Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Johannesbad Hotel St. Georg 4 stars

Dr. Zimmermann-Straße 7, 5630 Bad Hofgastein, Austria

#11 of 29 hotels in Bad Hofgastein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 251 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location near the 'Aplenthermen'. Tasty breakfast with big choice of local cheese , hams and veggies. 3-dishes dinner with great service and most important very friendly and helpful stuff. We carelessly left a notebook behind. To our luck, it was found and secured at the reception and shipped to us on the next working day :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not quite as pleasant as our stay last year. Not enough waiting staff. I feel we paid a premium price for what was the very end of the season and I found cheaper rates for the same room and dates but by then it was too late to change my booking. I learned not to book too far in advance!

    Mostly friendly staff. Assisted in moving us to a more suitable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding doors and ventilation in the bathroom was a bit odd

    Very friendly and helpfulstaff, superb food, traditional charm, great view from the room and close to bus and lifts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location. the staff is very kind and helpful. the swimming pool is great after a busy day on the ski. food is great and deserves all the dozens. We went as family with a son of 5 years. the child did not have to pay anything and was very kind to him. The saunas are great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant is not in the best location - on both sides of the corridor that goes to the stairs. Too hot, too smelly (food). The restaurant staff was not really used to serving babies / toddlers, we had to wait quite long for the dinner which meant crying, bad mood etc.

    Nice location, nice room, nice pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiters were not really helpful and friendly. When trying to feed a 1.5 yo child lunch in the restaurant, not only we could not get any food for her (apparently the hotel doesn't serve lunch), but also we were kicked out to the bar to feed her there, so that we don't spoil the tables that were arranged for the dinner.

    A very nice place in a great location, all comfortable, tidy and clean. Tasty, fresh and healthy food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you like brand new, modern hotels, this is not the place for you: it is quite old-fashioned. (Althought, they have newly refurbished rooms, but ours was not one of them.) And they must renovate their old elevator, it is not acceptable from a hotel of this standard. But other than these minor issues, it is a very good hotel and I would recommend it to my friends without hesitation!

    Food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner time - and they also have an afternoon cake buffet, we loved it! Sauna area is very lovely, perfect place for relaxing after skiing. Location is very good, close to the center, to the bus station, to the Schlossalmbahn funicular and also to the Alpentherme. The staff is very polite and nice. Our room was big enough for 3 adults, and even the extra bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I tore my ACL on the first day skiing, the staff were friendly and helpful by providing ice to ice my knee and hot water for me to take up to the room after breakfast to make tea throughout the morning rather than having to go downstairs to buy a cup at the bar.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our group had 4 rooms and one of the single rooms in the attic was imperfectly isolated against wind and was a little drafty (nothing serious). Wi-Fi is available in every room (including attic) and is free, but it has major fluctuations and I ended up using my own Mobile telephony provider Internet.

    The hotel looks great (the style is made to look Austrian antique, but it isn't old or damaged as other reviews would make you think), the hotel in small enough so that you don't feel insignificant and big enough so that you can escape that family-run hotel feeling (that I personally hate). The best part is the hotel team, really professional and pleasant people. Especially the waiters and the kitchen staff (one of the best waiters I ever encountered and incredible food, both for breakfast and dinner). They serve a 4 course meal (plenty of food) of surprising quality ! Really really really good and diverse. I strongly recomend taking the half-board ! (which also included a 2 hour candy bar in the afternoon, great after a day of ski). The pool and spa and indoor facilities are very good. The masseurs are ok and they have good prices for various massages. Children under 6 have everything free (my son stayed with us and he had free half-board and free ski pass and free lodging). My wife's birthday was in one of the days of our stay, and with the staff's help we threw her a birthday party. The chef cooked the cake we wanted, . They even gave her a chocolate gift. I've been in Austria 10 times for ski and about 5 times in Gastein. This was the best one so far. Definately would be back, both in this hotel and in Gastein.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our group had 4 rooms and one of the single rooms in the attic was imperfectly isolated against wind and was a little drafty (nothing serious). Wi-Fi is available in every room (including attic) and is free, but it has major fluctuations and I ended up using my own Mobile telephony provider Internet.

    The hotel looks great (the style is made to look Austrian antique, but it isn't old or damaged as other reviews would make you think), the hotel in small enough so that you don't feel insignificant and big enough so that you can escape that family-run hotel feeling (that I personally hate). The best part is the hotel team, really professional and pleasant people. Especially the waiters and the kitchen staff (one of the best waiters I ever encountered and incredible food, both for breakfast and dinner). They serve a 4 course meal (plenty of food) of surprising quality ! Really really really good and diverse. I strongly recomend taking the half-board ! (which also included a 2 hour candy bar in the afternoon, great after a day of ski). The pool and spa and indoor facilities are very good. The masseurs are ok and they have good prices for various massages. Children under 6 have everything free (my son stayed with us and he had free half-board and free ski pass and free lodging). My wife's birthday was in one of the days of our stay, and with the staff's help we threw her a birthday party. The chef cooked the cake we wanted, . They even gave her a chocolate gift. I've been in Austria 10 times for ski and about 5 times in Gastein. This was the best one so far. Definately would be back, both in this hotel and in Gastein.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - staff was very inflexibele, dinner is until 830 pm (which is super early!), and if you come later (even if because you just arrived from abroad!), you get no food except for some cold ham and cheese (we paid for half board and arrived at 930pm, went to bed hungry) - the town is super quiet, no bars, no après-ski culture or facilities

    - the half board is a great deal; great breakfast and nice 4-course meals in the evening - sauna facilities are really Nice - great skiing in the area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    المنطقه بعيده جدا عدم وجود مطاعم تناسب العرب الفندق جميل ولكن اثاث الغرف قديم جدا المنطقه ميته وهادئه

    reception staff are good, restaurant staff very good. I like the village it was a wonderful place but I don't recommend Arab to stay there coz no food or restaurant fit. 60 min driving from Zell am see to Badhouf Gastin. room furniture very old. القريه جميله ولكن بعيده جدا عن المناطق المرغوبه لدى العرب لا توجد مطاعم مناسبه. ساعه تقريبا بالسياره الى بادهوف جاستين من زيلامسي انصح بزيارة المكان وعدم السكن فيه. اثاث الغرفه قديم جدا السرير مريح جدا للأمانه. طاقم الاستقبال والمطعم مؤدبين ودودين متعاونين جدا. وتم اخذ مبلغ 12 يورو لمواقف السياره تحت الهوتيل ولكن بموافقتي لأن لم نجد موقف للسياره خارج الفندق ا

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The atmosphere in the hotel is great: everything for the guests. the cuisine is great and they can cook what you wish.the location is perfect: everything ( therme, lifts, shops, cafes) are around the corner. very good spa and pool. you feel like home.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was absolutely perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As good as last year

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    cost of the treatments,

    room, balcony, staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, good location, modern spa

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception

    Bed b comfy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The reception did not informed us about Gastein card at the arrival.

    Very clean room, great breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WFI not always good signal

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    in need of refurbishment / modernisation inadequate external parking, but you can use some side roads. They will try to sell the underground parking @ €6 per day generally unfriendly staff for Austria Unable to tune TV to the Gastein weather / local info / piste closures We are regular visitors to Austria. 4 weeks previous to this we stayed in a similar priced 4* hotel at Leogang - there was literally no comparision to the high standard at the Leogang hotel. Food generally acceptable but not special with exception to a fantastic sea food buffet one evening. Two questions i ask myself after a holiday are, would i return to the hotel, and would i return to the resort. On this occasion the answer is 'no' to both of these unfortunately

    Very clean easy walking distance to venicular lift / main bus station good view from balcony and spacious Lots of wardrobe space and hangers easy walking distance to town centre fantastic sea food buffet one evening.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. first room which was provided smelled like a sweat. 2. second room was better but the bed was for a child not for adult. 3. attitude in the hotel is not "like home".

    1. massage in spa area was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Awesome food

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location and the spacious suite

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the bed was not comfortable at all :(

    every thing was good, the staff very friendly, location is perfect, breakfast is good

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kitchen is a little bit too slow, and tend to mix up things.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: