Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Fernsteinsee 4 stars

Fernstein 475, 6465 Nassereith, Austria

#7 of 12 hotels in Nassereith

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice stay in the appartement in the Villa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay in the appartement in the Villa. Good diner and breakfast. Beautiful lake Fernsee in which we enjoyed a swim in the clear fresh water. Love to come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Free chocolate, wine, club soda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were sad to have a kitchen, but not the equipment expected in a kitchen. No bowls, bread knife (or any other sharp knives), not even enough plates and cutlery for all five persons who could sleep in the suite.

    Free chocolate, wine, club soda.... wonderful views, good food, wonderful walks in the area. The sound of the bells on the cattle. The clean air. The spacious suite we had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    You will feel like royalty staying in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The rooms in this castle hotel are more immaculate and beautiful than I could have ever imagined! Our suite was humongous! We were a family of 4 (2 kids, 7 and 9 years old). The suite had 3 bedrooms - Enough for another child if we had one. The room also had a kitchenette with refrigerator. The ornate decor was stunning - I couldn't convince my children to leave the room because they enjoyed being in it so much! You will feel like royalty staying in such a beautiful hotel. The hotel is walking distance from the tranquil lake, as well as a charming small creek. We highly enjoyed exploring the castle and appreciating the decor and furnishings! We have stayed in many castle hotels and this was by far the nicest one and value for the money!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the villa next to the camping ground. Wonderful place but with noisy neighbors partying well into the early hours of the morning

    Wonderful location, friendly and helpful staff. Incredibly dog-friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Our visit and stay at the hotel was absolutely grand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower heads and equipment were different then I have seen or used. No small wash cloths.

    We were met by the wonderful staff with smiles and happiness. I felt like they were our friends-they were so nice. They did all that they could to ensure that we felt like we were the ONLY guests! Our family LOVED our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. So beautiful inside and throughout. The views are magnificent! Excellent service and caring. We hope to come back some day and enjoy the hotel again!! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good location in the mountains.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For our understanding the wine prices were horrendous!! Even in 5 star hotels we never paid that much...

    Very good location in the mountains. The appartment was super and the food was also very good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location, grand room with stunning mountain and lake views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was limited at the Scholss side. We tried to park near our room but the road wasn't good enough (we scraped the bottom of the car trying to get through the tunnel but we couldn't turn around as it was too narrow). I think reception could have mentioned this. We had to park a little way away and carry the cases up the hill, which wasn't too bad but the gravel road meant we had to carry the cases rather than pull them. A minor point really in the overall stay.

    What a fab location! We stayed in the schloss side of the castle which was very charming. We had a large room with a kitchenette and good sized bathroom. The room was very comfortable. Views were spectacular! The staff were very friendly too. The food in the restaurant was very good and service was excellent too. The lake was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, atmosphere, friendly staff, beautiful lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does possibly require assistance if bringing a lot of luggage ( if you have been travelling for a long time) up so many steps, staff will help but it should be planned to be offered as standard checkin. Could use more written guest information in English , and a few more English tv stations if staying a while would be good since everything closes at 9 pm. When hot in summer, is very hot up in the castle, could use some big ventilator fans. But these are minor details, its a great experience overall.

    The Ludwig apartment on top floor of tge castle was wonderful, beautifully appointed, great atmosphere, excellent wifi. It has a kitchen, although lacking most cooking / eating utensils if planning to prepare more then just coffee, but most likely whatever was needed would be readily provided by staff if asked. The restaurant was excellent, all meals delicious. Just be prepared for a lot of steps and stairs up and down, its a medieval castle. The location is really lovely with a beautiful crystal clear small lake ( too cold for swimming, good for cooling off feet though ;-) and popular for diving, with hiking trails. Nice experience for couples or families.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    It was an OK Room but far too expensive in comparision to overall Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lousy kitchen. Shop in the campsite was VERY VERY basic - actually it was pathetic. The whole complex at the pass is owned by the same company / family and it is overall very expensive. Would not go back and stay again.

    Nice room but very basic kitchen - they could have done better and provided more utensils. No kettle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    very pleasant
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a very busy road. So it's surprisingly noisy if you leave the windows open! However the hotel provides noiseless ventilation that lets you get fresh air while keeping the windows closed.

    great food for all meals. beautiful walks on the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    The location beside the lake is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road next to the hotel is pretty noisy, unfortunately. But other than that everything was great.

    The location beside the lake is fantastic. To take a walk or a run around it is a "must". Nice rooms and great personnel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Fun & Food in Fernstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beans, but wifi was regularly out. Indications of connectivity but no data.

    Fantastic location for hiking, eating and motorcycle touring. Loved the routine of breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Beautiful hikes, romantic rows on the lake, Austrian Alps...wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    A truly unique and stunning place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The kitchenette facilities were poor as we had no knives, coffee cups or bowls

    This hotel is truly unique. We stayed in a suite full of antiques in the old castle part of the hotel with a great atmosphere. The views and the Lake were beautiful. The newer part of the Hotel had some stunningly beautiful ornate rooms. the food was good, the staff treated me on my birthday by making a special effort with table decorations, a free glass of fizz and gateau with a firework in it. It was so lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Maybe hotal can putting some Automatische Empfangsmaschine ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe hotal can putting some Automatische Empfangsmaschine , because restaurant work time too sort...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great experience in a historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great experience in a historic building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Best place for few nights when crossing Fernpass
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle rooms and decor, great restaurant, delicious breakfast, mountain, forest, lake surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful suite , I think it was the biggest suite . Amazing the view to the mountains . The suite it was very big, beautiful a real fairy tail .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    The Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pretty room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to walk a lengthy wooden stairs while carrying a heavy suitcase

    Very pretty room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Hotel in Wonderland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ,A fantastic Hotel in a wonderful location with great friendly staff and super food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Great choice for its location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,view, restaurant,breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    The beautiful views and the balcony-conservatory attached to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful views and the balcony-conservatory attached to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    A repeated step in heaven, I did it twice and I ll be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast and restaurant and the diving is unique. Must be tried for any sport lover also for hiking and simply relaxing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lounge
    • Stayed 1 night

    pity staff dont speak english

    very nice place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice place to walk, swim or boat on the lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful place. Great breakfast, great dinner with super chef. A really great price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Historical treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic

    The Castle suite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.4
    building and history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    maintenance; noise from the road; bed; decoration is just lot of staff together

    building and history

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Enjoyable stay, friendly stuff, Perfect view , attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Enjoyable stay, friendly stuff, Perfect view , attractive location and the idea of the hotel, nice adventure, understanding needs of kids, acceptable internet connection, not to much varieties in breakfast but the view will let you forget that.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Stay in the fabulous castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stay in the fabulous castle. It's a beautiful property with a stunning lake across the road. Apparently it's a known spot for divers. We were there one night and it was well worth the experience!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.6
    Very interesting place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise

    Very interesting place. They have a castle, lake with boats (free!)and perfect views, but the road is under the windows and a little bit of noise (this road is not on pictures) but other things Is just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Very difficult to figure out where to go to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very difficult to figure out where to go to check in. The signs point to the entrance but then you aren't sure if you're parking where you should be. There is no place to park while you check in. There is no parking near the front desk at all. There are no signs pointing you in the direction of the front desk.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    Great Location with easy access to many areas in Tirol
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was really hot and rooms were not equipped with either ACs or electric fans, I think providing just fans during hot summer will be more than enough.

    Great Location with easy access to many areas in Tirol Friendly and Helpful staff and great service Rooms are spacious, clean with a wonderful balcony overlooking the Fernsteinsee Delicious Breakfast Buffet

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    Quiet, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wireless Internet was slow. Hotel is aware of it.This is due to the location of the hotel. No faster internet option is available.

    Quiet, clean room. Great view. Calm, peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private section at the lake needs a little more love and attention. Chairs and tables look half-abandoned, which is a pity. 15 minutes each day would be all it takes to make it tidy and attractive.

    Location and views. Access to lovely lake. Old fashioned but charming decor. Reasonable parking.Warm service.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    8.3
    Very nice suite in a very special castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The castle and restaurant are of higher standing; the camping and nearby restaurant somewhat shabby. Not very much to do.

    Very nice suite in a very special castle. Very nice location as a stop-over on the way to Sud-Tirol

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Excellent service in reception and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not possible to visit the actual castle, if you do not have a room from it. Slow wifi. No A/C.

    Excellent service in reception and restaurant. Fastest room service ever. Clean. Very good breakfast and dinner.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    Welcoming staff, Excellent Restaurant (the very best weiner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only a small point - Parking below the hotel and dragging the luggage over rough ground and up a steep slope was not easy, especially in the rain.

    Welcoming staff, Excellent Restaurant (the very best weiner schnitzel I have ever been served), Room that was spotlessly clean

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.1
    Hard to find parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to find parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    3.3
    the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel on main noissy road reception man is not polite not nice to be in this hotel

    the lake

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.3
    The beds are very comfortable and the there is a great view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi isn't very good and the room is overpriced.

    The beds are very comfortable and the there is a great view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    The room with old fashion, like I'm in the medieval era,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    The room with old fashion, like I'm in the medieval era, so it was great experience

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    8.3
    All the ornate, over the top decorations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slight hard-sell to fork out extra for the posher rooms.

    All the ornate, over the top decorations

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: