Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Schloss Prielau Hotel & Restaurant 4 stars

Hofmannsthalstraße 10, 5700 Zell am See, Austria

#6 of 50 hotels in Zell am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and the Fisher house was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was full (we couldn’t eat there anyway as we had a race in the morning) and the bar area was very small and outside the main castle without any obvious seating area. There was a wedding on so maybe the layout had changed.

    Amazing location and the Fisher house was beautiful. Staff very friendly and extremely accommodating! The private beach are was nice and we would love to go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommend staying here, beautiful castle, great location, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful small boutique castle by the lake. Good 30 min walk into town around the lake path. Huge rooms, lovely comfortable bed, modern bathroom. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    One of the best experience in terms of hospitality, a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    One of the best experience in terms of hospitality, a charming castle with all the facilities of a hotel, nice hotel kitchen but also a 2* Michelin restaurant.. Mrs Mayer is a great host! We loved that place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.6
    Vintage/ rustic stone metal looks, large bed, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifting up lots of baggage by stairs 😭 but staffs very helpful !

    Vintage/ rustic stone metal looks, large bed, beautiful open spaces outside..front side near the lake , back side near open field .. great view on winter!! Owner is very nice! Working around the area with her team.. very helpful on advices for places. One of the staff help move our heavy dinner direct to our room after our kid mess the 2 stars restaurant near the hotel. Steak is wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    I would definitely come back again , the best place for a chilling holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi in the rooms very weak, around 30 min distance from the center ( better if you have your own car). otherwise it was perfect.

    the staff were very helpful , the place is magical and romantic (it's an old castle ) you feel like you are in a story, very clean and tidy , free big parking area, very comfortable beds , very close to zell am see lake and they have their private beach reserved (it's around 5 min walk from the hotel). it's the best place if your are looking for a relaxing holiday in Zell am see , as the area is very quiet and green.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.8
    Pretty but needs a little improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in on a Tuesday just as all the staff were going home. So, there was no one to ask about the local facilities, etc., and the bar and restaurant were closed. Our room was beautifully decorated but it could have been cleaner. The bathroom had three spiders and the window was covered in cobwebs. My dirty coffee cup was not replaced on the second morning by the cleaner. Allied to that, there were no instructions about how to use the safe. The brown haired waitress on duty for breakfast on the Wednesday was grumpy and when I asked for lactose free spread, she thumped it down on the table- she was a complete contrast to the blonde woman who had greeted us the day previous. On the first day, we were offered a choice of cooked eggs, but on the second day we were offered nothing and felt like we couldn't ask the waitress because she seemed so hostile. Then to add insult to injury, it turned out that there was problem with how our booking had been processed when we checked in, so checking out took longer than it should have, which meant that we didn't have time to catch the bus and had to order a taxi.

    The castle and its grands are beautiful. The interiors are also tastefully decorated. The buffet breakfast offered a variety of choice and gluten free toast and lactose free spread was available on request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    We stayed in the 2nd floor family suite - it was HUGE and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it is a very old castle, but it was quite hot inside, even with all of the windows open. Since A/C is probably not an option, some portable fans in the bedrooms would be nice.

    We stayed in the 2nd floor family suite - it was HUGE and unlike anyplace we have ever stayed before. Very unique! The décor was medieval / rustic with some modern touches thrown in (TV's and bathrooms). My kids thought the short doorways were neat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    2.9
    Too expensive for what you get (room, breakfast, etc).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs to refurnish the rooms (sofa, lamps, carpets, etc).

    Too expensive for what you get (room, breakfast, etc). I didn't like the place at all

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    A unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Keeping a very ancient Castle (1425?) quiet atmosphere with very ancient furniture floor ceiling and original decorations combined with a modern very up to date modern bath and toilet facilities very comfortable bedding good heating and excellent breakfast - fresh self squeezed orange juice, a variety bread types including croison which are always warm and very fresh Very helpful staff with good recommendations and lot's of patience

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Country side yet elegant, cosy and warm, but stylish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car there. However it takes only 10 min to the center of Zel Am Zee and to the ski lifts

    The schloss is very well taken care of. The rooms are spacious, decorations and design are elegant and very well thought of. The atmosphere is very special and warm, you feel at home. Location is great: in the country side, next to the lake, but very close to Zel Am Zee. A great place for a romantic escape or a special event.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Wow, perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Great room Very comfortable beds Beautiful grounds Peaceful and quiet surrounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    The best place to book in zell am see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hospitality was wonderful and everything was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff was super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be a bit more diversified perhaps, but still - they were fine.

    The staff was super friendly. Generally, everything was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Castle hotel near zell am see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn't work

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a chalet and paid for it, but instead got a hotel room.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    TRULY MAGICAL
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!! Absolutely perfect!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place... huge rooms in an old castle. Full of character. Great staff! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Not to miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You get the real feeling of old time living

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    10
    Excellent service, wonderful location & delicate cuisine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent service, wonderful location & delicate cuisine!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breckfast menu a little basic.

    Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.3
    Historical hotel and view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the location is a little bit far from the central town. Cold at the night. No wifi in the fish house, only in the main building.

    Historical hotel and view is amazing. Very considerate staff, help us check the bus to the snow mountain and write on the paper for us to bring with.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    It's a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private beach area was small and just ok. Little confused over the onsite spa services...we looked for them and were told by several staff that there were none. We ended up spending a day at a local hotel known for their spa services due to rain.

    It's a castle. The decor inside and bedrooms are comfortable and charming. The grounds are beautiful (you can catch some views of pet deer behind the property). The breakfast is traditional European (meats, breads, cheeses). Staff is friendly and accommodating (Anna was great). Mayer's restaurant onsite is a 2 star Michelin rated restaurant - if you're a foodie, you have to do it. We did the 5 course tasting menu and it was a long dinner, but amazing.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.7
    Hotel and setting lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast not included and expensive for what it was. Not close to town.

    Hotel and setting lovely. Perfect romantic getaway. Great for cycling and relaxing. An enjoyable experience.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    2.5
    it has a very bad location I had to wait and look all around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it has a very bad location I had to wait and look all around the hotel to find the reception guy they were not in the place after all the waiting my room was in an upper room and has no lift i dont recommend this hotel at all

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Great hotel and wonderful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Private beach area was ok, but that impressive. A bunch of kids here when we visited, not sure if they were hotel guests :) The restaurant was closed due to private party. Dissapointing since we only stayed here for one day.

    Great hotel and wonderful rooms. Stayed in a superior room. You get an historical feel. Welcoming and helpful staff. Great breakfast (but expensive - 15 EUR pp) Decent price for such a special hotel experience.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff, location, building, private beach, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our first night there was a wedding and it got a little noisy outside. They external lights illuminating the hotel were quite bright in the room at night because the curtains were not big enough

    Staff, location, building, private beach, food

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    4.6
    Lovely historic building with appropriate furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in was a complete shambles, wrong key, wrong room etc. Staff were rude resolving the issue and even started checking in other guests whilst in the middle of serving us. We were sent to the beach area with no key and were locked in by another guest. Tried to charge €15pp for the worst breakfast we've had on our trip (especially disappointing considering the Michelin starred restaurant next door). The food was covered in flies.

    Lovely historic building with appropriate furnishings. Large room and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    We stayed in the fishing cottage, which is a separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Private beach was disappointing. The steps into the water were broken, there was litter In the water, and the water itself was full of silt and grotty. We chose not to swim, even though it was hot. Also, it was often difficult to find any staff at the hotel. The cottage did not have wifi.

    We stayed in the fishing cottage, which is a separate cottage on the grounds it is lovely, very peaceful and quiet. Breakfast is good at the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    A beautiful, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that I did not like, was having to leave.

    A beautiful, comfortable hotel. The Management, grounds and rooms are all A+. We were greeted outside (in the rain) by the night manager. Who does that?

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    The serenity of this beautiful castle, the incredibly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The serenity of this beautiful castle, the incredibly friendly staff...and ohhh the food ...it was heavenly. This is definetley one of the best kept secrets of Austria

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    The restaurant Mayer's is probably one of the best in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant Mayer's is probably one of the best in Austria. The room was exactly as you hope to have in a mansion. The breakfast is full of choices and people are true. Thank you for the honour.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    We didn't need to use the car - it's a short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't need to use the car - it's a short walk into Zell am See along a footpath at the side of the lake or you can take the ferry from the jetty near the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.9
    it's a wonderful place and a wonderful opportunity, an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was always somewhere away, we even had to go to another building (their restaurant) to find them. We were not told about the ski room at check in, so we had to keep snowboards in our room for a couple of days. For us it was ok, but there's no elevator in the castle))) I think the staff would have helped us with the bags if they saw us carrying them, but when we came with the bags there was no one at the reception. No tea facilities in the room unfortunately

    it's a wonderful place and a wonderful opportunity, an old castle, with large rooms with old style interior and modern facilities. Mountain views from all the 5 windows, wonderfully furnished hall outside the room that you also can use. Private parking where you always have place, ski room, coffee machine in the room. It is located only 5 min away by car from Zell am See centrum, which has its pros and contras, but having a car it was better for us to live outside the city. Please pay attention that they love to make jokes)) I feared very much by their joke)))

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    10
    I agree with another reviewer - I was very tempted to give...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that I had to leave at all!

    I agree with another reviewer - I was very tempted to give this a negative rating and keep this wonderful place a secret! It's out of the bustle and crowds of Zell am See town, a luxurious castle converted into a cosy hotel. The rooms are spacious and lovely to relax in when it's snowing heavily outside, and the entire castle has been decorated under the creative and intuitive eye of Anette Mayer (co-owner of Mayer's, the restaurant next door). The staff are wonderfully friendly and happy to help with local recommendations. I hope to return in spring / summer to see the location in the opposite season.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    8.8
    Loved the design of the castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have a car, and a taxi ride to the town center costs 10 euros

    Loved the design of the castle. The property is beautiful and the staff is friendly. It's set in a very quiet area, away from the center. Nice to spend a night or two here.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    9.6
    Great, friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included in room rate Bed very firm

    Great, friendly service Spacious, individualised rooms

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    We loved the location and the staff was so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the location and the staff was so friendly. The place is with great location and view

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    10
    The best hotel and the best restaurant in Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The best hotel and the best restaurant in Austria. Thanks to the Stuff!

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful location and great experience to stay in a castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife was a bit spooked as no one else was staying!

    Wonderful location and great experience to stay in a castle and huge suite of rooms

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Great hospitality, very welcoming and generally lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hospitality, very welcoming and generally lovely lovely owners & staff. Nothing was too much trouble! Thank you

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Excellent hotel, very friendly staff, perfect location just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent hotel, very friendly staff, perfect location just next to Zell and the lake

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.3
    Stunning setting, lovely spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bedroom was quite pokey but pleasant. Restaurant decor was a little dated.

    Stunning setting, lovely spa. Food was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    5.4
    a lot of bugs and flies in the breakfast dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lot of bugs and flies in the breakfast dining room

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Everything especially the location to the hospital
    • Couple

    Lack of food or drinks in the evening I.e after 9.00 pm

    Everything especially the location to the hospital

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Building Surroundings Service Charges next summer

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: