Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel Stadtkrug 4 stars

Linzer Gasse 20, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#21 of 117 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1509 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    I stayed in a very small room but it was fine for just me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like having to drag my bags so far away from the parking garage. It’s not bad if you don’t have a lot but I simply didn’t fully realize the distance from parking. Pack light if you’re going here! Amazing location otherwise. Linens could have been a tad cleaner too (stain or two but nothing major)

    I stayed in a very small room but it was fine for just me and for only one night! BEAUTIFUL hotel and extremely helpful staff!!! RIGHT in the center and awesome shopping and dining area. Also beautiful restaurant as part of the hotel too! Surprisingly updated bathroom too! Very nice! Overall, gorgeous and amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful facility full of history. I hope to return one day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the downtown area. Food was great and the small bar on property is a great place to end the day. The staff is very friendly as it’s a family run business.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location to old town and major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mold/mildew in the shower. Bar staff-poor service. Beds not comfortable. Had to sleep with our heads at the foot of the bed due to the slant of the floor.

    Location. Breakfast included. Ambiance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Very nice well maintained old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heaters didn't work in the rooms and it was a bit cold We booked two rooms and they were in different floors although we booked early enough to arrange having both rooms on the same floor at least

    Very nice well maintained old building Very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    If I could afford to come back to Salzburg I would definitely stay at the same Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was worth mentioning. I didn’t stay there long enough, and was so busy sightseeing I discovered Hotel back garden too late and couldn’t enjoy it.

    Hotel is located ideally close to the most of historic sites, breakfast was really good and staff was friendly, accommodating. I picked this hotel for specific reason of being located in the old building just to create a special atmosphere of staying in an old city with interesting history. My decision was right, Hotel didn’t disappoint me.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    The location was excellent great for walking to experience the city Difficult to find as it’s in a closed to traffic street this should be be told on the booking site

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Local charm and wonderful hospitality!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only, tiny, complaint (which I feel would be difficult to correct) is that one must drag luggage up a short flight of steps to get into the hotel. Otherwise, absolutely no complaints! This hotel is charming and wonderful!!

    This charming, family-owned and managed "boutique" hotel was truly perfect!! It was located in a cozy, pedestrian-only area of Salzburg within walking distance to everything!! We arrived late Sunday evening, and had (thankfully) made reservations for dinner at the Alstadt's rooftop restaurant! (The restaurant is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays for dinner, so we were happy to get to experience this special place). I enjoyed one of the most delicious steaks I have ever eaten! The meat is locally raised by the owner of the hotel, Hugo, (whom we had the pleasure of meeting upon check-out!) and it was delicious! Checking in with Chris was a breeze! He is a delight! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a large sitting area. Thankfully there was a small refrigerator, too. We enjoyed the tilt-top windows for ventilation and cooling. The bathroom was clean and modern. The bed was so comfortable! We especially enjoyed the personal down comforters; found them to be so much better than a single coverlet. The best part of our trip was the suggestion by Chris - the front desk concierge - who encouraged us to cancel our reservation at a nearby restaurant and take advantage, instead, of the dinner and "konzert" at the Salzburg Fortress. It was only about $60 per person, and included dinner at the restaurant on the top of the Salzburg mountain as well as a chamber music concert in the turret room of the Fortress! It was magical! The views were amazing, and the concert was wonderful!! After a short ride on the vernicular (cable car) to the top of the mountain, we experienced the most wonderful, romantic evening!! Thanks to Chris for the recommendation! Our time at the Alstadt Hotel Stadtkrug was just perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Excellent stay, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had to say something, it would be that the stand-up shower is quite small... we are average-sized people and we found it to be a bit tight. Not a big deal for us, but worth mentioning.

    This is a beautiful historic hotel with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. The location is PERFECT! It’s close to transit, tourist attractions, tour bus meeting places and grocery stores and in the heart of the lovely Austrian neighbourhood. The staff were wonderful! They were hospitable, friendly and even helped us book our tours for Sound of Music and Eagle’s Nest. The breakfast was excellent, offering so many options (meats, eggs, breads, cheese, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea). We wish we had tried their restaurant for dinner. The wifi works well and there is a safe and fridge in the room. The bathroom was well-equipped with soaps and shampoo. Like many historic hotels in Europe, there is no air conditioning but there is a fan and lots of space to store items. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Salzburg and would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    The lovely girl on reception with the American accent was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely girl on reception with the American accent was wonderfully helpful. We were only in Salzburg for a day so we did what she suggested and it was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Good location and easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was warm but not enough considering end of September. Otherwise everything was working fine.

    Good location and easy access. The room price was attractive.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Recommended hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is very good. Outside the hotel is the pedestrian street, very close to the castle.The staff are happy to help the customers, and the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor garden restaurant was lovely but unfortunately right outside our room. People were talking loudly past 10 pm. Fortunately a thunderstorm came and chased all the diners away

    Staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Once you make it to check-in, you’re in the heart of everything right out the front door.Hotel Bar i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to hotel and parking are a nightmare. Not complaining because I knew this ahead of time. This is more about making sure people are prepared for a stressful hour and a half. The Hotel is in the heart of the Allstadt of a large city. That’s just the way it goes if you want to visit the Old Town.

    Both gentlemen who worked reception were extremely helpful. One of them hooked us up with a Chamber Music performance and dinner on top of the Fortress. The other was very helpful regarding the very difficult hotel access and parking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Location and Lovely Admostphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over priced. No shampoo,Conditioner, of Soap (this was all in one container) Hotel meals very expensive. Breakfast 3 stars

    Great location. Shared a Sitting area this was a plus as the rooms are very small. Staff were great family owned hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Salzburg has a lot to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some accessories in the Hotel do not fit perfectly to the 13th century. With a little more effort on hiding the elevator with wooden doors the impression would have been better. The luggage storage after check-out should be improved: it is just leaving your luggage at the reception without any identification when re-claimed. Anyhow, my luggage was unharmed.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. The Hotel is a 13th century building and neatly done - the restaurant is a cosy place and there you can obtain good breakfast. You have a variety of choices on egg-related breakfast that will be prepared fresh. The location is great - you can easily reach the Hotel from the airport by public transportation and a short walk. Moreover, the Hotel is in the middle of the historic part of Salzburg.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    This small boutique hotel was very atmospheric with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really...

    This small boutique hotel was very atmospheric with a lovely patio out back. Hugo, the owner greeted me and made be feel welcomed the moment I arrived.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Stadtkrug, Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am just particular about "natural lighting". Nothing against Hotel Stadtkrug - it has the "subdued lighting charm" of old castle-like feel so it has a different beauty and charm of its own (not a negative!).

    Best breakfast ever! Cappucino machine was also great! Location was the best - so many attractions and activities to do within short walking distances such as 3, 5, 7 minute walks to various places. Truly an excellent location in the heart of the city center!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel staffs are very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee (tee) is not available in the room. No electric kettle or coffee machine

    Hotel staffs are very kind. Very convenient location. Early check in was possible (10am).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    An oasis of quality and friendliness where you are made to feel so welcome by fabulous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great, perhaps a kettle in the room for making a cup of tea, but no really it was fantastic.

    The reception was amazing and very personal. The room was immaculate and was kept clan and tidied on a daily basis. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The information about tours etc was excellent, good insider knowledge and things arranged by the hotel. Breakfast was extensive and did not finish until 11 am , so no need for an early start, lovely buffet with extra hot food cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the service and quality of food was outstanding. I think what makes this hotel so special is that it is family run and has an excellent reputation in the city. The staff are all happy with their work and it shone through in their impeccable service. We would love to come back another time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    A wonderful historical property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it is a historical hotel, there is no air conditioned and the little fan provided by the hotel was not sufficient in august.

    I love the location and the historical aspect of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel at excellent location. Worth every euro paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location, very close (minutes walk) to all the main attractions while not being noisy. Great staff, friendly and helpful. Excellent food, both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Came with a car, with a parking close by. Need to be aware the hotel is in a pedestrian street. Staff helped to get in (and out) of it to unload.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    lovely place for a few days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no bar at the garden terrace and no toiletries in the bathrooms it would have been nice to have a shower cap

    excellent location, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Atmospheric hotel, but we were in a noisy and stuffy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small and had few windows. If it is hot outside, it is very stuffy. The people behind the counter are not really friendly. We had noisy rooms in the front. Lots of street sounds during the night and very loud noises from the garbage service early in the morning.

    Pleasant location. The hotel is very atmospheric because everything is so old. The breakfast was pretty good. The cleaners are extremely friendly and work hard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd booked two rooms in this hotel with booking.com and when we arrived the hotel hadn't reserved the second room. They arranged for me to stay 5 mins away in another hotel which they paid the difference in price for. Not ideal but the staff sorted the problem quickly and efficiently.

    Lovely breakfast Great location Nice staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Very educational. Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a small room but it was still adequate. Im gluton free and struggled generally to eat proper so had to eat normally.

    Exactly what we expected. Good lication for all our activities. Not too far from airport and just a short walk to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, met my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace needs more attention ( service ), lack of air conditioning

    The location is excellent, terrace breakfast was very good ( not extensive but good quality ). The authenticity of the building.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    In over all, it is very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel’s location is really good but really difficult to approach when you arrive by car. The hotel offer off-site parking with fee but it is impossible to arrive at the front of hotel unless you contact the front desk. The parking garage is near. This hotel also does not have air conditioning, which is common in this area. However it was very hot when I arrived. I had to keep the window open all night but it was still too hot to sleep. I think it is not usual thing.

    Friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in the Altstadt, within 5 minutes walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Canned muzak accompanied the breakfast.

    Excellent location in the Altstadt, within 5 minutes walking of the pubic parking , which is large and safe. The hotel is in an interesting old building that has been modernised and is very comfortable. Breakfast was good. The only thing missing was air-conditioning in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Central to everywhere..Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort room is very small and there is no proper air conditioning only a fan.

    In the centre of the old town and within walking distance of everything..staff were always very helpful.the hotel was very homely .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Good enough but unnecessary expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a very old fashion Hotel. The breakfast could be better. We paid 385€ per night for a old Hotel and non special breakfast

    Reception was very nice trying the best to help. Location is good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bedroom has two twin beds joined together. It was like sleeping in one queen size bed.

    The breakfast was wonderful! Great selection and very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Central location for seeing Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have liked to see the piano played more often in the bar as it was otherwise very quiet.

    The outdoor restaurant on the fourth floor is undoubtedly an asset - we dined there twice. Nice walk out the back up to the church above on the hill.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Really handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more detail as to the method of car access would help. Not a problem once you know.

    The hotel was very good and full of character. Access with a car was tricky as it is situated in a pedestrian area so a code, supplied by the hotel on intercom, has to be entered to drop the bollards, and likewise for exit. There is a car park near by. The location is good, across the river from the old tourist town centre. This makes the area feel more for the locals, with a couple of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful with planning day trips and dining. The location was wonderful. The hotel has an interesting and long history which showed. We loved our stay in Salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, hospitality, and fabulous steak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is wonderful, especially the owner of the hotel who received us at the reception when we checked in. Some guests complained that there was no kettle, tea or coffee available in the room, but actually if you read the info provided by the hotel, you can take tea, tea pot, milk as much as you want from the tea corner available at the breakfast area. Actually the owner of the hotel went beyond our expectation by helping us bring a tea pot to the room and found us milk we needed for making a cup of tea. Breakfast buffet is of good quality and you could order eggs from the chef too. I love the steak from the hotel's own Highland cattle which I had for dinner. It tasted fabulous and surprisingly cost us less than a Chinese dinner we had on the same street the following night. The hotel is located on the lovely pedestrian street of Linze Gasse and once you cross the bridge you will arrive the Mozart's birthplace and the main shopping street. The hotel is located on the same side of Mirabel Garden, so very convenient if you plan to join the Sound of Music tour which starts from there. What I love most about my stay is the old charm Austrian ambience of the 700-year old building of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    no comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is a nightmare , No parking for the hotel , you will pay 18 Euros a day in a public parking and have to walk for al leat 10 minutes No AC , On a hot day , room will be highly uncomfortable to say in the

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Will stay there again without any hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning is being upgraded however it was unusually warm when we visited.

    Great location withing easy walking distance to everthing in Salzburg. On site restaurant and bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Excellenet location, beautiful Hotel. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really comfortable. The only thing I dont like the partition between the beds. Sometimes, it can be really uncomfortable.

    Hotel is in the heart of Salzburg. Perfect location. You can also climb to the Monestry. There is a short cut from the hotel. You can take a lift to 4th floor and then join the trail from hotels back entry. Staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was really delicious as well. The decoration of the hotel was extremely beautiful. We loved everything about the hotel and enjoyed our stay. Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is good, in the middle of Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot. There is no AC and the small windows to the inner courtyard offered no breeze of air. Also, it is very loud if you have to open the windows.

    The location is good, in the middle of Salzburg. Parking is a 5 min walk away, but one can drive to the hotel to unload. I wouldn't recommend it though, because the roads are narrow and filled with people. The hotel has a nice restaurant with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant reunion with friends form UK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had some sort of air-conditioning exhaust exit right outside the window. This was running 24/7. One night I could not sleep. Would not worry a normal sleeper - but in this case was unpleasant (it was very warm and we needed the window open - which did not help). Price was a little high - but could be typical for Salzburg.

    The hotel is near to the main entrance to the old city on the north side under the Capuziner Hill. Great location. Restaurant and bar looked good (although we did not eat there). Lovely little secluded panorama seating in small garden on top floor - good service although typical Austrian moaning (I think this is standard and supposed to be funny!). Room size adequate for a short stay. Be sure to walk EVERYWHERE. To get to castle, walk to Mülln, then to Museum on top of hill, stop at Stadt Alm for a beer then on to castle. All easy walking. Walk 2: up the Capuziner Hill keeping more to the left, then follow the fortified wall all the way back in to town. Amazing views all the time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    I would recommend this Hotel for all single travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities would have been appreciated in my room. Room size is small but suitable for a single traveller.

    You get what you pay for and for what I paid I was very happy for the friendly welcome and helpful information. Breakfast was delicious with many and varied choices to suit one and all. Location was excellent in being only a short walk from the train station and the position in the old town, was quiet and much appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in the heart of Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As we were travelling by car, there are no parking facilities on site but in a public car park a few minutes walk away, for which you receive a discount by being a hotel resident. The trucks for waste collection in the early morning might be a problem but didn't really concern us too much, and late night revellers might be an issue to some.

    Charming hotel in the historic heart of Salzburg. We stayed for 2 nights in a spacious room at the front of the hotel which was very characterful with a large well equipped bathroom and importantly, comfortable beds! Breakfast is extensive with fresh cooked options which were most welcome and very tasty! We would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    A gem of a Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel in fantastic location. Stayed in 3 different hotels whilst in Salzburg and this was my favourite. The best breakfast also with your eggs cooked freshly, very impressed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean, great location but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy morning. Parking is a bit of a hassle. As the hotel is in a pedestrian zone. To unload/load you have to get a code to lower the bollards then take the car to a parking garage for €16 a day

    Hotel was very nice however our room (305) overlooked the street below. The pavements are currently being dug up and renewed. Work started at 6am. As there is no aircon we had to have the windows open so we were woken up by the noise of heavy machinery going past, vehicle reversing signals as well as trolleys of merchandise being pushed around. (The area is pedestrianised so deliveries are made with noisy fork lift trolleys being pulled over the paving slabs) There were also noises coming from within the hotel from 5:45am. Sounded like someone moving tables or furniture possible for cleaning. Appart from that the breakfast was excellent quality and room was spotlessly clean. Suggest asking for a room to the rear of the hotel if you’re a light sleeper. No real views anyway but the back might be looking at rock

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Location is amazing, it’s close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs - short flight into the hotel and to the room from the escalator.

    Location is amazing, it’s close to everything. Staff were always happy to help - suggestions on where to go, what to eat, making bookings, etc. Checking in and out was a breeze. I arrived quite a bit later than expected, but they held the room for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful and willing to help in any way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at the front desk was wonderful, but since it is a smaller hotel and tourists have complex questions sometimes lent towards a longish wait to chat with the reception person. This is really a nit since we are all on vacation and should stop and enjoy the experience.

    The staff was very helpful and willing to help in any way possible. We splurged on a suite which was quite comfortable and spacious, with a very large bathroom unusual for Europe. The breakfast was terrific. And the location could not have been more perfect. We loved the hike up behind the hotel through an archway. Went all the way up the hill where there is a small cafe that was not yet open due to the season, but would be a great stop for a beverage when it is. Magnificent views of the old town on the way down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Hi i dont normally complain but this was a surprise for my...
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything

    Hi i dont normally complain but this was a surprise for my wife a christmas present i expected a really nice hotel considering i booked the most expensive hotel i saw on your site i have used you a few times now but will not be using your site anymore it cost me over 1100 euros for 4 nights ridicoulous .the beds were single beds great for a romantic break the pictures of hotel are false .the bed was rock hard and the noise from outside went on to 5am in the morning the room was baking hot with no air con we had to have windows open to try and cool down hence the noise .there was no ironing faciltiies they nevr cleaned suite only made beds.the only cooling was a £10.00 fan the tv never worked unless you were fluent in german the hotel shuts down at 11pm the breakfast was the worst cooked breakfast i have ever had everything tasted of sausage .there was no english tea first two days service in brekfast was appaling i am so upset and expected so much ruined what could have been a great break no way is this hotel 4 star upstairs resteraunt shoul be condemmed best egards joe hobbs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in an old hotel in perfect tune with the old city subject to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite difficult acces by car at first arrival. A more detailed access map or explanations (e.g. on Booking.com) would be of help.

    Old hotel, in good condition, with nice atmosphere, very well placed for easy access to downtown and all interesting places worth to visit in Salzburg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok, but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rude manager and no parking lot when they advertise that they do. We did get free parking in a lot far from the hotel.

    The breakfast service was very nice, as was the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Location is great, services were the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hot when we closed all the windows and when we opened it..their was a big spot light from other building spot into our bed...

    Location is great, services were the best!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very nice. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some assistance to get the bags from the taxi - as we had two older guests with us & 4 large suitcases. There are steps at the entrance & steps to the reception.

    Rooms spacious, breakfasts great, staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Charming Hotel in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We tried the restaurant once and it was disappointing. Staff very pleasant but menu wasn’t great and although the dining room is authenticity charming the lighting in there is far too bright so it lack atmosphere.

    Location was perfect, hotel is charming, the rooms are comfortable, really good buffet breakfast with menu cooked to order too. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Attention to detail including an umbrella in the room and spare adaptors at reception. An excellent choice if you are staying in Salzburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Central location, friendly staff and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls seemed to be very thin, so could hear everything going on in the corridor and other rooms. Fortunately it didn't affect us much.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast with continental and cooked to order options. Everything was within walking distance and there were lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. It's in a pedestrainised street, but taxis have access. We didn't staty long enoughto eat in the restaurant, but the steaks smelled lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Pretty good, worth missing my flight for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was small - but it was advertised as that!

    Location is fantastic, just right for a cultural visit and the staff were really helpful. If I hadn't arrived late for a one night stay I would have liked to try their restaurant. Speciality beef from their own farm shows they really care

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    The people in the reception are top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite fin and I could hear the entire conversation of the people next door.

    The people in the reception are top notch! They welcomed me warmly and really went the extra mile helping me with great tips and info about everything from restaurants, how to get to places and touristic attractions. The room was spacious and confortable. Location is in a nice pedestrian shopping street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was good, and varied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some communication problems when ordering an extra blanket. And the heating was not on in the bedroom. Staff very cordial but could be more efficient at the reception desk.

    The breakfast was good, and varied. The dinner was very good. The beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in in a 700 year old building with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was included but not very inspiring.

    It was a very charming hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner in the restaurant was very good. The hotel location was great with many outstanding restaurants within a 10 min walk. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit Salzburg

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful hospitality and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent. Walking distance to all monuments. Staff are very helpful and welcoming. Gave us tips on where to go and places to eat local food. Also printed out maps for our onward journey. Definitely come back here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Excellent central hotel in Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very tasteful breakfast with divine orange juice and superb meat in the restaurant. Excellent location in a historic building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Historic hotel in historic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I didn't like it but I feel that it's important that potential customers know there is, because it's such a beautiful old building, no way of avoiding climbing a lot of stairs,

    The location was excellent for historical sights and eating places. The staff were helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast selection was good and the quality of food was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Totally enjoyed my time in this hotel. Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff offered things to do on arrival. They were helpful and friendly. Recommendation of the Mozart dinner will be a cherished memory. Loved the chocolates on the bed. Great vibe in the bar with music.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    The position of the property is in a great area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleanliness , flies landing on food and dead on cheese board. Jeans and t shirt out of kitchen after going to find waiter. Poor welcome . Prior correspondence and requests poor communication. Room hot and stuffy. Terrible view from room. Tiny bathroom only one towel left .? Rude receptionist don’t know his name but have never been made to feel so unwelcome terrible service . Better more value for money accommodations very close by saving often 100.00 on a 2 night stay . You may not get breakfast in some but you would want it here anyway. Very disappointing as was looking forward to stay due to some good trip advisor reviews ,, but in looking again further down reviews I’m echoing some of the same complaints. Not that the receptionist cared at all regarding my comments or if we had even enjoyed our stay . Salzburg is so so nice - just stay elsewhere in our opinion .

    The position of the property is in a great area ... close to some very nice restaurants .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, brilliant staff, really good food, shame about the amount of stairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are a lot of stairs to handle with cases before and after you use the lift. I found this very difficult. The bedroom, although very large and comfortable was very dark as with most hotels nowadays there were no ceiling lights so you had to walk into the bathroom to read the map or anything else as this was a little brighter.

    The room size and furnishings were great especially the en-suite which was huge. The breakfast facilities were brilliant with cooked items to order, and the restaurant was really good too, although they only had one menu so you wouldn't go there more than twice. The guy in reception was absolutely brilliant with great English, a wonderful attitude and so very helpful, he helped make our stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Located in a prime location with excellent customer service and comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries in bathroom were lacking. They should add conditioner and lotion to the available toiletries.

    The staff was uniquely helpful and friendly. I interacted with three different people at the front desk and they were each kind and eager to assist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Charming and comfortable hotel within walking distance of the attractions in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was perfect. Our only complaint was that we had a room above the pedestrian street, which was not a problem until our last morning when we were woken up at 5:30am by VERY loud delivery trucks and trolleys making deliveries to the businesses below. It echoed on the cobblestones below terribly and roused us awake. My suggestion would be to request a courtyard facing room.

    Charming hotel with local flavor, perfectly situated across the river from the main Salzburg square. The staff was wonderful - friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with amazing restaurant and excellent staff. Right in the heart of Old Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sort of expecting a bath tub but that was more because we had been skiing for a week and were looking forward to a nice soak! Had to wait until we got home although I am sure they would have changed our rooms if we had asked them. The staff were excellent.

    The steak restaurant downstairs is absolutely fabulous and the breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    Incredibly friendly hotel staff, convenient location to all Salzburg offers and extra large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant.

    Tastefully decorated large rooms with plenty of home comforts. Breakfasts were outstanding. The hotel staff were especially welcoming and helpful .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Charming hotel in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were loud banging noises throughout the night that made it hard to sleep. Not sure if it was from inside the hotel or outside our window. The second night was better, but I slept with earplugs.

    Wonderful location and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a great start to the day. You could walk to many sites from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Best location and best staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a bathtub than a shower, due to low temperatures.

    A very old building in a nice street, very central. Extremely friendly and welcome. Friendly breakfast too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Friendly hotel. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the hot bedroom.

    Fantastic location in the old town although this means a bit of walking if you are in a car - about 5 mins to the car park. The hotel was friendly and the check in was excellent. Room was a bit warm but the bed was comfortable. The WiFi worked well. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel! Helpful and friendly reception (provided us with city map and brief info on restraunts/public transport/etc.); creative approach (the hotel gives a brochure about the history of the building where the hotel is located; the building is very old and it's rather interesting to read); tasty breakfast; perfect location (25 min walk to railway station, 5 min - to the old city center).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A really enjoyable four day holiday and the hotel exceeded all expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very very warm and lighting was very dim in the room.

    The location, the friendliness of staff, the breakfast and the Austrian efficiency, all in all a fantastic experience and enjoyable stay,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Easily compared with a five star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff,warm and clean room.Great location next to city center and restaurants.Excellent breakfast! Classic and unique decoration in rooms and public areas. I would definately recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.5
    Charming place with good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter at bar and restaurant was rude and unhelpful. If someone near room is smoking it is unbearable- and we are not sensitive to smoke usually.

    Charming place with good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Old world charm
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When restaurant was busy service in other areas like the bar, was very slow.

    Location was great. Rooms and bed comfortable. Restaurant was e xcellemt and breakfast fresh and nice variety. Old world feel

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: