Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Dürnstein 5 stars

Dürnstein 2, 3601 Dürnstein, Austria

#2 of 8 hotels in Dürnstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 398 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything needs some serious upgrading as everything is seriously dated. Proper smoking sections would be nice for non-smokers to not have to deal with so much second hand smoke. Staff, in particular concierges and restaurant staff, could use some training on providing proper friendly and prompt service. Any request or question asked of them seems like you are seriously putting them out.

    The hotel has nice charm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No washcloths in the bathroom.

    View from the room was lovely looking out on the Danube. Hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. The two swimming pools were wonderful to have use of after a long and busy day of seeing tourist sites. Very quiet and the location in Dürnstein is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not always working with weak signal in some areas of the hotel when it was.

    Stunning views of the river from the terrace and both indoor and outdoor pools were lovely to relax by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking. Staff in restaurant has been really chaotic. Photos on booking.com were not corresponding with reality (they were real, but photos of basic and Deluxe rooms are swapped)

    Location. Staff at the reception. View from room. Interior

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the old world elegance! The rooms were all decorated in antiques and the surrounding village is wonderful, would have loved to have more time there. Staff was extremely accommodating. Dinner was expensive but amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping to borrow an English paperback, there was only one title. The indoor pool is rather small, but the one outside was perfect.

    Absolutely deserves 5 stars - the staff, comfort, the dinner and breakfast - absolutely delicious !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No airconditioning Somewhat small bathroom

    Very charming hotel, beautiful location on the Danube Room with a small balcony and nice views Great breakfast and good dinner Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feeling like exceptional service or any service was an imposition. They are missing the mark in so many ways. I could provide ten different examples of small things they could do to make the experience so different... Exceptional vs. ordinary.

    Nice location, pretty view and overall experience was good but not exceptional. Does not live up to a Relais & Chateaux experience. Service is kind of like Monty Python Faulty Towers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall unpleasant staff, apart from the two ladies at the reception desk. Unprofessional waiters, both during dinner and for the breakfast. Two single mattresses merged into a double bed - uncomfortable for sleeping in two. Average restaurant food. Taking into consideration the level of service and overall impression, this hotel offers poor value for money and this was certainly miles away from a five-star experience.

    Location. Restaurant terrace. Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some (one?) of the staff didn't know how to connect wifi for Iphones or Ipads which ment that I had to keep asking for help at the reception until someone could at last help me. (I Point this out as it is easily remedied until next time I hopefully visit the hotel) That same staffmember offered the hotel computor to try to help, but I needed the information on my device.

    The selection of cheeses on the breakfast buffé were a Dream for a cheese lover. The location and the sense of luxury to the whole Place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fitness facility was rather limited. Wifi somewhat slow, but maybe this is inevitable in a comparatively rural locale.

    Spectacular location along the Danube, with wonderful views from the restaurant terrace -- wholly removed from the tourist bustle in the rest of town. We had a lovely dinner at sunset, with gracious service and innovative menu selections that were consistently wonderful. Staff was always friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the outdoor pool as a secluded refuge. Room was quite large, with exposed beams and quite nice appointments.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in the room.

    This is an outstanding place to stay. The facilities were first class and the staff were friendly helpful and outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. The care and attention that has been put into making the hotel both historical with fitting modern facilities is a credit to the owners.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and views along the Danube river were stunning, and the customer service was fabulous! We loved the history of the hotel and the entire experience of our stay, from the breakfast to the piano player in the lobby in the evenings. We wish we could have stayed for a month!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very good. It is a family business with a lot of charm. The rooms are comfortable. The breakfast was very good and we had an amazing dinner at the hotel restaurant (they give a 10% discount to guests as well). It is definitely a worthy and memorable place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Very romantic place to stay in the castle next to the river Donau. Everything was first class and we enjoyed our stay a lot. The family that runs the hotel were around. We liked the piano player in the bar. We had dinner in the elegant restaurant and next evening in the cozy Grill restaurant in the garden. We can recommend both. The indoor pool was nice with sauna and relaxarea. We are sure every one would love a stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linens were not the softest.

    The food, in general, was superb. I had a wonderful lunch and the breakfast was both beautiful and plentiful. One would be hard-pressed to find anything to complain about in that regard. The rooms are lovely, although I would describe the bathroom as a "wee bit" tired, nothing to be concerned about, however. The location couldn't be better. Durnstein is a charming village located in a stunning part of Austria, the Wachau Valley. Try the apricots (marielle) anywhere you can. A glass of sekt with a dash of apricot nectar is a wonderful aperitif!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food only ok. Has a bit of a "stuffy" feel. When you are a couple, the crack in the middle of the mattresses is annoying.

    Staff is excellent. Great location Charming spacious rooms, each different. Pretty views

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not eat at the hotel restaurant as the room is the same as the breakfast room and we felt like some variety. The breakfast was superb and I'm sure the dinner menu is equally delicious. We chose to eat at some of the local restaurants that were within easy walking distance.

    We arrived at Hotel Schloss Durnstein on Day 3 of our ride along the Danube. Unfortunately the weather had not been kind and we had been riding for 2 days in some quite heavy rain. We'd arrived at Durnstein via a ferry from Melk having bailed from our ride after 30km of riding in the rain. Arriving at Hotel Schloss Durnstein was like arriving in paradise. The staff (Robert) quickly assisted with storing our bikes and even washed our panier covers as they were wet and muddy. The hotel was beautifully warm and our room had a magnificent view both ways of the Danube and across to the picturesque town on the South Side. After having a bath and slipping into my apricot bathrobe I felt like a princess rather than a wet cyclist. We stayed for 2 nights and made use of the infrared cabin, sauna, steam room and indoor pool. I would have liked to use the outdoor pool as it looked very inviting with a view up to the old castle ruins but I wasn't that brave (re cold weather). The hotel is very conveniently located for exploring Durnstein, and there's a lot to explore: We climbed the trail to the old castle ruins which offers a fabulous view, we ate at a couple of the local food places - the Altes PressHause and Altes KlosterKeller which both offered wonderful local fare. This hotel is a bit pricey for Danube trail cyclists but we felt very refreshed when we left so treat yourself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms still have "handheld tub showers", but these are being phased out. Every room is different, so make sure you ask for what you want.

    Gorgeous place, in a perfect location. The staff is exceptional. Some rooms have air cooling (not conditioning), wonderful during the warm months.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was hot as balancing the charm of the place with installing modern amenities meant that there was no air conditioning.

    Beautiful location. Terrace restaurant a plus. Staff we met were friendly and the spa was an oasis of calm.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    owners could be more engaging and much more friendly to the guests,

    brilliant location on banks of river danube - fantastic views. the wonderful lady silvia on reception - extremely friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the staff and the way they treated us. Excellent service and the pool is a plus. The view from the restaurant is breathtaking and it's worthy all the money!!!! The farewell gift was a very nice surprise, also the welcoming basket of fruits. We'll definitely come back to stay more days at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the facilities as they were very poor for a five star hotel and there was not much staff for such a big place.

    I liked the area and the idea of being in such an old schloss

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very hot and stuffy and we had difficulty sleeping. Airconditioning old buildings may not be practical and is a convenient excuse, but there are such things as fans and portable aircon units which would greatly increase guest comfort in the summer months.

    We loved the location. The hotel was beautiful, the staff friendly and the restaurant excellent (but also expensive).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not have air condition and was hot until it cooled down at night.

    Luxury hotel with very good service. Located right on town with nice view of the river. Nice dining at restaurant overlooking the Danube River.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nothing.

    We loved this hotel. The terrace is a great place to have breakfast or dinner and just relax. The breakfast was excellent. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was our favorite meal in our 23 day vacation, and good value. The room was large and comfortable wit a view of the river. The sitting chairs were some of the most comfortable we have ever had in a hotel. And then, of course, the location was perfect. We parked a car in the compound and that was easy as well. There were lots of other amenities, but we did not have time to use them.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner at the hotel was delicious and perfectly cooked, but the service was very slow for no apparent reason. Also, know that there is no AC in the hotel, which for a 5-star establishment is unusual. It got very hot in the room, even at night... Also, shower/bath does not have a place to set the shower extension so you have to hold it yourself.

    The indoor and outdoor pools (especially the outdoor) are amazing and extremely relaxing. Breakfast was also fantastic. Front desk staff are really nice and helpful. Location is perfect and the view from the terrace is ideal.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. Rundown bathroom and decor in the room. Noise from other rooms. Not worth the money (300e per night). Parking was full - had to wait. Very narrow for a limousine type of car.

    Always smiling staff. Nice view from a room. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The restaurant is excellent!,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't fault anything

    Everything was first class

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room overlooking the Danube and i got just that. It was lovely and I wish we had stayed there longer, i had not known what to expect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect wine list and cousine in the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Love the view from both the terrace and the rooms. Friendly staff and loved the luxury.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but narrow entrance into property and car park

    Great ambience and location Very comfortable bedding and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beautiful and excellent hotel friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at dinner was surprisingly mediocre!

    Surroundings are beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner on the terrace was exceptional both the food and the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit overpriced .

    Slow service for breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing terrasse with a Donau view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very friendly,except for one waitress

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really like the spa

    I really liked my room and he service was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked very much the location. The room was nice but the bath very small and no full mirror in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the place, hotel, the service, everything was excellent!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Wonderful location. Impeccable taste and service. Large room. The swimming pool was a big plus. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI

    The terrace overlooking the Donau river

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, charming staff, great wine list, great breakfast, great massages

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A truly first-rate hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good breakfast, good room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very nice with kind staff and have an amazing view of the river, with a very good location on the Main Street and a nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing!! Lovely location. The whole experience was unforgettable!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and facilities

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating system does not work well and called the reception but no action

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed and room were very nice. Breakfast selection was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of transportation available for guests. We choose a scooter and it was real fun to drive around on the Wachau.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    First class everthing!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel,Location,Service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, location, gastronomy, comfort, traditional Austrian ambiance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very cosy and the dinner/breakfast are excellence.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Our second great stay. Superb palace hotel in superb Wachau village.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food slightly disappointing in the evening

    Lovely location , good sized room , great dining terrace

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Snotty and their restaurant manager was horrible.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a beautiful Schloss hotel - rooms are fabulous and the spa area is nice. Super restaurant and the staff were lovely, even though we turned up sweaty in sports gear after a long cycle!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - fantastic! Perfect for a romantic get away. The only disappointment was not being able to enjoy a meal in their restaurant due to another function on the same night that we chose to not be a part of because of the cost. Although, we did find a fantastic local alternative for dinner only minutes walk away. And one must walk the streets and discover the shops, wine tasting shops and restaurants in the area. Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was excellent and the breakfast was very nice. We left a turning light on in our car and wasn't aware of it. A nice staff member saw it and alerted the reception who notified us. Probably saved our battery !! Appreciate this personal service so much.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny room, even tinier bathroom. Barely room to turn around. Shower has one of those little glass partitions, so common in Europe, that only extend one-third the length of the tub, so the floor always gets wet.

    Danube view, excellent (but expensive) restaurant and wine list.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we went down to the outdoor deck for coffee around 6 pm, we were told we could not have coffee then nor sit in seats that we had seen people sitting in a mere 45 minutes earlier; they were not being used, nor set for dinner.

    Jenny was a wonderful greeter and made us instantly feel at home again.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish the 1/2 board was explained upon check in. Offered s reservation but restaurant seemed expensive so we went elsewhere. However, we certainly would have chosen the hotel restaurant at 44 euro each had we known.

    Great location and unique.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative was the too warm temperature in the room due to no air conditioning & very limited ventilation. Glad we were not there during a hot summer period.

    Staff, hotel facilities & location were all excellent. Being able to relax with a glass of champagne overlooking the Danube with piano music in the background was magic!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi is free but due to the thickness of the walls it is not accessible in all rooms. We were advised of this at check-in however and the wifi in the salon was excellent.

    The location and facilities of the Schloss Durnstein are absolutely fantastic. Free bike hire was arranged on the spot when we wanted to explore the valley and when we came back we were able to relax in the beautiful outdoor pool area. Breakfast on the terrace each morning was a lovely experience. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Rooms are average. No air conditioning, and this summer was very hot. No outlets anywhere. None in bathroom. One behind a little dresser containing the mini-bar. Had to unplug the mini-bar to charge phone.

    The location is superb - great for bicycling the wine route. Front office is also great. We did not try the restaurant this trip, but have previously - very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was extremely hot and without air conditioning it was hard to reduce the temperature. I imagine grander rooms with higher ceilings are probably cooler and you get what you pay for.

    This schloss perches high on the banks of the Danube. Our room had a wonderful view of the river. Fittings were luxurious and it was nice to have a fluffy bathrobe to wrap up in. Having fruit in our room was a lovely touch and very welcome. Meals are taken on the terrace overlooking the river - a pianist played a selection of popular light classics the evening we were there.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Omg i cant beleive how this hotel is given 5 star. At first, we were welcomed with a huge brown dog barking at us in the car park. The dog scared my children and my wife. At first, the hotel rooms are with no AC, if its summer, you will not survive the heat. We couldnt sleep at night. Secondly, for international people, the hotel has no wifi on the rooms. Thirdly, the breakfast selection is poor and the waitresses are impatiant and could use a hospitality tranining program for them (to enhance their skills and protocol). Lastly, the gym closes at 8 pm and opens at 8 am!!! It should open at 6 am and operate for 24 hour or at least close at 12 pm. The hotel should be 2 star hotel at most. This hotel should be 2

    River danube

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets in hotel rooms are not hygenic and can never be really clean.

    The location, the historic building, the pool, the friendly and unpretentious staff. Well done!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Crazy extra charge for second person staying in a double room. Double room means for two people and they make extra money from dining etc with extra. Very poor wi-fi and silly little shower-room in a tiny cupboard not in keeping with the price charged

    Position : dining overlooking Danube

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: