very old. Carpet need replacement.

    The staff is kind and professional .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, perfect

    Big room, we even had a separate lounge and the location is perfect. Opposite a bus station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasnt a fridge!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC .. Very stuffy but hotel was kind to refund and allow early check out

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not a 4* hotel. In Italy this hotel is could be classified as 2*

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way it rate as a 4star.

    Very old furnuture. No airronditiononig. Bathroom smelly. Bed very uncomfortable.isolated location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet was leaking. We could finally change the room. No breakfast for the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is good. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircon in 4 star hotel. Outdated facilities

    Easy to access to city center with public bus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with free parking. Very friendly and fluent english speaking staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty

    It was very dirty. They don t deserve 4 stars. It s like 1 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very shabby & dated, rooms very hot & cramped, no tea/coffee in rooms

    Beds quite comfortable, easy to find

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    old and dated

    space and comfortable for a short stay

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly, room not clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No minibar at the room with 4 stars?

    Wifi, good parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from main station

    coffee and water kept free

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old facilities

    breakfast is amazing !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fighting tour groups for the elevators and breakfast. No Senior bus tickets available at Front Desk (only regular).

    Very good breakfast and restaurant. 24/7 coffee machine and fresh fruit.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The people on the rooms next to our were making a lot of noise and really late at night someone knocked on our door we went to open it and then there was no one there.

    We liked the coffee and hot chocolat machines at our disposal. The wifi had good signal.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel is in need of renovation. It is very dated and not so clean. It advertises as 4 star. I don't think this rating is accurate.

    Friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It is not bad experience, but It may be necessary to improve comfort (mattress).

    It was the right decision to stay in this hotel during the fair - location, staff, cleanliness...simply the best.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Regarding the Wi-Fi connection – you have to (at least I had to) log in every time you switch it on (on your device) or when you’ve been inactive for a while. Also, you can hear rather louder noises from the corridor when people close the doors.

    Hotel staff was OK, nice and helpful; you can buy bus tickets in the hotel. By bus, you can be in the city centre in 15 minutes. The room was clean, the bathroom little bit old but without any problem and OK for us.

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Arena City Hotel Salzburg by Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: