Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Senator Hotel Vienna 4 stars

Hernalser Hauptstraße 105, 17. Hernals, 1170 Vienna, Austria

#235 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3040 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.8
    Not really 4 stars hotel, more likely 3.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower instead of bathtub; old mattresses, too soft pillows; no kettle in the room (I would have expected at 4 stars). Cold as A/C not working on heat. No extra blanket. Same items for breakfast, no fresh juice.

    towels changed daily. City garden view - really quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Ok to stay if you don't have better options...book well in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “what do you want?” the receptionist welcomed me with....at 10.30pm when I was tired and all I wanted was a friendly welcome. Other bits were about the room as the decor looks better in pictures than in reality and the little English spoken by staff. I expected more of a “technically 4*”.

    It was ok. Definitely not a 4*...3 at most. Location is ok as tram stops 50mts from hotel but not much in the area. Room was clean and quiet....bathroom ok too. Good option for Vienna but with advance booking you can get more for your money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    We asked for a top floor room without a street view and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told that the parking costs 22 euro but we were there on a Saturday and parking is free in the weekends in Vienna (so we found out from a friend, not from the hotels reception). So we just parked near the hotel.

    We asked for a top floor room without a street view and we got it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    The place is located close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No EV chargepoint. Please work with Tesla to install a destination charger. The parking places was also too narrow for our car, but luckily no one was parking next to us so we were fine with it.

    The place is located close to town. There's a supermarket right next door. The breakfast facilities were nice. There was a small problem with rooms due to some miscommunication with other gues, but it was okay. We were given 3 rooms instead of two.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel with great staff. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is slightly far out but the tram system is so good that it doesn't matter!

    Nice hotel and great service. The rooms were nice and clean and the bed was super comfy. The staff and service were excellent and they were very accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.5
    Nothing good to say about this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2* hotel promoted as a 4* one. Very dirty rooms, old furniture and amenities, everywhere smelled like smoke, even if it was a smoke free location. I don’t recommend this hotel even if it has a very small price.

    Nothing good to say about this place!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Second time here, did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room. Good air conditioning system Comfortable bed. Good breakfast (very good coffee) The parking is a huge plus for those traveling by car Nice personnel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    The check-in was smooth and the staff are welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from most attractions.

    The check-in was smooth and the staff are welcoming and helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean. The neighbourhood has supermarkets, restaurants, pharmacies, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    The hotel advised us to take the breakfast around 09 Am, to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advised us to take the breakfast around 09 Am, to avoid the crowd ( there is a poster in the elevator) But when we arrived around 09Am for breakfast, the staff started already to pick it up and was disturbed by our presence. Placed the “reserved” sign on almost each table even that we had the rights for breakfast till 10Am. There was no Tv channels and the mini bar empty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Good for family holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Placement, not the city center, it takes about 15 minutes by tram to go to the center. If we just know this before arriving...

    Comfort bed, air conditioning, shower. Personal was helpful, internet is not too fast to watch videos, but okay too messaging. Fridge was in the number, also you can order laundry, but I don't know the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and value for the money, WiFi only good for email with no attachments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi service was incredibly slow, less than 3Mbps. That made it difficult to do more than check email. I couldn't upload photos or videos to my cloud drive. I had a recruiter email me with an attached job description, it took over 2 minutes to download the attached word document. NetFlix could connect but refused to download or play anything because at 2.7Mbps, it would take days to download a 30 minute episode.

    The property was very centrally located and clean. The staff was very nice. The room was clean and though the air conditioning was not functioning at first, it started working at some point and that made a huge difference. The little refrigerator in the room wasn't very powerful but it was better than drinking water at room temperature.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Good accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi had certain limits when it came to watching Netflix and it did not work very well on social media or other sites either. We had a minifridge that wasn't actually working meaning that there was no cold air inside,only the lights showed it was switched on. The closet is pretty small for 2 persons but for 3 days it can be acceptable.

    The hotel is about 30 mins away by tram or bus from the city center, it has a Lidl right next to it for fast shopping; the neighbourhood is quiet, the room in which we stayed was quite ok for the money we paid;the AC was old fashion but it worked very well during those hot summer days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    A budget hotel very near the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room XL
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress of the sofa bed was a bit hard . Some of the electric switches were not good.

    The location is good and the hotel is clean. Breakfast is abundant and varied. Safe parking for travellers with car. Staff is helpful too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee was a little big for us (22€), so we parked at the closest Park and Ride (~3km). At the end, the receptionist told us that we had an extra breakfast, but we didn't... so after some checks we didn't pay anything.

    The hotel is close to the tram station that leads to the center of Vienna. The personnel was very polite and helpfull, and the room was being cleaned up daily, including changing the towels. We haven't had meals at the hotel's restaurant, so we don't have an opinion about the foos there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, clean and big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve stayed some years ago in Senator hotel and I’ve really enjoyed the breakfast as really good start of the day. Now when I’ve returned I found just a poor breakfast with very limited and cheap choices. I guess economy was applied here also.

    Good location, clean and big rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Superb soundproof walls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb soundproof walls! Nice bedding, thick curtains, bathroom very clean with a nice water flow. Very good amenities overall. Breakfast offers a wide choice of dishes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    For a 2 or 3-star hotel great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was under the impression that we had booked a 4-star hotel and room, but once entering the elevator after check-in and walking down the hall to our room, it was apparent that this was no 4-star quality. The halls and room, while seemingly clean, were outdated and there were traces of abuse and broken furnishings, and even mildew. In summer, we were welcomed with obtrusive decorative X-mas stickers all over the TV, which perhaps a young visitor had left behind in jest, yet in a 4-star hotel, one would expect that the room would be put back into shape for future guests. The lock was broken on the bathroom door. There were suspicious markings in the bathroom. I had to search long and hard for an extra roll of toilet paper. The shower nozzle sprayed in all directions. The fridge was warm. All in all quality that would more likely be found in a 2-star hotel. The breakfast seemed big at first, but the tastes were not up to par with the quality we would have expected. The eggs tasted odd, the coffee was strange, the cut veggies were dried out or mushy (were they from the night before?), the pastries simply sliced from the Lidl next door? One could observe that the kitchen crew did its best and was well organized, but freshness and quality were missing in the products served.

    Bed was comfortable and clean. Room was relatively quiet. The curtains did a good job at keeping out the early morning light. Rudimentarily clean. The air conditioner worked well. Reception, cleaning and kitchen staff all very polite and friendly. With slightly lower expectations, we may have enjoyed our stay more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Grocery store right next to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very damp/humid/moist 24/7. Because of that, the room was warm and sweaty. The bathroom smelled like mold and there were black spots in the walls. We didn`t want to spent there no more time than we had to (we even brushed our teeth in the room, not in the bathroom). The reception wasn´t too worried about that.

    Grocery store right next to hotel. Also self service laundry close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    For the price 14 euro you can better take a tram to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs renovation

    For the price 14 euro you can better take a tram to the Museums Quartier and eat some good food in a nice place. Don't eat at the hotel! Also the hotel is close to the city but the street is quite depressive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Unpolite and racist welcoming by not even Austrian people
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone has to tell to this guy in reception ( indian or pakistan i dont know origin) who welcomed us in unpolite way ; he should speak politics only with people whom he knows before. We only asked for if they have a smoking room ; and he replied us ; "das ist östereich nicht polen" well hello but we already know. And please remember ; Poland has own culture and own language , not like you ;) one another point is ; without Sobieski the King ; you wouldnt be in Östereich. It would be Turkey ;)

    Huge De nada

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money in good part of the city .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wirelles , our bathroom was without shower cabin as per pictures presented by booking.com , poor drain in bath tub .

    Helpful and professional hotel staff , safe garage , excellent location , clean rooms & areas , air condition .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Well this was a wonderful property when i stayed in Vienna...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well this was a wonderful property when i stayed in Vienna in 2017, guess more than once... but during my stay last month...things seemed to have changed right a lot ...right from the staff at the Breakfast lounge to the limited spread available ! The plus is only the price factor and cleanliness... Senator , you can do better and move to be great again !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.2
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room XL
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room we have been was a disaster. I’ve never been in a four stars hotel with so low quality. I just have canceled the night for the way back in similar hotel in Vienna and have chosen one from the international chain to be sure about the standard.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    I like the location, it seems to be far from the center, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like the location, it seems to be far from the center, but in reality with the tram stop across the hotel, it is 20 minutes with a ride and walk to find yourlself in the old town. There are simple restaurants around the area as well as very nice patisserie (it's a bit hidden) and not easy to find, but a really good one for strudel and other local good staff. The room was clean and spacious. If not to be too demanding like shiny windows, it is very fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    The property was clean and well maintained
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we had arrived group of 8 people ...3 rooms .... and we were informed that AC unit had brake down and they working to fix it up ASAP. They hotel stuff assured us as that if we keep our AC between 15 -20 C the AC unit will work just fine. Few hour later we had no AC at all !! The night was warm n very humid. The very next day we had find out that Hotel had no money to fix the AC . Why in the world they check us in ??? We would never ever stay for the night if we were not lie to about the situation. I ask for a refund and got ONLY 10% off. Very unprofessional. Will never ever recommend this hotel to anyone.

    The property was clean and well maintained

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Was clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was an hours walk from the city, only 15 mins on public transport. But it’s located on the far side of the city for the airport. Don’t have a shuttle bus to the airport and staff recommended I take a taxi, this cost almost €50, there is a €13 surcharge for an airport run. The city is beautiful but I will not return.

    Was clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Great staff, poor quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The state of the room was poor, there were drawings all over the walls, the air con didn’t work, the tap leaked - for a 4 star hotel I expected a lot more and definitely would’ve asked to change rooms if I’d have been staying for longer than 1 night

    They staff were lovely and so helpful with helping up for tips on where to go and how to travel around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    I recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I recommend this hotel. The location is great, the tram station is a 1 min walk and its very well connected with public transport :) The rooms are clean, staff friendly, nice area. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel in Wien 10 /10 will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking available only in the street really expensive from Monday to Friday .

    Very clean Hotel good location Room was really nice Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    good only for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the room, the facilities in the room no water heater, old Air conditioning style and needs more time to cool

    The hotel is good as a location, close to the Vienna market and old city area, the room is good but small could be more nice if bigger

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean room with decent size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from major train stations if you come from other cities. The room should come with more facilities e.g. kettle, tea/coffee

    Clean room with decent size. Located in a quiet neighborhood. There is a supermarket next door (Aldi) and a few within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Royal Wiena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in quite part of city. Very kind receptionist who speaks Serbian. Clean rooms and good conections with centre. Recommend this lovely hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing lacking was coffee and tea sets weren’t provided in the rooms. There was no room service and we had to collect the things we needed from the reception. Would have been more nicer to include these facilities.

    I like the room size, it was very spacious. Our flight was late evening so we asked for late checkout. Usually the check out is 12 pm but we were accommodated till 14:00 pm without any extra charges that was pretty awesome. And I am very grateful to the hotel staff for doing those adjustments for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Location given that tram, supermarket and pharmacy next to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Location given that tram, supermarket and pharmacy next to hotel, also the staff who handled my check in on 5apr was efficient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Easter Break.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room XL
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain.

    We had a family room, which was very spacious and nice. Breakfast was very tasty and plenty to eat. There wasn't kettle in our room but if you need a cup of hot water you can get it from the small bar beside the reception. All staff from the reception was extremely helpful and polite. Thank you so much for a lovely Easter Break at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room XL
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is poor, lack some variety and elgance expected in a 4 start hotel and breakfast hall are too small. All and all, if the hotel is targeting tourists, it could benefit with adding in classy features to compensate the distance to cit center

    The room was spacious, well cleaned and well equiped. The matress was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like breakfast. Choice of food was extremely poor.

    Staff was great. Goran - front desk guy was unbelievable!!! He helped us a lot! Goran has a lot of informations - he gave us directions for good restaurants, tradicional food, historical and tourist attractions. He made our trip to Vienna better with his advices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Good value, clean, staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was pretty crowded, on early breakfast time, mostly due to school trips and an overwhelming quantity of chinese people. You just get there a little later and it's ok. Elevator smelled like cigs.

    Room was silent, beds were ok, bathroom was clean. Breakfast was always ready.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    3.3
    was not good at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked nothing about it, no guideline how to contact the reception from the room, elevators was opening to somewhere people do heavy smoking could not breath no one was there to help with luggage immediately and we had our luggage under snow till we asked from receptionist after we moved half inside specially was hard with kids the bed has some plastic which smells bad soap and shampoo had refilled tube which is not hygiene distance to center was much more than booking.com says

    I liked nothing about it, no guideline how to contact the reception from the room, elevators was opening to somewhere people do heavy smoking could not breath no one was there to help with luggage immediately and we had our luggage under snow till we asked from receptionist after we moved half inside specially was hard with kids the bed has some plastic which smells bad soap and shampoo had refilled tube which is not hygiene distance to center was much more than booking.com says

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, perfect location, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2nd time in the Senator Hotel, and I loved it! Still close to everything, nice restaurant and shops nearby - clean and nice rooms. I will come back for sure!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent family friendly hotel with great connections for quality sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is good and offers diversity but it's the same hot dishes every day.

    The front desk staff was amazing and very helpful. When it comes to staff, we had some special requests upon arrival which were all accommodated efficiently. Location is rather great as you can take the 43 tram in front of the hotel to get to the city center in less than 20 minutes ride (last stop). You can also take the bus 10A near the hotel directly to the Schönbrunn Palace. Basically, with this hotel, you don't really need to stay closer to the city. There are lots of shops around, places to eat and a big supermarket right next to it. The hotel is clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the room was not ideal, lot of traffic outside so if you open the window it is quite noisy. If window is closed then one cannot hear the noise.

    Staff was helpful, room was clean, tram station is very close, price was ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice and comfortable place to stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff had issues with searching our booking and requested me to show her my account on booking.com and my mastercard Super expensive parking

    Comfy bed Very clean Adjustable temperature (up to 30 degrees celsius) No disturbing noise Not very far from the center

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.0
    This hotel doesn’t deserve four stars at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, we found food on the carpet of the room, the shower head was broken and the minibar was empty... when we told the front desk about our concerns, they managed to take care of only one thing (shower head was replaced). The next days the room wouldn’t be cleaned properly and on the last day, the room looked exactly the same, only the towels were replaced... the breakfast was nothing... it was less than nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in quiet location, clean and comfy room, breakfast amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Garden Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi - every time we left the hotel had to log back in.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel warm and cosy (in December very important!) Location a bit far out from centre but tram stop close to hotel. Super quiet room (Garden View). Initially gave us a room overlooking the road but as we'd booked Garden View they agreed and changed us with not a quibble. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Very nice place, close to the Centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of breakfast you could go to the beautiful Cafe Central in the Centre and spend your money in one of the most beautiful cafes in the world. However, it was nice to have the option and convenience of breakfast at the hotel but better if it was included.

    - The hotel was very close to the street car stop, so it was very easy to jump on a street car to go into the Centre. -Hotel staff were able to keep our bags for us when we arrived so we could go without them for a few hours before check in time. - The room had a small fridge. - There were also some very good pubs nearby on a corner between the street car stop and the Centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Staffs are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to get hot water from the reception area. The location is slightly far from the city and it take about 20 to 30 minutes to reach city center by public transport.

    Staffs are friendly and helpful. A supermarket was next to the Hotel and easy to grab public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Simply Splendid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The management and staff at the Senator Hotel in Vienna did everything possible to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. No request was too much trouble and all queries were responded to expeditiously and with good grace. Our experience in Vienna was a wonderful one, all the more so because of our choice of hotel. Our room - indeed the entire hotel - was spotlessly clean and maintained in that fashion for the duration of our holiday. Front of house staff were courteous, friendly and always on hand to offer assistance. Thanks to all for their kindness.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Very clean room, friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit more information on transportation from the airport would have been helpful.

    Very clean room, friendly reception. There is a turkish kebab place nearby which opens till late, so we could grab some food even with late arrival.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Clean rooms and good size, very clean bathroom. Staff were very helpful and well informed. Close to Tram Station line that runs into Vienna. Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Very comfortable, enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to adjust room temperature so that it wasn't too warm. Breakfast ok, but not amazing,and was overpriced.

    Room very comfortable and clean and gave us all that we needed. Room was good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    Good value for your money
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a smell that reminded of a stale cigarette smell, so I wouldn't recommend for people sensitive to it. I tried turning off the ventilation hoping that was the problem but it didn't go away. We stayed for only one night so it was fine. I suggest as soon as noticing to report it to the staff (since the smell isn't going away), they are very nice and helpful, I am sure they would do something about it.

    The hotel was a great value for the money. We only stayed one night and it served it's purpose as a sleepover. Nice, clean and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    great stay. thank you John and Jackie, U.K
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing not to like, everything else is good, location suits us and if tea making facilities are added then perfection, nice and clean.

    Food good and selection good. need to put kettle and beverage making facilities in the rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of the air conditioner. We have stayed 2 days. In the second day there was no toileteries. The minibar was empty from the very beginning. Definitely not a 4 stars hotel. We had to pay at the check-in because they told us that there are not enough personnel for the check-out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    It was perfect for the money i paid, except the ugly finish at check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE ATITUDE OF THE RECEPTIONIST WHO LECTURED ME FOR CHECKING OUT HALF HOUR LATE. It's not ok, considering the check in is at 15.00; I think there's enough time to clean the room between 13.00 and 15.00. I was really disappointed by the clerk's attitude. So disappointed that the next time I will consider other options.

    the rooms are comfortable, big, the furniture in perfect condition, the view is nice...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    We have spent perfect time during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hot water kettle is not available in the hotel room.

    Friendly and helpfull staff, close to the public transport (TRAM 43 to Shottentor, TRAM 9 to Westbahnhof), Tram Stop ROSENSTEINGASSE within 100meters. Very comfortable and clean hotel, very good value for Money, Just under the hotel there is LIDL Market (working hours within weekdays between 7.40-20.00 hours). You can find perfect bakeries and cookies in LIDL, if you do not prefer Hotel's Breakfast. Wi-fi is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Solo traveller
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole stay was grate but only two thing was missing matteres protector and bedboard was bad smell of body fat, I couldn't sleep well next too so I was moving around, good it was big mattress.I thing the leather of bedboard could be clean very easy time to time.

    Where a new mattress, and nice big room.Housekkeeping going great job, my room was cleaning like 5* hotel Well done👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After we arrived at night , we checked in and fell asleep....some guy from the reception called me ( Waked us up) on the phone from the room after midnight , almost 1 a.m. and insisted to come urgently to the reception an pay For the room. This was verry unusual and discourteous.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and clean city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with the safe and hand soap dispenser - staff looked after these right away! Very good.

    Location very simple for taking public transit to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    You can keep your car on the side streets (not on the main...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi connection was absent on the morning after the stay. The equipment of the rooms, in my perception, does not match 4**** (no shue polish, minibar empty), but maybe those feature are not necessary for the rating.

    You can keep your car on the side streets (not on the main street of the hotel location) until 0900 am for free, which is quite enough if you're there for business.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Hotel rating
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room XL
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't understand why this hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel. It doesn't even provide the usual amenities such as coffee maker or even water heater for your tea or coffee in the evening if you feel like drinking one. It doesn't even provide packets of instant coffee like a 2 or 3 star rated hotels. The cooler that was provided don't even have an adjustment knob to set your bottled water a little bit cooler.

    It is close to the public transportation. It is also close to shops such as restaurants and pharmacies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, and met our needs, recognising Vienna is an expensive city to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating and air flow in room meant too hot if window closed, if window open too much road noise. Lacked tea/ coffee making facilities

    Good customer service, gave good advice about free street parking on weekend as option, comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel of this hotel stole my very expensive knife. I forgot it in our room, and when I called hotel and asked to check - they said that there is no knife there. But when I asked them to check more carefully, and that it is impossible that knife disappeared after 20 minutes since I leaved thir room, they said - oh, we found your knife. I was happy that is why on my way back to Poland from Croatia I decided to stay again in Senator hotel and grab my knife (this was the only reason why I decided stay here again). And on my way back when I made check-in and I asked about my knife - they gave me cheap chinese knife for paper (instead of my expensive tactical knife made in USA).

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.4
    Comfortable enough but wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff at night charged us €10 for a cheese sandwich which he went and made himself in the kitchen. The breakfast staff were so rude and abrupt and made us feel very uncomfortable. The room stank of body odour.

    The receptionist that checked us in was lovely and very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    This is not a 4 star hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our first interaction with the staff was about the parking - he told us that we had a cheap room; so for that reason we can't park in the parking lot that the hotel had. He tried to bill us 21 EUR for the parking; Speaking about the room, the space available was not so great and the minibar was empty. Also, the furniture is a bit oldish - not suited for a 4* hotel.

    We arrived at around 11PM and we booked the last room available. The lobby was full and animated. We had the room on the fifth floor and we loved the attic-style windows we had. Even if we booked a twin room, we were offered a double room - but the bed and pillows was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Good stay for one night if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-conditioning in the room was broken and did not work well during the night, so we couldn't sleep well as it was very hot in the room. The parking was very expensive and difficult to get in and out. When we arrived by car, they did not let us in the parking before we check in, so we had difficulties finding a place to park the car outside to do check-in first, although I had informed them beforehand that we need a parking. The location was very far from the city center and difficult to access by public transport from the city center. So it was good only if you had a car.

    The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There was a supermarket next to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Really nice place: fully soundproof room with new furniture,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - exactly the same basic stuff every day.

    Really nice place: fully soundproof room with new furniture, safe parking, close to city center, good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.9
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After I arrived and pay the correct amount for the room they still blocked my money for my first rezervation in 18.08.2017 for 10 days. They unblocked the money when I come back for this reservation and asked what happend. The explanations from the guy from the reception were poor... 21 eur for parking per night

    Clean room hotel, the rooms are cleaned everyday, comfortable beds Lidl in 50 m, Billa in 400-500m If you are lucky you will find free parking around the hotel (blue parking disk needed) with limited time during the day 1.5- 3 hours

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    The proper word is: Pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking is 21 euro per night. The hotel offers the alternative of a safe and secure parking place at aprox. 3 euro/night. The place is about 10-15 minutes from the hotel, we used the place and we were pleased since we find the car in the same condition we left it.

    I recomend the accomodation. We had a problem with air conditioning sistem but the employees make all the eforts in order to solve the issue. I have to mention that we stay during august , with temperatures over 40 degrees... Next to the hotel you can find a supermarket, also cafe shops, turkish restaurants, a pizza house, all with decent prices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    great hotel for a trip to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cuddle Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    due to lot of visitors, you had to wait for the elevator at least 5-7 mins each

    extremely nice room with a nice welcome package - good breakfast, great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is a bit far out from the centre - although almost opposite tram stop so mitigated to a large extent. Whilst the area did not feel unsafe it's clearly not the posh part of Vienna!

    Very good facilities - having the mini-safe and fridge was great. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaning staff enjoy playing with guest cosmetics (emptied completely one perfume bottle, and were tested all other). Room was under the roof and half corner so was not comfortable. Missing the balcony. Hotel very crowded in the morning and evening when big groups check-in/checkout.

    Good position related to public transport hub (100 m from hotel). Restaurants and useful small shops nearby. Good coverage and acceptable speed for Wi-Fi. Cleaning Friendly and very useful staff from front desk (once again thank you)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Good staying overall, but not recommended to visit Wien in August, weather too hot to walk&visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel does not have a restaurant open to public, to be able to have lunch or dinner. For families, this is a major disadvantage. What I really didn't find ok was that the breakfast area was used for dinners for large groups, while the families or other guests would not have access to that and would need to go outside hotel for dinner. The hotel is far from city center, but has immediate access to tram and 5 mins walk to bus station.

    The beds are comfortable and all the hotel staff very helpful, with positive attitude, ready to help anytime, good tips regarding visiting the city, helpful with parking. Good cleaning service, daily. Breakfast was OK, even if it was the same every day and included some cheap deserts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean and modern property with the main facilities needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is quite far out however there is a tram that runs regularly from outside the hotel so as long as you don't mind a 15 minute tram journey it will be fine. There are shops etc. around the hotel but limited.

    Clean and modern property with the main facilities needed for a hotel stay. Comfortable beds and modern rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed, clean rooms, and extremely helpful staff! Would definitely recommend to travellers who are wanting a break from hostels, as this isn't much more expensive, and feels very luxurious!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Senator Hotel Vienna traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: