Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonne 4 stars

Sägerstraße 8, 6850 Dornbirn, Austria

#15 of 29 hotels in Dornbirn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 892 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their internet server was to restrictive. As an American I have AOL e-mail address an prefer to watch American based Netflix at night. Their server would not allow me access to either AOL or Netflix. I had to watch foreign language tv. I do not speak German. I am currently staying in a house five miles away and receive both with no problem. Other then that, I give them two thumbs up and highly recommend them especially if you will be using your smart phone access rather then computer with wi-fi. But with tv, that’s one small screen.

    They provided me with a nice bike which is they way to see Dornbirn and smell the roses. And they have a warm friendly staff. The breakfast and breakfast area were outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room with no ventilation system, thus it got very warm during the night. The bathroom was also super small, one could barely move in the shower. There was no proper space to hang dry the towels. Pillows were very uncomfortable. For a 4 star hotel I would expect a minibar in the room. The room was on the ground floor next to the breakfast room which got quite loud in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room layout was very very poor. Almost no daylight and the only window was halfway behind a wall and opened directly to another guest's balcony! Unacceptable.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no thermostat in the room, so it wasn't possible to turn the heating down (it was a bit warm for me).

    Huge choice of food for breakfast, including fantastic bread and cheeses. Beds were very comfy, and the shower was powerful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Opening of the breakfast time in Sunday mornings could be anticipated at 7.30 or 7.00 a.m. (now it's at 8.00 a.m.): it's better if someone need to leave early in the morning to visit the territory or to travel a lot to came back at home.

    The hotel is the result from the refurbishment and extension of the original volume of a big house of the local tradition, from which some details are preserved: the majestic façade lamp, some wall-photos and a zone in the breakfast area that is specially preserved by the subsequent modernization works to make understand the stratifications in the years. Rooms with contemporary design are very well done in relation to the optimal use of spaces and equipment: the private loggias are useful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was kind of poor. It was available, but the speed was not good enough to work with my vpn connection.

    The room was very nice. It felt healthy with the wooden walls - you smell the wood like your in the woods.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the facilities were excellent, that is why I stay there everytime I am in Dornbirn on business. It is nice when the staff are smiling at 07:30 when one has breakfast. The room was excellent, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Staff, views and rooms amazing Close to the largest collection of Rolls Royce in the world (not the best layer out but worth a look on the way to Maranello!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best breakfast in a normal hotel I have ever had. They had even sparkling wine :) Also the roof terrace with the honesty bar and nice views was an excellent feature!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed. It was the worst bed I have ever slept on in my life. I woke up angry in the morning and felt cheated. I felt that perhaps because I had booked through this site with a discounted rate and stayed in a single room, that I was put in the cheapest room in the hotel. Of course i cannot speak for the other rooms. I only stayed one night, but my bed was awful. I got the impression it was a bed which was maybe brought to other rooms when an extra bed was requested. It was on wheels and moved around a lot as I was getting into it and even when I turned over. The mattress was so soft that as soon as I lay down I was rolled into the middle and the sides were up around me, it did not stay flat and I was stuck. The mattress protector was not uncomfortable at the beginning so I left it on, unfortunately the plastic was horrible and made me sweat so much that I woke up a lot during the night. I can normally sleep anywhere and very rarely have a bad night's sleep. I woke up after a night in this bed in such a bad mood, it was a terrible sleep. There are no staff around at night time so I was unable to request a new room. One other thing to mention, there is music playing in the corridors, which is a nice idea. Unfortunately the volume was quite loud and I could easily hear it from my room - the speakers were in the ceiling just outside. As there were no staff around, there was no where I could go to request a volume adjustment. A minor detail.

    Location, staff, food, cleanliness, decor all great and lovely. Has potential to be a great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 pillows were too soft and no sheet. The heating was working but at 3am you wake up from excessive heat, mouth super drie and feeling very tirstie.

    Free bycicles for rent and the girls traditional uniform

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too hard for me and clean lady didn't really supplementary spare parts we have to asking them to give us it was not very nice and also a bit disappointed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful we felt welcome by the staff even get the upgrade room, breakfast was very nice and tasty, included with parking spot just perfect for visitors.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day I was looking forward to find out how my booked „Superior Single-Room“ would be. My expectations were a bit too high as the room was pretty small, no minibar, not even an empty fridge, the heating set on high and the floor with sticky patches. This made me want to stay as little time as possible in this room. Okay, the bathroom is new and clean. But the bed consists of 2 small mattresses and as it is a “single room”, only one side of the bed has a pillow and a duvet. If you are taller than 6ft you are going to sleep like a shrimp.

    Finding this Hotel is very easy as it is situated right next to the FH Vorarlberg, the place where I stayed during the day. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room. The ac didn't seem to work well. I was hoping that breakfast hours were a little later (only till about 9:30)

    The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and very warm

    Perfectly located for walking and the panoramic restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good, friendly service, breakfast onto the room, since I had to leave before the normal breakfast started

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was their week point. I mean coming at least put some scrambled eggs.

    Room design.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too soft bett

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to report.

    Very nice little hotel with friendly staff and good facilities. Clean, cosy, great value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door closing is a little noisy. But by 10pm all was quiet.

    Very nice place to stay. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything but the weather, which is not the hotel's responsibility :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the city itself is nothing impressive

    Clean, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and quiet place in the center of Dornbirn (next to the campus). Comfortable room with balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms clean and warm, breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly and helpful..i recommend hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking, excellent breakfast, good location, good WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice room, nice breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room very small and not to window

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was amazing and so was the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very hot in the room. No vetilation. A little airconditon-thing was not enogh.

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our "Austrian-twin" double bed wheeled apart!

    The guest lounge and sun terrace are excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No parking directly at property - Idiotic room design - No restaurant

    - Fresh eggs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only area to sit outside of the room was on the roof and it was very hot, there was no air conditioning

    The breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Couple

    WIFI poor. Some services were blocked/unavailable.

    Breakfast excellent with fresh fruit salad, cheese ham, eggs prepared how you wish, excellent coffee, good choice of Teas. Lounge on the 4th floor very nice! Beds on the hard side but I like it that way. Free parking!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds are worn out, too soft and uncomfortable. One of towels was full of somebody's hair. We had to move away beds from each other and it was terribly dirty between them.

    Nice breakfast, good location, good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was a problem. The facilities were wonderful so clean and modern and comfortable with everything I needed. The sitting lounge was perfect for relaxing and reading and working in the computer. The location perfect. Use of bikes was so wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very comfortable hotel, a bit expensive, but you get what you pay for. Excellent breakfast. The town centre is a 7 minute walk away with a good choice of eating places.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    On Sundays breakfast starts at 8:00 which is late for me as I get up at 6:00 and want to be out of the hotel by 8:00. The hotel is near a busy street so you hear traffic with the windows open.

    Loved the rooftop deck. Very relaxing. Breakfast was great with nice variety and in pretty setting. Room was nice, especially with balcony. Coffee, tea, and kettle are in the room. Walking distance to town square. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is no air conditioning which normally would not be a problem. When we were there it was above 30 celsius for 4-5 days. So that it was just too hot in the room which has not change during the night

    Staff , ambiance, breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Das war wirklich das heisseste Zimmer in dem ich je übernachtet habe. Keine Klimaanlage und ein Zimmer auf die Ostseite. Es war um Mitternacht noch so heiss das ich mich auf den Balkon legen musste. In der Früh sind wir dann nach einer kalten Dusche geflüchtet weil es nicht auszuhalten war. Bei der Rezeption bekam ich auf meine Beanstandung folgende Antwort: Es ist halt Sommer - danke und nie nie wieder. Für das Geld gibts auch Zimmer mit Klima.

    nettes Zimmer mit Balkon. Frühstück war gut, viel Auswahl.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in this hotel during a very hot weekend, the hotel has no air conditioning and it was really hot inside, especially in the room. It helped a bit keeping the window open during night, but sleeping condition was not good.

    The hotel is located a few minutes walking from Dornbirn city center, in a quiet area. Free parking is available in front of the hotel. Room was spacious and clean, nice bathroom with shower, balcony with chairs and table. Breakfast had a bit of everything, also fresh fruit salad and cakes.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did not like the fact that i only stayed one night but i will be back and stay longer next time

    clean, warm, friendly with a nice comfortable bed and a balcony! Thank you i did not have breakfast so i can not rate it

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy in the warm weather. Busy intersection under the window, worse in the rain, no aircon so window has to stay open.

    Service good, room ok, clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Nice room and perfect breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    it was great...that is why i say there when i am on business in dornbirn

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no air con but balcony window worked ok for cool air

    good size and clean room, nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a bit hard, parking was full.

    Location was perfect to spend the night traveling through further into Austria for wintersports

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no bar

    location

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast, terrasse

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast. Clean rooms, near City center.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Limited parking (additional parking is not free), drains in the bathroom smelled

    Breakfast was nice, staff was friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good breakfast. Very clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly, clean, nice food and Dornbirn!

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Professionelles, Modernes und Business orientiertes Hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    good simple hotel at good price

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really nice hotel...clean room, free parking, great breakfast, nice staff, and beautiful terrace. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room temperature is about 5 degreeshigher than outside temperature. If you go to Bregenz festival, you need to ride train or public bus from station.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy traffic in the morning.

    Very rich breakfast, supportive staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a twin assembled in double so not practical for young couple !

    Very nice cosy place great location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The price is not inline with quality and comfort this hotel offers.

    The location was ok, the room size was good and clean

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: