Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Scherer 4 stars

Plainstraße 37-41, Elisabeth-Vorstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#73 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 662 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The location enforces a 15-20-minute walk along the river,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking comes with a fee of 15 EUR/night.

    The location enforces a 15-20-minute walk along the river, which may be a surprising bonus of this hotel. The views are amazing, especially in the evening. The staff were very helpful and hospitable. I highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, short work to Riverside and also near central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room wasn't ready although arriving an hour after allocated check in time. Buffet Breakfast had cold soft boiled eggs, fruit salad had alot of pips in it - apart from that good food.

    Room with high ceilings, comfortable bed. Good shower room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant three day stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had nothing really to complain about

    With Salzburg being a relatively small town we were only 15-20 min walk from the centre of town. Staff were very friendly and accommodating with all our queries and talked and joked with us at breakfast. Food was plentiful with a good variety. Chocolates on the pillow on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Location was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was additional charges for children in the room without additional bed. Good decent hotel but facilities a bit old. Water boiler left residue of scum. Walls a bit thin so we could hear people on hallway and next rooms. Parking is charged at 10 euro which I feel it should be free since not many hotel guest rent car there.

    Location was quite good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very close to main station and you can walk to everywhere in a few minutes! And I really enjoyed watching the beatiful sunset throught the window of my room:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    Were in Salzburg for the Sound of Music Tour so property was adequate for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant got very crowded due to tour bus groups. Breakfast selections were adequate but staff struggled to keep food available due to bus tour crowds all eating at once.

    Room was adequate for our purposes. Nothing fancy but not run down or shabby looking. Desk staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. Enough transit options to reach Salzburg locations but distances are also walkable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous mini holiday, excellant location and freindly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had difficulty using the room safe, apart from that it was all good

    The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast there was a good choice. The room was clean and comfortable. Situation perfect for our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice breakfast and location , but not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower , room size

    Nice breakfast and location , but not a 4 star hotel. Small room and shower was in a bad way - door was unfolding all the time , very bad design. It was a challenge to have a shower to be honest. I would say good 3 star , but then it has to be reflected in the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    This is a family owned hotel, located about a 10-15 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a family owned hotel, located about a 10-15 minute walk to the old city. The facilities are great and self-recommending. The thing we liked best about our stay was the helpfulness of the evening/night concierge - he was absolutely fantastic. He helped us with recommendations, advised us about the weather (giving us umbrellas) and genuinely made you feel valued as a customer. I would stay there again my next trip to Salzburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful with helping us get around and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not quite strong enough. Slept pretty hot.

    The staff was very helpful with helping us get around and helpful with getting the bedding changed after our daughter threw up in bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    A warm friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking should be free rather than charged.

    The staff were very welcoming and the rooms well decorated with comfortable beds and chairs. The breakfast was well presented, fresh with a great deal of choice to cater for all tastes. We had a lovely room with a balcony and even though our room was first on the corridor to many others we heard no noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    - close to train station but somehow the street is cover...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - can be more options for breakfast. - TV is a bit boring as most of them are news or not in English. - stop putting plastic spoon in the room! Use the real one please.

    - close to train station but somehow the street is cover with gravel and makes it hard to drag your luggage. - staffs are friendly and willing to help with anything. - shower is very clean and beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good quality breakfast. Just 15-20 minutes walk from centre of old town with bus stop very close by. We'd go back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Great retro furnished hotel.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A decent walk to the town centre.

    Great retro furnished hotel. Staff are lovely and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was great. Easy access to the main train station. The retro hotel bar is cool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    The location was a great balance between the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most modern hotel, but also absolutely nothing wrong with it!

    The location was a great balance between the train station and old city. The staff were really helpful and friendly, including being fine with us hanging out in the evening until our overnight train left.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    calm place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They blocked my money several days before staying and after paying by other bank card it took another several days they returned my money.

    Parking inside garage, tasty breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have preferred softer/feather pillows. The hotel seemed a bit pricey, but we had to book last-minute on New Year's Eve due to a cancelled flight, so maybe it's better value at other times.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. Nice quiet location convenient to the train station and a pleasant walk along the river to the centre of town. Appreciated the variety of toiletries (especially the toothbrush/paste). The little lucky pigs at breakfast on New Year's Day were a nice touch. :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff were friendly and spoke English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were friendly and spoke English. The beds are so comfortable and the room even had a little table booth and nice big tv. There is indoor hotel parking next door for 10 Euro a night. It is a bit of a walk to the city but its not too bad if you have warm clothes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Nice pleasant family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We wanted to try in house restaurant but unfortunately it was closed during our stay.

    1. The hotel is 10 mins walk from the railway station. 2. The staff, lady at reception and at the breakfast counter, were very friendly and good with kids. 3. Breakfast options are very good. 4. Rooms are clean and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, value for money stay in quality hotel with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was excellent, the staff were so nice and couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely recommend to anyone and would definitely go back ourselves!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    We very much enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that a larger bar area with comfortable seating I.e. chairs and not tables and bar stools would be beneficial for the odd hour or two to relax in during the time between late afternoon and getting ready for an evening out or indeed to sit and relax with a drink in the evening after a hard day out and before bed time. we did find the hotel very hot. Opening a window did the trick apart from traffic noise, otherwise no problem.

    Everything was great. The bedroom was very comfortable and breakfast fabulous. Location perfect for old town, new town, very close to train station and shops. Very good for getting out and about and lots of eateries within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel in an amazing city!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, sliding doors which almost caused an injury. However, it saves the room some space!!!

    Nice location, helpful staff. Good parking area althogh we went on an off season. Nice complimentary biscuits and very clean rooms! Old and traditional look to to the hotel definitely made the trip special!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice, clean and comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not ideal covering the whole floor with water when showering.

    Nice, clean and comfortable room. Very nice breakfast selection. Location was ok, Close to the train station . Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    This is where to stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    All the staff were friendly and put in effort to ensure we had the best stay possible. The breakfast was great - probably the best we had in 5 week of touring

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    great location- 7 Mins walk from the main train station and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room a bit small for two bathroom small

    great location- 7 Mins walk from the main train station and around 10 mins from the city. staff was nice and helpful rooms were clean, beds comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfect to go to the airport
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to take a flight early in the morning and, after we asked them, they prepared us a breakfast bag with a sándwich, an apple and one water bottle. BE CAREFULL: If you need one of these bags, remember to ask still water if you want it, because the normal water they drink is the sparkling one. The ubication is perfect to go to the airport in about 5-7 minutes, it depending on the hour and traffic. And also if you travel by train or bus, because it is also closed from the central station (5 minutes walking).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.0
    Only beds are comfortable, breakfast is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old fashioned. The bathroom was dirty and we had to ask them to clean it again.

    Only beds are comfortable, breakfast is ok. Close to the main station, far to the main area by walking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    A good hotel in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hair shampoos and shower soaps were not replenished daily.

    The staff were professional and helpful. Our room was quiet, very comfortable with the table and seats and well equipped. The staff very kindly allowed us into our room early. The lovely surprise chocolate on our pillow was very welcome after our walk along the riverbank from the old city centre. Very convenient for the railway station. Fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Recommended as family friendly and really wasn't suited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recommended as family friendly and really wasn't suited to having young kids and a stroller. Distance to city center is deceiving. Not easy to access old town by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    We appreciated the great service from the staff who were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appreciated the great service from the staff who were very friendly and helpful. They were great in assisting us navigate our way around the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had room for 1 person - the toilet room was a bit small the hotel does not allow guests to come visit you (they did not even allow my brother to help me carry bags to my room...)

    great location near the central train station breakfast was very good good WIFI

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location so close to station great when you have heavy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very hot and corridors guess no air con, rooms okay as had air con. Bed was too hard for me and pillows were not comfortable but my neck is bad at moment so might be me re pillow, but mattress was very firm

    Great location so close to station great when you have heavy suitcase. Fantastic breakfast. Close to city as well shame no view from rooms. Got double room even though was expecting single so that was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    My trip to Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refrigerator didn't work, no washing machine and dryers to wash clothes. For the price should hgave had that. To expensive to sent stuff out to get wash.

    Nice staff, great breakfast and had air condition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel very convenient for the centre of Salzburg via a stroll along the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can not think of anything

    Excellent hotel, friendly front of house staff, booked a budget room, it was fabulous couldn't fault it. Excellent breakfast. Lovely walk along the river to the centre, very well situated. Would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Quite and comfort stay in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size is a bit smaller than in the photos. (But it is comfortable for a couple)

    Location is with in walking distance from the Salzburg Hbf train station. City tour maps and tickets also available at reception. Friendly staff. Walkable distance to panaromic lake view and Mirabell platz with in 1KM. Fruits and chocolates as a welcome gift. Last but not least awesome cleanlyness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Romantic experience with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with free WIFI
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Limited options in breakfast menu 2. Complimentary pressing option was not available 3. My child was charged for adult breakfast

    1. Close proximity to Salzburg Hauptbahnhof (Salzburg Main Train Station) 2. A no. of big shopping malls are very close 3. A no. of good restaurants in the vicinity. Halal food options are also available 4. Hotel is present in a residential area 5. Stylish, colorful & soothing interior decor 6. Sofa-style 4-seater dining table was awesome 7. Breakfast ambience is pretty good 8. Daily surprise chocolate was left in the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is very easy accessible from highway and it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had double room adapted to three persons, and the access to the wardrobe was complicated. But we stay only one night and we did not need to use it.

    The hotel is very easy accessible from highway and it is close to old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Salzburg stay at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is $10 per night.

    Location not near center, but it is near a river bridge, a park and good restaurants. Good breakfast prepared by quality staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    3.3
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free parking. The paid parking is expensive and complicated where you need to park your car inside a garage and they lock it. You need to ask for a garage key whenever you the car. The room is relatively small. I book a double bed and they gave us 2 single beds pushed together. At evening the whole hotel smells asian food, i believe it came from the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    The room was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with free WIFI
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a good size. Breakfast was excellent. Great location - a few blocks from the train station - more of a residential area rather than busy city feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Brief but lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with free WIFI
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would make guests feel more secure to have a specific luggage storage area.

    The staff here was so helpful and kind! Menny checked us in and helped direct us to food and a lovely walk around town. The room was a normal size and the bed was comfortable. It's extremely close to the train station (why we chose it), but also within 15 minutes walking to down town. Breakfast was much better than expected (different kinds of bread, some cheese slices, meat slices, cucumber, tomato, fruit, cereal, and a few hot dishes like eggs) and we were able to check out and leave our bags to pick up later that afternoon. We were very happy here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel not to pricey within walking distance of the old city if a little far however good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few little things an error when payin was charged too much but was rectified at time when I pointed it out

    Location in city walkable distance to centre though a little way out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Very hospitable and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hospitable and nice staff. The room was big, clean and very comfortable. Nice bed and air conditioning ensured us good sleep while the weather outside was hot. Location was good; walking distance to the old town, but the hotel is on a peaceful district. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No top sheet, and separate single duvets instead of one double one on the bed - but that seems to be the way they do things in Europe! Decor is dated, but we actually thought it was cute and had character.

    This was the only room in our two-week European summer holiday that was airconditioned. It was the only room we slept well in! The boutique style was lovely, as were the staff. Location was excellent - so easy from the train station, and a pleasant walk to town along the river. We did a great river run in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Good place, nice location and extremely nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No option for dinner as the restaurant closes after breakfast.

    The reception and restaurant staff were extremely nice. Reception staff were patient and gave detailed explanations on where to go and how to get to each place. Added facilities were the ability to borrow an umbrella rent a cycle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel if you are light on luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Four Star rating is bit generous. At best, it could be 3*. The rooms and bathrooms need renovation; they are dated.

    It is value for money property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.5
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is nothing you would expect a 4-star hotel to be. The rooms were small and not very well kept, we also ended up with moths in our room! The breakfast spread is limited, they do not have a kitchen open for lunch or dinner, so basically you can't depend on the hotel for a meal. The staff was not very accommodating to any requests and instead of helping they chose to argue with us. Overall experience was bad and definitely not worth the money paid, I would never go back there.

    The only plus point of the hotel was the proximity to the train station and public transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great variety of food items for breakfast and everything tasted fresh and delicious. Very fast internet connection. Very friendly and welcoming hotel staff. Spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Great room with very comfortable bed and big TV.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff not really friendly. Room wasn't cleaned after first night. Scratchy toilet paper.

    Great room with very comfortable bed and big TV. Nice bar with garden. Central location but still quiet rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Too High priced and service & location not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning in room not adequate.In scorching sun too far to walk to the city centre.

    Breakfast was good.airconditioning poor in the room.when asked was told rudely this was all we would get! No fan was available either.we had picked this property at a high tariff especially for its air conditioning-so this was a let down!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Good location for train travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee facilities in room would be much better than a vending machine.

    Good location for Hauptbahnhof. Bedroom adequately comfortable. Reception staff helpful,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    The best thing about Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we were very uncomfortable as the aircon was not working. But once we complained, they got it working efficiently .

    The property is a ten minute walk from the main railway station. The staff is extremely helpful. Herr Joseph is an efficient and wonderful manager, always smiling and bending backwards to make his guests comfortable. The stewardess Maria is a gracious hostess. The first day my mother told her she wants hot milk, then onwards she used to bring it as soon as she spotted my mom at the breakfast table. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    - Location is very good: 5min walk form the train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -- Wifi access is limited to one device only per room (eg: one smartphone only). Extra codes have to be purchased to use internet in extra devices of your own (eg: laptop) and to the other room guest(s). -- Was not easy to regulate room temperature. Was quite hot inside. We slept with window open.

    - Location is very good: 5min walk form the train station and 15min easy walk to downtown. We went for a concert at SalzburgArena. Bus n1 to the Arena is just at the corner. - Silent rooms - Bed mattress and linen are fine

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay was OK except when we were checking-in. One guy at the reception was not friendly nor helpful, making checking-in process unpleasant.

    Breakfast was great. So as the lady looking after the cafe - she is very good and really friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast every single day. The cafe was also very nicely decorated. In our many days of travelling, this was one of the best breakfast experiences that we had. The lady at the reception when we checked out also was very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    8.8
    It was a pleasant and lovely stay in the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not so many dislikes in the hotel. The only thing which I didn't like was the wifi. But internet can be offered for free in some of the rooms, depending on the type of room and deal. Nevertheless stay was pleasant, which is important :)

    It was a pleasant and lovely stay in the hotel. The place is not so far from the main train station. The lady on reception during the day time is very kind and friendly. She arranged intoning service for my suit in short notice. It's a must place to stay. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and clean small hotel with superb breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was high, but that is obiously normal for Salzburg. Other accomodations close to the city center were even more expensive.

    The hotel is some 15-20 minutes walk from the historical town center, and has very good accessibility by public bus as well. It is also close to the main railway station. The location is relatively quite, no problem with the traffic noise. The room was not large, but the beds were convenient. Very, very clean! The breakfast was superb. The car can be parked at hotel's parking place for 10€/night. The Location looks safe. Good Pizzeria (Padrino) close to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.8
    Thank you but No thank you!
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altough WI-FI was included in the room price (rooms prices overloaded), you get access by going every 2-3 hours to the reception and "begg" for the password... then you get a printed piece of paper with logging ingridents which often was already in use... Give me a break you treat WI-FI as it used to be 15 years ago!!!

    All Staff very friendly except for the Ladies at the Reception (mother and daughter-owners)!!! Breakfast was good but the waiter does so much noise by cleaning the tables... you feel like "hurry up"!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    Old school Austrian chintz with a decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi should always be free! This isn't a budget hotel so I ended up leaving after 1 night to go to a place that did have free wifi. Also could do with 'do not disturb' signs.

    Friendly staff and quite nice breakfast - it's a chintzy old time Austrian place. Even at a proper bath with ornate tiles.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Good location for train station - one can walk if even with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit of a walk for old town, about 15 minutes. Hotel is a little older but maintained well

    Good location for train station - one can walk if even with luggage, good breakfast, staff very nice. It was nice to have AC as it was warm first night. We have stayed here several times, so we would recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    5.0
    Never come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived with two big suitcase the stuff just run through us. No help At all. Is it really a 4star hotel? I'd say the description on booking is too over

    The room is small but clean enough.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Very convinent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems to be the same every were we stayed the constant smell of fag smoke .

    Location to trains very good . Also very near car hire and walking routes .hotel staff very helpful .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    4.2
    Keep walking past this old out dated ,unfriendly and must pay for wifi hotel. It isn't worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff , had to pay for wifi for every member to use . 10 euro each of us to have our own code . In this day wifi should not cost anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.3
    Good place to stay with great breakfast, comfy beds, friendly staff. WiFi and milk should be free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There should be free WiFi in this day and age. When it says there are tea and coffee making facilities milk, either fresh or long life should be provided without having to pay or debate the issue with the on duty manager. I had to pay 1.50 euro for 2 very small jugs of milk.

    The breakfast was great and nothing was too much trouble. Staff on duty at breakfast were friendly and attentive. Front counter staff also very helpful. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff, clean but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very small. We were on the top floor connecting rooms where the room and bathroom were very small and tight.

    Clean, good breakfast, staff was friendly and helpful. They have connecting rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.8
    Would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor negatives - towels are hard & old, no glasses in room just plastic cups that break when you open them, no fridge in room and cannot get heater to work?? (May be off as its summer but it's cold today!)

    Excellent location, beautiful rooms and views. Right next to cable cars and flying fox. Would stay again and hope to come back in winter

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.6
    It deserves three stars not four
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rate as 4 stars is too much. It is old hotel with old furniture. The area of the room is not suitable with double bed. Some of the receptionists were cooperative and some of them no especially about the language!

    Good location and quiet area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    A nice, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the location is perfect - just a nice walk along the river to get to the city centre - the staff were extremely polite - it was raining when we came, so we were offered umbrellas - a nice touch

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    fair room, POOR PAID WIFI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very POOR WIFI and it is NOT FREE. maybe my room is at the corner that's why I got very bad connection, but the connection was also bad even in the breakfast room and lobby. Toilet paper is of low quality.

    cosy room, good air-con

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel & staff, close to the bus & train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel & staff, close to the bus & train station by walking distance, great food and very comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Off street private undercover parking available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Off street private undercover parking available. Only a short walk to city centre. Good breakfast and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was just a nice walk alongside the river to the old town and secure parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel. Enjoyed the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was well laid out and I had good space for working.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Near station, friendly staff, clean room , good breakfast ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near station, friendly staff, clean room , good breakfast , worth for stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilator in bathroom. Not fill toiletries everyday.

    Good. We can buy salzburg card from here. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Scherer traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: