Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spitz Hotel 4 stars

Fiedlerstraße 6, Urfahr, 4040 Linz, Austria

#13 of 53 hotels in Linz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 310 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Noisy room and check in was terrible!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was placed in the last room on the top floor, you have to take a lift to the 6th floor and then walk up another floor. I have an old netball injury so this was not good for me. I'm not sure if it was were my room was situated but it was noisy as hell. I was in Linz for business and I got no sleep for the duration of my stay. When I checked in, there was a problem with my card and I was told at 10:45pm at night to go to an ATM instead of sorting it out in the morning, knowing well that I am staying for 3 nights. As I was told there is a problem with the card, declined insufficient funds whatever, there were other people checking in as well, laughing thinking I can't pay for my room. I believed that my card would only be used when I checked out. Then I was told I cannot use my husbands credit card even though he had booked the room for me. I proceeded to the ATM at that time of the night in a city I don't know and thankfully got back safely. Then day I returned to my room and I couldn't get in they had locked me out, I had to go back downstairs to ask them to activate my card again because at this stage my husband had sorted it out. I am currently back in Linz for business and I refuse to go back to this hotel. I wouldn't recommend it at all. Rather stay at a bed and breakfast.

    I liked breakfast, and I liked the modern rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Stay at Spitz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more work and color was needed to make the rooms and lobby area more cozy. Don't get me wrong it's a nice hotel but I think that the photos (kudos to the photographer!) managed to cover a "cold" sensation when entering the building and room.

    Great location in the city centre and next to the museum. The hotel seems renovated, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice and quiet hotel just behind the city hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh design is nice, but in other hotels in Linz you get more for your money: rooms are rather small and the breakfast is ok, but lacking variety of other hotels in town.

    Nice and quiet hotel just behind the city hall. What sets the hotel apart from other hotels is the design which is nicely done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not badly located, just behind the new town hall. It's just that you have to cross a very busy road to reach it and you need to take underground tunnels, which are safe but don't always look so...

    Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated. Good breakfast and excellent staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Everything else.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold. The heater in bathroom was broke.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    It could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay extra for a garage and breakfast

    Nice clean new facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best place.

    Nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Nice location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for low comfort.

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Near Ars Electronica Center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and professional stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel in Linz
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Hotel in Linz

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice, quiet location. Easy access to city center by a short walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, efficient check-in & -out, clean & neat rooms. Quiet surroundings, short walk to city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Central and modern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To small TV for the big room

    Very big room, good minibar, comfortable bed, good breakfast, central location, nice bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive

    Bike storage, fridge & tea making facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and friendly staff!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Great location with parking for bicycles underneath
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean & cozy rooms and conveniently located near the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    9.2
    Staff is kind and breakfast good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some noisei the first two nights due to A/C startup in early morning. Not big issue though.

    Staff is kind and breakfast good. Overall a good exerience.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.2
    See-through shower, design lamp feature, window perch,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only one outlet by the bed

    See-through shower, design lamp feature, window perch, mirror wardrobe, separate toilet, funny doorknob sign (Spitz up my room / do not Spitz in), soft bed, all day parking after checkout, adjustable AC, breakfast brought to room even though it was too late (after 10 AM), really nice and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    7.9
    + proximity to my venue
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - having to go through a spooky underground passage in the night to reach the hotel - design is not really my taste, too cold - the batteries of the remote control for the TV set must have been low because operating the TV was extremely hard

    + proximity to my venue + perfect pillow + extremely soft sheets

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    - Modern and clean with all necessary facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The entrance of the parking lot is kind of risky, not to mention the steep way down to the parking space, the exit is on the same lane (only one lane for both entry and exit). So you have to be very careful and couldn't know whether there will be a car coming in at the same time you are driving your car up to the gate or not. If the hotel can add any sign to help on this would be very helpful. However, the parking seems very safe as the Hotel closes the gate during nighttime. - The pillow is very soft and loose. - Very few restaurants around the area, comparing to the old town area.

    - Modern and clean with all necessary facilities - Underground parking with direct access to each floor of the Hotel with plenty of space, the entrance is easy to be found - Breakfast with choices of egg made to your order - Location, not in the city center directly, about 5 minutes by walk, crossing the bridge, to the old town area. It can be okay if you want to enjoy the river view.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.5
    Big rooms, just next to old centre, still close to Motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lobby serves as bar as well, has been decorated in a modern style, but lacks comfiness to make you feel at home.

    Big rooms, just next to old centre, still close to Motorway. Well insulated and all with a terrace, which is nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were waken up at 5:50 a.m. because of continuous bumping of the cleaning operations with the vacuum cleaner against the walls (?). We were awaken for almost an hour waiting for the cleaning process to be over. No whole grain cereals or whole grain bread in breakfast (but everything else in breakfast was excellent)

    Breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit and plenty of choice. Friendly staff speaking other languages besides german (not so common, even in touristic facilities like hotels, museums and restaurants!) Parking lot with easy and direct access.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    We had just finished a 40 mile bike ride in 90 plus degree...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had just finished a 40 mile bike ride in 90 plus degree weather. When we straggled in the door the front desk staff handed us a glass of cold water. Thr room was large and air cconditioned. Great bed.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    6.3
    very helpful staff - good position - garage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very helpful staff - good position - garage

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    8.3
    The location is perfect :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They gave us the leave garage key card without mentioning that the price per day/night is 15 € :-(

    The location is perfect :-)

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.6
    The bed was very comfy, the room very modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very comfy, the room very modern.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.7
    Shower
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    access to computers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    access to computers breakfast esp. eggs cooked to order design features

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Why would anyone want to visit Lienz?

    Convenient location

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    6.7
    Cleanines and good bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tv worked on some days and was small like a stamp

    Cleanines and good bed parking breakfast

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    9.6
    Staff was very helpful!
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Staff was very helpful!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: