Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schloss Mönchstein 5 stars

Mönchsberg 26, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#1 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 173 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mild disappointment with the view from the hotel room. My website research did not give me all the information I needed to make an informed choice regarding views. For a four/five star hotel, I am being picky when I refer to the bathroom, but it was showing its age. One or two of the tap fixtures did not work. The grouting around the floor tiles is worn and dirty. The sealing and finishing of the various wall tiles is poor with old and dirty silicone sealant which was poorly applied and finished off.

    I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with my wife to explore Salzburg on a city break. We are an English couple in our 50’s. We had excellent sunny weather. I made the small mistake of walking from Salzburg Hbf station up the hill to the hotel. We enjoyed the walk but would recommend a taxi to those who do not want to walk. The entrance into the hotel grounds is very impressive. The welcome from the reception team was excellent and we were directed to the hotel lounge for a welcome drink. Check in and arrival at the room were all ok with no problems. The hotel upgraded us to a “Junior Suite”, room 61, which had been refurbished in recent months. There was not a view from the windows and all we saw was some metalwork beams attached to the hotel. The room itself had all the facilities expected of a four/five star hotel. There was a turn down service which seemed to happen seamlessly each evening. Breakfast was very nice with the choice of indoor or outdoor patio seating. We did not eat the evening meal in the hotel for two reasons, one it is very expensive and two we wanted to explore and eat in Salzburg. We noted the spa facilities and swimming pool but did not use them beacuse we did not have the time. I would recommend future guests research the alternatives in Salzburg. If this hotel ticks your boxes and you are prepared to pay quite a lot of money then I would recommend it. It is in an excellent location. It is quiet with great views of Salzburg.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels we ever stopped! The most professional team! Great restaurant with great breakfast and magifisent dinner! It was pleasure to stay there! Highly recommend to people with good taste!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had two other meals while at the hotel, they were very average and nothing to get excited about. For such an amazing get away, it was disappointing that the food was not excellent as well.

    The hotel was wonderful, the location was excellent with access to the center of Salzburg but far enough away to allow for peace and relaxation. The property could not have been more delightful, sourrounded by beautiful walking paths with views to die for. All staff I interacted with were very nice and helpful. The only thing I felt could be improved was the dining experience. Breakfast was very nice each day, though very quiet and reserved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member at reception made us feel unwelcome. Other than her, everyone else was pleasant and helpful.

    Gorgeous views of Salzburg, luxury accommodations, thoughtful welcome basket of fruit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything significant;

    personnel is very professional and discrete; excellent food; as a surprise, they offered my favourite cake for my birthday; we enjoyed very much the pool; very nice park;

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Schloss Mönchstein is an extremely special place. The service, rooms, restaurant, and spa are all of the absolute highest standard. My jaw dropped when I saw my room - stunning furnishings and a roomy balcony (with table and chairs) looking out to the Alps! The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious: marble everywhere with a rain shower head. I had two memorable dinners in the restaurant overlooking the mountains with fantastic servers and even more fantastic food (breakfast in the restaurant was also amazing). The infinity pool and hot tub were a wonderful way to relax in the evening after a day of exploring Salzburg. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough; it was a magical stay that I will never forget, and I can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    Dreamland kind of property with most beautiful interiors and exteriors. Magnificent views of Salzburg and adjacent forest most enchanting. Sublime breakfasts!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room at basement level, no view and very cold. Location too far from the city, especially at night. No possibility of booking cancellation

    Very friendly and competent staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    beautiful setting, great location for walking/sightseeing Salzburg (leave the car parked). Very comfortable rooms, spotless, lots of character. Wonderful, helpful staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay from the start to finish. This is castle hotel, with amazing staff, fantastic food and decoration. It's not so far from town via the lift. The town is beautiful. Try the 9 courses menu. We ate at the smallest restaurant in the world, which was a fantastic experience. The restaurant and breakfast are great too. This is our hotel for when we will be visiting Salzburg again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were excellent starting from the very warm welcome, to the standard of service and advice provided, which was exceptional and right up to the moment of our departure, when the receptionist came out and waved us off; a very personal touch that was very much appreciated. I travel the world staying in the most incredible 5* hotels but Schloss Munstein was wonderful and with a location second to none with easy navigation to the all parts of the Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely lovely hotel - from check-in to check-out. We were traveling late and at about 9 pm of the check-in day we got a call from the hotel asking when we are planning to arrive and if we are hungry. A very nice and personal touch. Check-in/out was fast and efficient. The front-desk, restaurant staff and the butlers are all highly professional and friendly. You get a los of sincere smiles in this lovely place and always feel yourself welcome. Rooms are clean and very well decorated, wifi is fast, breakfast is delicious:). A separate thank you - to the SPA therapist, he does wonders if you have back/leg problems! Thank you! Will definitely return and recommend this hotel to everyone, especially for some romantic moments with your loved ones:)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are on top of a mountain, so be prepared to leave via taxi or the lift in the museum of modern art.

    Like living in a castle! The staff was tremendous and everything was beautiful. The infinity pool is amazing and the breakfast is lovely. You will be transported in time to this peaceful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff was excellent, helpful, friendly and professional. We were taken care of from the moment we pulled into the driveway. Food and facilities were great also.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful property. Great location with beautiful views from top of mountain where hotel is located. Beautiful and clean suites Outstanding service and wonderful front desk. couldn't ask for more

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, small twin beds. (They said it's because it is a city view.)

    The staff were always there to help you. We got an upgrade to a city view twin rooms. You can walk shortly through the forest to the museum, take the elevator (just get the free pass from the front desk), and there you go, in the center of the historic old town. There was a welcome drink of choice at checking in. They parked the car for us. They gave us a strawberry chocolate jam as a gift after checking out. The restaurant dinner was superb. No wonder it is the No.1 hotel in Salzburg in every review website.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location with perfect view, very friendly staff, absolute cleanliness. If you want to relax and be pampered, choose Hotel Schloss Mönchstein.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Fantasy land above the city of Salzburg. The staff is exceptional, attentive but not imposing. Everything about the facility and team at the hotel was perfect; food as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    This hotel is exceptional. Admittedly I've never stayed in a 5* hotel before and so have no basis for comparison, but every inch of this place screams class. I can honestly say the staff could not have done more for us, from taking our bags to our room, to offering to hang our wet swimwear out to dry before our flight home, nothing was too much trouble. The outdoor pool/hot tub and spa ooze luxury and are well worth spending a little time in. All in all a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all. Everything was delightful.

    The service was extremely attentive and aims to delight and exceeds your expectation. It was unfortunate that our original room had a leaky air-conditioner and we brought it to their attention. With hesitation and further questions, after it was verified, we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the city.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Driving up the access road to the hotel is not for the faint-hearted. Not the hotel's fault of course, but just an observation.

    Absolutely stunning hotel, great location with easy access to central Salzburg via a lift (hotel provides a lift pass). The room was lovely and a fantastic basket of fresh fruit was replenished daily.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was interesting - some difficulty getting / finding but once you there it was spectacular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Great place. Superb view. Well done.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No champagne for breakfast

    Excellent service Dog friendly Excellent breakfast Nice rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes really early if no costumers show up and everything in the hotel became so quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. Nothing bad could be said.

    Beautiful location, grounds and views. Excellent spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place is beautiful. The staff are exceptionally nice and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Superior staffing, especially spa services.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    From checking in to checking out, a five star day!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really wonderful staff. Helpful, friendly and efficient. Very impressive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about this hotel is exceptional, when we travel to Salzburg again this will be our go to place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked the ability to make a tea or coffee in our room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service staff were the best

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel! Excellent service, a beautiful view over the city, very clean, outstanding food! The staff is very helpful. Absolutely love it!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Staff was excellent. Excellent breakfast . This is our hotel for when we will be visiting Salzburg again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the bathroom. Everyone was so attentive. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing perfect stay

    what a perfect small boutique hotel with one of the very best restaurants in Europe

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Great experience for family with young children. Ask for rooms with a garden!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has mastered the art of welcoming guests to their hotel! Very much worth the $ splurge!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! The staff at the front desk and restaurant were fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exquisite hotel with great staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and silance

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    An excellent place to stay and to visit. Few minutes to the old city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was gorgeous and the Pool splendid. The service was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet offered an exceptional number of options. Sitting out on the patio was quiet and special. Bircher muesli was exceptional.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to improve comes to mind

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning grounds, nice walk down to the elevator to get to the city

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weather but that s not the hotels fault,

    Quality and location and view on the old town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poached eggs should not be hard boiled

    very accommodating staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We were surprised by upgrading our rooms. Very friendly staff. Upscale Resaurant super breakfast with very obedient staff. Breathtaking views from rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Finding the hotel by satnav was tricky! Had to be given another address from the receptionist by which to find it on the satnav! This should be noted in the hotel's directions on its website. One vital turn off up the hill by the church had a crucial signpost hidden behind a wall!!

    We were met by the concierge and receptionist in pouring rain with umbrellas - they unpacked our car and arranged parking whilst we were offered a welcome drink of our choice - gratis! So off to a great start which then got even better as we were upgraded to a junior suite without asking! Huge room and en-suite tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Also our room was in a very quiet location which really suited us after an all-day drive in torrential rain! The hotel is a converted castle overlooking Salzburg with stunning views and has a lot of history. All the staff were so friendly that we've decided to book up 2 further nights here next week on our return from Vienna! Lovely spa in which to unwind too along with heated outdoor infinity pool! A wonderful hotel from which to explore Salzburg.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is not a single thing wrong about this hotel. Exceptional staff, stunning location, breathtaking views, magnificent and quiet rooms, well prepared food and attention to details at high level one could not find anything better. Thank you Schloss Mönchstein for a wonderful stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel gets it right from A to Z: no negative comment whatever.

    This hotel is a dream come true. Everything is exquisite, with a thoughtful, charming and uncontrived Old World touch which fascinated us. One of the three best places I have ever been (and I’m well travelled). The staff are great, the spa is gorgeous, the location is exceptional, parts of the castle were built in 1350 and the hotel looks accordingly romantic – and our room had every amenity one could think of, down to a heated bathroom floor and the most luxurious of bathrobes. In addition, we got, considering the level of luxury of the place, an outstanding off-season rate and our room was upgraded for free!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - uncomfortable bed and chairs (everywhere); - breakfast bakery and coffee.

    - multilingual, friendly and high quality service; - beautiful and peaceful location; - boutique hotel cozy ambiance; - excellent bathroom and room size; - good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely no negatives what so ever.

    The location was simply the best. Couldn't fault it. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble. Traveling with a young child we had a few requests and it was never too much trouble. We had the most amazing time and loved this hotel so much.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. I couldn't recommend this place enough. You can have an amazing hotel but to me 5 star is determined by the service. The staff were amazing. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only possible criticism was that the bed was slightly firmer than we like, but this was a minimal consideration given the overall fantastic experience!

    Staff courteous and very helpful Beautifully equipped hotel Central location surrounded by parkland Great food in restaurant

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit pricey.

    Excellent location. Helpful and friendly staff. Well equipped and appointed room. Pleasant surroundings, good for quiet walks and views.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    OMG this one is difficult.. I DO love everything here, from the first minute I entered the garden, receiving warm welcome with a free drink and being told the staff would take care of my baggage I don't need to worry anything take a rest and check in would be done very soon, to the last minute I finished check-out and got a beautiful homemade jam and the staff called a taxi to pick me up as I required. Restaurant also perfect. If I go to Salzburg in the future, this one will definitely the only choice for me. Felt being cared there.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I only had time to stay there 2 nights.

    I'm 70 years old and stayed in many hotels, but Hotel Schloss Monchstein has the finest staff of any hotel I've stayed in (bar none). Great location

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. From when we arrived and they came outside to greet us and take our car keys to valet our car to the complimentary glass of champagne to our room with a view of Salzburg to the infinity pool with a view. It is a fantastic, unique place.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic staff and customer service. The pool area is beautiful and relaxing. The room was lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding with lovely outdoor seating.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no bidet. This is the only part missing :(

    The hotel is beautifully decorated. Gardens and the scenery from the windows are relaxing and invigorating to the same time. The staff is the most amazing aspect of this hotel. Services excellentes! Second, the restaurant services most excellent menu. Sea Bass and the Rib eye are both amazing.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have like tea and coffee making facilities in our room

    What is there not to like! amazing position. Helpful staff. Quality food. Expensive yes but so worth it

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Absolutely superb, room beautiful, welcome was a lovely glass of champagne sitting on terrace, great pool, wonderful food and the best staff ever, informative, friendly and professional. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved everything!

    The location was great, we loved the walk through the forest to get to the elevator that takes you into town. The staff was fantastic. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check that problem with room 11 sorted before staying in it

    Restaurant was exceptional.Location terrific.Wonderful small scale luxury hotel.Staff have a refreshingly guest first attitude.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Impossible to find any fault with Schloss Monchstein.

    This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail, delightful staff, breakfasts , cleanliness and facilities including the infinity pool were all superb. Located above the city but very easy access via the Modern Art Museum lift gives the hotel a country feel with great access to the sights.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a bad experience, but be aware it is a walk to the elevator to get to the village, and the elevator closes early sometimes.

    Staff courtesy. Breakfast, welcoming drink. Pool. Views. Close to Old Town. History of the hotel itself.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This is a perfect hotel in a perfect location. We felt like royalty from the moment we pulled up. If you're planning a trip to Salzburg, this is the place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everyone seems to know your name when you arrive. The hotel driver is wonderful!! Walked me right to my concert venue since I wasa woman traveling alone. Wonderful!!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences. One tiny gripe from this lovely 5* hotel - complimentary water and tea and coffee facilities in the room should be available.

    Everything! Location, facilities, staff. From the moment we arrived until departure we could not have asked for more from this hotel. Perfect location looking over the city of Salzburg, beautiful walks through woodland, amazing swimming pool with breathtaking views and very attentive staff. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and the staff really made this celebration one to remember.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Minor problem with the air conditioner in the room but it is likely an isolated incident.

    Warm and extremely friendly staff. Made us feel like home. Beautiful hotel with excellent views of the city.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schloss Mönchstein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: