Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seegasthof Gamsjaga 3 stars

Gamsjaga 2, 5340 Sankt Gilgen, Austria

#9 of 9 B&Bs and Inns in Sankt Gilgen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was looking at the road and very noisy. After check in we asked then to change the room with a quiet one which was answered by room change was available by additional 16€ per night. I maid my choice for double bed 3 times before arrival and they accepted, then it turned out it was not double bed but twin beds. When we asked if they can change, answer was again no. Attitude was rude, I don’t recommend this gasthaus. If you’ll stay, make sure your room is not by the roadside.

    It was near the lake and front terrace had a nice view. Room was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was race weekend and restaurant was very busy. In summer there is a large beer garden in back which the rooms balcony’s face. I can imagine it would get quite noisy, but a lot of fun if that is what you are looking for. we found we could here voices from downstairs in our room so if you are a light sleeper this may be a consideration.

    liked location next to lake and that they had a restaurant to save us the time in looking for some place to eat. The room was done in Alpine style and had a big balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor service - starting from our arrival, no one really took care or interest in us. Staff is very inexperienced and inattentive, e.g. our dinner reservation was forgotten. At breakfast, no one sets or clears the tables or replenishes juice etc. At dinner, service was very slow (despite an usually large team), staff wasn't even looking at us. We received the dessert menu, but then no one came to take our order. It was dark outside without lights, and while our neighbor table was brought a candle, we didn't get one until we asked. We had the impression that all that matters are regular guests, not even house guests seemed to be of importance.

    Lovely room (ask for room no. 1!) with beautiful wooden furniture and lots of attention to detail, as well as a large terrace looking out on the lake. Very good breakfast with large choice of cold cuts, cheese, cereals and cakes. Dinner was great, very good local food and generous portions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not clear from the pictures and discription that it is situated right by the road, which is very noisy throughout the day and disturbed us at sleep as well.

    The hotel was really nice, room comfortable. I would recommend the restaurant with delicious food and an amazing view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next to busy main road - traffic at night affecting sleep. Nearest towns not really within walking distance, need to take the bus. No tea-making facilities.

    Restaurant food was good, especially the fish dish. Menu in German but waitress kindly helped us with translations. Good size breakfast. Good size, clean & comfortable room. Lake Wolfgangsee is beautiful. 2 minute walk from bus stop.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was satisfied with everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Destination, countryside, provaz beach, food, services

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place for a peaceful vacation right by the lake. Good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old lady who work in the resternat wasn't polit with the customer and make you feel uncofertable

    Very nice people and prefect reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views. Breakfast was perfect! Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Wood room with private terace is excellent. Privat parking, great location and very good breakfest.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not good. Need to take bus to other places and the bus is around half hour one time. Not convenient

    Breakfast Host Clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choice for breakfast and lovely views from the breakfast room and also our bedroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Couple

    The hotel has a nice view and lakeside terrace, but a busy road runs directly past it. Pretty noisy at night! The dinner was of a disastrous quality (but not expensive). The stuffed animals in 'funny' poses are disgusting. Looks like a preferred stop for cheap bus tours.

    Room inexpensive and nevertheless spacious and reasonable well equipped. Breakfast included with a decent choice, especially if you like to grease yourself a bit for the day.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice neighbourhood, very kind staff and a really moody apartment facing directly the Wolfgangsee. I would recommend to anyone looking for a pleasent stay near to Salzburg and Salzkammergut!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there is no lightning in cities around Wolfgangsee so after sunset we walked in a dark, bring some drink and favourite snaks with you because there is everything closed after 19.00 and restaurants after 21.00

    Beautifful nature, 30 minutes walking is St.Gilgen, few minutes driving is Salzburg, Gamsjaga restaurant serve very tasty food, The owner-family are very nice people

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The house is located just on the lake with a private beach. The parking is huge and free. Rooms are spacious, the staff is very kindly. The hotel is run by family. The lake is pure and rather warm. We would definetely come back.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It gets a bit warm in June July. I would've appreciated a fan in the room

    Th view, the services, the quaint buikding! Christina who runs the place was lovely and really tried to accommodate us as did her staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff should be more welcoming.

    Great location, amazing views, also it has a very orginal room, replica of wood lodge.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit far out of one of the towns, and a bit too far to walk

    Staff were very helpful, especially with the language barrier

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit frequent road quite close.

    Nice and clean room, friendly staff, patio with nice view on Schafberg and delicious Austrian cuisine.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel! The hotel is located in a beautiful village on the beautiful lake! I recommend this hotel!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: