Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Seehotel Grüner Baum 4 stars

Marktplatz 104, 4830 Hallstatt, Austria

#6 of 25 hotels in Hallstatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2315 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful one night stay in Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say about the property but Hallstatt is a very touristy destination in July. Quiets down after around 6pm as the day trippers from Vienna and Salzburg have mostly departed.

    A very nice hotel located directly on Lake Hallstatt. Very convenient to the ferry landing as you have to take a ferry across the lake from train station. The train and ferry schedules are linked so no problem with making connections, but you purchase your ferry tickets upon boarding at 2,50 Euros one way per person. The views from the balcony of lakeside rooms are incredible. The restaurant has shaded outdoor seating directly on the water that is away from the crowded streets during daytime. This menu features Austrian cuisine and is fresh and tasteful. The hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. Very quiet and restful at nighttime. Recommend room with Lake view and book early as it is very popular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Professional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in the summer time. Even hotel support fan in room. But it is still really hot at night. You can’t open the window because there are too many flyers at outside.

    Great hotel. Everything you need is included. The room with bathtub and hotel will provide sea salt as courtesy. It’s wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is located in city centre and the best land which the best view of lake, make sure if you really want to stay overnight here and book in advance. The rooms are selling fast with high rate. The room and dinner is quite expensive. If you need an experience once in a life time, you can try.

    The hotel is at the best location of town. We made decision quite late, so we only can get a room facing to the market but it is also fascinating. We have booked a grand deluxe room which can stay up to 4 people (You can manage to talk to the hotel.) We had a pleasant stay here. Everything was perfect and well-prepared. I really enjoyed spending time in the rest room. After 5 or 6PM., the town is without tourists and it is so peaceful, if you are not hurry to your next destination, you can spend one night here. The breakfast is also well-prepared, many choices of milk, cheese, breads. They serve both European and Asian since there are many Far East guests. Overall, we had a good memory here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Like a picture book fairy tale town from Hansel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con so could be hot with just a fan. Disappointing breakfast for a 4 star hotel. Quite different from any other Austrian/German breakfast. Never had spring rolls at breakfast before.

    Nice shower. Lovely view from balcony. Nice restaurant. WiFi good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The location is in the heart of Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need more staff at breakfast. Breakfast in hotels is always a slam and they were slammed. The Gents were really accommodating but needed more support.

    The location is in the heart of Hallstatt. In fact, it is the heart. I had one evening on Market Sq side and one on the lakeside with balcony. Both were amazing! Julia at the front desk was wonderful!! I really appreciated her sense of familiarity and her welcoming demeanor. Management should be very proud to have a staff member like her!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge didn’t work. We asked the front desk and they said someone would come take a look and nobody did. Overall only a small inconvenience. Dinner at the hotel restaurant- was extremely expensive for what they give you. we spend over 60 euro on two main courses which were tiny and average at best. Disappointing and suggest eating elsewhere. Breakfast only starts at 8 which is a little late for early risers.

    Beautiful hotel! Pros: best location in Hallstatt, friendly and helpful staff, lovely clean room. Bed was very comfortable. Even lent us a spare adapter as we forgot one. Breakfast: continental, included in room rate. We thought it was fine. Included bread/all pasteurized, fruit, yogurt, antipasto (meat/cheese etc), specialty and regular coffees and teas. Also had multiple Asian food choices. Parking: you just park in P1 just outside the village. Free shuttle is provided only for checking in/out so you don’t have unlimited access to your car. However this shouldn’t be an issue- most of the things to do are really inside the village so there isn’t any reason to go back to your car every day. Plus, the parking lot is a short 10 min walk anyway- if you had to, you could easily walk back. We asked to pay cash at checkout and this was no problem. Overall great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the other hotel guests were very rude and hard to deal with. It’s a very touristic location so if you’re looking for peace and quiet, Hallstatt might be a better day-trip than overnight. Of course, this is not the hotel’s fault at all.

    The staff were amazing. The views were unparalleled. The rooms facing the water were very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The resteurant is very good in food and view which just beside the lake. The service is so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition. But it is cooler at night but need to open the windows or doors to cool down the room temperature.

    Like the view od room. Wonderful stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Ideally placed to see all the atractions inn Halstatt and probably the best hotel in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is overpriced for what you get. (Last year's prices were in the Hotels book in the room and they have been increased by early 50% since last year)

    The location is perfect - village centre and right by the ferry service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.5
    This hotel is an extravagance; it is expensive, but good for a special occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel on the main square in Hallstatt. We had a lake-side room, which was spectacular...the view was breathtaking. The staff were very helpful. Breakfast had a huge variety of things to eat. We also ate dinner there; the food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    A word of wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could see the lake from the room. Is the price a little expensive?

    The weather was wonderful and good, so dinner and breakfast by the lake was like a dream.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good location and great view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive: 1) average overall facilities 2) staff was nice but we would expect better service for the price charged 3) room was comfortable enough but no air conditioning which made it warm even during the night - not sure how hot it will get in summer 4) Breakfast selection was average.

    Very good location and great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous room with a million dollar view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We greatly enjoyed our time at this hotel. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed. Excellent location with exceptional views. Staff was very polite and accommodating. We look forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air condition only fan, staff said that was cold enough for this area. However, many flies animal out of the windows so have to close all windows and using Fan. Parking shuttle Bus was sharing so carefully to manage time. Very long queue during checking out time.

    Good location! Nice lake room view was the Key. Average breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swamped with tourists, could hardly walk through the front door due to the tourists taking pictures in the doorway. Tourists were smoking in the building at times.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change anything about the hotel or our stay.

    The rooms were beautiful and the beds extremely comfortable. The hotel is right on the center square and on the lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is above the restaurant so it can get a little noisy during meal times..

    Great view. We stayed in a junior suite. Very spacious balcony with a set of dining table and more lounge chairs (swinging!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel itself is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is beautiful! It’s set in the center and I’ve included a pic from my balcony. It couldn’t be more perfect! The staff is professional yet warm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    I hope to visit again. I'll be recommending your hotel to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay in Hallstatt. Your hotel is wonderful, excellent staff in reception and the breakfast buffet was delicious! My room was spacious and wonderful sounds of the lake outside helped me sleep! My only wish was that I would have loved to stay longer!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    The view, the bed, and the Romania server in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor in room facilities, staffs were not informative, poor front desk service for the price. Outdoor furniture poorly maintained.

    The view, the bed, and the Romania server in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay with quick access to the best photo view points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Direction for getting to the hotel after parking was incomplete. We didn’t find the shuttle as we were not given location of the shuttle stop nor time schedule which runs every half an hour. We ended up walking 1.4 km to the hotel leaving our luggage in the car. Average breakfast.

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Staff were efficient and helpful. Sauna room was good. Restaurant service at dinner was great. Unbeatable location at market place by the lake, close to the best view points!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Dissapointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price level unexpectedly high according to room facilities. no one has cheerfull. Hallstatt one of the best touristic destinatination in Austria, probably this is the reason staff dont care the customers.

    Hotel is in very good location, nice view. Breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    The night when we arrived it was 8:30pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So dry at night I had to wake up a few times to drink water. The breakfast was basic and taste was poor. You can order fried eggs if you want and fresh orange juice too, but you have to pay for it. They have a breakfast menu on table, I guess they know they are not offering good food?

    The night when we arrived it was 8:30pm. After we put down our bags we wanted to dine in the restaurant of the hotel since it’s high-rated on TripAdvisor. When we wanted to enter the restaurant the staff told us“sorry we are full”but I saw a few empty tables. Then he said they only accept reservations and asked if we have booked a table. So I asked is it the same for hotel guests? He replied“hold on” and led us to a window seat. He happily greeted“ You are so lucky you got a window table tonight!” well couldn’t see a thing at night because it’s so dark outside what’s so lucky about? At the end we were charged €5 for seating(€2.5for each). Maybe they charge every seating I don’t know. Anyway the food was good I am just not happy about the dining experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful views at a price with an attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maintenance. Our mini refrigerator was not working and had quite a smell. We notified the front desk who told us there was nothing he can do as it was Sunday and no one was there. Hmm. On Tuesday, we asked again and were told it's a national holiday, so again, nothing can be done. The hair dryer had a broken piece and one nightstand drawer could not be opened. No deal breakers, but makes you wonder. The deal breaker: I was charged in US Dollars at departure with no option to be billed in Euros. The exchange rate meant a loss of $35. Again, I was told they could not do anything about this as they could only charge to dollars even though their restaurant on site could. Very odd and dishonest to take more of your money. Of course, the manager could not be reached as it was a national holiday! LOL, I could never imagine this to happen at a reputable hotel.

    Location, location, location. It has a great view of the lake and is ideally situated in the center of Hallstatt visitors area. Some of the staff were genuinely interested to make your experience best. The rooms overlooking the lake and dining tables with the same view are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no ventilation system in the bathroom. But still a very nice bathroom overall.

    I stayed in a double room with balcony facing the lake. The room was expensive but totally worth it. It looked much better than the picture displayed in Booking.com. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. The breakfast provided was beyond excellence.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    overall, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we don't like one of the staff working in their restaurant. we need 2 bowls of hot water, he ask us 2 euro for hot water. actually we intended to give he tips if he can provide hot water to us. but he ask for money directly!!!! and always tell us he like Jackie chen ....who cares !!!!

    Nice hotel in little town by lake. we can have breakfast with lake view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    The perfect hotel for our honeymoon and we will be back as often as we can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room didn't have air conditioning, which we didn't find necessary except during the middle of the hot day. The tap water is INSANELY GOOD and the hotel restaurant upsold us a 7 euro bottle of still water when we asked for water with dinner. A small complaint, more targeted at the restaurant rather than the hotel but a little silly given how much we were paying for a waterfront room with a balcony.

    This is the only waterfront hotel in Hallstatt and the views are worth every penny. Breakfast in the morning was quite lavish with lots to pick from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    The view from the room is perfect as expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is mention in booking.com that the room is soundproof but in fact, we still hear voice of people talking and door closing.

    The view from the room is perfect as expected. Full function of room facilities. Loction is very good as it locates in the center of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    The bed was good but we were bitterly disappointed with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was good but we were bitterly disappointed with the breakfast, since the hotel has their own restaurant and the food served at the restaurant was rather good, but they have rather poor breakfast. You can find better breafast at even cheaper price. We booked the room with big balcony, lake view , and the view was superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    The location is very near the port from the Hallstatt train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel are under construction such as spa services that guests could use it free of charge. The single-bed room was nice, but it is quite hot. The room has no balcony to see the view of Hallstatt lake which I was not expecting that. The terrace can not be used at night because staff said it was too cold even though you really wanted to go out there. Overall I felt that it might not worth for a single traveler paying €125 over one night.

    The location is very near the port from the Hallstatt train station to the hotel. Nice view of the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Overall, excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say something, the shower towel was not soft.

    The junior suite was perfect, best view from the balcony. Will definitely stay again next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent view, professional and friendly staff, and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was beyond our normal budget, but we were very happy with our choice. Only we could't enjoy the balcony because of the rain....

    Excellent view, professional and friendly staff, and great location!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    I will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room temperature (heater, I think it’s centralised?) was a bit too high during my stay - It would be good if the hotel sells bottled water while it does not provide in the room

    - Excellent staffs, extremely helpful and friendly reception and restaurant staffs - Excellent room provided full set of amenities - Excellent location, just 1 min walk from ferry pier - Excellent first experience in Hallstatt :) They also provide all types of cables for your phone, laptop, tablet and all electronics!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    Huge balcony, ridiculously GORGEOUS view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room: harsh bathrobe and towels (fabric conditioner would be nice to use). It was uncomfortable and displeasing to wear. TV: just a few programmes available, all in Austrian. We thought u offer a cable TV. Coffee machine: there was an used capsule inside. Balcony: no warm blankets or pillows to use for evening relax. Broken lantern on the table. If it doesnt work, just put it away. It gives a cheap impression to leave broken stuff at such expensive room. Noise issue: we could hear the footsteps, slamming the doors and such. The doors are just no secure enough to prevent the hall/neighbour noises. Check-out: confused staff!!! The receptionist told us we had to pay a check for dinner (twice!!!) - because we already payed for it right after we finished the meal (in cash! so we could leave a nice tip for the attentive waiters). Apparently one waiter brought the receive to our table, and the other one put on our room bill at the reception. That was unacceptable situation!!! Dont expect us to pay a bill TWICE. I would expect that at some cheap hostel, not at 4-star hotel.

    Huge balcony, ridiculously GORGEOUS view!!! Comfortable bed, big bathtub, sweet receptionist (blond girl with glasses). Well-mannered, elegant and attentive waiters. The dinner was exceptional. Big applause to the chef.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Great location right in the town square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall to wall tourists. Hotel restaurant was undergoing renovations which we were not informed of prior to our arrival. Prices reflect the typical tourist location which was a shame. There are plenty of far better locations to visit which aren’t as well advised as this

    Great location right in the town square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    What a wonderful way to spend a weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels could have been fluffier. They were large, but not very soft. Scrambled eggs should be on the breakfast buffet, not an additional charge. I have traveled around the world and this is the first hotel that I have stayed in that charged extra for scrambled eggs.

    I loved the view. I had a room with a balcony and it was worth the extra money. The bed was comfortable, the pillow fluffy and the room was huge. Our bathroom even had a sauna in it! I loved the extra special touches like the cake delivered to our room in the afternoon and the water by our bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.3
    Somehow electricity in our room suddenly got cut.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow electricity in our room suddenly got cut. We waited for a while but it didn't come back on. Went to reception and it was closed at 10pm. Luckily for us,it was just afrer 10pm and there was someone in the restaurant area about to leave and she helped us reset the main switch. But not before questioning us about what we were doing in the room insisting that we must be doing something wrong. We had the kettle and heater on and I was using the hair dryer to blow dry my hair - all the usual things we would do at other hotels. It's not a cheap hotel, I didn't expect the switch to trip and didn't like being "blamed" for it. I also didn't like that, if it had happened a few minutes later, there would be no one to assist us. At least there should be someone or a phone number to call should guests require assistance after 10pm. Thanks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    really great view which the room face to late
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast dont have much to choose and did not clean the room quite well live in with uncleaned toilet and bath(cleaned but not clean)

    really great view which the room face to late

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    An incredible building in the literal center of hallstat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were excited to relax in the spa area next to the fire as shown in pictures on their website and pictures within the hotel. Once we were in the spa the fire wasn’t on, we asked for it to be turned on but we told “that is only for show”. Was a real shame to be told that, why advertise it in the first place? Pictures attached. Disappointing spa.

    The dreamlike location and fantastic breakfast buffet and feeling at the very center of hallstat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend this for couples. Very romantic especially in Winter (with snow)!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Restaurant was a bit overpriced. Had better meals in Hallstatt that were more affordable but the Breakfast was good.

    We had a room with a view of the Lake and it was just breathtaking especially since it was snowing. The Staff and all the facilities were just great. Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Best location in Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was a bit dirty. Had to keep shoes on because I kept stepping on something.

    Best location in Hallstatt. Friendly staff. Modern facilities. Comfy bed. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, nice bathroom, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor sound isolation of the room, I do not enjoy to hear other guest having passionate sex in late night and cleaning ladies preparing for cleaning early morning.

    Very good breakfast, nice bathroom, comfy bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location with wonderful staff. Breakfast is well worth it not to mention the view over the lake. Clean room with a beautiful bathroom. Top place to stay no doubt.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Highly not recommend if hotel don't improve shuttle service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel shuttle driver was very angry man, he literally made the end of our stay at this hotel feeling negative afterall the otherwise a really nice visit to this small town and hotel. Hotel at this price should afford a better driver service no matter the service belongs to hotel or not. The guy can't earn a star for service, which effect the hotel's stars overall. I read reviews about how rude the hotel shuttle driver was before, but he exceeded my expectation! He yelled at us, swore all the way, and slammed van's door just because we asked him drop us at a parking lot in front of gate where our private shuttle is waiting. Our party got two old people and 5 large luggages with just one adult man to carry all these luggages on snow covered street. The parking shuttle await just less than 10 meters away from town gate which we will pass anyway and no other parties were with us in the ride. He got very angry and repeatedly yelled hotel-parking lot# a few time. (Meaning no parking anywhere else I supposed, we were not aware) and then swore loudly all the way (he dropped us where we asked though) and then slammed the door at us. He is rediculous and we pity him for that but this hotel service is undeniably unacceptable. We won't stay here again if hotel's shuttle service is improved. The shuttle service is important because the town won't allow private cars or outside taxi into town. ( Town taxi costs flat-rate 10 Euro just to get in/out of town gate with less than 2 km drive., no complaint there as they are polite) IMPROVE PLEASE!!!

    The room and hotel location are very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Upon checkout we were told that we had to pay in Australian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon checkout we were told that we had to pay in Australian Dollars! This was extremely frustrating as we had loaded Euro onto our Travel card especially for the trip. The confirmation we received from booking .com stated that we would pay in local currency(Euros). Hence we ended up paying to exchange the money twice and thus lost out on the exchange rate. Tax is also on top of the price we booked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    The best location in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the fantastic location right on the lake, there weren't any indoor communal places to enjoy the view apart from the restaurant, which was often full. Not a problem in summer, as they have a wonderful outdoor tereace

    Fantastic location on the lake and in the centre of town, Very comfortable rooms, Complimentary cakes provided by the hotel each day and delivered to your room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was told that that there’d be coffee maker machine but all I had was electric kettle and Nescafe.

    The location is great. The room is very clean and the staff is nice and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Best location , awesome view, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price!

    The view from the room!! I am a smoker, watching the lake while smoking on the third floor is the most peaceful experience I had.. so quite and relax mood 😁 plenty of chocolate everywhere, in the room, front on lift!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice view, lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -No parking. -They mentioned free shuttle service but it’s 10 euro. -They mentioned baby crib free of charge and kid stay free but they charged 25 euro for the crib.

    Nice view, lake view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I'd read the small print and found that there was a shuttle service from the drop off point outside of the old town to the hotel. I dragged a big suitcase through snow and slush to get to the hotel. Similarly, it was a challenge getting to the train station, as the boat drops folks off across the lake and there was snow on top of ice on that fairly steep path. After I fell, a kind fellow traveler dragged my bag to the top. If one has a ticket from Hallstatt heading toward Attnang Puchheim, a taxi is available from the hotel to Steeg, which is a stop along the way. Just fyi.

    The hotel was obviously a historic structure, but well-maintained. I had a single room, and it was decently sized, but with very little counter area to put stuff on. The biggest surprise was getting a knock on my door around 4 pm from a waiter delivering a plateful of pastries to me. Yummy! The bathroom was obviously a retrofit, and I found it challenging to get into the shower/tub combo, as the edge of the tub that I could access had a slope.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room has a perfect view of the lake. It is just right at the town center and everything is just within 3mins walk. The location beats all. I read a number of bad reviews about the staffs service but all i can say from my experience is that they are all very friendly and efficient right from the moment i am greeted at the check in counter to the waiter in the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A great place to be at least once in your lifetime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was bad at the restaurant. Ordered baked fish but came out was a deep fried fish which we didn’t like and not that tasty. A bit overpriced for some dishes.

    Amazing view!!! Exceptional room, loved it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel near the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was good. The food at their restaurant was good. Breakfast was good. Very clean hotel with nice amenities. Nice view of the lake. Complementary choc/peanuts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Memorable & timeless - relaxing & beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few disappointments but the didn't spoil anything. The hotel was very hot & we left our balcony door open most of the time. There is no bar area to relax with drinks in the evening. The restaurant food wasn't our favourite & breakfast catered largely for the impressive number of Asian guests, also the modern dining area was prefered to the beautiful old restaurant & that remained closed (maybe due to the time of year). Our room was small but comfortable & we were only a little jealous of other guests with larger rooms & balconies but the ever popular hotel needs to be booked as & when it's available. Finally the market square was being recobbled during our stay - no problem just our bad luck.

    Obviously the location was key but the charm & history of the hotel were equally good. The staff were outstanding, the bed was very comfortable & the bathroom was huge. However the spa area on the top floor was our highlight.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They provided a shuttle to the offsite parking (which we had to pay for nightly) only at checkin and checkout. Would be nice to have unlimited access back to the parking lot.

    Best place to stay in Hallstatt. Awesome breakfast, too!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    St. Gilgen is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    And the facilities especially the shower head is already rusty...speechless for the expensive price. Suggest St. Gilgen is a better place to stay.

    The location is great just near the dock. It's very convenient for travelers to take train+boat to this heritage place. The view is just like postcard, but that's all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Good...but I expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window to the lake, for which we paid more, but couldn't admire it, and it's not cleanable. There were traces of hands and the window was always misted because the glass is poorly sealed with silicone around the edges. Breakfast (in one day almost all yogurts were with expired shelf life), breakfast is from 8 till 10 am, but by 9am a lot of dishes were gone (vegetables, chicken), a balcony was damaged. I think staff should work better on the service. The hotel is still good, but I think it's too overpriced

    Of cource location (it's perfect), complimentary cookies, kind people on the reception, sauna, decorations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Very very romantic and extraordinary in Hallstatt !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Localization is perfect but waiters are not tolerant and flexible, i.e. helpful. Several staff does not speak English. I understand from the manners of the restaurant staff that "you eat what you see" but menu and choices could be more inclusive.

    Food is delicious but wine list should be improved.Every visitor should choose a room with balcony with lake Hallstatt view. Very romantic hotel ! Very central to the town. First choice in accomodation and dinner, also for lunch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    I liked everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner at the restaurant! It was good but very expensive! I believe that the prices of the hotel,rooms and restaurant are overpriced. The hotel's management should revise the prices!

    I liked everything ! The place of the hotel is excellent! The rooms very well decorated and clean! The breakfast is excellent and the staff friendly, polite and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time is 3 pm sharp! If you be there 10 minutes eariler you still have to wait until 3 pm.

    Good location, nice view (we booked lake view room) and dilicious dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    I go regularly to Hallstatt and have generally used this hotel, but am now looking for alternatives.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Prestige Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What used to be a fine, traditional hotel has been turned into an overpriced tourist factory. As a result of the extra rooms they have built in, the breakfast room can no longer cope with the number of guests and the atmosphere at breakfast is chaotic, even very late in the season. Though the rooms are pleasant, the good impression is somewhat superficial. I booked a double room, which had a large floor area, of which only about half was safely useable because of the sloping roofs. It had one tiny window and the lighting was either clinical hospital (overhead neon light) or penumbrous cave (lamps). When I am paying over €200 a night, I expect something more.

    The location and restaurant are excellent. The staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and pleasantly decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    room decor - sauna - location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was very hot-- but, we were able to open the windows and let the beautiful mountain air in. Breakfast was disappointing. We had to ask several times for coffee...but tea was self serve. Eggs/bacon/juice and were charged extra.

    room decor - sauna - location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    This hotel is a real gem in the town of Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This hotel is a real gem in the town of Hallstatt. We booked a town-facing room and it was spatious! The facilities in the room were pretty new and modern. The bath tube was huge. The room had perfect air conditioning and kept us warm. We went there in early November and the weather already was pretty chill. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone going to Hallstatt. By the way, this is the closest hotel to the ferry port so least effort to move luggages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    Chinese town in Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to be noted that quite a few Asian guests especially Chinese stay there. At this hotel, you wouldn't really feel staying in Hallstatt, rather in China....... and thus, hotel staff tend to be dry. Couldn't really enjoy my stay there

    good location. Rooms have lake view. Staff were fairly friendly, the receptionist was often absent though.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel. Awesome village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the breakfast. Not many selections. No egg station, unless u order from the menu!! A whole section is there for asians..should add more varities for others. It felt like we are in china not austria :p

    The view on the market was excellent. The room is spacious too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony is full of bird dropping & cushion surface are dirty. Paying that rate of Euro300+, the room is on the first floor & having kitchen cooking smell and also can see the rubbish bin from ground level, that is not very ideal isn't it? bath room floor surface is "sticky". The waiter in the restaurant, is not that trustworthy and also the food quality is the worse I ever try in Austria

    Only the location is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the water that they gave me in the welcome room there's not tap on top. Made me curious is it drinkable

    I like the service the room the view everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    This is a very nice hotel in a really magical place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed one night. I would recommend going here but I suggest staying for a few days. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Hallstatt is one of those out of the way places where you can slow your travels down and take a couple of days to unwind and relax. I will definitely go back here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable, crowded little city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are thousands of Chinese tourists flossing this little town everyday. This hotel was no different, which is fine, but get rid of the fish soup and fried chicken from the buffet. I came to Austria, I want Austrian food.

    The view from our room was unlike anything I have ever seen, and the room was pretty good too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems as if every restaurant in Austria has the same menu. Boring, boring, boring!

    Comfortable, quiet room. Arrival and departure by boat across a beautiful mountain lake was unique. Very well located in the heart of Halstatt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely location but insufficient instructions about parking, use of sauna, bedding options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insufficient instructions about parking lots which were full. Shuttle didn't come. Had to call to get information. Asked for a blanket instead of a comforter, they didn't have one and didn't know what it was.

    large room with a huge balcony, great location overlooking a beautiful lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Best location in Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confirm your bill at check-out is a must.

    Spacious room with a stunning lake-view terrace. Well furnished and maintained, dyson electric fan, Nespresso coffee machine, even a sauna in the bathroom! Breakfast is also good with beautiful view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Best location with cozy room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Balcony Facing the Market Square
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service starts a little late. They open at 08.00hrs. Early birds may find this inconvenient.

    The best location in town, facing the lake on one side and right to the middle of Marktplatz on the other. The staff were super friendly and nice both at the reception and the restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Hallstatt is a magical town and while a little out of the way it is a must see. Book this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything

    Everything about this hotel was exceptional We stayed in room 301 not only the best room in the Seehotel Gruner Baum, but in all of Hallstatt. Stay at this hotel if you can.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony Facing the Lake
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    The balcony is wonderful! Everyday we enjoyed stunning view from our room. Great location, great food, friendly&helpful staff. Definitely will be our first choice again next time when visiting Hallstatt.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: