Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Schwarzes Rössl

Priesterhausgasse 6, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#64 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 672 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and very helpful. Location is wonderful with lots of attractions in walking distance, including the bus station for tours to the lake - mountain district and Sound of Musoc tours. Cafe next door does fantastic breakfast and the pubs next door do excellent dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe a system which had tv access, but as this is a student hostel, I doubt that that would be appropriate. I welcomed a chance to get away from tv for a while.

    The bed was a bit high for a short person, but very comfortable. The fridge in the room was an enormous help. I take my kettle with me and that was easy to use. I didn't need the wifi. Of course, en suite would be great, but there are plenty of WCs and shower rooms. The free 'Stubel' was very useful, and breakfast can be had almost anywhere. Staff all excellent, with fluent English, and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the room deco and the bed is a much more vintage deco. This part which is not very the same as the photos. all in all which is good

    The location is great and easy to assess. The staffs are super friendly and helpful. Room is clean & tidy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great hotel for travelers who seek comfort on a budget. Not for snobby people as the accommodations are basic but clean and comfortable with a location you can't beat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit slow but free so really appreciate that...there was street noise overnight and curtains didn't block the street lights so our sleep was a bit disturbed. Also late check-out helped me as I got to nap before heading out. On the bus.

    Clean, friendly, we got in earlier than expected but the room was ready so they let us check in. This was very helpful with 2 children in tow with luggage. We tested and cleaned ourselves up for an afternoon tour of Salzburg and we're back for a rest before dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was REALLY NOISY - The stairs are a joke and need to be replaced plus there is a lot of noise from the street at early hours of morning (delivery trucks/garbage trucks/people). Wi-Fi is really bad - very patchy didn't even work in lobby sometimes. Double bed is just 2 singles pushed together with a big gap down the middle. It deserves about 5/10 not the 7.1 booking has assigned it.

    Decent location. Free tea & coffee. Friendly staff. Clean and large room. Good hot water and pressure in shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent near city center. Staff is good lending us place to put luggage after checked while we roaming the city waiting our bus departing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise rooms if they face the street, as the bars close late in the evening and people stay outside and talk and I could hear them. Of course if the noise is not a problem for you, than you would sleep like a baby.

    A good place to stay as is only a few minutes walking (like 10 minutes maximum) of city center. Nearby are good places to eat. There is a locked room where you can leave your luggages after check out. At the reception you receive a city map. Good place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A breakfast - at least the option to buy one. And perhaps, cheaper prices.

    There was a lot of drink-fuelled chat and bonhomie coming from the bars and restaurants outside my window. It would last until about 3am. It seemed to keep me company this time, although I can imagine that it wouldn't suit everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hot in the room and that the tv did'n work quite all the time.

    You can use have tea and coffee during all time and you can also lunch and dine inside or oustside in the garden buying things wherever. The fridge in the room was very comfortable. The room was spacious and the services were always free and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that I did not like, but one of our party is sensitive to noise, and her room was above the party on the ground floor. By the second night she began to enjoy the block party idea, and was able to sleep with the happy sounds below.

    Hotel Schwarzes Rossl was friendly, accommodating the (there is a nice elevator next to the reception desk). All was clean, comfortable and found within a fabulous center of town. The hotel is a college dormitory during the school year, seemingly for women. It is a hotel during the summer. I am a college professor and found the rooms to be familiar design, some with bathrooms, and some shared on the floor. All the rooms and reception areas were wonderfully decorated with Tyrolian furniture, in moss green and floral décor. While the hotel does not provide breakfast, they have coffee, tea and pound cake seemingly around the clock. There were great bakeries, shops and cafe's nearby, as well as an easy walk to major sights such as gardens, small museums, a wonderful bookstore which has an English language section, often difficult to find. We came to Salzburg for the Mozart Festival and the Haus der Natur, and enjoyed the superb music at the Mozarteum, as well as the nicely consolidated nature museum. The cathedral in the main town square is not to be missed, it is gorgeous. The four of us climbed to the highest point in the Castel HohenSalzburg, achieving that height by moving through a former torture chamber. We rode a funicular up to the castle, which was a modest cost (under ten Euro per person) considering the fact that the fare covers the ride uphill and the entrance to the castle. Younger people than we are often hike up the commanding hill. After spending an afternoon there, we enjoyed a gourmet dinner, looking to the eastern mountains from the garden that hugs a castle wall. The festival atmosphere permeates Salzburg. People get dressed up- or not- and many ladies and gentlemen proudly wear traditional garb to stroll around town. I highly recommend going to the festival, and enjoying a relaxing stay at the Hotel Schwarzes Rossl.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of street noise at night. Wifi service basically never worked if you weren't sitting in the lobby. No breakfast.

    Location was really great and place was clean and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not easy to figure out first on how to walk to the hotel from Salzburg station and the hotel staff did not answer our queries on how to walk there when we messaged them twice over a period of a week. However, we were determined to find the route through Google maps - and we were glad we walked there from the station rather than using a taxi as we enjoyed this views along the way. It only took about 20 minutes to walk there - which is good.

    This place is close to the charming old town and close to many boutique shops and restaurants. Made our stay a very enjoyable one. Staff are helpful once you get to the place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    It was my second time to stay at this hotel. I stayed 6 nights 2 years ago.This year I stayed 3 nights. Great value for money !! Very near to the old town, lovely shops, cafes and bakeries nearby. Staffs are very kind and friendly. Clean room . I'll definitely come back!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    you can not leave the window open at night, it's very noisy in the street. At night from Friday to Saturday on the street the youth company was saying goodbye for several hours under the windows. At this they shouted, but did not speak. I had a common toilet and a shower, of course, I chose, but there was not enough comfort for me

    The location is excellent, everything is close: museums, concert halls, public transport to the airport Very friendly staff, help to find the way to any place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we were warned, the wifi wasn't great in our room (no big deal as it worked in the lobby), and the pillows weren't very comfortable

    The staff members were really lovely and helpful, the accommodation was in the most perfect position for sightseeing and restaurants (and next door to an awesome icecreamery!), and the room was a great size.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is my second stay in this place, but wifi still does not work. and it is not the strength of the signal that is the problem, i just could not connect any of my devices

    great location, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Frequent distorsions on the TV channels! But there are a lot of channels in a lot of languages, which is very good!

    Everything great! I would come back anytime!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So much! Very very noisy, dirty room, stained bathroom fittings, all very "tired" with cracks and other tatty fittings. Room very hot and tiny fan useless and very loud. Even with windows closed, noise of late night pedestrians - up to 3 am, disturb sleep - then 6 am delivery lorries and commercial refuse collection trucks made heck of a row. Located in "old city" but long walk to get to main areas of interest - though only a few minutes walk to tourist bus terminal - also near to parking garage. Since hotel in pedestrian area and not easy to find if you come by car, you can't get close to hotel to unload unless you park illegally near barriers, then walk through to hotel to get code to get barrier down!! Room tiny - and bathroom even tinier - can't even turn round in shower!

    Not very much other than staff tried to help! Just a shame as such a beautiful city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection is quite a challenge but very fast in certain areas

    The room is very cosy with nice furniture sets. Location is very convenient, just a walking distance to many attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was so noisy! We could hardly sleep. It wouldn't have mattered which side of the hotel your room was on, or what floor. The entire neighborhood stays up all night.

    Great location for sightseeing in this city. Walking distance from everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is great for exploring Salzburg city -everything is within a short walking distance! There was no breakfast at the hotel but the hotel offers tea and coffe free of charge in a breakfast room and it was very easy to buy everything else we needed in the nearby grocery store.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with wifi compatibility with Apple products.... Seems strange, but that is what the staff gave as a reason for not being able to log on. At least it was free! Some noise from the outside bars if you have the windows open (it was hot when I was there). Minor issues as I would happily stay there again.

    Excellent location, Salzburg on your door step. Charming, traditional furniture in my room. Full sized fridge for those on a budget, along with inside and outside eating areas for those eating their own food. First time I've stayed in a 1 star and it was a very good experience as long as you expect minimal facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could smell cigarette smoke one night. They claim to be a non smoking hotel. Someone was probably breaking the rules.

    Supermarket nearby. Cafe next door. Shared toilet/shower no problem.Room had double door, good noise insulator.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trade off on good location and price, noise from the street at night but mostly at 530 to 630 am, it is incredibly loud with delivery trucks and waste removal, it will wake you for sure. The beds are very firm, but overall a clean room overrides everything else. Would possibly recommend.

    Clean, spacious, great locaton, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a bedroom for the rear if it is hot weather or you like an open window at night as there is some (light) noise from the restaurants/bars, but certainly not rowdy or that late in my experience. Wifi access is an issue for Apple devices only (!) apparently, so takes perseverance to get on line. My advice is switch off and enjoy.

    Beautiful painted furniture in rooms lend a traditional feel to a fairly simple interior. I'm surprised this isn't a 2*. Ideal location for the sights and plenty of good restaurants within steps of the door. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked this accommodation through booking.com but this reservation was really annoying. I called them in advance to tell that two different reservations are under the same person and they said ok. Even when I checked in, the staff said okay and put the same room for two booking under my name. But later they put me in no-show (even for both reservations) and charged me for another money. I explain every time but it was so ridiculous when the staff was upset to me and said that I made a mistake, which is totally not!! After they accept that they made a mistake, they canceled the payment for no-show, but they did not repay back for the same amount of money so I paid even more!!! Normally they should give me a receipt for cancellation but the staff was absolutely unpleasant and said that they just have one receipt. This experience was totally crazy. Even wifi DID NOT WORK AT ALL for 4 nights.

    -

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they should hirer better cleaners. When I arrived, there was hair on the bathroom floor from previous guests (different guests by the looks of the different types and colour of hair). The hotel is very very basic - no hairdryer, no kettle, no cups. They do have a large wooden wardrobe that looks very vintage. They also have a fridge in the room. The staff at the reception were friendly enough, however during the day they sit outside with this other lady (maybe part of the hotel ownership?) who smokes all day and doesn't really smile when you walk past. Not a nice feeling. Same goes for the man sitting in the room right next to the reception. They do have a luggage service, but becareful because the luggage room is not monitored or tracked. It's a DIY service. You simply leave your luggage in the room without a tag or anything and you come back to pick it up yourself. There is no lock or anything in the room. So if you need to use their luggage service, make sure your bags are secure!

    As others have mentioned, the hotel is located right in the city centre. Within a few minutes' walk to Mozart residence, and about a 10 min walk to the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually no service available at the hotel. No breakfast. It is rather a guest house, not hotel. Place around is noisy: at nights from the bars and from early morning bells from churches.

    Perfect location close to Kapuzinerbrg entrance and only 5 minutes walk to Altstadt. Very nice and responsive staff at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of dust behind the bed, bathroom could be cleaner, old fashioned facilities look great but I wouldn't put anything there

    Perfect location, fair price, big bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beds where really hard, was hot with no aircon so needed windows open to sleep which bought heaps of noise from the rear laneway,(drunks, garbo's)

    Good central location, good value, staff where excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's rather austere and could probably benefit from a refit. It's location can mean that it gets a little noisy, especially if there is work underway outside. There is no on-site parking, however there is an underground public car park 5 mins walk away and the hotel does give a small discount on parking charges.

    The location is right in the centre within easy walking distance of all facilities. The staff are pleasant and very accommodating, and importantly they respond to advance email queries right away. It's clean and relatively comfortable. WiFi signal in the rooms is excellent. The price paid represents very good value for money in comparison to other hotels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy in the street Friday night :) but it's not about the hotel itself:)

    The place is really neat,clean and authentic. Though bath and wc are located in the hall, it doesn't make any troubles. The only 'but' is - it might be noisy at night on Friday and Saturday, but I bet many hotels have that... It's also interesting to stay at a student dorm and not at the usual hotel;)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to everything we wanted to do. Staff was very helpful in storing bags and helping with other arrangements such as other hotels, restaurants and shows.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside during the night from drunk people and early in the morning from garbage collectors and shod setting up. Could have also done with more than one very flat pillow. No kettle and cups in the room

    Location is excellent. Room is basic but sufficient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Space - The single room that I booked was surprisngly small. Bathroom and toilet are shared and they are outside of the room. That really surprised me. But for the price I cannot really complain (did I mentioned the superb location). No air conditioning. Hahaha... Just think of it as a place to crash in for the night.

    Location - the best point about the hotel. Neatly tucked between two cafe/restaurant. Walked out of the entrance and you are ready to explore the Old Town of Salburg. Price - I paid 100 EU for two nights.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from outside chattering, no air conditioning, staff friendly but not committed.

    Great downtown location with a fair supermarket around the corner. Short way to many POIs, 15–20 min to main station by foot. Lots of shops, pubs, and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many smokers at entry to hotel. Loud street behind hotel. I got several bug bites on my feet while in the room... I'm praying it wasn't bed bugs. Not as clean as I would like. Would have been nice if there was breakfast.

    Staff was wonderful - very helpful and kind. Great location within walking distance to everything. Nice sized room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was situated viewing the back lane. We normally leave the window open for fresh air. However, the garbage trucks emptied the rubbish bins each morning at 5:00am. Also, the nearby hotel was being refurbished which added to the noise. Having said that, if we keep the window closed, the noise would have been minimised.

    Located in the centre of the old town. We just walked out the front door to do touring or eating.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle. It was really hot and there was no air conditioning or even a fan, so we had to leave the windows open, which was REALLY noisy from patrons of nearby bars and restaurants as well as construction right outside early the following morning.

    Nice staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Very good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No mirror in room. Our room faced the garbage dump from the restaurant attached in front of the hotel. Being on the 2nd floor did not help. Looked outside the window and was all garbage.

    The beds were comfortable, spacious rooms. Clean washrooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As what it seems to be common in the area, no air conditioning. If hot needs to keep windows open and outside noises may be bothering.

    The location is just amazing for the price, in the earth of altstadt, couldn't be better. Had a very good sleep.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available, there is a public parking garage about a 10min walk from hotel. No AC available so in summer need to have windows open which can get a bit noisy.

    Hotel was in a great location right in the pedestrian walking area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet, no safe, early morning Noise in back laneway from workers Pulling wheeled carts, pillows to soft

    Helpful man on reception, good location, good size room i

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was exceptionally hot for Salzburg. But even a small fan could have made sleep easier.

    Fridge in the room. Big plus for a low budget traveller.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from music bar downstairs. Very noisy during night. I would not recommend to family with kids or to somebody who like quiet in the night. People leaving from the club are very noisy and club closes at 2 am. So till 3 am there is not much sleep possible.

    Location is excellent. All major tourist spots and highlights are within walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room with ensuite bathroom makes your stay comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was very slow and spotty in the rooms, and the rooms were somewhat outdated.

    The location was very nice and within walking distance to most tourist attractions. The elevator was nice but kind of small.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wooden floor in the room makes sound every time when you step on it. So it's quite noisy

    Location is good in the city center and near the river. Many restaurants around. Room size is big

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff was not very helpful shower area was clogged with hair and ? discharge (was disgusting). water spilled out into the rest of the bathroom.

    location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel has clearly seen better days. Our room was large but needed repainting; the bed was large but uncomfortable. WiFi didn't reach to our room. The attractive foyer area smelt of smoke. Many people including the staff smoked just outside the door. It was a throwback to Australia 30 years ago in that respect.

    A very good location in the quieter part of the Old Town - a short walk from all the main features of the city.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs creak quite a lot, so it's best to use elevator in the early morning / late evening. There isn't a place for early breakfast in the street.

    Location was perfect for me, and the price was decent compared to most options (I reserved the place only few weeks before the trip).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a fan in the room for the summer months, couldn't sleep too well, as it was quite hot. And would have liked the toilet and bathroom to atleast be together, gets inconvenient at times.

    The staff were super helpful and nice, the rooms were clean and spacious, and loved the lil candy on my pillow!! :D

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning and we were right above the restaurant so we couldn't open our windows because of the smells, noise, etc. Finally they did get us a fan which helped. Breakfast was not included.

    Charming hotel with friendly staff. Good location. Close to the river. Good restaurants all around. Nice outdoor area right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff. I'm an Asian American single woman traveller. They put us(talked to other Asian female travellers) in a horrible noisy location!!! They obviously prefer White customers!

    Absolutely nothing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke!! The hallways always had smoke bc the workers seemed to smoked non stop in the eating area. Thats my biggest complaint.

    Fantastic location. On a pedestrian walkway just around the corner from bus lines. Also, fun water entertainment just outside the door. Washing equipment was accessible downstairs which was really, really appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was just fine. Some of the customers feedbacks here are quite misleading.

    Great location in the middle of old town, old building converted to a decent, clean and convenient hotel at a very decent price. Extremely clean, very helpful and friendly personnel, nice garden etc. Very recommendable!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The receptionists are helpful and welcoming. They are happy to answers questions and give help when I need. The room is clean especially the shared toilet and the shower room in the corridor. 前台很好,很乐于回答问题,方便时给予帮助。房间很干净,楼道里的厕所和洗澡间也很干净。

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive compared to the facilities and comfort provided. Service was average.

    Location was really good, staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with antique type of furniture.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms truly are college dorm rooms. Very basic, no character. Tiny bathroom and tiny shower. Pedestrian only access, cannot drop off luggage at the hotel.

    Location is good for walking to restaurants. They do have a washer and dryer which they allow guests to use.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big pool of water on floor, out of three beds one was broken, no air con, noisy with window open, bed really uncomfortable. They mopped floor when I asked them but general impression was they weren't bothered about customers. I've travelled all over Europe for last two weeks and everywhere was good or great except this place which I just wanted to leave.

    Location but doesn't make up for faults

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c meant that we had to keep our windows open. Noisy bar downstairs also meant that it was tough to get any sleep prior to 1-2am. Non-existent housekeeping...4 day stay and our room was never cleaned when we returned at 5pm. At least we had clean towels delivered at that time. No toiletries provided except for very small bars of soap.

    Great location...close to the major sights in Salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is NOT SAFE! During the last night of my stay, my room was intruded by thief during the night! He climbed through my opened window. (and, let's be honest here. Nobody can sleep in a room with all windows and doors closed in summer at 20+ degree Celsius! If hotel claims that you should close the window, for your own safety, then you should find another hotel that has air-co, but not here.) Also, there is no CCTV camera at all in the hotel. And hotel management does not take any proactive action to prevent this from happening. As you can see from attached photos, thief can "easily climb" from ground to the first floor from outside the building. There is no nail at all to prevent anyone from climbing. Moreover, one of the hotel guest next to my room who witness the thief (who broke into my room) also met the same thief in the building in the afternoon before the incident. He sneakily entered the building and hid himself in the toilet. Finally, there is no reception from midnight till 6 A.M. If anything happens to you in the hotel during this time, you are totally on your own and the hotel does not take any responsibility! I sincerely recommend anyone who is interested in this hotel to find somewhere else. You may need to pay slightly more expensive, but it will be a lot safer than this terrible and risky place. Luckily, police station is only 10-minute away by walking from the hotel. So, the police arrived the hotel after my call pretty quickly. For final reference, I stayed at this place from 27 - 29 July 2016. The incident happened during my last night at 28 July. If hotel management sees this post, they surely know who I am. As I informed you already, I need to give this negative review due to the lack of your proactive prevention and responsibility to take care of safety of your guests.

    Cleanliness & good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms clean and simply furnished. Comfortable beds and TV. However walls extremely dirty. Had a little bit of a hostel feeling. No breakfast offert in hotel, however many cafes / bakeries close by.

    Location great!! Next to main shopping street and 5 minutes to old town. Was able to park close by (ca 10min walking)on street. Additionally parking house 5min away.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would've been nice to know that their was a festival happening on my street before I arrived. It made it quite difficult to get to with my backpack on. The festival thing can't be helped; it would just have been nice to be forewarned about it.

    The staff were friendly and it is about equidistant from the train station and the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities at the hotel. Such as baggage assistance, kettle/tea in the room.

    Location was perfect for our 1 day stay. We enjoyed the lively street near the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's really cheap, it lacks amenities. There's no hair dryer, no shampoo, and the cleaning service lackluster. There's no food service that I can tell, however there are restaurants nearby. Nevertheless, I'll take this over expensive digs and lots of perks as I don't do a lot of hanging out in my hotel room. Also I suggest asking for a room away from the stairs. It gets super loud with people stomping up and down the stairs.

    It's really cheap for its location. Staff was super helpful, though not super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there on a Friday snd saturday night so got woken a couple of times by people partying but was okay.

    The location was perfect. The staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive. The shared bathroom is small. Communication with the hotel before arrival was difficult.

    The location is great. The ambiance of the hotel is great. There are several restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi even when it's included, it doesn't cover a lot of space. So if you want to have complete Internet you should stay at the Reception.

    The location is just perfect. Is about 5 min or less to the Mirabell Gardens and Palace; and to 10 min of less to the Alt Stadt. About the Hauptbanhhof is just 10-15 min walking. Don't need any public transport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room furniture was dusty and unclean. There were barely any toiletries. We had booked a double room, but were given 2 single beds, which, even when placed together, had a gap in between - this was very unacceptable for the rates.

    The location was excellent. The room was quaint.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal was week in our room we had to get out of the room or stay at the reception to be able to connect

    The old style of the building looks good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom filled with cigarette smoke smell occasionally. Odd sounds from walls from time to time. TV did not work.

    Great location. Quiet neighborhood yet close to lots of activities. Nice room. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi needs boosting. Luggage room needs more security

    It was possible to upgrade to a room with en suite bathroom - extremely good value for money, Superb location within 15 minute walk of the station and only 10 minutes to the old town. Lovely bar/café right outside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - few times the wifi was having problems

    - convenient stay between the Train station and the centre - cosy room - quiet sleep but close to a nice pedestrian aera

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Schwarzes Rössl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: